Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Budget 2016-17 FAQ

*

1.

Q:

What tax measures are proposed in the 2016-17 Budget for individual taxpayers?

 
 

A:

Individual taxpayers will get a one-off reduction of 75% of the final tax for the year of assessment 2015/16 in respect of profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Furthermore, the following tax measures are introduced from the year of assessment 2016/17 onwards:

(a) Increasing the following allowances:

Year of Assessment 2015/16
 $
From 2016/17 onwards
$
Basic Allowance 120,000 132,000
Married Person's Allowance 240,000 264,000
Single Parent Allowance 120,000 132,000
Dependent Parent / Grandparent Allowance
(for each dependant)
   
  Parent / Grandparent aged 60 or above, or is eligible to claim an allowance under the Government's Disability Allowance Scheme 40,000 46,000
  Parent / Grandparent aged between 55 and 59 20,000 23,000
Additional Dependent Parent / Grandparent Allowance
(for each dependant who is living with the taxpayer continuously throughout the year)
   
  Parent / Grandparent aged 60 or above, or is eligible to claim an allowance under the Government's Disability Allowance Scheme 40,000  46,000
  Parent / Grandparent aged between 55 and 59 born during the year of assessment 20,000 23,000

 

(b)  Raising the maximum allowable deduction for elderly residential care expenses as follows:

Year of Assessment 2015/16
 $
From 2016/17 onwards
$
Elderly Residential Care Expenses 80,000 92,000

 

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

Do I need to apply for the tax reduction and the new allowances?

 
 

A:

You only need to file, as usual, your 2015/16 tax return for individuals (BIR60). IRD will effect the tax reduction in the final assessment for 2015/16 and apply the new allowances in calculating the 2016/17 provisional tax. For 2015/16 assessments issued before the legislative amendment, IRD will revise them. It is expected that the excess tax paid, if any, will be refunded to taxpayers starting from July 2016. There is no need for you to make a separate application.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

Can I withhold payment of the 2nd instalment of 2015/16 provisional tax falling due from April 2016 onwards because of the proposed tax reduction?

 
 

A:

You are required to pay on time the 2nd instalment of the 2015/16 provisional tax falling due from April 2016. Otherwise, recovery action will be taken by IRD. Similar to previous occasions, the tax reduction is to reduce the 2015/16 final tax that will be charged and not relating to the 2015/16 provisional tax that has already been charged. Therefore, you are still required to pay the 2015/16 provisional tax as charged.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

Will the Inland Revenue Department refund the 2015/16 provisional tax already paid by me?

 
 

A:

As the tax reduction is to reduce the 2015/16 final tax that will be charged, the reduction will only be reflected in the notices of salaries tax assessment, profits tax assessment and personal assessment for 2015/16. The tax reduction is not applicable to the 2015/16 provisional tax. The provisional tax paid will be applied to pay the 2015/16 final tax and 2016/17 provisional tax. Excess balance, if any, will be refunded.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

How to compute the tax reduction?

 
 

A:

You can use the tax computation program provided by GovHK to calculate your 2015/16 and 2016/17 salaries tax and tax under personal assessment.

 

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

I have to pay salaries tax and profits tax for the year of assessment 2015/16 and I have elected for personal assessment for the year.  How the tax reduction should be computed?

 
 

A:

Under personal assessment, all income of an individual taxpayer, including salaries income and business profits, will be aggregated to compute the tax payable. Hence, the amount of tax reduction for the year of assessment 2015/16 is 75% of the tax assessed under personal assessment (subject to a ceiling of $20,000) and not the tax payable under salaries tax and profits tax.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

A husband and a wife, each with employment income and liable to salaries tax, are separately assessed to tax and they can enjoy a maximum tax reduction of $40,000 in total. However, when the husband and the wife are assessed under personal assessment, they can only get a reduction of $20,000. Is it unfair to a couple electing for personal assessment?

 
 

A:

Profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment for the year of assessment 2015/16 are reduced by 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Under salaries tax, a husband and a wife are separately assessed. Each of them will get a tax reduction of 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000. However, under personal assessment, there is no separate taxation and only one assessment will be issued. Therefore, the tax reduction for the couple is 75%, capped at $20,000. Whether a taxpayer should apply for personal assessment will depend on his situation. When considering an election for personal assessment for the year of assessment 2015/16, taxpayers should take into account the factor that the tax reduction for each couple will be capped at $20,000. IRD will check each personal assessment election to see if it will reduce the amount of tax payable, and assess each taxpayer in the way most advantageous to him.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

I have two businesses in the year of assessment 2015/16, can I get a tax reduction in respect of each business?

 
 

A:

For each business, you can get the tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2015/16, subject to a ceiling of $20,000.

  back to top


*

9.

Q:

I paid elderly residential care expenses of $95,000 in 2015/16, which exceeded the specified maximum of $80,000 for 2015/16. What amount should I write down in the 2015/16 tax return for individuals (BIR60) for claiming the elderly residential care expenses deduction?

 
 

A:

You should state the actual amount of $95,000 paid in Part 8.4 of your 2015/16 tax return for individuals (BIR 60). The Assessor will allow the respective maximum deductions at $80,000 and $92,000 when computing your 2015/16 final salaries tax and 2016/17 provisional salaries tax liabilities.

  back to top


*

10.

Q:

After I had filed my 2015/16 tax return for individuals (BIR 60), the residential care home, in which my 65 years old father stays, informed me that the residential care expenses payable in 2016/17 will be increased from $78,000 to $98,000. What should I do if I want to claim the increased deduction?

 
 

A:

If the amount of elderly residential care expenses paid or payable for 2016/17 exceeds $80,000, you may apply in writing for holding over the 2016/17 provisional salaries tax upon receiving the assessment and notice for payment of provisional salaries tax. The application must be lodged not later than: 

(a) 28 days before the due date for payment of the provisional tax, or
(b) 14 days after the date of issue of the notice for payment of the provisional tax,
whichever is the later. 

 

In computing the provisional salaries tax payable for 2016/17, the Assessor will not deduct $98,000 as the amount of elderly residential care expenses but will restrict the deduction to $92,000.

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主頁 > 常見問題  > 2016-17年度財政預算案

2016-17年度財政預算案

1.

問:

2016-17年度財政預算案對個別人士建議了哪些稅務措施?

  

答:

個別人士可獲寬減2015/16課稅年度百份之七十五的利得稅、薪俸稅或個人入息課稅最後評稅稅款,每宗個案以20,000元為上限。此外,從2016/17課稅年度起推出以下稅務措施:

(1) 增加以下的免稅額:

課稅年度2015/16
$
2016/17及其後
$
基本免稅額 120,000 132,000
已婚人士免稅額 240,000 264,000
單親免稅額 120,000 132,000
供養父母/祖父母/外祖父母免稅額 (每名計算)    
  年齡60歲或以上,或有資格根據政府傷殘津貼計劃申索津貼的父母/祖父母/外祖父母 40,000 46,000
  年齡55至59歲的父母/祖父母/外祖父母 20,000  23,000
供養父母/祖父母/外祖父母額外免稅額 (每名計算,須連續全年與納稅人同住)    
  年齡60歲或以上,或有資格根據政府傷殘津貼計劃申索津貼的父母/祖父母/外祖父母 40,000 46,000
  年齡55至59歲的父母/祖父母/外祖父母 20,000  23,000

 

(2) 提高長者住宿照顧開支的可扣除上限:

課稅年度2015/16
$
2016/17及其後
$
長者住宿照顧開支  80,000 92,000

 

  返回頁首


2.

問:

我是否須要申請稅務寬減及按新免稅額計算稅款?

  

答:

如往常一樣,你只須填妥在本年5月發出的2015/16年度個別人士報稅表(BIR60)而無須另作申請。稅務局會按稅款寬減措施計算2015/16年度最後評稅的稅款及按新的免稅額計算2016/17年度暫繳稅款。在法例通過前已發出的2015/16年度評稅,稅務局會作出修訂,預計會在2016年7月開始退還納稅人多繳的稅款。你無須另作申請。

  返回頁首


3.

問:

我可否因建議的寬減措施而不用繳付2016年4月開始到期的2015/16年度的第二期暫繳稅?

  

答:

你仍須依期繳付2016年4月開始到期的2015/16年度的第二期暫繳稅,否則稅務局會採取追討欠稅行動。如以往一樣,今次的稅務寬減,是扣減即將評定的2015/16年度應繳稅款,而不是已徵收的2015/16年度暫繳稅款,故你仍須繳清已發出的稅單所載列的暫繳稅款。

  返回頁首


4.

問:

稅務局會否向我退還已繳付的2015/16年度暫繳稅?

  

答:

今次的稅務寬減措施,目的是寬減2015/16年度最後評稅的應繳稅款。故此,可寬減的款額將反映在2015/16年度薪俸稅、利得稅及個人入息課稅評稅通知書。這項寬減並不適用於2015/16年度暫繳稅款。納稅人已繳付的2015/16年度暫繳稅將用以抵銷2015/16年度最後評稅的應繳稅款及2016/17年度的暫繳稅稅款,如尚有餘額的話,才作退還。

  返回頁首


5.

問:

如何計算稅務寬減?

  

答:

你可使用在「香港政府一站通」提供的計算稅款程式,計算你應繳的2015/16和2016/17年度薪俸稅及個人入息課稅稅款。

  返回頁首


6.

問:

在2015/16年度我須繳薪俸稅和利得稅,亦會選擇個人入息課稅,如何計算可獲扣減的稅額?

  

答:

個人入息課稅是將納稅人的所有入息合併計算,薪俸收入及業務利潤均會包括在內。故此,你可獲寬減的款額,是2015/16年度個人入息課稅稅款的百分之七十五(以20,000元為上限),而不是按薪俸稅及利得稅的應繳稅款計算。

  返回頁首


7.

問:

一對有薪俸收入而要繳交薪俸稅的夫婦,合共可獲最高40,000元稅款寬減。假若他們按個人入息課稅計稅則合共只可獲得20,000元寬減。申請個人入息課稅對他們是否不公平?

  

答:

2015/16年度的寬減是百份之七十五的利得稅、薪俸稅及個人入息課稅最後評稅稅款,每宗個案以20,000元為上限。在薪俸稅下,一對夫婦可以分開評稅,即每人可寬減最後評稅稅款的百分之七十五,以20,000元為上限。但在個人入息課稅下並沒有分開評稅,評稅只有一個,所以,寬減上限是夫婦合共20,000元。納稅人應視乎他的情況以決定是否選擇個人入息課稅,以2015/16年度來說,所考慮的因素亦應包括在個人入息課稅下夫婦合共只可獲得20,000元寬減上限的情況。稅務局會就每宗申請驗算個人入息課稅可否減低申請人的應繳稅款,並以對他最為有利的方式評稅。

  返回頁首


8.

問:

我在2015/16年度經營兩個業務,可否就每個業務享有稅款寬減?

  

答:

在2015/16年度,你可就每個經營的業務享有百分之七十五的利得稅稅款寬減,上限為20,000元。

  返回頁首


9.

問:

我在2015/16年度支付了95,000元的長者住宿照顧開支,超過2015/16年度容許扣除上限的80,000元。我在2015/16年度個別人士報稅表內就長者住宿照顧開支數額應怎樣填報?

  

答:

你應在2015/16年度個別人士報稅表(BIR60)的第8.4部填報實際開支數額95,000元。評稅主任會分別以80,000元及92,000元的扣除上限計算2015/16年度薪俸稅最後評稅和2016/17年度薪俸稅暫繳稅。

  返回頁首


10.

問:

在我填報2015/16年度個別人士報稅表後,我65歲的父親居住的安老院才通知我2016/17年度安老院的住宿照顧開支會由現時的78,000元增加至98,000元。我怎樣才可申索增加後的長者住宿照顧開支?

  

答:

假如你在2016/17年度應支付或估計須支付的長者住宿照顧開支超過80,000元,你可在收到薪俸稅評稅及暫繳稅繳納通知書後,以書面申請緩繳2016/17年度薪俸稅暫繳稅。申請必須在下列期限前提交:

(a) 在暫繳稅的繳稅限期前28天;或
(b) 發出繳納暫繳稅的通知書日期後的14天內,
兩者以較遲的為準。

 

評稅主任在修訂2016/17年度薪俸稅暫繳稅時,不會扣減98,000元但會以上限的92,000元計算長者住宿照顧開支。

 

返回頁首