Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

*

1.

Q:

What is the Mutual Recognition of Funds (“MRF”) between the Mainland of China and Hong Kong?

 
 

A:

To deepen Mainland-Hong Kong financial cooperation and promote the joint development of the Mainland and Hong Kong capital markets, the China Securities Regulatory Commission (“CSRC”) and the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) have embarked on the Mainland-Hong Kong MRF initiative.  On 22 May 2015, the CSRC and SFC signed a memorandum of regulatory cooperation in respect of the MRF.  Through the MRF, the CSRC and SFC allow Mainland and Hong Kong funds that meet the eligibility requirements to follow streamlined procedures to obtain authorization or approval for offering to retail investors in each other’s market.

For details, please refer to the relevant web pages of the SFC:

http://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/faqs/mainland-hong-kong-mutual-recognition-of-funds.html

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

Are the sale and purchase in the Mainland of China of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund under the MRF scheme subject to stamp duty in Hong Kong?

 
 

A:

Yes. Under section 2(1) of the Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap. 117)(“SDO”), units under a unit trust scheme fall within the definition of “stock”.  Since a transfer of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund is required to be registered in Hong Kong, the units will be Hong Kong stocks and the instrument effecting the transfer thereof will be chargeable with stamp duty in Hong Kong even though the transfer is effected in the Mainland of China.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

Are the sale and purchase in Hong Kong of units of a recognized Mainland fund under the MRF scheme subject to stamp duty in Hong Kong?

 
 

A:

No.  Units in a recognized Mainland fund are not Hong Kong stocks.   Therefore, the sale and purchase of its units will not be subject to stamp duty in Hong Kong.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

Under the MRF scheme, is allotment or redemption of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund subject to stamp duty in Hong Kong?

 
 

A:

Stamp duty is not payable on allotment of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund and redemption of such units which are subsequently extinguished or cancelled.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

Under the MRF scheme, in what circumstances will investors be required to pay stamp duty in Hong Kong in respect of non-trade transfers of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund?

 
 

A:

Unless specifically exempted under the SDO, any non-trade transfers of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund will be deemed to be sale and purchase of the relevant securities under section 19(1E)(a) of the SDO.  Non-trade transfers of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund generally take place in the following circumstances:  

(a) succession;
(b) divorce;
(c) dissolution, liquidation or winding-up of any company or corporation;
(d) donation to a charitable foundation;
(e) assistance in enforcing proceedings or action taken by any court, prosecutor or law enforcement agency; and
(f) any other transfers which may be permitted by the competent authorities.


Investors in units of a recognized Hong Kong fund will be required to execute contract notes and pay stamp duty for the relevant transfers in Hong Kong.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

What are the stamping procedures for sale and purchase of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund under the MRF scheme?

 
 

A:

For sale and purchase transactions, investors are required to execute contract notes and pay stamp duty for such contract notes within the stipulated time limit.  Please contact the relevant fund manager for the stamping procedures.  You may also refer to the “Stamping Procedures and Explanatory Notes – Stamping of Shares Transfer” (U3/SOG/PN04A) (the “Explanatory Notes”) issued by the Stamp Office for details.  Investors, or their representatives, may present the original contract notes to the Stamp Office for stamping in person.  Payment of stamp duty can be made by cash or cheque.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

What are the stamping procedures for non-trade transfers of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund under the MRF scheme?

 
 

A:

Non-trade transfers are deemed to be sale and purchase transactions and investors are required to prepare contract notes for stamping within the stipulated time limit.  Please see Explanatory Notes for the timing on stamping.  You may make reference to the Department’s sample to prepare your own contract notes for stamping.  For other stamping procedures, please refer to Q&A 6.    

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

If I have changed the nominee or registered holder of my units of the recognized Hong Kong fund under the MRF scheme, such as fund manager or distributor of the fund, through execution of an instrument of transfer, is the instrument of transfer subject to stamp duty in Hong Kong?

 
 

A:

For a change of nominee or registered holder without any transfer of beneficial interest in the units of a recognized Hong Kong fund under the MRF scheme, the nominee or registered holder is required to execute an instrument of transfer for effecting the transfer of legal title.  Under such circumstance, each relevant instrument of transfer would be subject to a fixed stamp duty of $5.

  back to top


*

9.

Q:

What documents am I required to produce to ascertain the value of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund for stamp duty purposes?

 
 

A:

For the purpose of calculating stamp duty payable, you are required to provide supporting documents indicating the net asset value of the recognized Hong Kong fund which is close to the date of transfers.     

  back to top


*

10.

Q:

If the transfers of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund under the MRF scheme are effected in the Mainland of China, how should the stamping request be lodged?

 
 

A:

For investors effecting the transfers (including all sale and purchase transactions and non-trade transfers) outside of Hong Kong, they or their representatives may submit stamping requests on contract notes and/or instruments of transfer either in person or by post to the Stamp Office within the stipulated time limit, together with supporting documents for the net asset value of the recognized Hong Kong fund.  Please see Explanatory Notes for the timing on stamping.  The Stamp Office will calculate the stamp duty payable and inform the investors or their representatives in person or by post.  The investors are required to pay the stamp duty on or before the due date as advised.

  back to top


*

11.

Q:

How should Hong Kong managers of a recognized Hong Kong fund assist Mainland investors to lodge the stamping request?

 
 

A:

Hong Kong managers should make necessary arrangements with their Mainland representatives and/or Mainland distributors to facilitate the stamping of chargeable transfers of units of recognized Hong Kong funds under the MRF scheme effected in the Mainland.

  back to top


*

12.

Q:

What are the consequences of not paying stamp duty on the transfers of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund under the MRF scheme?

 
 

A:

Where an instrument for transfer of units of a recognized Hong Kong fund chargeable with stamp duty is not stamped within the time limit for stamping, such instrument shall not be stamped except by the Collector of Stamp Revenue (“the Collector”) upon payment of the stamp duty and a penalty.  Any duty and penalty applicable is recoverable by the Collector as a civil debt from all parties liable.

Any unstamped document which is chargeable with stamp duty cannot be filed or registered by any public officer or body corporate, and cannot be received in evidence in any Court (except in criminal proceedings and civil proceedings by the Collector to recover stamp duty and penalty payable).

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

*

1.

問:

甚麼是內地與香港基金互認安排(以下簡稱基金互認安排)?

 
 

答:

為深化內地與香港金融合作,促進內地與香港資本市場共同發展,中國證券監督管理委員會(以下簡稱中國證監會)與香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會(以下簡稱香港證監會)開展了內地與香港基金互認安排的工作。於2015年5月22日,中國證監會及香港證監會雙方就有關基金互認安排正式簽署了監管合作備忘錄,允許符合一定條件的內地與香港基金按照簡易程序獲得認可或許可在對方市場向公眾投資者進行銷售。

詳情請瀏覽香港證監會的網頁:

http://www.sfc.hk/web/TC/faqs/mainland-hong-kong-mutual-recognition-of-funds-c.html

  返回頁首


*

2.

問:

在內地售賣及購買於基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位是否須在香港課繳印花稅?

 
 

答:

是。根據《印花稅條例》(第117章)第2條,單位信託計劃下的單位符合〝證券〞的定義。由於轉讓香港互認基金的單位須要在香港登記過戶,所以該單位屬於香港證券;雖然轉讓在內地進行,有關轉讓的文書須在香港課繳印花稅。

  返回頁首


*

3.

問:

在香港售賣及購買於基金互認安排下的內地互認基金單位是否須在香港課繳印花稅?

 
 

答:

否。內地互認基金的單位不屬香港證券。因此,售賣及購買有關單位無須在香港課繳印花稅。

  返回頁首


*

4.

問:

在基金互認安排下,投資者獲分配及贖回的香港互認基金單位是否須在香港課繳印花稅?

 
 

答:

香港互認基金的單位在分配及贖回後被取消或註銷的,無須課繳印花稅。

  返回頁首


*

5.

問:

基金互認安排下,投資者於何種情況須就香港互認基金單位的非交易轉移在香港課繳印花稅?

 
 

答:

除非在《印花稅條例》下獲豁免,任何香港互認基金單位的非交易轉移會根據第19(1E)(a)條被視為有關證券的買賣。香港互認基金單位的非交易轉移通常在以下情況進行:  

(a) 繼承;
(b) 離婚;
(c) 公司或法團的解散或清盤;
(d) 向慈善團體捐贈;
(e) 協助任何法院、檢控官或執法機關進行執法程序或採取行動;及
(f) 由國家主管當局批准的任何其他轉移。


在相關情況下,投資者須就有關轉移簽立成交單據並在香港課繳印花稅。

  返回頁首


*

6.

問:

就售賣及購買於基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位的加蓋印花程序為何?

 
 

答:

就售賣及購買的交易,投資者須簽立成交單據,並在加蓋印花的期限內課繳印花稅。請聯絡有關基金經理關於加蓋印花的程序。你也可參考印花稅署發出的《加蓋印花的程序及註釋 - 股票轉讓印花稅 》(U3/SOG/PN04B)(以下簡稱《註釋》)。投資者或他們的代理可帶同成交單據正本到印花稅署櫃位遞交加蓋印花申請。印花稅可以現金或支票支付。

  返回頁首


*

7.

問:

就基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位的非交易轉移的加蓋印花程序為何?

 
 

答:

非交易轉移會被視為有關證券的買賣,投資者須簽立成交單據,並在加蓋印花的期限內課繳印花稅。加蓋印花的時限請見《註釋》。你可參考本局網頁的成交單據樣本以製備成交單據供加蓋印花之用。就其他加蓋印花的程序,請參考第(6)題。

  返回頁首


*

8.

問:

如我就基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位更改了代名人或登記持有人,如基金經理或分銷商,並簽立轉讓文書,有關轉讓文書是否須課繳印花稅?

 
 

答:

就更改代名人或登記持有人而不涉及轉讓於基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位的實益權益,代名人或登記持有人須簽立轉讓文書以更改法定所有權。有關轉讓文書每張須課繳定額印花稅5元。

  返回頁首


*

9.

問:

為計算應課印花稅款額,我須要提交那些文件以確定香港互認基金單位的價值?

 
 

答:

你須要提交證明文件,顯示該香港互認基金在接近交易日期的資產淨值,以便計算印花稅。

  返回頁首


*

10.

問:

在內地轉讓於基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位,應如何遞交加蓋印花申請?

 
 

答:

投資者在香港以外地方進行轉讓香港互認基金的單位(包括所有買賣及非交易轉移) ,他們或他們的代理可在加蓋印花的期限內帶同成交單據正本及/或轉讓文書,連同顯示該香港互認基金在接近交易日期資產淨值的證明文件,到印花稅署櫃位,或以郵寄方式,遞交加蓋印花申請。加蓋印花的時限請見《註釋》。本署會計算應課繳的印花稅,在櫃位或以書面方式通知投資者或他們的代理須課繳的印花稅款額。投資者須按指示在限期前課繳稅款。

  返回頁首


*

11.

問:

香港基金經理該怎樣協助內地投資者遞交加蓋印花申請?

 
 

答:

香港基金經理應與他們內地的代理人及 / 或分銷商作出適當的安排,以便協助在內地轉讓於基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位而應課繳印花稅的文書加蓋印花。

  返回頁首


*

12.

問:

如沒有就轉讓於基金互認安排下的香港互認基金單位課繳印花稅,會有甚麼後果?

 
 

答:

如一項轉讓香港互認基金的單位而須課繳印花稅的文書沒有在指定加蓋印花的期限前加蓋印花,印花稅署署長(以下簡稱署長)須在收到印花稅及罰款後才可為該文書加蓋印花。署長可向須負責加蓋印花人士,以民事索償方式追討須予繳付的印花稅和罰款。

任何可予徵收印花稅的文書,但並未加蓋適當印花,不得由任何公職人員或法人團體予以存檔或登記,亦不得在法庭被收取為證據 (除了刑事法律程序及署長為追討須予繳付的印花稅和罰款而提出的民事法律程序)。