Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

SFST's opening remarks at meeting of Bills Committee on Stamp Duty (Amendment) Bill 2013

**********************************************************************************************************

     Following is the English translation of the opening remarks by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, at the meeting of the Bills Committee on Stamp Duty (Amendment) Bill 2013 of the Legislative Council today (May 13):

Chairman,

    First of all, I would like to thank the Chairman Hon Starry Lee and Members of the Bills Committee for their hard work since May last year in holding more than a dozen of meetings to scrutinise the Stamp Duty (Amendment) Bill 2013 (the Bill).

    I have been paying attention to the discussions by the Bills Committee and understand Members' concerns.  By attending today's meeting, I can not only listen to Members' views in person but also allow me to reiterate the Government's policy intent and elaborate on the Government's position in respect of areas that Members have concerns.

Policy intent

    Before focusing on specific aspects of the Bill, I would like to briefly outline the policy background and intent of the Bill.  Under the influence of exceptionally low interest rates and abundant liquidity, as well as the tight supply of residential properties, the property market in Hong Kong has shown signs of an irrational state of exuberance over the past few years.  Although the rise in residential property prices was temporarily arrested upon the introduction of the enhanced Special Stamp Duty and Buyer's Stamp Duty in end October 2012, there were signs of spreading of overheating situation to the non-residential property market.
 
    To address the overheating situation in the property market, the Government announced on February 22, 2013 the introduction of a new round of measures, i.e. to double the ad valorem stamp duty (AVD) rates on transactions for residential and non-residential properties and to advance the timing for charging of AVD on non-residential property transactions, in order to reinforce demand management on those who have already acquired residential properties and to prevent the overheating situation from spreading to the non-residential property market.  The Bill reflects the above-mentioned new round of measures.

    When introducing the doubled AVD, we have the following major considerations:

(a) the measures should uphold the current stamp duty regime on properties by charging AVD on the basis of the considerations of property transactions in the instrument on a progressive scale;

(b) the measures should, having regard to the situation in the property market, enhance the extent of demand-side management with a view to cooling down the overheated property market immediately so as to reverse the market expectation that property prices will only rise; and

(c) the measures should be consistent with the Government's policy directive, i.e. to accord priority to the home ownership needs of Hong Kong Permanent Residents (HKPRs) and take a stringent approach in drawing up the exemption rules at the same time to ensure the effectiveness of the measures.

Effectiveness of the measures

    Since the introduction of the doubled AVD measures, as reflected by statistics, the property market has shown signs of cooling down with dwindled transactions and stabilised prices.  Overall flat prices increased by an average of 0.1% per month during March 2013 to March 2014, a notable deceleration from the monthly average increase of 2.7% in the first two months of 2013.  The rental prices increased by an average of 0.1% per month during March 2013 to March 2014, a reduction from the monthly average increase of 0.4% in the first two months of 2013 and a notable deceleration from the monthly average increase of 1.9% in 2012.

    For the non-residential property market, the prices of office and flatted factory space increased by an average of 0.3% and 0.1% respectively per month during March 2013 to March 2014, a notable deceleration from the monthly average increases of 2.6% and 4.1% respectively in the first two months of 2013.  The prices of retail space between March 2013 and March 2014 showed virtually no change further to the monthly average increase of 1.9% in the first two months of 2013.  During the same period, the monthly average increase of rental prices of retail, office and flatted factory space continued to decelerate.  For example, in the case of retail space, the increase was reduced to 0.4% from 0.7%, with an obvious drop when compared with the monthly average increase of 1.0% in 2012.

    The above shows that the successive rounds of demand-side management measures introduced by the Government have addressed the overheating situation in the property market effectively, which is in line with our policy objective.  Despite the preliminary results, uncertainty still prevails in the market and the supply of properties remains tight.  Hence, we consider it necessary to maintain the measures.

    Next, I will respond to the major concerns that Members have expressed on the Bill during past meetings, including whether the measures should be applicable to non-residential properties, the stipulated period for changing properties, the handling of acquisition of a residential property together with a car parking space and the sunset clause.

Scope of the Bill

    According to the Bill, the doubled AVD shall apply to all transactions in respect of residential and non-residential properties.  That said, for consistency with the Government's policy directive to accord priority to the home ownership needs of HKPRs, the Bill proposes to exempt residential property acquired by a HKPR, provided that he or she is not a beneficial owner of any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquiring the concerned residential property.

    I understand some Members have proposed that similar exemption arrangement should be available for non-residential property transactions by citing the above exemption.  However, I would like to point out that given their differences in nature, they should not be treated in the same way.  The policy considerations for non-residential properties are not on a par with addressing the home ownership needs of HKPRs.  To ensure the effectiveness of the measures and prevent the spread of overheating situation to the non-residential property market, we do not propose to provide exemption for non-residential property transactions.   

Modified proposals

    On the residential properties, having regard to the policy objective, legislative intent and under the principle of not undermining the effectiveness of the measures and after having fully considered the views of Members and relevant stakeholders, we are willing to make adjustments to the proposed measures in the following two aspects.

    First, we propose to relax the "six-month" timeframe for owners having acquired a new residential property before disposing of their original one.  Specifically, the Bill currently proposes that if the HKPR who acquires a new residential property has entered into an agreement for sale to dispose of his or her original and only other residential property in Hong Kong within six months from the date of acquiring the new property, he or she can benefit from the refund mechanism purposely drawn up to cater for the replacement needs of HKPRs, i.e. the difference in AVD payment between the old and new rates will be refunded.  Striking a balance between addressing the practical needs of the public and safeguarding the effectiveness of the measures, we propose to specify the "six-month" timeframe under the current arrangement in the Bill be adjusted to commence from the conveyance on sale instead of the agreement for sale and purchase of the newly acquired property.  We believe the above formulation can address the replacement needs of both owners who acquire existing stocks and uncompleted flats.  The refund criterion is applicable across the board, clear and fair.  It is easy for public understanding and facilitates effective administration by the Inland Revenue Department (IRD).

    In the light of the above arrangement, we also propose a slight modification  to the "two-year" timeframe for application to IRD for stamp duty refund as specified in the Bill. While maintaining the two-year application timeframe after the execution of an agreement for sale and purchase of the newly acquired property, we propose to include a new clause to allow for application within two months from the conveyance on sale of the original residential property, whichever is the later.  This is meant to enable buyers of changing properties, including those who acquire uncompleted flats, to apply for refund after completion of transactions to cater for actual circumstances.

Acquisition of a residential property with a car parking space

    The second adjustment is related to the exemption arrangement in respect of acquisition of a residential property with a car parking space.  In accordance with the Bill and the prevailing practice by the Stamp Office, when a HKPR acting on his or her behalf in acquiring a residential property and a car parking space by a single instrument, the concerned residential property in the transaction can be exempted from the doubled AVD while the car parking space will not be exempted given that it is a non-residential property.

    Striking a balance between the prevailing stamp duty regime on property, addressing the home ownership needs of the public and safeguarding the effectiveness of the measures, we consider the need to uphold the spirit of providing the current exemption to residential properties and in doing so to cater along the need of those in acquiring a residential property and a car parking space by a single instrument by exempting the car parking space from the doubled AVD.  The exemption shall be stringently drawn up with the following conditions:

(a) the buyer is a HKPR who is acting on his or her behalf and is not a beneficial owner of any other residential property and car parking space in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition of the concerned residential property and car parking space;

(b) the concerned exemption is restricted to one car parking space, irrespective of whether the car parking space is acquired for self-use or by a first-time buyer; and

(c) the concerned car parking space must be acquired together with the residential property in a single instrument, irrespective of whether the car parking space is located in the same residential development.  If the single instrument involves more than one car parking space, all the car parking spaces will not be exempted even if they are purchased jointly with the residential property.

    To implement the above two adjustment proposals, the Government will submit Committee Stage Amendments in due course.

    The two adjustment proposals mentioned just now are only technical in nature which are meant to address the home ownership needs of HKPRs, and are consistent with our policy and intent. The proposed two adjustment proposals do not represent any relaxation on the existing demand-side management measures. I do not wish to see any speculation by the public or market players. Neither should they doubt the Government's determination in this regard. We are determined to uphold the existing policy and safeguard the healthy and stable development of the property market.

Sunset clause

    The Government does not agree to include a sunset clause in the Bill as proposed by individual Members.  As the Government has pointed out repeatedly, we cannot willfully predict future market changes and various external factors and come up with a date as to when the demand-side management measures would no longer be applicable.  Therefore, any prescribed sunset clause will only disseminate erroneous messages to the market and fuel demand, thus affecting the effectiveness of the measures.

    Having said that, the absence of sunset clause does not mean that we will ignore the market situation.  The Government will continue to closely monitor the property market and changes in the external factors, take appropriate measures, including making timely adjustment to the measures with a view to safeguarding the healthy and stable development of the property market.  Thus, I undertake that the Government will conduct a review and report to the Legislative Council one year after the enactment of the legislation.

Conclusion

    Chairman, I will stop at here first. I and my colleagues will be pleased to listen to the views of Members and respond to Members' questions. Thank you.

Ends/Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Issued at HKT 21:00

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處) 

財經事務及庫務局局長出席《2013年印花稅(修訂)條例草案》委員會會議開場發言

*************************************

  以下是財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強今日(五月十三日)在立法會《2013年印花稅(修訂)條例草案》委員會會議的開場發言:

主席:

  首先,我要感謝《2013年印花稅(修訂)條例草案》委員會主席李慧議員及各位委員,自去年五月以來,不辭勞苦地舉行了十多次法案委員會會議,對《2013年印花稅(修訂)條例草案》(下稱《條例草案》)進行審議。

  過去,我一直有留意會議上的討論,明白委員所關注的事項。藉出席今天的會議,不僅讓我有機會親身聆聽議員的意見,亦讓我可重申政府的政策理念,並就委員所關注的範疇,進一步說明政府的立場。

政策理念

  在聚焦討論《條例草案》的個別範疇之前,我想先簡單勾劃《條例草案》的政策背景和理念。最近幾年,受到低利率及資金充裕環境影響,加上住宅物業供應偏緊,本港的樓市呈現非理性的亢奮。儘管政府已於二零一二年十月底加強額外印花稅和引入買家印花稅,但只能短暫地令住宅物業市場降溫,熾熱的市況更有蔓延至非住宅物業市場之勢。

  為應對樓市持續過熱的情況,政府於二零一三年二月二十二日宣布推出新一輪的措施,即把住宅物業和非住宅物業交易的從價印花稅稅率增加一倍,同時提前徵收非住宅物業交易從價印花稅的時間,以加強管理已購置住宅物業的人士的需求,並防止住宅物業市場的投機或投資活動轉移至非住宅物業市場。《條例草案》便是反映上述新一輪措施的內容。

  在推出雙倍從價印花稅時,我們有以下的主要考量:

(一)措施應秉承現行物業印花稅的制度,以累進稅率按物業交易文書的代價款額徵收從價印花稅;

(二)措施應針對樓市的情況,加大管理需求的力度,即時冷卻住宅和非住宅物業市場的熾熱情況,從而扭轉樓價只升不跌的市場預期;及

(三)措施應貫徹政府的政策方針,優先照顧香港永久性居民的置居需要,同時從嚴訂立豁免準則,以維護措施的效力。

措施成效

  自推出雙倍從價印花稅措施後,客觀的數據顯示,樓市出現冷卻跡象,成交減少,售價大致橫行。整體住宅售價的平均每月升幅由二零一三年首兩個月的2.7%,顯著減慢至二零一三年三月至二零一四年三月期間的0.1%。租金的平均每月升幅亦由去年首兩個月的0.4%,下降至二零一三年三月至二零一四年三月期間的0.1%,對比二零一二年的全年平均每月上升1.9%明顯放緩。

  至於非住宅物業市場,寫字樓及分層工廠大廈售價的平均每月升幅,由二零一三年首兩個月的2.6%及4.1%,明顯減至二零一三年三月至二零一四年三月期間的平均每月0.3%及0.1%。而零售鋪位的售價,在二零一三年首兩個月平均每月上升1.9%,在二零一三年三月至二零一四年三月期間則幾無變動。同期,零售鋪位、寫字樓及分層工廠大廈租金的平均每月升幅持續放緩,以零售鋪位為例,升幅由0.7%下降至0.4%,對比二零一二年的全年平均每月上升1.0%尤為明顯。

  由此可見,政府先後推出的需求管理措施有效應對物業市場的過熱情況,符合我們的政策目標。雖然措施已初見成效,但在市場前景仍然存在不明朗,加上樓宇供應仍然偏緊的情況下,我們認為現時仍有必要維持措施。

  接,我會就《條例草案》,重點回應議員在過去會議所表達的主要關注,包括措施是否應適用於非住宅物業、換樓期限、對連同住宅物業一併購買的車位的處理,以及日落條款。

《條例草案》的涵蓋範圍

  根據《條例草案》的建議,雙倍從價印花稅將適用於所有住宅物業和非住宅物業交易。然而,為貫徹體現優先照顧香港永久性居民置居需要的政策方針,《條例草案》建議向香港永久性居民所購買的住宅物業提供豁免,條件是在購買有關住宅物業當日,該香港永久性居民並非香港任何其他住宅物業的實益擁有人。

  我知悉部分議員援引上述豁免,提出應為非住宅物業交易提供類似的豁免安排。但我想指出,基於兩者本質上的差異,實在不應相提並論,而關乎非住宅物業的考慮,亦不能與照顧香港永久性居民的置居需要同日而語。為確保措施的成效,防止熾熱的情況蔓延至非住宅物業市場,我們不擬對非住宅物業交易作出豁免。

調整方案

  至於住宅物業,在顧及措施的政策理念、立法原意和不影響措施效力的大前提下,經充分考慮議員及相關持份者提出的意見後,我們願意對建議措施作出以下兩方面的調整。

換樓安排

  首先,我們將建議放寬為「先買後賣」的換樓人士而設定的「六個月」換樓期限。具體而言,《條例草案》現時建議,購買新住宅物業的香港永久性居民,如在購入新置物業的六個月內簽立買賣協議以出售其在香港原有唯一的住宅物業,便可受惠於為「先買後賣」的換樓人士而設的退回稅款機制,即獲退回反映新舊稅率差額的從價印花稅稅款。我們在平衡照顧市民換樓實際所需和維護措施成效這兩方面的考慮之後,建議訂明將「六個月」的換樓期限由《條例草案》現時建議的購入新置物業的買賣協議的日期起計,延後至由購入新置物業的售賣轉易契的日期起計。我們相信,有關方案已能同時兼顧購買現樓及樓花的換樓人士的需要。退稅條件統一、清晰、公平,令市民易於掌握,並讓稅務局能有效執行。

  因應上述安排,我們亦建議就《條例草案》所訂明,換樓人士須在「兩年」內向稅務局提出退稅申請的指定期限作出一些微調。我們建議在維持現時以簽立購入新置物業的買賣協議的日期後兩年內提出申請的期限之餘,加入新的條款,容許以有關出售原有住宅物業的售賣轉易契的日期起計的兩個月內提出申請,兩者以較後者為準,此舉可讓換樓人士,包括購置樓花的人士,因應其實際情況在完成買賣交易後申請退稅。

購買住宅連車位的交易

  第二項調整方案,關乎對住宅物業連車位的豁免安排。根據《條例草案》以及印花稅署的現行做法,當代表自己行事且並沒擁有香港其他住宅物業的香港永久性居民以一份交易文書購入住宅物業和車位時,若該住宅物業和車位是分開和不同的物業,則有關交易中的住宅物業可獲豁免雙倍從價印花稅,而車位因屬非住宅物業不獲豁免。

  我們在平衡現行的物業印花稅制度、照顧市民置居需要和維護措施成效之後,考慮秉承現時為住宅物業提供豁免的精神,連帶照顧以一份文書購買住宅物業連車位的人士的需要,豁免當中車位的雙倍從價印花稅。但有關豁免必須從嚴制定,並具備以下條件:

(一)買家是代表自己行事的香港永久性居民,而在購買有關住宅物業和車位當日並非香港任何其他住宅物業和車位的實益擁有人;

(二)有關豁免以一個車位為限,不論買家購入該車位是否作自用或是否首次購入車位;及

(三)有關車位必須連同住宅物業以一份文書購入,不論該車位是否坐落於同一住宅物業發展之內。若一份文書涉及多於一個車位,即使連同住宅物業一併購入,當中的所有車位將不獲豁免。

  為落實上述兩項調整方案,政府稍後將提出委員會審議階段修正案。

  剛才陳述的兩項調整方案屬於技術性的調整方案,是為了照顧香港永久性居民的置居需要,亦緊扣我們一向的政策,以及維持政策的原意。作出這兩項調整並不代表政府在現行的需求管理措施上有任何鬆懈,我不希望市民或市場人士有一些揣測或懷疑政府在這方面的決心;我們有決心維持現行的政策、市場的穩定和市場健康的發展。

日落條款

  對於有議員建議在《條例草案》加入日落條款,政府不表贊同。正如政府早前多番指出,我們不可能隨意揣測市場往後的變化和各項外圍因素,從而預計需求管理措施於甚麼時候不再適用。因此,任何硬性的日落條款,只會發放錯誤的市場信息,刺激需求,影響措施的效力。

  然而,不設日落條款不等於對市況坐視不理。政府必定會繼續密切監察物業市場的情況及外圍環境因素的變化,採取適當的措施,包括適時調整措施的力度,以確保樓市健康平穩發展。為此,我承諾政府會在立法會通過條例之後一年內進行檢討,並向立法會作出匯報。

總結

  主席,我先發言至此,我和同事樂意聆聽議員的意見以及回應議員的提問。謝謝。

2014年5月13日(星期二)
香港時間17時59分