Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

The 2011-12 Budget Proposal

*

1.

Q:

What tax relief measures have been proposed by the Financial Secretary in his 2011–12 Budget?

 
 

A:

The Financial Secretary proposed to increase the following allowances and deduction ceiling from the year of assessment 2011/12 onwards:

  • The Dependent Parent/Grandparent Allowance for a dependant aged 60 or above will be increased from $30,000 to $36,000 and the additional allowance in respect of a dependant residing with the taxpayer continuously throughout the whole year will also be increased from $30,000 to $36,000.
  • The Dependent Parent/Grandparent Allowance for a dependant aged 55 to 59 will be increased from $15,000 to $18,000, and the additional allowance in respect of a dependant residing with the taxpayer continuously throughout the whole year will also be increased from $15,000 to $18,000.
  • The deduction ceiling for Elderly Residential Care Expenses will be increased from $60,000 to $72,000.
  • The Child Allowance for each child will be increased from $50,000 to $60,000. The one-off additional allowance for each child born in the year of assessment will also be increased from $50,000 to $60,000.

The Financial Secretary further proposed:

  • A one-off reduction of 75% of the 2010/11 final tax in respect of salaries tax and tax under personal assessment, subject to a ceiling of $6,000.

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

Who can enjoy the tax reduction?

 
 

A:

Taxpayers who are chargeable to salaries tax and tax under personal assessment will have a reduction of 75% of their 2010/11 final tax, subject to a ceiling of $6,000.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

Can I withhold payment of the 2nd instalment of 2010/11 provisional tax falling due from April 2011 onwards because of the proposed tax reduction?

 
 

A:

You are advised to pay on time the 2nd instalment of the 2010/11 provisional tax falling due from April 2011. Otherwise, recovery actions will be taken by the Inland Revenue Department.

Similar to last year, the tax reduction is to reduce the 2010/11 final tax that will be charged and not the 2010/11 provisional tax that has been charged. Therefore, you are still required to pay the 2010/11 provisional tax as charged.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

Will the Inland Revenue Department refund the 2010/11 provisional tax already paid by me?

 
 

A:

The tax reduction is to reduce the 2010/11 final tax that will be charged, so the reduction will only be reflected in the notices of assessment for salaries tax and personal assessment to be issued starting from the third quarter of 2011. The tax reduction is not applicable to the 2010/11 provisional tax. The provisional tax already paid will be applied for payment of the 2010/11 final tax and the 2011/12 provisional tax. Excess balance, if any, will be refunded.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

What amount of Child Allowance can I claim in respect of a child born in 2011/12 and thereafter?

 
 

A:

You can claim Child Allowance of $60,000 and a one-off allowance of $60,000 in the year in which your child was born (i.e. in 2011/12). In the years thereafter, you can claim for each year a Child Allowance of $60,000 in respect of the child as long as other prescribed conditions are satisfied.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

My child will be born in 2011/12. How can I make a claim for the increased amount of Child Allowance?

 
 

A:

After your child is born, you may apply in writing for holding over of the 2011/12 provisional salaries tax charged. The application must be lodged not later than:

(a) 28 days before the due date for payment of the provisional tax, or
(b) 14 days after the date of issue of the notice for payment of provisional tax,


whichever is the later.

Besides, when you are completing the 2011/12 tax return next year, please fill in details of your child for claiming the Child Allowance.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

Would the Assessor take into account the increase in allowances and deduction ceiling when computing the 2011/12 provisional salaries tax?

 
 

A:

After the enactment of the relevant legislation, the Assessor will apply the increased allowances and deduction ceiling to compute the 2011/12 provisional salaries tax. 2010/11 salaries tax assessments and 2011/12 notices for payment of provisional salaries tax will be issued from the third quarter of 2011.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

I paid elderly residential care expenses of $65,000 in 2010/11, which exceeded the specified maximum of $60,000 for 2010/11. What amount should I write down in the 2010/11 Tax Return – Individuals for claiming the residential care expenses deduction?

 
 

A:

You should state the actual amount of $65,000 paid in Part 8.4 of your 2010/11 Tax Return – Individuals (Form BIR 60). The Assessor will allow a deduction of $60,000 when computing your 2010/11 final tax, and a deduction of $65,000 when computing your 2011/12 provisional salaries tax.

  back to top


*

9.

Q:

My father, who is above 60 years of age in 2011/12 and maintained by me, is eligible to claim an allowance under the Government’s Disability Allowance Scheme. What allowances can I claim in 2011/12?

 
 

A:

You are entitled to claim the Dependent Parent Allowance of $36,000. If your father resides continuously with you throughout 2011/12, you can also claim an additional allowance of $36,000. You are also eligible to claim the Disabled Dependant Allowance of $60,000 which remains unchanged for 2011/12.

  back to top


*

10.

Q:

After I had filed my 2010/11 Tax Return – Individuals, the residential care home, in which my 65 years old father stays, informed me that the residential care expenses payable in 2011/12 will be increased from $55,000 to $70,000. What should I do if I want to claim $70,000 as deduction?

 
 

A:

If the amount of Elderly Residential Care Expenses paid or payable for 2011/12 exceeds $60,000, you may apply in writing for holding over of the 2011/12 provisional salaries tax upon receiving the assessment and notice for payment of provisional salaries tax. The application must be lodged not later than:

(a) 28 days before the due date for payment of the provisional tax, or
(b) 14 days after the date of issue of the notice for payment of the provisional tax,


whichever is the later.

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

2011-12 預算案建議

*

1.

問:

財政司司長在 2011-12 年度財政預算案中建議那幾項稅務紓緩措施?

 
 

答:

財政司司長建議由 2011/12 課稅年度起,提高下列免稅額及扣除額:

  • 供養 60 歲以上的父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母免稅額由現時 30,000 元增加至 36,000 元。同時,與受養人連續全年同住的納稅人可享的額外免稅額亦由現時 30,000 元增加至 36,000 元。
  • 供養 55 至 59 歲的父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母免稅額由現時 15,000 元增加至 18,000 元。同時,與受養人連續全年同住的納稅人可享的額外免稅額亦由現時 15,000 元增加至 18,000 元。
  • 長者住宿照顧開支的最高扣除額由現時 60,000 元增加至 72,000 元。
  • 子女免稅額由現時每名子女 50,000 元增加至 60,000 元。每名子女在出生的課稅年度所享有的一次性額外免稅額,也由現時每名 50,000 元增加至 60,000 元。


財政司司長進一步建議:

  • 一次過寬減 2010/11 年度薪俸稅及個人入息課稅稅款的百分之七十五,每宗個案以 6,000 元為上限。

 

  返回頁首


*

2.

問:

什麼人士可獲稅款寬減 ?

 
 

答:

所有須繳付 2010/11 年度薪俸稅及個人入息課稅的納稅人,均可獲寬減應繳稅款的百分之七十五,每宗個案以 6,000 元為上限。

  返回頁首


*

3.

問:

我可否因建議的寬減措施而不用繳付 2011 年 4 月開始到期的 2010/11 年度的第二期暫繳稅?

 
 

答:

你仍須依期繳付 2011 年 4 月開始到期的 2010/11 年度的第二期暫繳稅,不然稅務局會採取追討欠稅行動。如去年一樣,今次的稅務寬減,是扣減即將評定的 2010/11 年度應繳稅款,而不是已徵收的 2010/11 年度暫繳稅款,故你仍須繳清已發出的稅單所載列的暫繳稅款。

  返回頁首


*

4.

問:

稅務局會否向我退還已繳付的 2010/11 年度暫繳稅?

 
 

答:

今次的稅務寬減措施,目的是寬減 2010/11 年度應繳的稅款,故此,可寬減的款額將反映在 2011 年第 3 季開始寄出的薪俸稅及個人入息課稅評稅通知書。這項寬減並不適用於 2010/11 年度暫繳稅款,納稅人已繳付的 2010/11 年度暫繳稅將用以抵銷 2010/11 年度的應繳稅款及 2011/12 年度暫繳稅稅款,如尚有餘額的話,才作退還。

  返回頁首


*

5.

問:

我的兒子將於 2011/12 年度內出生,我可在 2011–12 年度及以後年度申索多少子女免稅額?

 
 

答:

你可在子女出生的年度(即 2011–12 年)申索子女免稅額 60,000 元及一次性額外免稅額 60,000 元。而在其後的年度,若符合其他指定的條件,你可每年就該子女申索 60,000 元子女免稅額。

  返回頁首


*

6.

問:

我的兒子將於 2011/12 年度內出生,我怎樣才可申索增加後的子女免稅額?

 
 

答:

你可於兒子出生後以書面申請緩繳 2011/12 年度薪俸稅暫繳稅。申請必須在下列期限前提交 :

(a) 在繳交暫繳稅的限期前 28 天;或
(b) 暫繳稅繳納通知書的發出日期後 14 天內,
   

兩者以較遲的為準。

此外,當你在來年填報 2011/12 年度的報稅表時,請將兒子資料填上以申索子女免稅額。

  返回頁首


*

7.

問:

評稅主任會否以增加後的免稅額及扣除上限計算 2011/12 課稅年度應繳的薪俸稅暫繳稅?

 
 

答:

待有關法例通過後,評稅主任會以增加後的免稅額及扣除上限計算 2011/12 課稅年度應繳的薪俸稅暫繳稅。薪俸稅 2010/11 年度評稅及 2011/12 年度暫繳稅繳納通知書會在 2011 年度第 3 季開始發出。

  返回頁首


*

8.

問:

我在 2010/11 年度支付了 65,000 元的長者住宿照顧開支,超過 2010/11 年度容許扣除的 60,000 元上限。我在 2010/11 年度個別人士報稅表內就長者住宿照顧開支數額應怎樣填報?

 
 

答:

你應在 2010/11 年度個別人士報稅表內( B I R 表格第 60 號)第 8.4 部分填報實際開支數額 65,000 元。評稅主任會以 60,000 元上限計算 2010/11 年度薪俸稅最後評稅,及以 65,000 元計算 2011/12 年度薪俸稅暫繳稅。

  返回頁首


*

9.

問:

我供養我超過 60 歲的父親,而他有資格按政府傷殘津貼計劃申索津貼。在 20 11/12 年度,我可申索那些免稅額?

 
 

答:

你可申索 36,000 元供養父母免稅額。如你與父親在 2011/12 年度連續全年同住,則可另外享有 36,000 元的額外免稅額。你亦可申索 60,000 元傷殘受養人免稅額,該免稅額在 2011/12 年度維持不變。

  返回頁首


*

10.

問:

在我填報 2010/11 的個別人士報稅表後,我 65 歲的父親居住的安老院才通知 2011/12 年度安老院的住宿照顧開支會由現時的 55,000 元增加至 70,000 元。我怎樣才可申索增加後的長者住宿照顧開支?

 
 

答:

假如你在 2011/12 年度應支付或估計須支付的長者住宿照顧開支超過 60,000 元,你可在收到薪俸稅評稅及暫繳稅繳納通知書後,以書面申請緩繳 2011/12 年度薪俸稅暫繳稅。申請必須在下列期限前提交 :

(a) 在繳交暫繳稅的限期前 28 天;或
(b) 暫繳稅繳納通知書的發出日期後 14 天內,
   

兩者以較遲的為準。