Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Advance Ruling Cases > Advance Ruling Case No. 16

Advance Ruling Case No. 16


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of section 14 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

  back to top


2. Background

(a) Company A was incorporated in Country X as a limited liability company. It has its central management and control in Country X and does not have any business establishment in Hong Kong. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Company B, an overseas incorporated bank.
(b) Company A has a branch in London ("A-London") which carries on business in London. It has three main business lines, namely, equity derivatives, cash equity sales and trading, and corporate advisory.
(c) Company B maintains a branch office in Hong Kong ("B-HK"). It principally engages in corporate banking, corporate finance and mergers and acquisition.

  back to top


3. The arrangement

(a) The equity derivative business of Company A consists of structuring, risk management and the trading of equity-linked and fund-linked products, both listed and over-the-counter. Company A acts as the issuer of these products which are sold to retail banking customers, private banks (with European and Asian institutional client bases), financial institutions and pension funds.
(b) A-London has engaged B-HK to provide liaison and support services to clients in Asia in relation to Company A's equity derivatives business. Under the arrangement, B-HK will designate one liaison staff to perform the services.
(c) The liaison and support services include :-
  (i) marketing proposed products to clients;
  (ii) explaining products to clients;
  (iii) dealing with general enquiries and complains and reverting the same to A-London and
  (iv) communicating after-sales services requests to A-London.
  The liaison staff is also involved in providing feedback from the clients to Company A so as to modify the products and contacting the private banks and financial institutions to market the products. The role of the liaison staff is to act as a link between the clients and Company A in London. If the clients have any specific requirements, the liaison staff can pass them on to London for incorporation into the structure of the product. Clients are located and contacted by the liaison staff in Hong Kong. Negotiations between A-London and the clients are communicated through the liaison staff in Hong Kong.
(d) B-HK is not and shall not hold itself out as agent of A-London. Its engagement is restricted to the referral of potential investors to A-London and it will not have any power or authority to transact on behalf of A-London.
(e) In return for the services performed, B-HK will receive from Company A a fee calculated at a 5% mark-up on the actual direct and indirect cost incurred.

  back to top


4. The ruling

  Company A carries on business in Hong Kong through B-HK and profits arising in or deriving from Hong Kong are chargeable to Hong Kong Profits Tax under s.14(1) of the IRO.

  back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  This ruling will apply for the year of assessment 2003/04 and subsequent years of assessment.

 

  back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  No assumptions were made by the Commissioner.

  back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued

  2 April 2004.

  back to top


Additional Notes:

1. The ruling given is specific to the facts of this case as presented to the Department in its ruling application. It should not be interpreted as a ruling for general application.
2. In this case the specific ruling requested by the applicant is whether Company A carries on business in Hong Kong. The applicant did not request or present sufficient information for deciding whether Company A has profits arising in or derived from Hong Kong.
3. Whether an agency exists is a question of facts. In this case notwithstanding the express disclaimer of agency in the service agreement, the Department concluded that on the facts presented an agency could be implied.
   
   
  21 December 2004

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主頁 > 刊物及新聞公報 > 事先裁定個案 > 事先裁定個案第 16 號

事先裁定個案第 16 號


1. 《稅務條例》的條文
  本裁定適用於《稅務條例》第 14 條。

  返回頁首


2. 背景
  (a) A 公司在 X 國註冊成立為一間有限公司。該公司的中央管理及控制權均在 X 國,在香港並沒有設立任何業務機構。它是一家海外註冊銀行 B 公司的全資附屬公司。
  (b) A 公司在倫敦設有分行(「 A -倫敦」),在倫敦經營業務。該分行開設 3 條業務主線,即股票衍生工具、現貨股票的銷售及交易,以及企業顧問。
  (c) B 公司在香港設有分行(「 B -香港」),主要從事企業銀行服務、企業融資及合併收購。

  返回頁首


3. 安排
  (a) A 公司經營的股票衍生工具業務,包括上市及場外交易的股票掛鉤產品及基金掛鉤產品的結構、風險管理及買賣。 A 公司擔任這些產品的發行人,銷售對象為零售銀行客戶、私人銀行(有歐洲及亞洲的機構客戶基礎者)、財務機構及退休基金。
  (b) A -倫敦聘用 B -香港為其公司股票衍生工具業務的亞洲客戶提供聯絡及支援服務。根據是項安排, B -香港會指派一名聯絡人員負責提供該等服務。
  (c) 上述聯絡及支援服務包括:
    (i) 向客戶推廣建議的產品;
    (ii) 向客戶解釋產品;
    (iii) 處理一般查詢及投訴,並將有關查詢及投訴向 A -倫敦複述;以及
    (iv) 把售後服務的要求通知 A -倫敦。
    該名聯絡人員亦會把客戶反映的意見提供 A 公司參考,以便對產品作出更改;他亦會聯絡私人銀行及財務機構,為產品作出市場推廣。該聯絡人員的角色是擔當客戶與在倫敦的 A 公司之間的橋樑。假如客戶有任何特定要求,該名聯絡人員可把要求轉達倫敦,以便納入產品的結構內。該名聯絡人員,會在香港尋找及聯絡客戶。 A -倫敦與客戶進行商議時,亦會透過該在港的聯絡人員。
  (d) B -香港並不屬於,也不可視為 A -倫敦的代理。它的聘用協定只限於轉介準投資者給 A -倫敦,而它亦沒有任何權力或獲授權代表 A -倫敦進行交易。
  (e) 至於提供服務的報酬, B -香港會從 A 公司獲取一筆按實際招致的直接及間接成本加 5% 的服務費。

  返回頁首


4. 裁定
  A 公司透過 B -香港在香港經營業務,而根據《稅務條例》第 14(1)條的規定,凡於香港產生或得自香港的利潤,均須徵繳香港利得稅。

  返回頁首


5. 裁定的適用期
  本裁定適用於 2003/04 課稅年度及以後的課稅年度。

  返回頁首


6. 稅務局局長就將來發生的事件或任何其他事項在要項上作出的假設
  稅務局局長沒有作出假設。

  返回頁首


7. 裁定日期
  2004 年 4 月 2 日。

  返回頁首


附加說明

1. 本裁定是特別就此次申請向本局提供的事實而作出。本裁定不應視作為一項普遍適用的裁定。
2. 本個案的申請人要求本局特別裁定, A 公司是否在香港經營業務。該申請人既不要求本局決定、亦無提供足夠資料藉以決定, A 公司有否獲得在香港產生或得自香港的利潤。
3. 是否確有代理關係存在,是一個事實問題。在本個案,儘管服務合約明言否認有代理關係,本局根據所提供的事實,認為隱含有代理關係存在。
 

 

2004 年 12 月 21 日

 

返回頁首