Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Q & A for "e-Seminar for Individual Taxpayers"

 

Dependent Child Allowance

  • Child finished schooling and is now unemployed. Still maintained by parents

1.

Q:

My son is now 20 years old. He finished schooling in June 2016 and is now unemployed. Hence, I am maintaining his living. Can I claim child allowance for him?

A:

If your child is over 18 but under 25, child allowance can be granted to you only if your child is receiving full time education at any time during the year of assessment. In your case, you can claim child allowance for the year of assessment 2016/17 in view of the fact that your son was receiving full time education during April 2016 to June 2016.

  back to top


 

Personal Assessment

  • Both husband and wife have employment and rental income. Any tax benefit if we elect for Personal Assessment
  • Any tool available for computing the tax liability
  • Elected for Personal Assessment but which turned out to be disadvantageous

2.

Q:

I am married. Both my wife and I have income from employment. Besides, we have received rental income from a jointly owned property, which was mortgaged to a bank to secure a bank loan. My questions are :-

(i) Will there be any tax benefit if we elect for Personal Assessment?
(ii) Is there any tool available for computing the tax liability under Personal Assessment?
(iii) If we have elected for Personal Assessment but which turned out to be disadvantageous to us, will the Revenue revert back to the normal method of calculation?

A:

(i)

Whether you and your wife will get benefit by electing for Personal Assessment depends on a lot of factors:

  • the amount of salaries income received by you and your wife:
  • the amount of rental income received by you and your wife; and
  • the amount of allowances and deductions to be claimed by you and your wife, in particular the amount of mortgaged interest paid on earning the rental income.

Hence, election for Personal Assessment may result in lower tax to pay for one year and no benefit or even disadvantageous in the next year, it depends on the income and deduction position of the year concerned.
 

(ii)

If you want to compute your tax liability under Personal Assessment, you may make use of the Tax Calculator available in the IRD Homepage.

(Please treat the calculation table as a tool which provides information of reference value only)
 

(iii) An election for Personal Assessment that turns out to be disadvantageous will not cause any harm to you. The IRD's computer will make automatic comparison – and if election is not advantageous or will result in more tax to pay, your income will be assessed as if you do not elect for Personal Assessment for that year of assessment. You will be informed of this by way of an Assessor's Note.

  back to top


 

ORSO Scheme

  • Contribution larger than 5% of the monthly salary

 

3.

Q:

My employer operates an ORSO Scheme to provide employees with retirement benefit. I have an option to contribute to the Scheme at 0%, 5%, 7.5% or 10% of my salary. If my monthly salary is $10,000 and I have opted to contribute 10% of my salary, i.e., $1,000 per month, can I get the maximum tax deduction of $12,000?

A:

At monthly salary of $10,000, if you make contributions to a Mandatory Provident Fund Scheme ("MPF Scheme"), your mandatory contribution would amount to $500 per month. In this situation, you may claim deduction for MPF in the amount of $6,000 ($500 x 12 months). Any contribution exceeding 5% of your salary would be regarded as voluntary contributions to the MPF Scheme and not deductible for tax purposes.

For ORSO Schemes, there is no mandatory contribution. Hence, you are allowed to opt to contribute from 0 to 10% of your monthly salary. The law allows ORSO Scheme participants to get the same tax deductions as MPF Scheme participants. So, you will get tax deductions of $6,000, namely, $500 per month for 12 months.

  back to top


 

Payments received from Insolvency Fund

  • Arrears of wages received from Insolvency Fund after the employer closed down upon liquidation

4.

Q:

I had an employment with Hard Luck Company which was closed down upon liquidation in January 2016. In June 2016, I received $36,000 made out from the Insolvency Fund to cover my arrears of wages for the period from April 2015 to August 2015. Should I report this income in my tax return for year of assessment 2016/17?

A:

As you received the sum of $36,000 during the basis period for the year of assessment 2016/17, you should report that sum in your tax return for the year of assessment 2016/17 as follows:

(i) under Paragraph (1) of Part 4.1 of your tax return, state the Name of Employer, Capacity Employed, Period (April 2015 to August 2015) and Total Amount ($36,000);
(ii) under Paragraph (1)(ii) of Part 4.1 of your tax return (Box 24), put down the amount received ($36,000);
(iii) under Paragraph (2) of Part 4.1 of your tax return (Box 26), put down the amount to be excluded from the total income by reason of relating back of the sum to the relevant year of assessment; and
(iv) complete Section 2 of the Appendix to the tax return.


However, this sum of $36,000 was in fact earned during the year of assessment 2015/16. You may, if you wish, apply to have it related back to the year of assessment 2015/16. Upon receipt of your application for relating back, the Assessor will issue to you an additional assessment for year of assessment 2015/16. Since income will not be assessed twice, the sum of $36,000 will not be assessed as income for 2016/17.

  back to top


 

Loss incurred from sole-proprietorship business

  • Loss set-off against income for the same year
  • Loss set-off against income for future years

5.

Q:

I ran a sole-proprietorship business and had assessed loss of $210,000 for 2015/16. The Assessor had agreed to let me carry forward this loss to 2016/17 under Profits Tax.

My business ceased in February 2017 and there was further assessed loss of $68,000 for the year of assessment 2016/17.

During 2016/17, my wife had salary income of $250,000 and the two of us had elected for Personal Assessment for 2016/17.

After deducting my business loss of $68,000 from my wife's income of $250,000, the remaining figure is $182,000. Can I set-off business loss of $210,000 for 2015/16 against my wife's remaining income of $182,000? If possible, can the balance of unutilized loss, in the amount of $28,000 (that is, $210,000 minus $182,000) be carried forward for set-off against our future income?

A:

Please note that you are empowered to choose against which type of income your business losses would be set off. If you and your spouse have not elected for Personal Assessment for 2015/16, business losses for that year will be set-off against the 2016/17 profits of the same business, that is, under Profits Tax. If you have elected for Personal Assessment for 2015/16, the loss will be set-off against the other income of you and your wife's for the elected year.

From what you said, you had not elected for Personal Assessment for 2015/16, and so the loss of $210,000 incurred by you for carrying on sole proprietorship "Business A" in 2015/16 can only be carried forward for set-off against future profits of "Business A" (i.e., under Profits Tax) and cannot be used to set-off against your or your wife's other sources of income for 2015/16 or for subsequent years.

Generally speaking, the rule for deducting business losses under Personal Assessment is that you may deduct

(a) business loss incurred for the current year, and
(b) business losses brought forward under Personal Assessment from previous years.


Hence, if you had elected for Personal Assessment for 2015/16 and neither you nor your wife had other sources of income, there would be unutilized loss in the amount of $210,000 to be carried forward to 2016/17, under Personal Assessment. The residue of $28,000 can be further carried forward for set-off against the future income of you or your spouse under Personal Assessment.

  back to top


 

"Rateable Value"

  • What is "Rateable Value"

6.

Q:

What is the "Rateable Value" of Part 4.2 of the Return?

A:

Are you aware of the fact that payment of rates is based on "Rateable Value"? The "Rateable Value" of a property is determined by the Rating & Valuation Department and is not arrived at arithmetically.

Normally you do not have to complete this item in part 4.2 of your tax return. You only do so when you want to substitute "Rateable Value" for "Rental Value" (RV) and in this event you should put down the "Rateable Value" as shown in the Rates Demand Note of the property concerned.

If your employer had provided you with a place of residence, the RV of that place of residence should be included in your Assessable Income. Depending on the type of accommodation provided, the RV is calculated at 4%, 8% or 10% of your total net income after deducting outgoings and expenses (except expenses of self-education). Where your employer has provided you with a residential property, you may elect to include the "Rateable Value" of the property instead of the RV, if to do so can reduce the amount of Salaries Tax to be paid.

  back to top


 

Dependent Brother or Dependent Sister Allowance

  • Brother living together, unemployed due to sickness

7.

Q:

I have a brother, who is over 25 years old and living with me. Since laid off a few years ago he could not find another job. He needs rest over 15 hours each day but seldom goes to the doctor. Can I claim Dependent Brother Allowance under this circumstance?

A:

To be eligible for Dependent Brother or Dependent Sister Allowance, you must maintain an unmarried brother or sister and this brother or sister

(a) must be under the age of 18 years,
(b) was receiving full time education at a university, college, school or other similar educational establishment if he/she was of or over 18 but under 25 years old; or
(c) was by reason of physical or mental disability, incapacitated for work if he/she was aged 18 or above.


In your case, you can get deduction for Dependent Brother Allowance if

(a) your brother is still single, and
(b) he was incapacitated for work by reason of physical or mental disability.


Before admitting your claim, the Assessor may require you to produce documentary evidence, such as doctor's certificate, to substantiate that your brother is physically unfit for work.

  back to top


 

Retired civil servant, emigrated to foreign country

  • Eligible to "Joint Assessment"
  • Dependent mother lived together and maintained by taxpayer; but did not reside in Hong Kong

8.

Q:

I am a government pensioner and had migrated to Canada. Can I

(a) elect for "joint assessment"; and
(b) claim Dependent Parent Allowance in respect of my mother who has been living with me in Canada and supported by me throughout the year.

Please be advised, both my mother and I had resided in Hong Kong continuously for over 44 years before our migration to Canada.

A:

Any married couple may elect for joint assessment under Salaries Tax, irrespective of resident status. The point to note for joint assessment is that both spouses have income assessable to Hong Kong Salaries Tax for the year of election. If your spouse does not earn any income chargeable to Hong Kong Salaries Tax, you may claim Married Person's Allowance.

To be eligible for Dependent Parent Allowance, the taxpayer must have maintained at any time during the year a parent who

  • is ordinarily residing in Hong Kong;
  • is age over 55; and
  • has either resided with him/her for a continuous period of no less than 6 months or has received from him/her not less than $12,000 in money towards her maintenance during the year.


To be eligible for the allowance, all of the above conditions must be fulfilled. As your mother is residing with you in Canada, you cannot get the Dependent Parent Allowance.

  back to top


 

Self Education Expense

  • Reimbursement from Continuing Education Fund after the deduction was approved

9.

Q:

A taxpayer made a claim for a deduction of course fee of $30,000 in his tax return for the year of assessment 2016/17. The deduction was granted. Subsequently, he got a reimbursement of course fee of $10,000 from the Continuing Education Fund in the year of assessment 2017/18. Is this sum of $10,000 a chargeable income?

A:

Continuing Education Fund (CEF) is set up by the Government to encourage people in continuous study. Any payment from CEF is not a chargeable income, as it is not derived from any office or employment. On the other hand, deductible self-education expenses do not include any reimbursement from employers or other parties. A taxpayer can only claim deductions for the actual amount of self-education expenses paid. In this case, this taxpayer should inform the IRD in writing about the reimbursement of course fee of $10,000 as soon as he received it in the year of assessment 2017/18. The IRD will issue an additional salaries tax assessment for the year of assessment 2016/17 to him to adjust the amount of self-education expenses previously granted.

  back to top


 

Deductions for healthcare professionals (including doctors, dentists, nurses, etc.)

  • Professional indemnity insurance, registration fee and annual practicing fee, subscriptions paid to professional associations
  • Course fee and/or examination fee paid for specialty qualifications
  • Expenses incurred in travelling overseas to take professional examinations
  • Entertainment expenses
  • Can practice be incorporated

10.

Q:

I am a practitioner in employment. Can I be allowed to deduct under Salaries Tax professional indemnity insurance which I paid?

A:

In general, all outgoings and expenses wholly, exclusively and necessarily incurred in the production of assessable income are deductible. Those that are of a domestic, private or capital nature are not. The "wholly, exclusively and necessarily" and "in the production of" rules are very stringent. A more detailed discussion can be found in the Departmental Interpretation and Practice Note No. 9.

It should be noted that in order for an expenditure to be deductible, there must be a "perceived connection" between the expense and the assessable income. The outlay is not deductible if it is paid merely to enable a person to acquire employment. A distinction must be drawn between "an expense incurred in gaining income" [for example, the cost of travelling from home to the place of work] and "an expense incurred necessarily for the purpose of gaining it".

There is a well-settled line of cases which hold that indemnity insurance is not incurred "in the production of" assessable income, even if the employer requires such an indemnity insurance to be taken out by the taxpayer. The test is not whether the employer imposes the expense but whether the duties do: in the sense that the duties cannot be performed without incurring it.

  back to top


11.

Q:

As a practitioner in employment, can I be allowed to deduct under Salaries Tax:

(a) registration fee and annual practicing fee; and
(b) subscriptions paid to professional associations?

A:

Under a strict interpretation of law [Paragraph 10 above refers], these fees and subscriptions are not deductible.

However, if registration with a certain body is required by law, e.g., a medical doctor is required by law to register with the Medical Council and obtain an annual practicing certificate before he is able to practise, deduction of these fees are allowed by extra-statutory concession.

On the other hand, where the holding of a professional qualification is a prerequisite of employment and where the retention of membership and keeping abreast of current developments in the particular specialty are of regular use and benefit in the performance of duties, the subscription paid to no more than one professional association is allowed by extra-statutory concession.

  back to top


12.

Q:

As a healthcare professional, I have to keep up my professional knowledge. Can I be allowed to deduct under Salaries Tax:

(a) course fee and/or examination fee paid for specialty qualifications; and
(b) expenses incurred in travelling overseas to take professional examinations?

A:

(a) The law has specific provision for deduction of self-education expenses which are otherwise not deductible under the general stringent rules. Expenses of self-education, including course and examination fees paid for the purpose of attaining specialist qualifications are deductible if they do not exceed a prescribed amount in a year of assessment. The maximum deductible amount is $60,000 for the years of assessment 2010/11 to 2012/13. From the year of assessment 2013/14 onwards, the deduction ceiling for expenses of self-education will be increased from $60,000 to $80,000.
(b) Expenses incurred in travelling overseas to take professional examinations are clearly not incurred in the production of assessable income. They are therefore not deductible.

 

  back to top


13.

Q:

I maintain a practice and I am chargeable to Profits Tax. My questions are:

(a) To what extent are entertainment expenses deductible under Profits Tax?
(b) Is incorporation of my practice prohibited under the Inland Revenue Ordinance?

A:

(a) Entertainment expenses to the extent that they are incurred in the production of chargeable profits are deductible. Generally, the amounts incurred has to be reasonable having regards to the taxpayer's circumstances. Proper records on details of occasions and people entertained, as well as receipts should be kept and produced for examination when called for by the IRD.
(b) The Inland Revenue Ordinance does not prohibit the incorporation of a professional practice. However, cases will be examined to see if there are tax-avoidance elements. If there are, the anti-avoidance rules will apply. More detail discussions of the anti-avoidance provision can be found in parts C and D of the Departmental Interpretation and Practice Notes No. 15. A discussion of "service company" can be found at the Departmental Interpretation and Practice Notes No. 24.

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

* 

子女免稅額

  • 兒子大學畢業後,還未找到工作,仍由父母供養。

1.

問:

我的兒子現年 20歲。在 2016年 6月大學畢業後,直至現在還未找到工作。我仍然需要為他提供生活費用。請問我是否合資格申請他的子女免稅額?

答:

如你供養一名年滿 18歲但未滿 25歲的子女,而想得到該名子女的免稅額,該名子女必須在有關課稅年度內的任何時間曾接受全日制教育。按你所提及的情況,你的兒子小強在 2016年 4月至 6月曾接受全日制教育,因此你符合資格申請 2016/17年度的子女免稅額。

 返回頁首


* 

個人入息課稅

  • 夫婦各有工作收入,並有租金收入。個人入息課稅是否有利
  • 電腦程式供自行計算應繳稅款
  • 如選擇了以個人入息課稅,但實際並不有利

2.

問:

本人已婚,夫婦各有工作收入,並從出租一層按了給銀行的聯名物業賺取租金。
(i)選擇以個人入息課稅方式計稅是否對我們有利?
(ii)貴局有沒有設置此類電腦程式供我們自行計算應繳稅款?
(iii)如本人和配偶都選擇了以個人入息課稅方式計稅,但其後知道用這方式計稅對我們並不有利,稅局會否會懂得自動將評稅方式改變?

答:

(i)

選擇以個人入息課稅計稅是否對你有利是取決於很多因素 , 其中包括 :

  • 你和你的配偶的薪金收入;
  • 你和你的配偶的租金收入;
  • 你和你的配偶可申索的扣除和免稅額,尤其是為獲取租金收入而支付的按揭利息。


因此,就算今年你因選擇以個人入息課稅計稅而得到稅款的寬減,但明年作同樣的選擇可能未必對你有利。

(ii)

如你想計算選擇以個人入息課稅後你所需繳交的稅款,你可以利用稅務局網頁中的 稅款計算機 

(請將這計算表視為一項計算工具,並只可用作參考用途。)
 
(iii) 如選擇以個人入息課稅計算你的稅款對你不利,亦不會令你多付稅款。以個人入息課稅計算你的稅款對你有沒有好處,稅務局的電腦會自動作出比較-如果選擇個人入息課稅是不利於你或會令你多付稅款,稅務局會將你視作不選擇個人入息課稅來作出評稅,且在稅單上評稅主任附註一欄將此情況通知你。

 返回頁首


* 

職業退休計劃的供款

  • 供款超過月薪的百分之五

3.

問:

我的僱主為保障我們退休後的生活向我們提供了一項職業退休計劃。我參加後有權選擇從薪金中扣除 0% 、 5% 、 7.5% 或 10% 作為供款。如果我的月薪是 $10,000 ,而我選擇了供款 10% ,我是否可以申索扣除全數的供款,即扣除 $12,000 ?

答:

以月薪 $10,000 來計算,在強制性公積金計劃(「強積金」計劃)下,你的強制性供款應為每月 $500 ,而因此你全年可得到 $6,000 的扣除($500 x 12) 。任何超過月薪的 5% 的供款屬自願性供款,在稅務上並不能獲得扣除。

通常職業退休計劃下不設任何強制性供款,因此你可選擇供款 0% 至 10% 。稅例容許參與職業退休計劃的人士和參與強積金計劃的人士得到同等扣除額。因此你應得到 $6,000 的扣除,即相等於 12 個月的每月 $500 。

 返回頁首


* 

從破產欠薪保障基金所得款項

  • 在公司倒閉清盤後,從破產欠薪保障基金發還部分欠薪。

4.

問:

本人曾在甲公司工作,該公司已在 2016年 1月倒閉清盤。在 2016年 6月,我收到破產欠薪保障基金發還部分甲公司的欠薪,金額為 $36,000,欠薪期為 2015年 4月至 2015年 8月。請問我是否需要將這筆款項填報在本人 2016/17課稅年度的個別人士報稅表內?

答:

因為你是在 2016/17課稅年度的基期內收到這筆款項,你是應該將這 $36,000的收入填報在 2016/17課稅年度的個別人士報稅表內,方法如下:

(i) 在報稅表第4.1部的段落(1)填寫僱主名稱、受僱職位、期間( 2015年 4月至 2015年 8月)和總入息款額( $36,000);
(ii) 在報稅表第 4.1部的段落(1)(ii)填上金額 $36,000[即第 24號的格子];
(iii) 如果你想將該筆款項撥回有關課稅年度計算,在報稅表第 4.1部的段落(2)填上金額 $36,000[即第 26號的格子];與及
(iv) 填寫報稅表附錄的第2部。


可是,你實際上在 2015/16課稅年度賺取這筆薪金,因此你有權申請將這筆款項撥回該年度作為該年度的入息計算。稅務局在收到申請後,會向你發出 2015/16年度的補加稅稅單。由於稅務局不會就同一筆款項徵收兩次稅款,因此在你的 2016/17年度評稅中,應課稅入息一定不會包括這筆 $36,000的入息。

 返回頁首


* 

經營獨資業務生意出現業務虧損

  • 業務虧損抵銷當年的其他收入
  • 業務虧損結轉至未來的年度抵銷將來的收入

5.

問:

我曾獨資經營生意並在 2015/16年度出現業務虧損 $210,000。評稅主任已准許我將此虧損結轉至 2016/17年度的利得稅。

該生意在 2017年 2月結束了,在 2016/17年度出現業務虧損 $68,000。

我妻子在2016/17年度有受僱薪酬 $250,000。我們選擇了以個人入息課稅的方法計算這個年度我兩夫婦的應繳稅項。

我妻子的收入 $250,000在減除業務虧損 $68,000後,所剩下來的收入餘額是 $182,000。請問我是否可用我獨資業務在 2015/16年度的業務虧損 $210,000來抵銷我妻子的收入餘額 $182,000?如可以的話,我是否可將抵銷後的虧損餘額 $28,000(即 $210,000減 $182,000)結轉至未來的年度,以抵銷我兩夫婦將來的收入呢?

答:

請注意你有權選擇將獨資業務所出現的虧損用作抵銷其他方面的收入。你和配偶如在 2015/16年度沒有選擇以個人入息課稅方法計稅,當年出現的業務虧損會用作抵銷你在 2016/17年度從該業務所產生的利潤。可是,你和配偶如在 2015/16年度選擇了以個人入息課稅方法計稅,則當年出現的業務虧損會用作抵銷你和配偶在當年的其他收入。

根據你所提供的資料,你在 2015/16年度並沒有選擇以個人入息課稅方法計稅,因此由你獨資經營的「業務A」在 2015/16年度所產生的虧損 $210,000只能用來抵銷「業務A」在未來年度的利潤,而不能用來抵銷你或配偶在 2015/16或未來年度的其他收入。

一般來說,納稅人可透過選擇個人入息課稅以申索扣除

(a) 在這個課稅年度內業務上的虧損;以及
(b) 按個人入息課稅方法計稅下承前各年度的虧損。

 

因此,假如你選擇以個人入息課稅方法計算你 2015/16年度的稅款,而你和配偶並沒有其他收入,你獨資業務在該年度所產生的虧損 $210,000便可以結轉至 2016/17年度的個人入息課稅。而且餘下虧損 $28,000還可再繼續結轉至未來年度,用來抵銷你或配偶在未來年度的收入。

 返回頁首


* 

「應課差餉租值」

  • 什麼是「應課差餉租值」

6.

問:

請問報稅表第 4.2 欄中的「應課差餉租值」是什麼?

答:

請問你有否察覺到你每季所繳付的差餉都是根據「應課差餉租值」計算呢?第 4.2 欄所提及的「應課差餉租值」,並不是計算得來,是由差餉物業估價署評定。

在一般情況下,你無需填寫這欄。假如你選擇用應課差餉租值來代替計算出來的「租值」,你才會將差餉單上所顯示的「應課差餉租值」填寫入這個格內。

假如你的僱主提供居所給你,該居所的「租值」便須計入你的應予評稅的入息內。「租值」會依不同類別按你入息減去支出和開支(但不能減個人進修開支)的 4% 、 8% 或 10% 計算。當僱主提供一住宅單位作為你的居所,而計算出來的「租值」是大過該居所的「應課差餉租值」的話,你有權選擇將「應課差餉租值」代替計算出來的「租值」,以達到少付薪俸稅的目的。

 返回頁首


* 

供養兄弟姊妹免稅額

  • 同住的弟弟被解僱,因病沒有工作

7.

問:

我與一名超過 25 歲的弟弟同住。他幾年前被解僱,直至現在仍未找到工作。他每天都需要休息 15 小時以上,但並沒有時常去看醫生。請問我可不可以申索供養他的免稅額呢?

答:

要符合申索供養兄弟姊妹免稅額的資格,你必須供養一名未婚的兄弟或姊妹,該名兄弟或姊妹並且

(a) 必須未滿 18 歲;
(b) 如年滿 18 但未滿 25 歲,須在大學、學院、學校或其他類似的教育機構接受全日制教育;或
(c) 如年滿 18 歲,須因為他身體上或精神上的無能力而不能工作。


按你的情況,要符合申索供養兄弟姊妹免稅額的資格,你所供養的弟弟

 (a) 必須是未婚;以及 
 (b) 他是因身體上或精神上的無能力而不能工作。


你必須備有證明文件,例如醫生證明書,以供評稅主任須要時參考,才可提出申索。

 返回頁首


* 

退休公務員,現已移民外地

  • 可否選擇合併評稅
  • 母親與我同住及由我供養,但她沒有在香港居住

8.

問:

本人為一退休公務員,現已移民加拿大。

(a)請問我可不可以選擇合併評稅?
(b)我母親全年都是與我同住及由我供養。請問我可不可以申索供養她的免稅額呢?

請注意我和母親在移居加拿大前曾連續居港超過 44 年。

答:

任何已婚夫婦,不論是否香港居民,都可選擇用合併評稅方式計算薪俸稅。最重要的是夫婦兩人在選擇合併評稅的年度均曾賺取須繳納香港薪俸稅的入息。若配偶沒有在香港收取任何應課薪俸稅的入息,你可申索扣除已婚人士免稅額。

要符合申索供養父母免稅額的資格,受供養者在有關年度內必須

  • 通常在香港居住;
  • 年齡已足 55 歲或以上;以及
  • 與納稅人同住至少連續 6 個月,或曾接受納稅人給予全年總數不少過 $12,000 的現金生活費。


你必須具備以上全部條件,才符合申索資格。按你的情況,由於你的母親與你一起在加拿大居住而不是通常在香港居住, 你不符合資格獲得供養父母免稅額。

 返回頁首


* 

個人進修開支

  • 獲得扣除後,從「持續進修基金」獲發還學費

9.

問:

納稅人於 2016/17年度繳交三萬元學費,在當年報稅時已全部申索並獲得扣除;其後在 2017/18年度,他從「持續進修基金」獲發還一萬元學費。那一萬元是否屬於應課稅收入?

答:

「持續進修基金」是政府為了鼓勵市民持續學習而設立的,不屬於從職務或受僱工作所得的入息,所以不屬於應課稅收入。但另一方面,可扣減的個人進修開支並不包括由僱主或其他人士發還的款額,納稅人只能獲扣除實際支付的數額。因此,當他在 2017/18年度獲發還學費一萬元後,他必須以書面通知稅務局。稅務局將會發出 2016/17年度補加薪俸稅評稅給他,以調整先前已扣除的個人進修開支。

 返回頁首


* 

醫療從業員(包括醫生、牙醫、護士等)的扣除

  • 專業責任保險費、註冊費和執業年費、專業學會會費
  • 專業資格的課程及 / 或考試費
  • 前往海外參加專業考試而招致的交通費
  • 款待 / 酬酢費
  • 私人執業業務是否可註冊成為法團

10.

問:

本人受僱於醫療界。在計算薪俸稅時,是否可獲扣除本人支付的專業責任保險費?

答:

一般而言,完全、純粹及必須為產生應予評稅的入息而招致的所有支出及開支均可扣除,但屬家庭或私人以及資本性質者的開支並不可以。關於「完全、純粹及必須」及「為產生」的規定十分嚴苛。《香港稅務條例釋義及執行指引第 9 號》載有更詳盡的論述。

開支必須與應予評稅的入息有「直接關連」才可獲扣除。如該項支出只是為了使某人取得受僱工作而支付,則不可以扣除。「為產生該應予評稅的入息而招致」(in the production of the assessable income)的開支有別於「為賺取入息而招致」(for the purpose of producing the assessable income )的開支(例如:從居所到工作地點的交通費)。

多個案例已確立即使僱主要求納稅人購買專業責任保險,該等開支並非「為產生」應予評稅的入息而招致。關鍵並不在於該開支是否因僱主要求而產生,而在於該開支是否因職務而產生:意思是如不支付該開支,有關職務便不能履行。

 返回頁首


11.

問:

作為醫療界的僱員,在計算本人的薪俸稅時是否可獲扣除:

(a)註冊費和執業年費;及

(b)專業學會會費?

答:

根據條例的嚴格規定〔見上文第 10 題〕,此等費用並不可以扣除。

然而,若果法例規定必須向有關專業團體註冊,如醫生根據法例必須向醫務委員會註冊和取得執業證明書才可執業,此等費用特惠給予扣除。

此外,若果持有某項專業資格是擔當有關受僱工作的先決條件、及保留會員資格和瞭解有關專科的最新發展常用於並有利於履行日常職務,支付給不多於一個專業學會的費用特惠給予扣除。

 返回頁首


12.

問:

本人作為一名醫療專業人員,必須持績進修。在計算薪俸稅時,本人是否可獲扣除:

(a)    為取得專業資格的課程及/或考試費;和

(b)    前往海外參加專業考試而招致的交通費?

答:

(a) 根據一般嚴格條文不可扣除的個人進修開支,法例另有具體規定。個人進修開支(包括為取得專業資格而支付的課程和考試費用)如在某課稅年度不超過訂明款額可給予扣除。 2010/11至2012/13課稅年度可扣除的個人進修開支最高限額為$60,000。自2013/14 課稅年度起,個人進修開支的最高扣除額,由60,000元增加至 80,000元。
 
(b) 前往海外參加專業考試而招致的交通費明顯地並非為產生應予評稅的入息而招致,因此不能扣除。

 

 返回頁首


13.

問:

本人私人執業並予以徵收利得稅。本人的問題是:

(a)    在計算利得稅時可予以扣除的應酬費幅度;及

(b)    稅務條例是否不容許私人執業業務註冊成為法團?

答:

(a) 只有為產生應課稅利潤而招致的應酬開支才可扣除。一般而言,有關金額就納稅人的情況而言須是合理。納稅人須保存應酬場合、受款待人士詳細資料及收據。當稅務局要求驗證時須提交有關資料。
 
(b) 《稅務條例》並沒有不容許醫療業務註冊成為法團。然而,稅務局會審查是否有涉及避稅成份。若有的話,稅務局便會引用反避稅條文。有關反避稅條文詳載於稅務局《稅務條例釋義及執行指引第 15 號 》第 C 和 D 部。「服務公司」的討論詳載於稅務局《稅務條例釋義及執行指引第 24號 》。