Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Hong Kong, South Africa enter into tax pact

*******************************************

    Hong Kong and South Africa have signed an agreement for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income, a spokesman for the government announced today (October 17).

    This is the 31st comprehensive agreement for the avoidance of double taxation (CDTA) that Hong Kong has concluded.

    Welcoming the agreement, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, said that it sets out clearly the allocation of taxing rights between the two jurisdictions and thus will help investors better assess their potential tax liabilities from cross-border economic activities.

    The agreement will bolster the economic and trade connections between the two places, and offer added incentives for companies in South Africa to do business or invest in Hong Kong, and vice versa, he added.

    In the absence of a CDTA, income earned by South African residents in Hong Kong is subject to both Hong Kong and South African tax. Under the agreement, tax paid in Hong Kong will be allowed as a deduction against tax payable in South Africa in respect of the income.  Furthermore, in the absence of a CDTA, the profits of Hong Kong companies doing business through a permanent establishment in South Africa may be taxed in both places if the income is Hong Kong sourced. Under the agreement, double taxation will be avoided in that any South African tax paid by the companies will be allowed as a credit against the tax payable in Hong Kong in respect of the income, subject to the provisions of the tax laws of Hong Kong.

    Under the agreement, South Africa's withholding tax on royalties, currently at 15 per cent, will be capped at 5 per cent. South Africa's dividend withholding tax on Hong Kong residents will be reduced from the current rate of 15 per cent to 10 per cent or 5 per cent, depending on the percentage of their shareholdings. South Africa's interest withholding tax on Hong Kong residents will be capped at 10 per cent.  

    Under the CDTA, Hong Kong airlines operating flights to South Africa will be taxed at Hong Kong’s corporation tax rate (which is in general lower than that of South Africa), and will not be taxed in South Africa. Profits from international shipping transport earned by Hong Kong residents that arise in South Africa, which are currently subject to tax there, will not be taxed in South Africa under the agreement.

    The Hong Kong/South Africa CDTA has incorporated an article on exchange of information.

    The CDTA will come into force after the completion of ratification procedures on both sides. In the case of Hong Kong, an order is required to be made by the Chief Executive in Council under the Inland Revenue Ordinance.  The order is subject to negative vetting by the Legislative Council.

    Hong Kong will continue its efforts to expand its network of CDTAs with trading and investment partners.

    Details of the Hong Kong/South Africa CDTA can be found on the Inland Revenue Department's website (www.ird.gov.hk/eng/pdf/Agreement_South_Africa_HongKong.pdf).

Ends/Friday, October 17, 2014
Issued at HKT 15:04

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處) 

香港與南非簽訂稅務協定

***********

  政府發言人今日(十月十七日)宣布,香港已與南非就收入稅項避免雙重課稅及防止逃稅簽署協定。

  該協定是香港簽訂的第三十一份全面性避免雙重課稅協定(全面性協定)。

  財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強歡迎該全面性協定,並表示協定闡明協定雙方的徵稅權,有助投資者更有效地評估其跨境經濟活動的潛在稅務負擔。

  他續說,全面性協定有助推動兩地的經濟貿易連繫,並進一步鼓勵南非和香港公司在彼此地方營商投資。

  在沒有該協定的情況下,南非居民在香港所賺取的收入會同時被香港和南非徵收稅款。在該協定下,在香港所繳的稅款,可以從南非就該收入而徵收的稅款中獲扣減。此外,在沒有該協定的情況下,香港的公司從南非設立的常設機構所得的利潤,如果源自香港,可能須在兩地課稅。在該協定下,這些公司在南非所繳納的稅款,將可以根據香港的稅務法例從香港所徵收的相關稅項中抵免,從而避免雙重課稅。

  在該協定下,南非向香港居民徵收的特許權使用費的預扣稅稅率會由現時的15%降至以5%為上限。香港居民從南非收取的股息收入的預扣稅稅率亦會由現時的15%降至10%或5%(視乎其控股的百分比而定)。香港居民從南非賺取的利息收入的預扣稅稅率則會以10%為上限。

  在該協定下,香港的航空公司經營往來南非的航線,只須就有關利潤按香港稅率(基本上較南非的稅率為低)繳納香港利得稅,而無須在南非課稅。現時香港居民從南非就國際航運賺取的利潤,須在該國課稅。在該協定下,南非將豁免香港居民該等航運收入的稅項。

  香港與南非的全面性協定包含了資料交換條文。

  該全面性協定將待雙方完成有關的批准程序後開始生效。就香港而言,行政長官會同行政會議須根據《稅務條例》就協定作出一項命令,該項命令須經立法會審議通過。

  香港將繼續致力擴展與貿易及投資夥伴的全面性協定網絡。

  有關香港與南非的全面性協定(只有英文版)的詳情載於稅務局網頁(www.ird.gov.hk/eng/pdf/Agreement_South_Africa_HongKong.pdf)。

2014年10月17日(星期五)
香港時間15時04分