Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Advance Ruling Cases > Advance Ruling Case No. 33

Advance Ruling Case No. 33


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of sections 8, 9, and 16(1) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

 

  back to top


2. Background

(a) Company Y was incorporated in Country A. Its shares are listed on the Stock Exchange of Country A.
(b) Company Y has established a deferred employee share plan ("the Plan") to motivate and reward employees. Companies within the group may participate in the Plan.
(c) Company X, a Hong Kong subsidiary of Company Y, is prepared to participate in the Plan.

  back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) Eligible employees of Company X participating in the Plan ("Participant(s)") will contribute an agreed amount from their salaries. Company X will make matching contribution for each Participant, subject to a ceiling. The contributions will be held by a trustee ("the Plan Trustee").
(b) The Plan Trustee will acquire Company Y shares with the contributions, either through purchase in the stock exchange or subscribing to new issue of shares. Shares acquired with Company X's contribution are referred to as the "Matching Shares".
(c) Shares acquired, whether with contributions from Participants or Company X, will be registered in the name of the Plan Trustee for Participants' benefit. The Plan Trustee will keep separate accounts for individual Participant to identify shares held on account of that Participant.
(d) There is a restriction period during which shares acquired cannot be sold, transferred or otherwise dealt with by Participants. However, Participants will receive dividends / bonus issues, take up rights issues and have voting rights in respect of shares held on their behalf as if they were owners. Participants can only deal with the shares freely upon expiry of the restriction period.
(e) Bonus issues attributable to the Matching Shares are subject to the same restriction period as the Matching Shares.
(f) If there are rights issues attributable to the Matching Shares during the restriction period, Participants may at their own discretion contribute additional funds to acquire rights shares. Company X will not make additional contributions in this respect. There is no restriction regarding shares acquired through rights issues.
(g) Should a Participant cease employment with Company X during the restriction period, Matching Shares held by the Plan Trustee for his benefit would be forfeited. If cessation is due to death, retirement, redundancy or permanent disability, Matching Shares would be allocated to him based on the proportion of the restriction period that has elapsed.

  back to top


4. The ruling

(a) The Matching Shares, together with the relevant bonus issues, are the Participants' taxable income from employment in the year of assessment when the restriction period expires. The taxable amount shall be the average of the opening and closing price quoted on the Stock Exchange of Country A on the first trading day following the expiration of the restriction period.
(b) Dividends attributable to the Matching Shares during the restriction period are perquisites from employment under section 9(1) of the IRO and chargeable to tax in the year of assessment that they are received by Participants.
(c) The rights issues attributable to the Matching Shares subscribed during the restriction period are assessable under sections 9(1)(d) and 9(4) of the IRO in the year of assessment that the shares are subscribed. The amount of the taxable benefit shall be the excess of market price of the shares over the subscription price and related expenses paid by the Participant. There is no taxable benefit to the Participants if the rights issues are not acted upon.
(d) The amount charged to the Profit and Loss Account of Company X in respect of its contribution to the Plan for acquiring the Matching Shares is an outgoing or expense for purposes of section 16(1) of the IRO and deductible to the extent that it is incurred in the production of assessable profits. Company X is, however, taxable on the amount, by way of cash or otherwise, directly or indirectly, received or receivable from the Plan or its parent company to the extent that the amount has previously been allowed as deduction.

  back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  The ruling, subject to any future legislative changes, applies from the year of assessment in which the Plan is introduced to employees of Company X.

  back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

(a) The arrangement will be implemented as stated in the application for the ruling.
(b) Company X will recognise its contributions to the Plan as an expense in its Profit and Loss Account.

  back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

  11 May 2007.

 

  back to top


8. Commentary 

(a) Share awards to employees are perquisites chargeable to Salaries Tax. The time and what amount that the perquisite will be taxed will generally depend on the terms of the award.
(b) During the restriction period, Participants are not regarded as legal owners of the Matching Shares and bonus shares, if any. Taxable benefit has therefore not yet accrued to the employees. Dividends and rights issues received during the restriction period are however, extra benefits not subject to any restriction. Dividends are chargeable when they are received. Rights issues are treated as share options and taxable when they are exercised.
(c) When Company X makes cash contribution to the Plan for acquiring Matching Shares for the benefit of its employees and charges such to its profit and loss account, an expense has been incurred for purposes of section 16 of the IRO. However, any subsequent amounts received or receivable will be taxable.
  (This commentary is not a legally binding statement and it does not form part of the Ruling.)

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

事先裁定個案第 33 號


1. 《稅務條例》的條文
  本裁定適用於《稅務條例》(「條例」)第 8 、第 9 和第 16(1)條。

 返回頁首


2. 背景
  (a) Y 公司在 A 國成立為法團,其股份在 A 國的股票市場上市。
  (b) Y 公司訂立了遞延僱員股份計劃( 「該計劃」)以鼓勵和獎勵僱員。集團內的公司可參與該計劃。
  (c) X 公司是 Y 公司在香港的子公司,將會參與該計劃。

 返回頁首


3. 安排
  (a) 符合資格且參與該計劃的 X 公司僱員(「參與人」)將從其薪金中抽取預定的款項作為供款。 X 公司會為每名參與人作出相配的供款,但有上限。所有供款由該計劃的受託人掌管。
  (b) 該計劃的受託人會用供款,透過在股票市場購買或認購新發行股份,以取得 Y 公司的股份。凡用 X 公司供款取得的股份均稱為「相配股份」。
  (c) 利用參與人供款及 X 公司相配供款購入的股份,均由受託人代參與人持有,其間股份會以該計劃受託人的名義登記。該計劃受託人會為每名參與人開立個別帳戶,以識別所代持有的股份。
  (d) 「相配股份」設有歸屬限期,在限期內參與人不得出售、轉讓或進行涉及此等股份的交易。參與人只能在歸屬限期屆滿後才可自由進行股份交易。但是,在歸屬限期內,參與人可獲發股息 / 紅股、認購供股、享有投票權,等同他們是這些股份的擁有人。
  (e) 源自「相配股份」的紅股,亦受制於相等於「相配股份」的歸屬限期。
  (f) 如在限期內有源自「相配股份」的供股,參與人可自行拿出額外資金行使供股權,以取得股份。 X 公司不會為參與人再作額外供款。這些由參與人認購的供股股份不受到任何限制。
  (g) 如參與人終止受聘於 X 公司,尚在歸屬限期內的「相配股份」一般會被沒收。若基於死亡、退休、公司裁員或無行為能力而終止受聘,有關的「相配股份」會按已過的限期和整個限期的比例發給參與人。

 返回頁首


4. 裁定
  (a) 「相配股份」連同有關的紅股,在歸屬限期屆滿的一個課稅年度,即成為參與人的應課稅受僱入息。應課稅款額相當於限期屆滿時該等股份的市值,以限期屆滿後的第一個交易日市場的開市和收市價的平均數計算。
  (b) 參與人在歸屬限期內收到的源自相配股份的股息,屬條例第 9(1)條下的受僱工作的額外賞賜,全數在其收取股息的課稅年度內課稅。
  (c) 源自「相配股份」的供股權利益,按條例第 9(1)(d)和第 9(4)條規定,在行使供股權當年評稅。應課稅款額是所得的股份在市場出售可應得的款額減去支付的代價及有關費用。
  (d) 對該計劃的相配供款,若 X 公司計入損益帳內作為開支,可根據條例的第 16(1)條按其為產生應評稅利益而招致的部份得以扣稅。若 X 公司之前獲准扣稅的供款開支獲得發還,不論是以現金或其他方式直接、間接、經該計劃或母公司收取及應收未收,則須就該發還部份課稅。

 返回頁首


5. 裁定的適用期
  本裁定在該計劃引入給 X 公司僱員的課稅年度開始適用,但受日後法例增補的約束。

 返回頁首


6. 稅務局局長就將來發生的事件或任何其他事項在要項上作出的假設
  (a) 裁定申請書所述的一切安排將如實執行,
  (b) X 公司在其損益帳內計入對該計劃相配供款開支。

 返回頁首


7. 裁定日期
  2007 年 5 月 11 日。

 返回頁首


8. 評註
  (a) 給予僱員的獎賞股份是應課薪俸稅的受僱工作入息。什麼時候才計算進應課稅入息及如何計算應課稅數額,要視乎獎賞股份計劃的條款。
  (b) 在「相配股份」及紅股完全歸於僱員的支配前,法律上他們不是這些股份的擁有人,所以還未算進僱員的應課稅入息內。對於收取到的股息則屬額外賞賜而完全應予評稅。認購供股股份,則應作股份認購收益評稅。
  (c) 根據條例第 16 條,任何人在香港經營行業、專業或業務,就其開支所作的扣稅申請,可按該等開支是否為產生應課稅利潤時所招致而准予扣稅。 X 公司對股份獎賞計劃的現金供款將據此而准予扣稅。若 X 公司獲准予扣稅的供款日後得以退回,則退回的款額將須課稅。
     
    (本評註並非具有法律約束力的陳述,也不構成本裁定的一部分。)