Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 3) Bill 2015 gazetted

*****************************************************************

     The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 3) Bill 2015 was gazetted today (June 12).

    "The Bill seeks to amend the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112) to enhance the tax appeal mechanism and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the Board of Review (Inland Revenue Ordinance)," a Government spokesman said.

    The Board is an independent statutory body constituted under the Inland Revenue Ordinance to hear and determine appeals lodged by taxpayers. Proposals in the Bill cover the following four aspects:

(a) allowing an appeal against the decision of the Board on a question of law to go direct to the Court of First Instance or, if applicable, the Court of Appeal. This abolishes the present case stated procedure under the Board, which is not only time-consuming and costly, but also affects the capacity of the Board to hear other appeals;

(b) empowering the person presiding at the hearing of an appeal before the Board to give directions on the provision of documents and information for the hearing. This is to address the situation of late submissions from time to time, which has affected the proceedings of the Board and may also lead to rescheduling of hearings;

(c) providing privileges and immunities to the Chairman, Deputy Chairmen and other members of the Board, and the parties to a hearing as well as other persons appearing before the Board. This is in line with the arrangement of other statutory appeal boards; and

(d) raising the ceiling of costs to be paid by the appellant as may be ordered by the Board from $5,000 to $25,000, to strengthen the deterrent effect against frivolous appeals. The current ceiling has not been adjusted since 1993.

    The Bill will be introduced into the Legislative Council on June 24.

Ends/Friday, June 12, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:05

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處) 

《2015年稅務(修訂)(第3號)條例草案》刊憲

**********************

  《2015年稅務(修訂)(第3號)條例草案》(條例草案)今日(六月十二日)刊憲。

  政府發言人表示:「條例草案旨在修訂《稅務條例》(第112章),以優化現行的稅務上訴機制,並提升稅務上訴委員會的效率和效益。」

  稅務上訴委員會(委員會)是根據《稅務條例》規定組成的法定組織,負責審理和裁定納稅人所提出的稅務上訴。條例草案提出的修訂建議,涵蓋以下四個範疇:

(一)透過取消現行委員會下的呈述案件程序,容許針對委員會所作的決定而就法律問題直接向原訟法庭或上訟法庭(如適用)提出上訴。目前的呈述案件程序,過程耗時及成本高昂,亦影響委員會審理其他上訴個案的能力;

(二)賦權主持委員會上訴聆訊的人士就提供聆訊所需文件及資料發出指示。有關建議是對應逾時呈交聆訊所需的文件及資料等情況時有出現,導致聆訊延期或不必要地延長聆訊時間;

(三)賦予委員會主席、副主席和其他成員、上訴各方及其他出席聆訊的人士特權和豁免權。有關建議參照其他法定上訴委員會的做法;及

(四)增加委員會可命令上訴人繳付訟費的上限,由5,000 元提高至25,000元,以加強對瑣屑無聊上訴的阻嚇力。現行的訟費上限自一九九三年以來一直未有調整。

  條例草案將於六月二十四日提交立法會審議。

2015年6月12日(星期五)
香港時間11時04分