Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Advance Ruling Cases > Advance Ruling Case No. 44

Advance Ruling Case No. 44


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of sections 14 and 20(2) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

  back to top


2. Background

(a) The Company is incorporated in Country X and is a wholly owned subsidiary of Company A. The Company's role is in the manufacturing, marketing, licensing and distribution of computer hardware and software in the Asia Pacific region. The Company does not have any office or employees nor perform any business activities in Hong Kong directly or through an agent.
(b) Currently the Company maintains a datacenter in Country X ("the Country X Datacenter") providing hosting and storage services in Country X.
(c) Company B is a company incorporated in Hong Kong and has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Company A.

  back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) The Company entered into a service agreement with Company B for the latter to set up a datacenter in Hong Kong ("the HK Datacenter") and provide maintenance, repairing and replacement services for the HK Datacenter.
(b) The HK Datacenter mainly consists of computer hardware and networking equipment. It is used as a backup site for the primary datacenter in Country X. It is also used for caching of online content.
(c) Company B is not be involved in any inputting, uploading or maintenance of any software or data stored in the HK Datacenter. All these activities are performed by Company A’s personnel in either Country X or a third country. Company B only provides hardware setup and maintenance services to enable the Company to replicate the applications and data maintained in the Country X Datacenter to the HK Datacenter.
(d) The setup of the HK Datacenter and the provision of the services to the Company are outsourced to a third party company. Company B's role is to oversee the operation of the HK Datacenter and provide maintenance services to the HK Datacenter where necessary.
(e) Company B will recruit an employee who will be based in Hong Kong. The employee will work with the third party company to monitor the hardware system maintenance, repair and replace the hardware pertaining to the HK Datacenter.
(f) The Company pays Company B a service fee equal to all of Company B's costs plus a mark-up of 5% in return. The cost base in calculating the service fee consists of all the expenses incurred by Company B including the depreciation cost of the HK Datacenter. The service income earned by Company B from the Company is fully taxable in Hong Kong.
(g) Company B does not have and will not be given any authority to negotiate or conclude any purchase or sale contract on behalf of the Company, or negotiate, conclude or execute any contracts with customers of the Company or any other companies within the group. Company B does not carry out any profit earning activity on behalf of the Company in Hong Kong for the account of the Company.

  back to top


4. The ruling

(a) The Company will not be subject to tax under section 14 of the IRO by reason of the arrangement.
(b) Section 20(2) of the IRO will not apply to deem the Company to be carrying on business in Hong Kong by reason of the arrangement.

 

  back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  The ruling will apply for the year of assessment 2010/11 and subsequent years of assessment.

  back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  There is no assumption made by the Commissioner.

 

  back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

  25 October 2010.

 

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

事先裁定個案第 44 號


1. 《稅務條例》的條文
  本裁定適用於《稅務條例》第 14 及第 20(2)條。

 返回頁首


2. 背景
  (a) 該公司在 X 國成立,是 A 公司的全資附屬公司。該公司在亞太區擔當生產、市場推廣、提供特許權和分銷電腦硬件及軟件的角色。該公司在香港沒有設立辦事處及聘用僱員,也沒有直接或委聘代理人在香港從事商業活動。
  (b) 現時該公司於 X 國持有一個數據中心(「 X 國數據中心」),於 X 國提供寄存及儲存服務。
  (c) B 公司是一家在香港成立的有限公司,亦是 A 公司的全資附屬公司。

 返回頁首


3. 安排
  (a) 該公司與 B 公司訂立服務協議:由 B 公司替該公司於香港成立一個數據中心(「香港數據中心」)及為香港數據中心提供保養、維修及更換服務。
  (b) 香港數據中心主要包括電腦硬件及網絡器材,並作為位於 X 國的主要數據中心的備用站,亦可用作暫存聯線內容。
  (c) B 公司不會對儲存在香港數據中心內的軟件或資料進行任何輸入、上載或保養。所有以上工作皆由 A 公司的職員於 X 國或一第三國執行。 B 公司只對硬件提供安裝及保養服務,使該公司可以複製 X 國數據中心內的應用程式及數據到香港數據中心。
  (d) B 公司會把成立香港數據中心及向該公司提供服務的工作外判至一間第三者公司,而 B 公司扮演的角色是監督香港數據中心的運作及於有需要時提供保養服務。
  (e) B 公司會聘用一名僱員長駐在香港。該僱員會與該第三者公司一同監察香港數據中心內的硬件系統的保養情況、維修及更換相關硬件。
  (f) 就以上服務,該公司會向 B 公司支付相等於 B 公司的實際成本加百分之五提價的服務費用。計算該服務費用的成本包括一切由 B 公司招致的支出及香港數據中心的折舊成本。 B 公司賺取的服務收入須課繳香港利得稅。
  (g) B 公司沒有獲授予任何權力代表該公司洽談或訂立任何購貨或銷售合約,亦不獲授予任何權力與該公司或集團內其他公司的顧客洽談、訂立或執行任何合約。 B 公司亦不會以該公司名義代表該公司在香港進行任何產生利潤的活動。

 返回頁首


4. 裁定
  (a) 該公司不會由於有關安排的緣故而須按《稅務條例》第 14 條課繳利得稅。
  (b) 該公司不會由於有關安排的緣故而被《稅務條例》第 20(2)條當作是在香港經營業務。

 返回頁首


5. 裁定的適用期
  本裁定適用於 2010/11 及以後的課稅年度。

 返回頁首


6. 稅務局局長就將來發生的事件或任何其他事項在要項上作出的假設
  稅務局局長沒有作出假設。

 返回頁首


7. 裁定日期
  2010 年 10 月 25 日。