Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Prosecution Cases > Press Content

Press Content

Taxpayer fined for making incorrect tax return

****************************************************

A taxpayer pleaded guilty in the Western Magistracy today (May 9) of making incorrect statements in his Tax Return-Individuals without reasonable excuse, contrary to section 80(2)(b) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

The defendant was charged with making incorrect claims for Dependent Parent Allowance in his tax returns for the years of assessment 1997/98 and 1998/99.

Despite the death of his father in June 1996, the defendant still declared to have maintained and lived with his father for the full year on his tax returns and claimed for the Dependent Parent Allowance for the aforesaid years of assessment in respect of his deceased father.

The defendant was fined a total of $19,000.

A spokesman for the Inland Revenue Department said under the Inland Revenue Ordinance, heavy penalties may be incurred for making an incorrect return. The offender is liable to a maximum fine of $50,000 plus a further fine of three times the amount of tax undercharged and imprisonment for three years.

This year Tax Return-Individuals 1999/2000 was issued to taxpayers on May 2, 2000. "All taxpayers are required to submit a true and correct tax return within one month, or within three months for sole-proprietorship owners, from date of issue of the return," he added.

End/Tuesday, May 9, 2000

NNNN

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主頁 > 刊物及新聞公報 > 檢控個案 > 新聞內容

新聞內容

納稅人因在報稅表上填報不確而被罰款

*****************

    一名納稅人因沒有合理辯解,在個別人士報稅表作出不正確的陳述,違犯《稅務條例》第 80(2)(b)條的規定,今日(五月九日)在西區裁判署承認控罪,被判罰款共 19,000 元。

    被告被控於 1997/98 及 1998/99 課稅年度報稅表中申報不正確的資料,以申索供養父母免稅額。

    雖然被告的父親已於 1996 年 6 月去世,但他仍於上述課稅年度報稅表中申報供養他父親及全年與他同住,並申索供養父母免稅額。

    稅務局發言人說根據《稅務條例》的規定,填報不確報稅表,可招致重罰。違規者最高可被判監禁三年及就每項控罪被判罰款 50,000 元,另加一筆相等於少徵收稅款三倍的罰款。

    今年度 1999 至 2000 課稅年度的個別人士報稅表已於 5 月 2 日發出。發言人補充:「納稅人需要在一個月內(若為獨資業務東主,則為三個月)提交報稅表給稅務局。納稅人在填寫報稅表時,必須呈報正確和真實的資料。」

二 0 0 0 年五月九日(星期二)

 

返回頁首