Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Budget 2015-16 FAQ

Budget 2015-16 FAQ

1.

Q:

What tax measures are proposed in the 2015-16 Budget for individual taxpayers?

  

A:

Subject to passage of the law amendments by the Legislative Council, individual taxpayers will get a one-off reduction of 75% of the final tax for the year of assessment 2014/15 in respect of profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Furthermore, child allowances, the implementation of which requires law amendments, will be increased from the year of assessment 2015/16 onwards as follows :

Year of AssessmentPresent
(2014/15)
 $
Proposed
(From 2015/16 onwards)
$
Child Allowance    
  For each of the 1st to 9th child 70,000 100,000
  Additional Child Allowance for each child born during the year of assessment 70,000 100,000

 

  back to top


2.

Q:

Do I need to apply for the tax reduction and the new allowances?

  

A:

You only need to file, as usual, your 2014/15 tax return for individuals (BIR60) which will be issued in May this year. After enactment of the relevant legislation, IRD will effect the tax reduction in the final assessment for 2014/15. If you are eligible to claim child allowance or additional child allowance for new born child in the year of birth, IRD will apply the new allowances in calculating the 2015/16 provisional tax. For 2014/15 assessments issued before the legislative amendment, IRD will revise them after enactment of the legislation. It is expected that the excess tax paid, if any, will be refunded to taxpayers starting from mid August 2015. There is no need for you to make a separate application.

 

  back to top


3.

Q:

Can I withhold payment of the 2nd instalment of 2014/15 provisional tax falling due from April 2015 onwards because of the proposed tax reduction?

  

A:

You are required to pay on time the 2nd instalment of the 2014/15 provisional tax falling due from April 2015. Otherwise, recovery action will be taken by IRD. Similar to previous occasions, the tax reduction is to reduce the 2014/15 final tax that will be charged and not relating to the 2014/15 provisional tax that has already been charged. Therefore, you are still required to pay the 2014/15 provisional tax as charged.

 

  back to top


4.

Q:

Will the Inland Revenue Department refund the 2014/15 provisional tax already paid by me?

  

A:

As the tax reduction is to reduce the 2014/15 final tax that will be charged, the reduction will only be reflected in the notices of salaries tax assessment, profits tax assessment and personal assessment for 2014/15 that will be issued starting from the third quarter of 2015. The tax reduction is not applicable to the 2014/15 provisional tax. The provisional tax paid will be applied to pay the 2014/15 final tax and 2015/16 provisional tax. Excess balance, if any, will be refunded.

 

  back to top


5.

Q:

How to compute the tax reduction?

  

A:

You can use the tax computation program (www.gov.hk/etax) to calculate your 2014/15 and 2015/16 salaries tax and tax under personal assessment.

 

  back to top


6.

Q:

I have to pay salaries tax for the year 2014/15 and I have elected for personal assessment for the year. How the tax reduction should be computed?

  

A:

Under personal assessment, all income of an individual taxpayer, including salaries, will be aggregated to compute the tax payable. Hence, the amount of tax reduction for the year 2014/15 is 75% of the tax assessed under personal assessment and not the tax payable under salaries tax.

 

  back to top


7.

Q:

A husband and a wife, each with employment income and liable to salaries tax, are separately assessed to tax and they can enjoy a maximum tax reduction of $40,000 in total. However, when the husband and the wife are assessed under personal assessment, they can only get a reduction of $20,000. Is it unfair to a couple electing for personal assessment?

  

A:

Profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment for the year of assessment 2014/15 are reduced by 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Under salaries tax, a husband and a wife are separately assessed. Each of them will get a tax reduction of 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000. However, under personal assessment, there is no separate taxation and only one assessment will be issued. Therefore, the tax reduction for the couple is 75%, capped at $20,000. Whether a taxpayer should apply for personal assessment will depend on his situation. When considering an election for personal assessment for the year of assessment 2014/15, taxpayers should take into account the factor that the tax reduction for each couple will be capped at $20,000. IRD will check each personal assessment election to see if it will reduce the amount of tax payable, and assess each taxpayer in the way most advantageous to him.

 

  back to top


8.

Q:

I have two businesses in the year of assessment 2014/15, can I get a tax reduction in respect of each business?

  

A:

For each business, you can get the tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2014/15, subject to a ceiling of $20,000.

 

  back to top


9.

Q:

What amount of Child Allowance can I claim in respect of a child born in 2015/16 and thereafter?

  

A:

You can claim Child Allowance of $100,000 and a one-off allowance of $100,000 in the year of assessment in which your child was born (i.e. 2015/16). In the years thereafter, you can claim for each year a Child Allowance of $100,000 in respect of the child as long as other prescribed conditions are satisfied.

 

  back to top


10.

Q:

My child was born on 3 April 2015. What should I do if I want to claim the child allowance in the year of birth?

  

A:

You can complete Part 8.2 of the 2014/15 tax return for individuals by providing details of your new born child. IRD will grant Child Allowance of $200,000 for that child when computing your 2015/16 provisional tax.

 

  back to top


11.

Q:

My child will be born in 2015/16. How can I make a claim for the increased amount of Child Allowance?

  

A:

After your child is born, you may apply in writing for holding over of the 2015/16 provisional salaries tax charged. The application must be lodged not later than: 

(a) 28 days before the due date for payment of the provisional tax, or
(b) 14 days after the date of issue of the notice for payment of the provisional tax,
whichever is the later.

 

Besides, when you are completing the 2015/16 tax return next year, please fill in details of your child for claiming the Child Allowance.

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

2015-16年度財政預算案

*

1.

問:

2015-16年度財政預算案對個別人士建議了哪些稅務措施?

 
 

答:

如有關法例獲立法會通過,個別人士可獲寬減2014/15課稅年度百份之七十五的利得稅、薪俸稅或個人入息課稅最後評稅稅款,每宗個案以20,000元為上限。此外,由2015/16課稅年度起增加子女免稅額(須經立法予以落實)如下:

增加子女免稅
課稅年度 現時
(2014/15)
$
建議
(2015/16及其後)
$
子女免稅額(每名計算)    
  第一名至第九名子女 70,000 100,000
  在子女出生課稅年度的額外免稅額 70,000 100,000

 

  返回頁首


*

2.

問:

我是否須要申請稅務寬減及按新免稅額計算稅款?

 
 

答:

如往常一樣,你只需填妥在本年5月發出的2014/15年度個別人士報稅表(BIR60)而無須另作申請。待有關法例通過後,稅務局會按稅款寬減措施計算2014/15年度最後評稅的稅款。假如你可申索子女免稅額或新生子女免稅額,稅務局亦會按新的免稅額計算2015/16年度暫繳稅款。在法例通過前已發出的2014/15年度評稅,稅務局會在法例通過後作出修訂,預計會在2015年8月中開始退還納稅人多繳的稅款。你無須另作申請。

  返回頁首


*

3.

問:

我可否因建議的寬減措施而不用繳付2015年4月開始到期的2014/15年度的第二期暫繳稅?

 
 

答:

你仍須依期繳付2015年4月開始到期的2014/15年度的第二期暫繳稅,否則稅務局會採取追討欠稅行動。如以往一樣,今次的稅務寬減,是扣減即將評定的2014/15年度應繳稅款,而不是已徵收的2014/15年度暫繳稅款,故你仍須繳清已發出的稅單所載列的暫繳稅款。

  返回頁首


*

4.

問:

稅務局會否向我退還已繳付的2014/15年度暫繳稅?

 
 

答:

今次的稅務寬減措施,目的是寬減2014/15年度應繳的稅款。故此,可寬減的款額將反映在2015年第3季開始寄出的薪俸稅、利得稅及個人入息課稅評稅通知書。這項寬減並不適用於2014/15年度暫繳稅款。納稅人已繳付的2014/15年度暫繳稅將用以抵銷2014/15年度的應繳稅款及2015/16年度暫繳稅稅款,如尚有餘額的話,才作退還。

  返回頁首


*

5.

問:

如何計算稅務寬減?

 
 

答:

你可使用計算稅款程式(www.gov.hk/etax)計算建議措施實施後你應繳的2014/15和2015/16年度薪俸稅及個人入息課稅稅款。

  返回頁首


*

6.

問:

在2014/15年度我須繳薪俸稅,亦會選擇個人入息課稅,如何計算可獲扣減的稅額?

 
 

答:

個人入息課稅是將納稅人的所有入息合併計算,薪俸收入亦包括在內。故此,你可獲寬減的款額,是2014/15年度個人入息課稅稅款的百分之七十五,而不是按薪俸稅的應繳稅款計算。

  返回頁首


*

7.

問:

一對有薪俸收入而要繳交薪俸稅的夫婦,合共可獲最高40,000元稅款寬減。假若他們按個人入息課稅計稅則合共只可獲得20,000元寬減。申請個人入息課稅對他們是否不公平?

 
 

答:

2014/15課稅年度的寬減是百份之七十五的利得稅、薪俸稅及個人入息課稅最後評稅稅款,每宗個案以20,000元為上限。在薪俸稅下,一對夫婦可以分開評稅,即每人可寬減最後評稅百分之七十五,以20,000元為上限。但在個人入息課稅下並沒有分開評稅,評稅只有一個,所以,寬減上限是夫婦合共20,000元。納稅人應視乎他的情況以決定是否選擇個人入息課稅。以2014/15課稅年度來說,所考慮的因素亦應包括在個人入息課稅下夫婦合共只可獲得20,000元寬減上限的情況。稅務局會就每宗申請驗算個人入息課稅可否減低申請人的應繳稅款,並以對他最為有利的方式評稅。

  返回頁首


*

8.

問:

我在2014/15課稅年度經營兩個業務,可否就每個業務享有稅款寬減?

 
 

答:

在2014/15課稅年度,你可就每個經營的業務享有百分之七十五的利得稅稅款寬減,上限為20,000元。

  返回頁首


*

9.

問:

我的兒子將於2015/16年度內出生,我可在2015/16年度及以後年度申索多少子女免稅額?

 
 

答:

你可在子女出生的年度(即2015/16課稅年度)申索子女免稅額100,000元及一次性額外免稅額100,000元。而在其後的年度,若符合其他指定的條件,你可每年就該子女申索100,000元子女免稅額。

  返回頁首


*

10.

問:

我的兒子在2015年4月3日出生。我怎樣才可申索新生子女免稅額?

 
 

答:

你可在2014/15年度的個別人士報稅表內第8.2部填寫你新生兒子的資料,稅務局會以200,000元的子女免稅額計算你2015/16年度的暫繳稅。

  返回頁首


*

11.

問:

我的兒子將於2015/16年度內出生,我怎樣才可申索增加後的子女免稅額?

 
 

答:

你可在兒子出生後以書面申請緩繳2015/16年度薪俸稅暫繳稅。申請必須在下列期限前提交:

(a) 在繳交暫繳稅的限期前28天;或
(b) 暫繳稅繳納通知書的發出日期後14天內,


兩者以較遲的為準。

此外,當你在來年填報2015/16課稅年度的報稅表時,請將兒子的資料填上以申索子女免稅額。