Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Advance Ruling Case No. 49


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of section 18E of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

 back to top


2. Background

(a) The Applicants are Company A and five of its subsidiaries, namely Company B, C, D, E and F.
(b) Company A is a company incorporated in Hong Kong in the 1980s. It has nine subsidiary companies of which six (including Company B to E) were incorporated in Hong Kong, one (i.e. Company F) in Country X, one in Country Y and one in the Mainland of China ["the Mainland"].
(c) Company D and Company E each has a wholly owned subsidiary company which was incorporated in the Mainland in 2009 and 2005 respectively. Company B has two wholly owned subsidiary companies both of which were incorporated in the Mainland in 2011. As stipulated under the laws of the Mainland, these four Mainland companies and the Mainland subsidiary mentioned in 2(b) above all have 31 December as their accounting date.
(d) All the Applicants were incorporated and commenced business after 1 April 1974. They have 31 March as their accounting date up to and including the year ended 31 March 2011.
(e) With the number of subsidiary and sub-subsidiaries in the Mainland increased to five in 2011, the Board of Directors of Company A resolved in late 2011 to have its accounting date and that of its subsidiaries incorporated outside the Mainland changed from 31 March to 31 December for the reasons set out in (3)(b) below.

 back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) The Applicants have decided and will change their accounting date from 31 March to 31 December in the year of assessment 2011/12. Their accounts for the year of assessment 2011/12 will cover the nine-month period from 1 April 2011 to 31 December 2011.
(b) The Applicants proposed to change the accounting date on the following grounds :
  (i) The new accounting date will be the same as the statutory accounting date of the subsidiaries in the Mainland.
  (ii) The change will alleviate the time pressure for and reduce the problems arising on preparation of consolidated accounts.
  (iii) The change will facilitate financial analysis of the Group with a view to assisting the management to make forward plans.

 back to top


4. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  There are no assumptions made by the Commissioner.

 back to top


5. The ruling

(a) The Commissioner will adopt the nine-month period from 1 April 2011 to 31 December 2011 as the basis period of the Applicants for the year of assessment 2011/12.
(b) The Commissioner will adopt or continue to adopt the twelve-month period from 1 April 2010 to 31 March 2011 as the basis period of the Applicants for the year of assessment 2010/11.

 back to top


6. The period for which the ruling applies

  This ruling applies to the Applicants for the years of assessment 2010/11 and 2011/12.

 back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

  1 February 2012.

 

 back to top


8. Commentary 

 

Under section 18E of the IRO, where the assessable profits of a person from any trade carried on in Hong Kong have been computed by reference to an account made up to a certain day in any year of assessment and the person fails to make up an account to the corresponding day in the following year of assessment, the assessable profits from that source for the year of change and the year preceding the change shall be computed / recomputed on such basis as the Commissioner thinks fit. For businesses which commence after 1 April 1974, the aim is to ensure that profits not less than the total profits made over the life of the business are assessed. Hence, in the present case for the year of change, a nine-month basis period is adopted. For the year preceding the change, the Commissioner considers it not necessary to recompute the profits.

(This commentary is not a legally binding statement and it does not form part of the Ruling.)

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

事先裁定個案第 49 號


1. 《稅務條例》的條文
  本裁定適用於《稅務條例》第 18E 條。

 返回頁首


2. 背景
  (a) 申請人是 A 公司和它的 5 間附屬公司,即 B , C , D , E 和 F 公司。
  (b) A 公司於 1980 年代在香港成立,它有 9 間附屬公司,當中 6 間(包括 B , C , D 及 E 公司)在香港成立, 1 間(即 F 公司)在 X 國家成立, 1 間在 Y 國家成立,而餘下 1 間在中國內地(" 內地 ")成立。
  (c) D 公司和 E 公司各自擁有 1 間分別於 2009 年和 2005 年在內地成立的全資附屬公司。 B 公司擁有 2 間於 2011 年在內地成立的全資附屬公司。根據內地法律規定,這 4 間在內地成立的公司和在 2(b)段提及的內地附屬公司均須以 12 月 31 日為其會計結算日。
  (d) 所有申請人都是在 1974 年 4 月 1 日後成立和開始營業。它們均以 3 月 31 日為其會計結算日,直至截止 2011 年 3 月 31 日的年結。
  (e) 隨著在內地成立的附屬公司及子公司的附屬公司已增至 5 間, A 公司的董事局以 3(b)段所列理由,在 2011 年末議決將其本身和所有不是在內地成立的附屬公司的會計結算日由 3 月 31 日更改為 12 月 31 日。

 返回頁首


3. 安排
  (a) 申請人決定並會把 2011/12 課稅年度的會計結算日由 3 月 31 日更改為 12 月 31 日。申請人 2011/12 課稅年度的帳目會涵蓋由 2011 年 4 月 1 日至 2011 年 12 月 31 日期間的 9 個月。
  (b) 申請人更改會計結算日期的理由如下:
    (i) 更改後的新會計結算日期,將會和內地成立的附屬公司的法定會計結算日期一致。
    (ii) 該更改可以減少擬備集團綜合財務報告所產生的問題和紓緩時間上的壓力。
    (iii) 該更改有助集團作出財務分析,從而協助管理層預定前瞻計劃。

 返回頁首


4. 稅務局局長就將來發生的事件或任何其他事項在要項上作出的假設
  稅務局局長沒有作出假設。

 返回頁首


5. 裁定
  (a) 稅務局局長會以 2011 年 4 月 1 日至 2011 年 12 月 31 日期間的 9 個月,作為申請人 2011/12 課稅年度的評稅基期。
  (b) 稅務局局長會採用或繼續以 2010 年 4 月 1 日至 2011 年 3 月 31 日期間的 12 個月,作為申請人 2010/11 課稅年度的評稅基期。

 返回頁首


6. 裁定的適用期
  本裁定在 2010/11 及 2011/12 課稅年度適用於申請人。

 返回頁首


7. 裁定日期
  2012 年 2 月 1 日。

 返回頁首


8. 評註
  根據《稅務條例》第 18E 條,任何人在香港經營任何行業所得的應評稅利潤,如已參照以任何課稅年度內某日為結帳日期的帳目而計算,但該人並沒有在下一課稅年度以同一日結算帳目,則在更改結帳日期的當年及之前的一年從該來源所得的應評稅利潤,須以局長認為適合的基準計算。如公司在 1974 年 4 月 1 日後開始營業,應評稅利潤不應少於該業務營運期間獲得的總利潤。因此,本裁定的申請人採用 9 個月時間為更改結帳日期的當年的評稅基期。至於更改結帳日期之前的一年,稅務局局長認為無需重新計算。
   
  (本評註並非具有法律約束力的陳述,也不構成本裁定的一部分。)