Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : news.gov.hk)

LCQ12: Charitable institutions

*********************************

Following is a question by the Hon Abraham Shek and a written reply by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, in the Legislative Council today (January 26):

Question:

According to section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (the Ordinance) (Cap. 112), "there shall be exempt and there shall be deemed always to have been exempt from tax any charitable institution or trust of a public character" provided that the profits derived from the trade or business carried on by such institution are applied solely for charitable purposes and are not expended substantially outside Hong Kong. It has been reported that there are more than 6,000 registered charities in Hong Kong of which only 170 are monitored by the Social Welfare Department. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the details of the criteria adopted for vetting and approving applications for registering charitable institutions bearing tax exemption status;

(b) whether any review of the Ordinance had been conducted in the past three years so as to enhance the financial transparency over the operation of tax-exempted charitable institutions; if so, whether it has considered including public access to financial information as a necessary condition in vetting and approving the applications in (a) and of the details; if not, the reasons for that;

(c) of the details of the established measures for monitoring the fund-raising activities and financial operation of registered tax-exempted charitable institutions;

(d) given that only the "Reference Guide on Best Practices for Charitable Fund-raising Activities" was issued as a voluntary guideline in 2004, whether it has considered since 2004, with reference to the examples of overseas jurisdictions, drafting charity law to regulate the operation of charitable institutions; if so, of the details regarding its proposed timetable for conducting public consultation; if not, the reasons for that; and

(e) of the number of charitable institutions that had been prosecuted in the past three years for carrying out fund-raising activities not serving charitable purposes, and respectively of the details of the penalties imposed on such institutions; whether it has considered raising the penalties on such improper activities; if so, of the details; if not, the reasons for that?

Reply:

President,

(a) to (d) Currently, there is no statutory definition of what constitutes a charity or a charitable purpose, nor is there a single piece of legislation which governs charities in Hong Kong and how donations are applied. A charity can be established in different forms, including a trust body, a society established under the Societies Ordinance, a corporate registered under the Companies Ordinance, an organisation established under a statute, etc.

According to section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance, charitable institutions or trusts of a public character should apply to the Commissioner of Inland Revenue if they wish to enjoy tax exemption. Applications should be supported by copies of relevant certificates of registration, the instruments and rules governing their activities (e.g. the Memorandum and Articles of Association, the Trust Deed, or the Constitution) and lists of activities carried out in the past year and/or to be carried out in the coming year, so as to demonstrate that the applicants' objects are charitable and their activities are compatible with their objects.

In processing tax exemption applications of charitable institutions, the Inland Revenue Department has all along made reference to the case law in the common law. In general, tax-exempt charitable institutions must be of a public character and established solely for charitable purposes recognised by the law. According to past case law, "charitable purposes" include (a) relief of poverty; (b) advancement of education; (c) advancement of religion; and (d) other purposes of charitable nature that are beneficial to the community.

As for monitoring of the fund-raising activities and the financial operation of charitable institutions, the Law Reform Commission of Hong Kong (the Commission) is conducting a review of the legal and regulatory framework relating to charities in Hong Kong, including the regulation of on-street fund-raising activities. The Commission is now studying the draft public consultation document on the subject prepared by its sub-committee and plans to issue it in the first half of 2011. The Administration will keep in view the progress of the review and its recommendations.

(e) Several government departments, including the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD), the Television and Entertainment Licensing Authority (TELA) and the Social Welfare Department (SWD), are responsible for regulating charitable fund-raising activities. FEHD has not compiled specific enforcement statistics on unauthorised fund-raising activities concerning illegal hawking on the streets for non-charitable purposes. According to TELA's records, in the past three years, no charitable organisation granted with a lottery licence was prosecuted for carrying out fund-raising activities not serving charitable purposes. Besides, in the past three years, there were two cases prosecuted by the Police for unauthorised charitable fund-raising in public places under the Summary Offences Ordinance (Cap. 228). Three persons involved in the two cases were convicted and fined from $500 to $2,000. Upon receipt of reports on charitable fund-raising activities suspected to obtain money by deception, SWD will refer such reports to the Police for investigation and follow-up action. According to section 16A of the Theft Ordinance (Cap. 210), anyone who is convicted of fraud may be sentenced to imprisonment for a maximum of 14 years.

Ends/Wednesday, January 26, 2011
Issued at HKT 14:03

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源 : 香港政府新聞網 )

立法會十二題:慈善組織

***********

    以下為今日(一月二十六日)在立法會會議上石禮謙議員的提問和財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強的書面答覆:

問題:

    根據《稅務條例》(條例) (第 112 章)第 88 條,「任何屬公共性質的慈善機構或慈善信託,均獲豁免並當作一直獲豁免繳稅」,只要得自該等機構經營的行業或業務的利潤是純粹作慈善用途及其中大部分並非在香港以外地方使用。有報道指出,香港有超過 6,000 間註冊慈善機構,當中只有 170 間是由社會福利署監管。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)審批擁有免稅資格的慈善機構的註冊申請所採用的準則詳情為何;

(二)過去三年曾否就條例進行檢討,以加強獲豁免繳稅慈善機構在運作上的財務透明度;若然,曾否考慮加入公眾可索取財務資料作為審批第(一) 項的申請的必要條件,以及詳情為何;若否,原因為何;

(三)監管獲豁免繳稅的註冊慈善機構的籌款活動及財務運作方面的既定措施的詳情為何;

(四)鑑於政府只曾於二○○四年發出《慈善籌款活動最佳安排參考指引》,作為自願遵守的指引,自二○○四年起,政府曾否考慮參照海外司法管轄區的例子,草擬慈善法例,以規管慈善機構的運作;若然,進行公眾諮詢的擬議時間表的詳情為何;若否,原因為何;及

(五)過去三年,被控進行非慈善性質籌款活動的慈善機構的數目及對該等機構的判罰的詳情分別為何;政府曾否考慮提高該等不當活動的罰則;若然,詳情為何;若否,原因為何?

答覆:

主席:

(一)至(四)香港現時沒有法律條文界定何謂慈善組織或慈善目的,亦沒有單一條法例規管慈善組織及其運用捐款的情況。慈善組織可以透過不同形式成立,包括信託團體、根據《社團條例》成立的社團、根據《公司條例》註冊的法團,以及根據香港法規而成立的團體等。

    根據《稅務條例》第 88 條,屬公共性質的慈善機構或信託團體如希望獲豁免繳稅,須向稅務局局長申請,並提交有關的註冊證明副本、規管其活動的文書副本(如組織大綱及細則、信託契約或會章),以及過去一年及/或未來一年舉辦活動的列表等,以證明該組織屬慈善性質以及其活動與其宗旨相符。

    稅務局一向參照普通法的案例,作為審批慈善組織豁免繳稅申請的準則。簡單而言,獲豁免繳稅的慈善組織必須屬公共性質及純粹是為法理上承認的慈善用途而設立。依據過往案例,慈善用途包括(1)救助貧困;(2) 促進教育;(3)推廣宗教;及(4)除上述之外,其他有益於社會而具慈善性質的宗旨。

    至於對慈善組織的籌款活動及財務運作方面的監管,香港法律改革委員會(法改會)現正檢討有關香港慈善組織的法律及規管架構,包括街頭慈善籌款的規管。法改會正研究其小組委員會擬備的公眾諮詢文件稿,並計劃於二○一一年上旬發布。政府當局會密切留意有關檢討的進展及其建議。

(五)規管慈善籌款活動涉及數個政府部門的範疇,包括食物環境衞生署(食環署)、影視及娛樂事務管理處(影視處)及社會福利署(社署)。食環署沒有分項備存未經批准進行街頭非慈善性質擺賣籌款活動的無牌擺賣執法行動數字。根據影視處紀錄,在過去三年,沒有已申領獎券活動牌照的慈善團體被控進行非慈善性質籌款活動。另外,在過去三年,因未申領社署署長按《簡易程序治罪條例》(第 228 章)所發出的公開籌款許可證而被警方檢控的個案有兩宗。該兩宗個案均被定罪,涉案的三名人士分別被判罰款 500 元至 2,000 元不等。如接獲有關籌款活動涉嫌騙取善款的舉報,社署會將個案轉交警方調查及跟進。根據《盜竊罪條例》(第 210 章)第 16A 條,任何觸犯欺詐罪的人士,一經定罪,最高可被判入獄十四年。

2011 年 1 月 26 日(星期三)
香港時間 14 時 00 分