Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Inland Revenue (Amendment) Bill 2015 gazetted

*********************************************************

     The Government published in the Gazette today (March 20) the Inland Revenue (Amendment) Bill 2015 (the Bill). The Bill seeks to amend the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112) by extending profits tax exemption for offshore funds to private equity funds.

    The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, said, "The Bill provides clear tax exemption for transactions conducted by offshore private equity funds in respect of eligible overseas portfolio companies. This will help attract more private equity fund managers to set up or expand their business in Hong Kong and hire local asset management, investment and advisory services, which will be conducive to the further development of our asset management industry. This will in turn drive demand for other relevant professional services, such as business consulting, tax, accounting and legal services."

    The asset and wealth management business is a fast-growing area within the financial services industry. At the end of 2013, the combined fund management business in Hong Kong had achieved a record high of $16,007 billion, representing year-on-year growth of 27 per cent compared with 2012.  This puts Hong Kong among the top asset management hubs in Asia.  The private equity industry in Hong Kong is also growing. The total capital under management in private equity funds in Hong Kong reached US$114.6 billion at end-2014, a year-on-year increase of 16 per cent and accounting for 21 per cent of Asia's total capital under management in private equity.

    The Bill will be introduced into the Legislative Council on March 25.

Ends/Friday, March 20, 2015
Issued at HKT 10:01

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處) 

2015年稅務(修訂)條例草案》刊憲

*******************

  政府今日(三月二十日)在憲報刊登《2015年稅務(修訂)條例草案》 (《條例草案》),以修訂《稅務條例》(第112章),把適用於離岸基金的利得稅豁免延伸至私募基金。

  財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強說:「《條例草案》釐清了離岸私募基金買賣合資格海外項目公司的交易所涉及的稅項豁免。我們希望透過這措施吸引更多私募基金管理公司在香港開設或拓展業務,並聘用本地的資產管理、投資及顧問服務。這既可促進本港資產管理業進一步發展,亦可帶動對其他相關專業服務(例如業務顧問、稅務、會計和法律服務)的需求。」

  在金融服務業中,資產及財富管理業務是其中發展最迅速的行業。截至二零一三年年底,香港的基金管理業務合計資產錄得160,070億港元的歷史新高,與二零一二年相比,按年增長27%,令香港躋身成為亞洲最具規模的資產管理樞紐之一。私募基金業務在香港也不斷增長。截至二零一四年年底,香港私募基金管理的資本總值高達1,146億美元,按年增幅為16%,佔亞洲私募基金管理的資本總值的21%。

  《條例草案》將於三月二十五日提交立法會。

2015年3月20日(星期五)
香港時間10時00分