Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

The Li & Fung Case

*

1.

Q:

What was the business of Li & Fung (Trading) Limited ("LFT")?

 
 

A:

LFT provided services to its customers who were importers, department stores, chain stores and specialty shops located overseas for which, typically, LFT was paid 6% of the FOB value of the goods supplied to such customers. The Board of Review held that LFT was a "commission agent" and rejected the suggestion that LFT operated a "supply chain management business".

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

What were the issues?

 
 

A:

The first issue was whether LFT's profits relating to goods sourced from suppliers located in places other than Hong Kong, Mainland of China and Macau were offshore and so not chargeable to profits tax. The second issue was whether LFT's deduction of a marketing commission paid to its holding company incorporated in the British Virgin Islands from onshore profits was caught by the anti-avoidance provisions in sections 61 and 61A of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

How did the Board of Review decide the issues in question 2 above?

 
 

A:

The Board of Review decided in LFT's favour on the first issue and in the Commissioner's favour on the second. Both parties appealed by way of case stated against the Board's Decision. The appeal on the second issue was settled and discontinued with the Court's consent.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

What was the judgment of the Court of First Instance?

 
 

A:

There was evidence on which the Board of Review could conclude that LFT's commission was earned in the place where the overseas sourcing affiliates carried out its instructions. The true and only reasonable conclusion would not contradict the Board's conclusion. It would not be incorrect for the Board not to apportion the 6% commission by reference to the activities of the overseas sourcing affiliates and of LFT. Nor can it be said that the Board acted irrationally or that its conclusions were unsupported by the available evidence.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

What was the judgment of the Court of Appeal?

 
 

A:

The judgment of the Court of First Instance was justified by the facts found by the Board of Review. The Board of Review could not be criticized for not dealing with the Commissioner's argument raised in the Court of Appeal. The Board's delay in handing down the Decision would not render the Decision unsafe. There was no basis to remit the case back to the Board to make additional findings of fact.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

Have the Courts considered the entire facts of the case?

 
 

A:

No, the Courts did not have the chance to consider the entire facts of the case. Counsel for the Commissioner attempted to rely on the Harvard Business Review reports to show that some of the activities in the standard agency agreement were performed in Hong Kong. But since the point had not been taken before the Board of Review, the Court of Appeal held that it would not be right to remit the matter to the Board to enable the Commissioner to raise this new point which would probably require further evidence.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

Why didn't the Commissioner appeal to the Court of Final Appeal?

 
 

A:

An appellant in ordinary civil cases may appeal to the Court of Final Appeal as of right or as a matter of discretion under section 22(1) of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance. Counsel advised that the tax amount would not determine the question whether leave should be granted as of right. Counsel further advised that the decision of the Court of Appeal would be final unless it could be established that the case involved questions of great general or public importance or there were exceptional circumstances which necessitated the exercise of discretion to grant permission to appeal to the Court of Final Appeal. The Commissioner having considered the advice of Counsel decided not to appeal.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

Is there any change in law on source of profits?

 
 

A:

The relevant legal principles applied by the Court of Appeal as set out in its judgment were not disputed by the Commissioner and LFT. The Court of Appeal simply reconfirmed the broad guiding principle, i.e. what the taxpayer has done to earn the profit in question and where he has done it and emphasized the importance to focus on the effective causes as distinct from antecedent or incidental activities. The judgment did not represent a change of law or overturn any judicial precedents.

  back to top


*

9.

Q:

Is the case of wider application?

 
 

A:

The Court of Appeal simply applied the well-established legal principles to the facts found by the Board of Review. As there is no change in law on source of profits and the case was decided on its own facts, the judgment does not have some wider application to other source cases.

  back to top


*

10.

Q:

Will the Department change its assessment practice regarding the taxation of profits derived from sourcing and agency activities?

 
 

A:

There is no new law or change in law on source of profits in the LFT case. Per the judgment of the Court of Final Appeal in Ngai Lik Electronics Co Ltd v CIR [2009] 5 HKLRD 334, sourcing and agency activities in Hong Kong might give rise to assessable profits. When assessing profits derived from sourcing and agency activities, the Department will continue to apply consistently the broad guiding principle, focus on the effective causes and ignore antecedent or ancillary matters.

  back to top


*

11.

Q:

What were the observations about agency?

 
 

A:

Whether one is acting for another or on his behalf and for his account is a factual matter. In CIR v Datatronic Ltd [2009] 4 HKLRD 675 and CIR v CG Lighting Ltd [2011] 2 HKLRD 763, the Court of Appeal held that the subsidiary was not manufacturing on the Mainland as agent for the taxpayer in Hong Kong. In Consco Trading Co Ltd v CIR [2004] 2 HKLRD 818, the Court of First Instance said that it was correct to take a global view of the evidence, including the finance arrangements, the payment for raw material and processing fees, the arrangement for receipt of payment from purchasers for the finished products and pre-contract negotiations, to conclude that the profit generating activities were performed in Hong Kong, despite the appointment of an agent for the operation of business outside Hong Kong.

In the present case, the Board of Review found that the overseas sourcing affiliates were LFT's agents. At the Court of Appeal, the Commissioner did not contend that the overseas sourcing affiliates' activities were not relevant in determining the source of profits. The Commissioner's argument was that the Board of Review and Court of First Instance had not considered the services undertaken by LFT in Hong Kong per the agency agreement that generated the gross commission of 6%.

  back to top


*

12.

Q:

Would sourcing and agency activities in Hong Kong give rise to profits chargeable to profits tax?

 
 

A:

The Court of Final Appeal in Ngai Lik Electronics Co Ltd v CIR [2009] 5 HKLRD 334 clearly said that sourcing and agency activities in Hong Kong might give rise to assessable profits. Companies which specialise in sourcing suppliers and charge a commission or receive some other remuneration for the service would likely be chargeable to Hong Kong profits tax.

It is trite fact that in two cases, the Court of Appeal decided that the source of profits was not in Hong Kong. However, these cases turned on their own facts, i.e. the Board of Review/Courts accepted that the profits were generated by overseas agency activities. In Magna Industrial Co Ltd v Commissioner of Inland Revenue [1997] HKLRD 173, it was held that sales profits were sourced outside Hong Kong because the sales were effected overseas through a network of independent contractors. In the present case, it was held that the Board of Review had evidence to conclude that LFT's commission was derived from sourcing and agency activities carried out through the overseas sourcing affiliates.

  back to top


*

13.

Q:

Did the judgment of the Court of Appeal touch upon the profits tax treatment of "supply chain management business"?

 
 

A:

In its judgment, the Court of Appeal explained the profits tax treatment of LFT as a "commission agent" and not as a "supply chain management business". The profits taxation of a "supply chain management business" will therefore continue to be dealt with under the taxation principles explained above for sourcing and agency activities.

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

利豐一案的判決

*

1.

問:

利豐(貿易)有限公司(「利豐」)經營什麼業務?

 
 

答:

利豐向客戶包括海外的進口商、百貨公司、連鎖店及專門店提供服務。這些客戶通常按所供應貨物的離岸價值的 6 % 支付利豐。稅務上訴委員會裁定利豐是“佣金代理人”,並駁回利豐是經營“供應鏈管理業務”的提議。

  返回頁首


*

2.

問:

本案的爭議是什麼?

 
 

答:

第一個爭議是利豐來自香港、內地及澳門以外供應商的貨物的利潤是否源於海外,因此不需繳付利得稅。第二個爭議是利豐從得自香港的利潤所支付給它在英屬處女群島註冊的控股公司的銷售佣金是否屬稅務條例第 61 條及第 61A 條反避稅條文所針對的扣除。

  返回頁首


*

3.

問:

稅務上訴委員會如何決定上述問(2)的爭議?

 
 

答:

稅務上訴委員會裁定利豐就第一個爭議上訴成立,而稅務局局長就第二個爭議得直。雙方以呈述案件方式對委員會的決定提出上訴。涉及第二個爭議的上訴在法院同意下獲解決並已終止。

  返回頁首


*

4.

問:

原訟法庭的判決是什麼?

 
 

答:

稅務上訴委員會有證據得出利豐的佣金是於海外採購關聯公司執行它指令的地方所賺取的結論。而委員會的結論與那真正的和唯一合理的結論並不相矛盾。委員會不依據海外採購關聯公司和利豐的活動去分配 6 % 的佣金並非不正確。也不能說委員會的做法不合理或它的結論是沒有證據支持的。

  返回頁首


*

5.

問:

上訴法庭的判決是什麼?

 
 

答:

原訟法庭的判決是有稅務上訴委員會所找到的事實證明是正確的。稅務上訴委員會不應被指責沒有處理稅務局局長在上訴法庭所提出的論據。委員會延緩頒布決定書並沒有導致決定不穩當。本案沒有依據可將案件退回委員會以找出補加的事實。

  返回頁首


*

6.

問:

法庭有沒有考慮到本案整體的事實?

 
 

答:

不,法庭沒有機會去考慮本案整體的事實。稅務局局長的辯護律師試圖依據哈佛商業評論的報告以證明在標準代理合約內的一些活動是在香港履行的。但由於這點並沒有在稅務上訴委員會面前提出,上訴法庭裁定不應該將事件退回委員會使稅務局局長可提出這新的論點,而這點或許需要更多的證據。

  返回頁首


*

7.

問:

為什麼稅務局局長不向終審法院提出上訴?

 
 

答:

上訴人在一般的民事訟案可依據香港終審法院條例第 22(1)條以當然權利或獲酌情許可向終審法院提出上訴。稅務局局長的辯護律師認為能否以當然權利取得上訴的許可不是取決於稅款的款額。辯護律師亦認為上訴法庭的判決為最終決定,除非能證實訟案所涉及的問題具有重大廣泛的或關乎公眾的重要性,或有特殊情況,以致須行使酌情給予向終審法院上訴的許可。稅務局局長考慮到辯護律師的意見後決定不提出上訴。

  返回頁首


*

8.

問:

確定利潤來源地的法例是否有變?

 
 

答:

稅務局局長及利豐沒有質疑上訴法庭引用在判詞所陳述的相關法律原則。上訴法庭只不過再確認那概括指導原則,即查明納稅人從事賺取有關利潤的活動和納稅人從事該活動的地方,以及強調專注於導致賺取利潤的有效因由,並與先前發生或附帶的活動分開考慮的重要性。上訴法庭的判決並不代表法例有所改變或推翻了任何司法案例。

  返回頁首


*

9.

問:

本案是否會有更廣泛的應用範圍?

 
 

答:

上訴法庭只不過引用已確立的法律原則於稅務上訴委員會所找到的事實上。由於確定利潤來源地的法例沒有改變,以及本案是按本身的事實而作出的決定,本判決不會被廣泛引用到其他與利潤來源地有關的個案。

  返回頁首


*

10.

問:

本局會否改變有關對採購與代理活動所產生的利潤的評稅慣例?

 
 

答:

在利豐一案中,沒有新的或改變了的確定利潤來源地的法律。根據終審法院在 Ngai Lik Electronics Co Ltd v CIR [2009] 5 HKLRD 334 的判決,在香港的採購與代理活動可引致應評稅利潤。當評定由採購與代理活動產生的利潤時,本局會繼續一貫地應用概括指導原則,著重考慮有效因由及不理會先前發生或附帶的事項。

  返回頁首


*

11.

問:

對代理人有何評語?

 
 

答:

一個人的行為是否代表另一個人或因另一個人和為另一個人而作出是個事實的問題。在 CIR v Datatronic Ltd [2009] 4 HKLRD 675 和 CIR v CG Lighting Ltd [2011] 2 HKLRD 763 的個案中,上訴法庭裁定附屬公司不是作為香港納稅人的代理人在內地從事生產。在 Consco Trading Co Ltd v CIR [2004] 2 HKLRD 818 一案中,原訟法庭表示,採用宏觀證據,當中包括安排融資、支付原料及加工費、安排收取買家的貨款及訂立合約前的談判,以決定賺取利潤的活動是在香港進行是正確的,儘管為業務運作而在香港以外委任代理人。

在本案中,稅務上訴委員會認為該些海外採購關聯公司是利豐的代理人。在上訴法庭,稅務局局長並不爭辯該些採購關聯公司的活動與確定利潤來源地並不相關。稅務局局長的論點是稅務上訴委員會和原訟法庭沒有考慮到利豐在香港按照產生總佣金 6 % 的代理合約所執行的服務。

  返回頁首


*

12.

問:

在香港的採購與代理活動會引致應課利得稅的利潤嗎 ?

 
 

答:

終審法院在 Ngai Lik Electronics Co Ltd v CIR [2009] 5 HKLRD 334 一案中清楚地表示,在香港的採購與代理活動可引致應評稅利潤。專長於搜尋供應商並因該服務而收取佣金或收到一些其他報酬的公司會有可能被徵收香港的利得稅。

上訴法庭在兩宗個案中裁定有關利潤不是源自香港,這是常提及的事實。然而,這兩宗案件是按本身的事實而決定,即稅務上訴委員會或法庭接納利潤是因海外的代理活動所產生的。在 Magna Industrial Co Ltd v Commissioner of Inland Revenue [1997] HKLRD 173 一案中,法庭裁定銷貨利潤是源於香港以外地方,因為銷貨是透過獨立承包商的網絡在海外達成。在本案中,法庭裁定稅務上訴委員會有證據作出利豐的佣金是透過海外採購關聯公司進行採購與代理活動而產生的結論。

  返回頁首


*

13.

問:

上訴法庭的判決有否提及怎樣處理供應鏈管理業務的利得稅 ?

 
 

答:

上訴法庭在判決中對處理利豐的利得稅所作的解釋,是基於利豐作為佣金代理人而非經營供應鏈管理業務。因此供應鏈管理業務的利潤應如何徵稅仍依照上述有關採購與代理活動的課稅原則處理。