Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : news.gov.hk)

LC: Speech by SFST in moving the Second Reading of the Inland Revenue (Amendment) Bill 2011

************************************************************************

Following is the English translation of the speech by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, in moving the Second Reading of the Inland Revenue (Amendment) Bill 2011 in the Legislative Council today (February 16):

President,

I move the Second Reading of the Inland Revenue (Amendment) Bill 2011 (the Bill).

The Bill seeks mainly to amend the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO) so as to effect the tax concession proposal for qualifying debt instruments (QDI) which was announced in the Government's Budget for 2010-11. It aims to enhance the relevant debt instrument scheme of Hong Kong so that it could better attract overseas debt issuers to Hong Kong, enlarge the local debt market, and enhance the competitiveness of Hong Kong vis-à-vis other financial centres in the region.

An active and diverse debt market is important to the further development of Hong Kong as an international financial centre. One of the most commonly used and effective ways to promote the development of a debt market is to provide tax incentives to participants of the market. Some financial centres in the region are indeed providing such tax incentives to participants of their debt markets. The Government introduced the QDI scheme in the mid-1990s. The scheme provides concessionary tax treatment in respect of interest income and trading profits derived from QDIs. There is a need to improve the QDI scheme from time to time in response to the changing market landscape and measures adopted by other financial centres in the region for developing their respective debt markets in order to preserve the competitiveness of the local debt market and facilitate its development.

Having conducted a review of the QDI scheme and consulted the market players, we have identified several areas for improvement. First, the structure of the tax incentives offered under the scheme may not match the landscape of Hong Kong's corporate bond market. While Hong Kong's corporate bond market is currently dominated by privately-placed short-term debt instruments with a tenor of less than three years, the scheme only offers tax incentives to debt instruments of a tenor of three years or more and which are "issued to the public". In this regard, we propose that the 50% tax concession currently granted under section 14A of the IRO be extended to interest income and trading profits derived from debt instruments with a tenor of less than three years. This amendment seeks to place short-term debt instruments on a level-playing field with longer-term debt instruments in respect of profits tax treatment and help stimulate new demand for bond issues in Hong Kong.

Second, since the "issued to the public" criterion is not clearly defined in the IRO, there are some uncertainties in the market about how such criterion should be interpreted in practice. To provide greater certainty for interpretation, we have proposed a new requirement to replace the "issued to the public" criterion after making reference to similar schemes overseas which are considered effective in facilitating the development of their respective debt markets. Under our proposal, the minimum number of persons a debt instrument has to be issued to so that it will be eligible for the QDI scheme will be set at 10. To cater for the large amount of private-placement debt issues in Hong Kong that may be offered to a large number of potential investors but are usually only issued to less than 10 investors at the end, an alternative requirement is provided for debt instruments that are issued to less than 10 persons at issuance, under which none of the investors should be an associate of the issuer at the time of issuance. This requirement will cater for the actual development of the market on the one hand and safeguard against potential intra-group tax avoidance arrangements by the issuer on the other.

While putting forth enhancements to meet the market development needs, we propose that additional provision be introduced to minimise the risk of tax avoidance. The new provision stipulates that the relevant profits tax concession will not apply in respect of any interest income and trading profits received by or accrued to a person in relation to the QDI if, at the time during which such interest income and trading profits is/are so received or accrued, the person is an associate of the issuer of the QDI.

In connection with the newly added provisions above, we will also include a definition of "associate" in section 14A of the IRO. In considering the definition of "associate", we wish to avoid unduly undermining the participation of some practically non-associated companies in the debt market, particularly companies which are associated merely because of common ownership by the central government of a country or its sovereign wealth funds or similar state-owned enterprises, but in practice operate independently as separate commercial entities. Therefore, we propose to carve out such companies from the definition of "associate" for the purpose of the QDI scheme. This is important because we would like to encourage and attract more such companies to make use of the debt market platform in Hong Kong to meet their financial intermediation needs, either as an issuer or investor. It is consistent with our efforts to promote Hong Kong as an international financial centre.

President, I look forward to Members' support for the Bill so that the enhancements to the QDI scheme could be implemented early, thereby facilitating the further development of the debt market in Hong Kong.

I so submit. Thank you, President.

Ends/Wednesday, February 16, 2011
Issued at HKT 15:26

NNNN

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主頁 > 刊物及新聞公報 > 新聞公報 > 昔日新聞 > 新聞稿

新聞稿

(資料來源 : 香港政府新聞網 )

立法會:財經事務及庫務局局長動議二讀《2011 年稅務(修訂)條例草案》致辭全文

************************

    以下為財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強今日(二月十六日)在立法會會議上動議二讀《2011 年稅務(修訂)條例草案》的致辭全文:

主席:

    我謹動議二讀《2011 年稅務(修訂)條例草案》(條例草案)。

    條例草案的主要目的,是修訂《稅務條例》,以實施 2010-11 年度政府財政預算案中的建議,寬減符合資格的債務票據的稅項,從而優化有關的債務票據計劃,讓它更有效地吸引海外發債人來港發債,拓展本地債券市場,以及提高香港相對於區內其他金融中心的競爭力。

    一個活躍和多元化的債券市場,對推動香港作為國際金融中心的發展至為重要。拓展債券市場其中一個最常用和有效的方法,是為市場參與者提供稅務優惠。區內一些金融中心正正為其債券市場的參與者提供這些稅務優惠。政府在九十年代中期推出符合資格債務票據計劃,就符合資格債務票據所得的利息收入及買賣利潤提供稅務優惠。我們有需要因應不斷演變的市場情況及區內其他金融中心為發展其債券市場而採取的措施,不時優化符合資格債務票據計劃,讓香港的債券市場保持競爭力,並持續發展。

    我們檢討過符合資格債務票據計劃以及諮詢了市場人士的意見,找出一些可以改進的地方。首先,符合資格債務票據計劃提供的稅務優惠結構未必能完全配合香港企業債券市場的實際情況。現時香港企業債券市場多以私人配售方式發行,並以少於三年年期的短期債務票據為主。然而,目前計劃僅向三年年期或以上並「向公眾發行」的債務票據提供稅務優惠。因此,我們建議將目前《稅務條例》第 14A 條所提供的 50% 利得稅寬減優惠,擴展至少於三年年期的債務票據。這項修訂旨在讓短期債務票據與較長期債務票據享有同等的利得稅優惠,刺激市場對在香港發行的債券的新需求。

    第二,由於《稅務條例》並沒有清楚界定何謂「向公眾發行」,市場未能確定這項條件實際上應如何理解和應用。為增加詮釋上的確定性,我們參考了海外一些被視為有效促進當地債券市場發展的類似計劃,建議訂立新的規定以取代原有「向公眾發行」的條件。新規定將訂明如要享有符合資格債務票據計劃所提供的稅務優惠,債務票據須在最初推出時至少發行予 10 人。另外,香港有大量以私人配售方式發行的債務票據,雖然發行時可向許多準投資者提出要約,但最終一般只有少於 10 名投資者會購入這些債務票據。因此,我們另就發行予少於 10 人的債務票據制定了不同的要求,規定有關投資者在債務票據發行時不得為發債人的相聯者,這樣一方面可配合市場的實際情況,另一方面亦可防範發債人可能作出內部避稅安排。

    此外,在推出優化措施滿足市場發展需要的同時,我們亦建議引入措施減低避稅風險。有關新條文規定任何人如就符合資格債務票據收取或獲累算利息收入及買賣利潤時,而該人在當時為該符合資格債務票據發債人的相聯者,則利得稅減免安排即不適用於該部分的利息收入及買賣利潤。

    因應上述的新增條文,我們會在《稅務條例》第 14A 條加入「相聯者」的定義。在考慮「相聯者」的定義時,我們希望避免不必要地妨礙一些實際上並非相聯者的公司參與債券市場,特別是那些純粹因為由某國家的中央政府或其主權基金或類似的國營企業共同擁有,但實際上以獨立商業實體形式分開營運的公司。所以,就符合資格債務票據計劃而言,我們建議把這類公司豁除於「相聯者」的定義,藉此鼓勵和吸引更多這類公司以發債人或投資者的身分,利用香港的債券市場平台滿足其融資需要。這亦與我們推廣香港作為國際金融中心的工作一致。

    主席,我希望各位議員能夠支持條例草案,讓我們能盡早實施符合資格債務票據計劃優化的措施,以推動香港債券市場的進一步發展。

    我謹此陳辭。多謝主席。

2011 年 2 月 16 日(星期三)
香港時間 15 時 25 分

 

返回頁首