Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Press Content

Taxpayer fined for filing incorrect Tax Return

*************************************************

The Inland Revenue Department (IRD) today (December 18) reminded taxpayers that making an incorrect statement in connection with a claim for any deduction or allowances under the Inland Revenue Ordinance is an offence.

A spokesman for the IRD said that the offender is liable to a maximum fine of $10,000 plus a further fine of treble the amount of tax which has been undercharged in connection with such incorrect statement.

A taxpayer was recently fined for filing incorrect Tax Return for the year of assessment 1999/2000 in making incorrect statements in connection with the claim of dependent parent allowance and disabled dependant allowance.

The defendant pleaded guilty to the charge in Kwun Tong Magistracy on December 12 and was fined $3,000 plus a further fine of $50,472 (equivalent to treble the amount of tax undercharged), which totalled $53,472.

The defendant claimed dependent parent allowance and disabled dependant allowance in the Tax Return-Individuals filed for the year of assessment 1999/2000. She declared that in that year of assessment, she had contributed $12,000 towards the maintenance of each dependant. In fact, the two dependants had received Comprehensive Social Security Assistance from the Social Welfare Department and their maintenance fees were fully covered by the assistance.

"If the taxpayer's claim of allowances had been accepted, the amount of Salaries Tax, which had been undercharged, would have been $16,824," the spokesman said.

 

End/Tuesday, December 18, 2001

NNNN

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主頁 > 刊物及新聞公報 > 檢控個案 > 新聞內容

新聞內容

納稅人因不正確填報稅表被罰

****************

    稅務局今日(十二月十八日)提醒納稅人,根據《稅務條例》規定申索任何扣除或免稅額時,作出不正確的陳述,即屬犯罪,可被罰款最高 10,000元,另加相等於少徵收的稅款三倍的罰款。

   一名納稅人日前便因在填報 1999/2000 課稅年度的個別人士報稅表時,不正確地申索供養父母免稅額及傷殘受養人免稅額,被法庭罰款。

   被告在十二月十二日在觀塘裁判法院承認有關控罪,被罰款 3,000 元和 50,472 元(相等於少徵收稅款的 3 倍),即共 53,472 元。

   被告在 1999/2000 課稅年度的個別人士報稅表內,申索供養父母免稅額及傷殘受養人免稅額。她聲稱她在該年度給予每名受養人 12,000 元或以上作為他們的生活費。其實該兩名受養人均是從社會福利署收取綜合社會保障援助,而他們的生活費全部由該援助金支付。

   發言人說:「納稅人申索的免稅額如被接納,少收的薪俸稅稅款為 16,824元。」

二○○一年十二月十八日(星期二)

 

 

返回頁首