Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Taxpayer who is about to leave Hong Kong

Taxpayer who is about to leave Hong Kong

 

Supporting documents required to substantiate the claims for speedy tax clearance

1.

Q:

What supporting documents are required to substantiate the claims made in the tax return for speedy tax clearance?

A:

The following are documents required to support some common claims:-

Exemption of Income:
(Item 2 of Part 4.1 of BIR60)
 
Please read "Application for Full / Partial Exemption of Income under Salaries Tax".
Deduction Claim:
(Part 4.3, 7 & 8.4 of BIR60)
 
Outgoings & Expenses
 
invoices/ receipts, employment contract, etc.
Self-education Expenses receipts, course outline, details of the recognized/accredited courses, etc.
 
Approved Charitable Donations
 
receipts
Interest payments for producing rental income
 
annual interest statement issued by the bank, loan agreement/approval letter, etc.
Home Loan Interest
 
annual interest statement issued by the bank, loan agreement/approval letter, etc.
 
Elderly Residential Care Expenses invoices/receipts and a copy of the dependent parent's Hong Kong Identity Card
 
Allowance Not Claimed Before:
(Part 8 of BIR60)
Married Person's Allowance a copy of each of the Marriage Certificate and spouse's Hong Kong Identity Card
 
Child Allowance a copy of the child's Birth Certificate, etc.
 
Dependent Parent Allowance a copy of the dependent parent's Hong Kong Identity Card
 

  back to top


 

The earliest time I can expect to collect my tax demand note for tax clearance purpose

2.

Q:

Having furnished the tax return required, what is the earliest time I can expect to collect my tax demand note for tax clearance purpose?

A:

If a properly completed tax return with supporting documents is furnished in person directly to the assessing officer handling your case and early tax clearance has been requested, the earliest date on which you can collect the tax demand note is, in general, the date following the date of furnishing the tax return. However, special treatment will be given in urgent circumstances.

  back to top


 

IRD may issue estimated assessment for leaving Hong Kong cases

3.

Q:

Under what circumstances will the Inland Revenue Department raise estimated assessment for leaving Hong Kong cases?

A:

If the tax return is not received by the Inland Revenue Department within the specified period or if it is impracticable for the Inland Revenue Department to issue tax return to the taxpayer having regard to the impending expiry of the statutory money withholding period obliged on his employer or the close departure date, estimated assessment will be raised based on available information. The estimated assessment may be excessive and you may have to lodge objections. To avoid going through the above process, it is advisable for taxpayers to arrange tax clearance with the Inland Revenue Department at their earliest convenience.

  back to top


 

Salaries tax borne by employer

4.

Q:

If my salaries tax is borne by my employer, do I need to clear my tax before departure?

A:

While every taxpayer leaving Hong Kong is required to clear his tax liabilities before his departure, this is of no exception to those taxpayers whose employers undertake to bear their Hong Kong tax. Hence, employers, tax representatives and taxpayers should furnish tax returns and the supporting evidence as timely as possible so as to avoid the issue of estimated assessments.

  back to top


 

What documents should a government servant submit for tax clearance

5.

Q:

I am a government servant. I do not have the Form IR56G. What documents should I bring to the Inland Revenue Department to arrange tax clearance? What will be issued upon my tax clearance?

A:

If you are leaving Hong Kong, your department/bureau would upon your notice of departure prepare a Form IR56J for reporting your income from 1 April to your last day of employment. You could come to our office to arrange tax clearance with a copy of Form IR56J and monthly income statements for the latest year. Upon tax clearance, a Release Memo will be issued to the Treasury.

  back to top


 

Government pensioner

6.

Q:

I am a government pensioner and shall emigrate to Canada 2 months later. My only income is a pension from the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Do I need to clear my tax before departure?

A:

You need not finalize your tax liabilities before leaving Hong Kong. Instead, you should inform the Inland Revenue Department of your overseas postal address so that future correspondence including demand notes and tax returns can be sent to you at the correct address.

  back to top


 

A bonus was paid to me after I have cleared my tax and departed Hong Kong

7.

Q:

I have cleared my tax before departing Hong Kong. However, my employer now tells me that a bonus will be paid to me. What should I do? Is my employer required to file another IR56G and withhold payment of the bonus?

A:

If you are entitled to additional emoluments giving rise to further salaries tax liabilities after tax clearance, you and your employer have to go through the tax clearance process again. Therefore, your employer is required to file an additional/revised Form IR56G to report the bonus and not to make any payment of money or money's worth for a period of one month from the date of giving notice. A fresh Letter of Release will be issued to you after you have paid the additional tax. For the purpose of sending to you the additional salaries tax demand note, you are reminded to notify the Inland Revenue Department of your latest correspondence address.

  back to top


 

Share options granted but not yet exercised before my departure

8.

Q:

I have already emigrated to USA. My ex-employer in Hong Kong has previously granted me with some share options, of which I have not exercised before my departure from Hong Kong. Do I have to pay Hong Kong Salaries Tax on the share option gain if I exercise the options in the future?

A:

If share option has been granted to you by virtue of your employment or office in Hong Kong, a gain realized from its subsequent exercise, assignment or release after your permanent departure from Hong Kong is nonetheless chargeable to Salaries Tax. Both you and your employer have to report the share option gain even after your departure.

With a view to finalizing your salaries tax liabilities prior to your departure, you may elect to have the liability ascertained on the basis of a notional exercise of the option. The Inland Revenue Department would calculate the gain as if it is realized had the share option been exercised on a day within 7 days before the date of submitting your tax return for the year of assessment in which you permanently depart from Hong Kong.

If you have not made such election before your departure, the Inland Revenue Department is prepared to accept an election made within 3 months from the date of permanent departure from Hong Kong. In this case, the date of departure will be taken as the date of the notional exercise for purposes of calculating the gain.

In the event that you have a non-Hong Kong employment and the option in question is a conditional one in respect of which the vesting period has not expired on the date of notional exercise, the gain would be calculated on the basis that the vesting period would be deemed to end on that date.

Should you wish to make such an election, please attach a statement to the tax return to the effect that the gain is offered for assessment on the understanding that no further liability will arise when the option is actually exercised, assigned or released after departure from Hong Kong. On the other hand, if the gain in respect of the actual exercise, assignment or release subsequently turns out to be less than the amount assessed in respect of the notional exercise, you may apply for appropriate re-assessment based on the actual gain.

For further details, please refer to the followings:

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主頁 > 常見問題  > 將會離港的納稅人

將會離港的納稅人

1.

問:

為了盡快清稅,我應提交甚麼佐證文件,以證明報稅表內的申索項目?

  

答:

以下是一些慣常申索項目需要提交的佐證文件:

免稅入息:
( BIR60 表格第 4.1 部第 2 項)
請參閱〝薪俸稅下申請部分或全部入息豁免徵稅〞
申索扣除:
( BIR60 表格第 4.3 、 7 及 8.4 部)
 
支出及開支 發票/收據、僱傭合約等
個人進修開支 收據、課程大綱、被認可或審定課程的詳情等
認可慈善捐款 收據
產生租金收入的利息支出 顯示全年利息的銀行結單、貸款協議/批核書等
居所貸款利息 顯示全年利息的銀行結單、貸款協議/批核書等
長者住宿照顧開支 發票/收據及受供養父母的香港身分證副本
首次申索的免稅額:
( BIR60 表格第 8 部)
已婚人士免稅額 結婚證書及配偶香港身分證副本
子女免稅額 子女出世紙副本等
供養父母免稅額 受供養父母的香港身分證副本

  返回頁首


2.

問:

提交報稅表後,我最早可以何時索取繳稅通知書清稅?

  

答:

若你親身提交已填妥的報稅表及佐證文件給處理你個案的主理人員,並要求盡早清稅,一般來說,你最早可於翌日索取繳稅通知書。但稅務局可在緊急情況下作出特別安排。

  返回頁首


3.

問:

在甚麼情況下,稅務局會對行將離港的納稅人發出估計評稅?

  

答:

稅務局如未能在指定時間收到報稅表,又或由於僱主的法定款項扣存期即將屆滿或納稅人的離港日期逼近,未能有足夠時間發出報稅表給納稅人填寫,便會根據現有資料進行估計評稅。所作的估計評稅可能會過高,而納稅人可能會須要作出反對。為避免上述的程序,納稅人請盡早與稅務局安排清稅。

  返回頁首


4.

問:

如果我的薪俸稅是由僱主負責支付的,我是否須在離港前清稅?

  

答:

每位離港納稅人都須在離港前清稅,由僱主同意繳付僱員香港稅款的納稅人也不例外。因此,僱主、稅務代表及納稅人都應該盡量依時提交報稅表及佐證文件,以避免稅務局作出估計評稅。

  返回頁首


5.

問:

我是一位公務員,並沒有 IR56G 表格,究竟我應攜帶甚麼文件到稅務局辦理清稅手續?完稅後可獲發甚麼文件?

  

答:

如果你離開香港,部門 / 決策局會在收到你的離港通知後,擬備 IR56J 表格,以申報你由 4 月 1 日至受僱最後一天的收入。你應帶同 IR56J 表格及離港年度的薪俸月結單親臨稅務局清稅;完稅後,稅務局會向庫務署發出釋款便箋。

  返回頁首


6.

問:

我是一位退休公務員,將會於兩個月後移民到加拿大。我唯一的收入來源是香港特別行政區政府發放的退休金,我是否須在離港前清稅?

  

答:

你可以無須事先清繳稅款才離港。不過,你應告知稅務局你的海外通訊地址,以便稅務局日後能將信件、繳稅通知書和報稅表等寄往你的正確地址。

  返回頁首


7.

問:

我在離港前已清繳稅款,但我的僱主現在告訴我將有花紅支付給我,我應怎樣做?我的僱主是否須提交另一張 IR56G 表格及扣存花紅款項?

  

答:

倘若你在清稅後可獲僱主發放額外薪酬而須繳納額外的薪俸稅款,你和你的僱主均須再次履行清稅手續。你的僱主須提交一份補加/修訂 IR56G 表格申報這些花紅,及在提交 IR56G 表格的一個月內,不可支付任何金錢或金錢等值給你。稅務局會在你繳交補加薪俸稅後,再次發出〝同意釋款書〞。請緊記通知稅務局你的最新通訊地址,以便稅務局郵寄補加薪俸稅的繳稅通知書給你。

  返回頁首


8.

問:

我已移居美國,並曾獲香港的前僱主發放股份認購權,在離港前還未行使。假若我將來行使這些股份認購權,我是否須就股份認購權利益繳付香港薪俸稅?

  

答:

納稅人因香港受僱工作或職位而獲發放的股份認購權,如在永久離開香港後行使、轉讓或放棄,因而收取了變現利益,納稅人仍須就這些利益繳付薪俸稅。即使在離港後,僱員和僱主仍須申報有關的股份認購權利益。

考慮到稅務局須在你離港前審定你的薪俸稅,你可以選擇用「名義上行使認購權」的方法確定稅款。稅務局在計算利益時,會把股份認購權當作在你提交離港課稅年度的報稅表當日之前的 7 天內行使。

此外,假如你並無在離港前作此選擇,你可在永久離港日期起計 3 個月內作出選擇。在這情況下,離港日期將會設定為名義上行使認購權的日期,以計算利益。

如果你履行的是香港以外的受僱工作,有關的股份認購權又有附帶條件,如訂明的歸屬期在「名義上行使認購權」當日仍未完結,稅務局在計算利益時會視歸屬期截至該日為止。

如果你要作出這樣選擇,請在報稅表夾附一份聲明,註明你願意把利益評稅,至於你將來離港後如真正行使、轉讓或放棄股份認購權,稅務局將不會再就所變現的利益徵收稅款。另一方面,如你日後真正行使、轉讓或放棄股份認購權時,利益低於名義上行使認購權的評定款額,你仍可基於真正股份認購權利益款額申請重新評稅。

如要知道更多資料,請參考:

返回頁首