Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

LCQ19: Measures to address the overheated property market

*************************************************************************     

    Following is a question by the Hon Lam Tai-fai and a written reply by the Secretary for Transport and Housing, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung, in the Legislative Council today (July 3):

Question:

    The Government has launched a series of tax measures, including the Special Stamp Duty (SSD), the Buyer's Stamp Duty (BSD) and the doubling of the ad valorem stamp duty rates (the double AVD) on grounds of according priority to Hong Kong Permanent Residents (HKPRs) to meet their home ownership needs and cooling down the overheated property market, etc.  However, some members of the public have pointed out that these measures have resulted in a shrinking turnover in the property market as well as affected the turnover and employment rates of the related industries. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) whether there are data proving that the aforesaid measures have effectively assisted HKPRs in purchasing their homes; if there are, of the details; if not, the reasons for that;

(b) whether it has studied if the proportion of the cases of first-time home purchases by HKPRs to the total number of transactions has increased since the launch of the aforesaid measures; if the outcome of the study shows that the proportion has decreased instead of increasing, whether it reflects that the aforesaid measures have failed to assist HKPRs in purchasing homes with priority;

(c) of the Government's estimated tax revenues generated from SSD, BSD and the double AVD respectively in the next three years;

(d) given that the Federal Reserve of the United States is preparing a plan for withdrawal of the quantitative easing monetary policy, including the consideration of a gradual decrease in Treasury bond purchases in the coming few months, whether the authorities will assess afresh and consider drawing up a timetable to withdraw the aforesaid measures in the light of the recent global economic situation; if they will, of the details; if not, the reasons for that;


(e) given that the residential and non-residential property transactions have shrunk since the launch of the aforesaid measures, whether the Government has assessed the blows and impact of the situation on the related industries (e.g. property agency, interior decoration, furniture and cleansing industries, etc.); if it has, of the details, if not, the reasons for that; of the latest unemployment rates and under-employment rates in these related industries;

(f) given that the Chairman of the Subsidized Housing Committee under the Hong Kong Housing Authority said last month that if a drop by 20 per cent in the property prices could not be achieved, the Government should decisively launch further measures, whether the Government has formulated new measures to cool down the property market further; if it has, of the details, including the target rate of decrease in property prices; whether it has drawn up any indicators for launching these further measures; if it has not, of the reasons for that;

(g) whether the Government had set any effectiveness indicators when the aforesaid measures were launched; if it had, of the details; if not, the reasons for that;

(h) whether the Government had, when launching the aforesaid measures, formulated any plans to withdraw these measures to deal with the impact brought by a sudden downturn of the property market; if it had, of the details; if not, the reasons for that;

(i) given that this Council is still scrutinizing the bills introduced by the authorities on implementing the aforesaid measures, whether the Government has prepared contingency plans in the event that the bills concerned are not passed by the Legislative Council; if it has, of the details; if not, the reasons for that;

(j) under what circumstances the Government will consider exempting companies which are wholly owned by HKPRs from paying BSD for acquisition of residential properties; and

(k) given that in a number of recent transaction cases, the per-square-foot prices of some Home Ownership Scheme (HOS) flats have peaked time and again, while the atmosphere of the HOS Secondary Market has also been exuberant and the prices have repeatedly reached record highs, whether the Government has assessed if the measures which allow eligible White Form HOS applicants to purchase HOS flats with premium not paid in the HOS Secondary Market are contrary to the aforesaid measures for cooling down the overheated property market?


Reply:

President,

    Property prices have been exuberant in recent years due to the extremely low interest rates, abundant liquidity environment, and the tight supply situation. To address the overheated property market, the Government announced further demand-side management measures in October 2012, i.e. the enhanced Special Stamp Duty (SSD) and the Buyer's Stamp Duty (BSD), to combat speculative activities, cool down the property market, and accord priority to the home ownership needs of Hong Kong permanent residents (HKPRs) in the midst of the tight supply situation. In view of signs of renewed exuberance state of the property market in 2013, the Government announced another round of demand-side management measures in February 2013, including the doubling of the ad valorem stamp duty (AVD) rates for all property transactions, to reinforce the demand-side management measures so as to cool down the property market.  

    In respect of the specific questions asked by the Hon Lam Tai-fai, our consolidated reply is as follows:

    The above-mentioned demand-side management measures have helped stabilise the residential property market and helped address the home ownership needs of HKPRs. As a matter of fact, stamp duty statistics from the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) indicate that purchases of residential property by non-local individuals and companies (local and non-local) plunged to a monthly average of 249 cases, or 4.6 per cent of total transactions, in the first five months of 2013, markedly below the monthly average of 1 089 cases, or 13.6 per cent of total transactions, from January to October 2012 (i.e. the period before the announcement of the demand-side management measures mentioned above). The Government does not keep statistics on first-time home buyers as residential property buyers are not required to provide information as to whether they are first-time buyers or not. Nevertheless, under the proposed new AVD regime, if a HKPR buyer is not a beneficial owner of any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquiring a residential property, he or she will be exempted from the new AVD rates. We consider that such an arrangement will effectively address the needs of HKPRs who are first-time home buyers.

    The demand-side management measures are not intended to generate revenue for the Government. As such, we have not estimated the amount of revenue that these measures may generate.

    The employment situation in the property-related sectors, including the real estate sector, the decoration, repair and maintenance for the building sector, as well as the cleaning and similar services sector, generally improved over the past few years, with the unemployment rates showing a noticeable decline amid a generally tight labour market with full employment. While the Government's measures to curb the housing market exuberance may have affected the various property-related sectors to different extents, the impact had been cushioned by a vibrant domestic sector and the overall tightness in the labour market so far. Relevant data on unemployment rates, underemployment rates and year-on-year changes in business statistics are at Annex for reference. More importantly, certain demand-side management measures are considered necessary to curb market exuberance with a view to ensuring the stable and healthy development of the property market. These measures are intended to help protect Hong Kong's macroeconomic and financial stability, to the benefit of the overall economy in the long term. If we do not cool down the overheated property market in a timely manner, property prices will further deviate from economic fundamentals, and would lead to a greater impact on the market and more painful adjustment to society should there be any change in interest rates and the external environment. On balance, we believe that the measures serve the best interest of the community as a whole.

    As we have repeatedly explained at meetings of the Bills Committee on the Stamp Duty (Amendment) Bill 2012, the suggestion that companies owned by HKPRs be exempted from the BSD is not acceptable given various considerations. In the midst of the current low interest rates, abundant liquidity and tight supply situation, accepting such a proposal will send a wrong message to the public that the Government is not determined to cool down the property market. To do so may in turn actually fuel the property market. This proposal would also cause confusion to the fundamental legal principle under the company law that "a company is an entity independent of its shareholders", and would create loopholes to circumvent the BSD by way of transfer of company shares. Even with the imposition of conditions to restrict the transfer of company shares as suggested by some, there would still be loopholes that are extremely difficult, if not impossible, to plug. As such, the proposal would run the risk of incentivising one to acquire residential properties in the name of a company, thereby undermining the effectiveness of the various demand-side management measures. Besides, most Hong Kong people acquire residential properties for dwelling purpose in their own names.  Those who choose to use companies as a vehicle to acquire residential properties do so mainly for the sake of convenience in asset management. We consider that, while the BSD will increase the cost of such a practice, it will not lessen the opportunity for HKPRs to acquire residential properties, as HKPRs who have a pressing home ownership need may still purchase a residential property in their own names. Under the present exceptional market situation, we consider it necessary to have the extraordinary measures in place, and their effectiveness should not be reduced intentionally or incidentally.  

    Although the residential property market has shown signs of cooling down following the introduction of the demand-side management measures, the market sentiment remains unsettled.  Despite the recent message from the Federal Reserve of the United States on the possibility of gradually reducing its bond-buying programme, the risk of a property bubble cannot be ignored, taking into account the fact that the low interest rates and abundant liquidity environment still persist, as well as the tight supply in the short run.  According to statistics, overall flat prices in April 2013 have soared by 127 per cent over the recent trough in late 2008. Also, home purchase affordability (i.e. mortgage payment to income ratio) has risen to 56 per cent in the first quarter of 2013, exceeding the long-term average of 48 per cent over the period from 1993 to 2012. The Government will continue to closely monitor the development of the residential property market, with reference to a basket of indicators including property prices, the housing affordability of the general public, the volume of property transactions, the supply of residential properties, growth in mortgage lending, speculative activities, etc. We have proposed in the relevant Bills, which implement the various demand-side management measures, that future adjustments to the relevant duty rates should be made by means of subsidiary legislation subject to negative vetting by the Legislative Council, in order to provide the Government with the necessary flexibility to adjust the applicable rates (to "zero" if necessary) in a timely manner with reference to the market situation.  It has all along been the Government's position that, in case there is a major adjustment to the property market which affects the macroeconomic situation, the Government will not hesitate to introduce appropriate measures to ensure the healthy and stable development of the residential property market.

    IRD has been recording all property transactions that may be subject to the proposed stamp duty measures. After the enactment of the relevant Bills, IRD will recoup from the parties concerned the applicable stamp duties. Before the enactment of the Bills, some of the properties which are subject to the stamp duty measures may be transferred and disposed of again. The longer it takes to pass the relevant Bills, the more complicated the situation will become. This will result in uncertainty to the operation of the property market and land title of the properties transacted if the relevant Bills are not passed in time. As such, we will work closely with the relevant Bills Committees to facilitate their scrutiny of the two Bills respectively.

Home Ownership Scheme Secondary Market

    In response to the home ownership aspirations of those with White Form (WF) status during the interim period from now until the first batch of new Home Ownership Scheme (HOS) flats are completed in 2016/17, we have introduced an interim scheme whereby 5 000 WF buyers each year will have a chance to purchase HOS flats with premium not yet paid.  The interim scheme can also facilitate the turnover of HOS flats, thereby revitalizing the HOS Secondary Market.  It also addresses the community's previous request in this regard.

    The Government has been monitoring price changes in the property market closely. Under the current environment with low interest rates and abundant liquidity, the overall property prices (including the transaction prices of second-hand HOS flats) have remained high. The community is also concerned about the increase in prices of second-hand HOS flats with premium not yet paid. However, changes in property prices (including the changes in prices of HOS flats with premium not yet paid on the Secondary Market) are affected by many factors, such as the supply of residential flats, the volume of transactions, the situation of mortgage lending, interest rates, the affordability of those who wish to buy, the economic situation, people's expectations regarding the prospect of the market, as well as any measures that the Government may take that impact on the market. It is simply not safe to come to the conclusion that the changes in the prices of second-hand HOS flats are due to the implementation of the interim scheme. As a matter of fact, since 2010, the rate of increase in transaction prices of HOS flats in both the open market (i.e. flats with premium paid) and the Secondary Market (i.e. flats with premium not yet paid) is higher than that of the overall property market.

    The interim scheme is still at an early phase of implementation. We will keep in view the market responses as well as the implementation of the interim scheme to evaluate the effectiveness of the scheme. Moreover, the Government has been reminding members of the public to exercise caution and should make home purchase decisions based on their own affordability.

Ends/Wednesday, July 3, 2013
Issued at HKT 16:20

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處)

立法會十九題:應付樓市過熱的措施

****************  

  以下為今日(七月三日)立法會會議上林大輝議員的提問和運輸及房屋局局長張炳良教授的書面答覆:

問題:

  政府以「優先照顧香港永久性居民的置業需要」及冷卻過熱樓市等理由,連環推出額外印花稅、買家印花稅及雙倍印花稅的稅務措施。然而,有市民指出,該等措施令物業市場成交萎縮,亦影響到相關行業的營業額和就業率。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)有否數據證明上述措施有效協助香港永久性居民置業;如有,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;

(二)有否研究,自上述措施推出以來,香港永久性居民首次置業的個案佔總成交宗數的比例有否上升;如研究結果顯示該比例不升反跌,是否反映上述措施未能協助香港永久性居民優先置業;

(三)預計未來三年,額外印花稅、買家印花稅及雙倍印花稅會分別帶來多少政府稅收;

(四)鑑於美國聯邦儲備局正部署量化寬鬆貨幣政策的退市方案,包括考慮在未來數月逐步減少購入國庫券,當局會否因應最近的環球經濟情況,重新作出評估並考慮定下撤回上述措施的時間表;如會,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;

(五)自上述措施推出以來,住宅和非住宅物業的成交量均萎縮,政府有否評估這情況對相關的行業(例如物業代理、裝修、傢具、清潔等)的打擊和影響;如有,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;該等相關行業的最新失業率及就業不足率為何;

(六)鑑於香港房屋委員會資助房屋小組主席在上月表示,如樓價未能回落兩成,政府應果斷再推出措施,政府有否制備進一步冷卻樓市的新措施;如有,詳情為何,包括目標的樓價下降幅度;有否定下推出該等進一步措施的指標;如否,原因為何;

(七)政府推出上述措施時,有否設定成效指標;如有,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;

(八)政府推出上述措施時,有否制備撤回措施的方案,以應付樓市突然逆轉帶來的衝擊;如有,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;

(九)鑑於本會仍在審議當局就推行上述措施而提交的法案,政府有否部署有關法案一旦不獲立法會通過時的應變方案;如有,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;

(十)在甚麼情況下,政府才會考慮豁免購入住宅物業的由香港永久性居民全資擁有的公司繳付買家印花稅;及

(十一)鑑於有一些居者有其屋計劃(居屋)單位近日接連錄得呎價破頂的成交個案,而居屋第二市場亦氣氛熾熱和價格屢創新高,政府有否評估,容許符合居屋白表申請者資格的人士在居屋第二市場購買未繳付補價的居屋單位的措施,與上述冷卻過熱樓市的措施是否背道而馳?

答覆:

主席:

  在利率超低、流動資金氾濫,以及供應偏緊的情況下,樓價在近年持續熾熱。為應對過熱的樓市,政府於2012年10月公布進一步的需求管理措施,即加強額外印花稅及引入買家印花稅,以遏抑投機活動,冷卻樓市,並於供應緊張的情況下,優先照顧香港永久性居民的置居需要。因應樓市於2013年再度呈現熾熱跡象,政府於2013年2月推出另一輪的需求管理措施,包括將適用於所有物業交易的從價印花稅稅率加倍,以加強需求管理,冷卻樓市。

  就林大輝議員的各項提問,現綜合答覆如下。

  上述需求管理措施有助穩定住宅物業市場,及照顧香港永久性居民的置居需要。事實上,稅務局的印花稅數據顯示,涉及非本地個人及公司買家(包括本地及非本地公司)的住宅交易,於2013年的首五個月已下跌至平均每月249宗,僅佔交易總數的4.6%,相比2012年1月至10月期間(即推出上述需求管理措施前)每月平均1 089宗或佔交易總數的13.6%大幅下降。由於住宅物業買家無須提交他們是否首次置業的資料,政府並無備存有關統計數字。雖然如此,於雙倍從價印花稅下,若香港永久性居民買家在購買住宅物業時,並非任何其他香港住宅物業的實益擁有人,便可獲豁免而無須按新的從價印花稅稅率繳稅。我們相信此安排有效照顧首次置業的香港永久性居民。

  我們推出有關需求管理措施的目的不在於增加政府收入,故政府沒有就措施可能帶來的收入作出估算。

  與物業相關的行業,包括地產業、樓房裝飾、修葺及保養業、以及清潔及同類服務業,其就業情況在過去數年普遍改善。這些行業的失業率在勞工市場普遍偏緊及處於全民就業的狀態下,錄得顯著跌幅。儘管政府遏抑樓市亢奮的措施可能對各個與物業相關的行業帶來不同程度的影響,但內部經濟強勁及整體勞工市場偏緊,大致緩衝了這些影響。相關的失業率、就業不足率及業務統計的按年變動數字載於附件供參考。更重要的是,為遏抑市場亢奮表現以確保物業市場健康平穩地發展,我們認為有必要推出一些需求管理措施。這些措施旨在維持本港宏觀經濟及金融穩定,長遠而言有利於香港的整體經濟。如果我們不及時冷卻熾熱的樓市,樓價將會更偏離經濟基調,一旦利率或其他外圍因素有變,隨之而來的調整將會帶來市場上更大的衝擊和社會上更大的痛楚。權衡利害,我們相信有關措施符合整體社會的最大利益。

  正如我們於《2012年印花稅(修訂)條例草案》的法案委員會會議中多次解釋,政府未能接受豁免香港永久性居民擁有的公司繳交買家印花稅的建議,有多重考慮。在目前利率超低、資金泛濫、房屋供應仍然緊張的情況下,接納有關建議將向公眾發出錯誤的信息,令市場誤以為政府沒有決心冷卻樓市,很可能令樓市再次熾熱。同時,有關建議亦會混淆「公司是一個實體,應獨立於其股東」這個公司法下的根本法律原則,並且會造成以轉讓公司股權而逃避買家印花稅的漏洞。即使如部分人士建議加入一些條款以限制公司股份轉讓,一些漏洞仍會存在而屬於極為困難、或根本無法堵塞者;按此,有關建議或會增加以公司名義購買住宅物業的誘因,削弱各項需求管理措施的效力。再者,大多數香港市民購買物業自住均以個人名義購買,而以公司名義置業的人士,主要是因為可以得到一些資產管理上的便利。我們認為,買家印花稅雖然會增加以公司名義置業的成本,然而並無削減香港永久性居民置業的機會,因為他們如有急切置業的需要,仍可選擇以個人名義置業。在現時的非常時期下,我們認為相關的非常措施有存在必要,其效力不應有意或無意下削弱。

  我們留意到住宅物業市場於推出有關需求管理措施後呈現冷卻跡象,但市場情緒仍不確切,仍存波動。雖然美國聯邦儲備局最近發表可能會逐步減少買債的言論,然而利率偏低和資金氾濫的環境仍然持續,加上供應短期內依然偏緊,因此樓市的泡沫風險仍然不容忽視。根據數據,2013年4月的整體樓價比2008年底的近期低位高出127%,置業負擔比率(即按揭供款與入息比例)於2013年第一季上升至56%,超越1993年至2012年的48%長期平均數。政府會繼續參考一籃子指標,包括樓價、巿民置業負擔能力、物業成交量、住宅物業供應、按揭貸款增長、投機活動等,以密切監察住宅物業市場的發展。我們已在落實相關需求管理措施的條例草案中建議,未來以「先訂立後審議」的附屬法例形式調整有關稅率,以確保政府在有需要時可靈活參照市況,及時調整稅率至合適水平(必要時可以調整為「零」)。政府一直的立場是,如物業市場出現重大波動,影響宏觀經濟,政府會毫不猶疑推出相應措施,確保物業市場健康平穩發展。

  稅務局一直記錄所有可能受建議的印花稅措施影響的住宅物業交易。稅務局會於相關條例草案通過後,向有關人士追收須繳的印花稅。在有關條例草案通過前,部分受建議的印花稅措施影響的物業可能會有轉讓及再交易,時間愈長,情況或會變得愈複雜。如有關條例草案未能盡早通過,對樓市運作及涉及物業的土地業權會帶來不明朗因素,故此,政府會緊密配合相關法案委員會的工作,協助法案委員會審議相關條例草案。

居者有其屋計劃(居屋)二手市場

  為回應擁有白表資格人士在2016/17年度首批新居屋單位落成以前這段過渡時期的置居需要,我們推出了臨時計劃,每年讓5 000名符合白表資格的人士購買未繳付補價的居屋單位。此計劃亦有助增加居屋單位的流轉,從而活化居屋第二市場,亦是回應了過去社會上這方面的訴求。

  政府一直密切監察物業市場價格的變動。目前整體樓價,包括二手居屋的成交價,於利率極低及資金充裕的環境下依然高企,社會人士亦關注未補價二手居屋單位的價格上升。不過,樓價的變動,包括第二市場上未繳付補價居屋價格的變動,受到多方面因素的影響,例如住宅單位供應、物業交投量、按揭信貸情況、利率水平、有意購買者的負擔能力、經濟情況、市民對後市的預期,以及政府所採取任何可能對市場有影響的措施。因此,我們不能貿然斷定二手居屋單位成交價的變動,與實行臨時計劃有關。其實,自2010年起,居屋的成交價,無論是在公開市場(即須補價)或第二市場(即未補價)的增幅,均高於整體樓市的增幅。

  臨時計劃在現階段只屬推行初期,我們會密切留意市場上的反應及執行情況,檢討計劃的成效。此外,政府一直提醒市民,應審慎行事,按照自己的負擔能力去作出任何置業的決定。

2013年7月3日(星期三)
香港時間16時15分