Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Press Release > News Archives > PRESS RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Mainland and HKSAR sign Fourth Protocol to Arrangement for Avoidance of Double Taxation (with photos)

**********************************************************

     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, signed the Fourth Protocol to the Arrangement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income with the Mainland (the Fourth Protocol) with the Deputy Commissioner of the State Administration of Taxation, Mr Zhang Zhiyong, in Hong Kong today (April 1).

    Professor Chan said, "We are very pleased to sign the Fourth Protocol with the Mainland to facilitate clear implementation of the relevant arrangement. The Fourth Protocol clarifies the conditions under which an investment fund would be qualified for Hong Kong resident status, thus giving certainty to investment funds' application of the tax avoidance arrangements. This will be conducive to the actively promoted asset management businesses in Hong Kong, and will in turn help strengthen Hong Kong's status as an international financial centre."

    Regarding the gains derived from the sale and purchase of shares in listed companies, both sides agreed to add a new provision to clearly set out the tax liabilities of residents of both sides on the other side. According to the provision in the Fourth Protocol, the gains derived by a Hong Kong resident from the sales and purchase of shares in a Mainland listed company shall be taxable only in Hong Kong. This is also applicable to the gains derived by a Hong Kong resident from the sale and purchase, under the Shanghai-Hong Kong Stock Connect, of A shares listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange. Meanwhile, the provision also states that the arrangement of such a tax liability will be applicable to those investment funds complying with the requirements as set out in the provision.

    The Fourth Protocol also amends the tax liability of aircraft and ship leasing business receiving royalties. The Mainland withholding tax on royalties paid to aircraft and ship leasing business, currently at seven per cent, will be capped at five per cent.  

     Professor Chan added, "This will be conducive to the promotion of aerospace financing business in Hong Kong, and we will continue to explore other measures."

    Furthermore, the Fourth Protocol also expands the coverage of tax types under the exchange of information arrangement of the avoidance of double taxation arrangement, so as to fulfil Hong Kong’s international obligation to meet global standards for enhancing tax transparency.  

    The Fourth Protocol will come into force after the completion of ratification procedures and notification by both sides. In the case of Hong Kong, an order is required to be made by the Chief Executive in Council under the Inland Revenue Ordinance. The order is subject to negative vetting by the Legislative Council.

    Details of the Fourth Protocol (only Chinese version) can be found on the Inland Revenue Department website at (www.ird.gov.hk/chi/pdf/Protocol_Mainland_HongKong.pdf).

    The Arrangement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income between the Mainland and Hong Kong (including the protocol) (the Arrangement) was formally signed on August 21, 2006. The Arrangement entered into force on December 8, 2006. The Mainland and Hong Kong also signed the Second Protocol and the Third Protocol to the Arrangement on January 30, 2008 and on May 27, 2010 respectively, so as to clarify the details of the implementation of the Arrangement.

Ends/Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Issued at HKT 15:50

NNNN

             

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處)

內地與香港特區就對所得避免雙重徵稅安排簽訂第四議定書(附圖)

******************************

  財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強今日(四月一日)在香港與國家稅務總局副局長張志勇簽訂《內地和香港特別行政區關於對所得避免雙重徵稅和防止偷漏稅的安排》第四議定書(《第四議定書》)。

  陳家強說:「我們十分高興與內地簽訂《第四議定書》,讓執行有關安排更為清晰。《第四議定書》闡明了投資基金取得香港居民資格的條件,對投資基金應用避免雙重徵稅安排給予了明確性,這對我們積極推動資產管理業務有重大幫助,可加強香港作為國際金融中心的地位。」

  關於買賣上市公司股票取得的收益,雙方同意加入新條款,清楚闡明兩地居民在另一方的稅負。根據《第四議定書》的條文,香港居民就買賣內地上市公司股票取得收益,應僅在香港一方徵稅,這亦適用於香港居民通過滬港通買賣上海證券交易所上市A股取得的收益。同時,該條文訂明這方面徵稅權的安排適用於符合有關條文訂明條件的投資基金。

  《第四議定書》亦修訂了有關飛機和船舶租賃業務支付的特許權使用費的稅負。內地向香港居民就收取飛機和船舶租賃業務特許權使用費徵收的預扣稅稅率,會由現時的百分之七降低至百分之五。

  陳家強說:「這有助我們推動航空融資業務,我們亦會繼續研究其他措施。」

  此外,《第四議定書》亦擴闊有關避免雙重徵稅安排的資料交換安排下所涵蓋的稅項種類範圍,以履行香港的國際責任,符合提升稅務透明度的國際標準。

  《第四議定書》簽訂後會待雙方完成有關立法程序及經通知後才生效。就香港而言,行政長官會同行政會議須根據《稅務條例》就《第四議定書》作出一項命令,該項命令須經立法會審議通過。

  有關《第四議定書》的詳情載於稅務局網頁(www.ird.gov.hk/chi/pdf/Protocol_Mainland_HongKong.pdf)。

  內地和香港於二零零六年八月二十一日簽訂的《內地和香港特別行政區關於對所得避免雙重徵稅和防止偷漏稅的安排(含議定書)》(《安排》)自二零零六年十二月八日起生效。內地和香港亦分別於二零零八年一月三十日及二零一零年五月二十七日簽訂有關《安排》的第二議定書和第三議定書,以釐清落實執行有關《安排》的細節。

2015年4月1日(星期三)
香港時間15時50分

圖:財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強右和張志勇在簽署第四議定書 圖:財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強右和張志勇在簽署第四議定書後交換文件