Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Press Content

Taxpayer fined for filing incorrect Tax Returns

**************************************************

A taxpayer was fined a total of $30,400 after pleading guilty to the charges of making incorrect Tax Returns at the Eastern Magistracy today (August 2).

The defendant was charged of filing incorrect Tax Returns for the years of assessment 1998/1999 and 1999/2000 in making incorrect statements in connection with the claim for elderly residential care expenses, contrary to section 80(2)(b) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO).

He declared that in each of these two years of assessment, he had paid residential care expenses of $74,400 to a residential care home for maintaining a dependant. The Inland Revenue Department(IRD) later found that the monthly charges for the residential care home were fully reimbursed by way of the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance from the Social Welfare Department.

A spokesman for the IRD reminded members of the public that making an incorrect statement in connection with a claim for any deduction or allowance under the IRO is an offence. An offender is liable to a maximum fine of $10,000 plus a further fine of treble the amount of tax undercharged.

End/Friday, August 2, 2002

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞內容

納稅人填報不正確報稅表被判罰款


**********************
 

    一名納稅人今日(八月二日)在東區裁判法院承認填報不正確報稅表,被判罰款共 30,400 元。  

    被告被控在填報 1998/1999 及 1999/2000 課稅年度的個別人士報稅表時,不正確地申索長者住宿照顧開支,觸犯《稅務條例》第 80(2)(b)條。

    被告聲稱在該兩年度每年均為其一名受養人支付 74,400 元的長者住宿照顧開支給安老院。稅務局其後發現該名受養人每月入住安老院的費用均可從社會福利署的綜合社會保障援助而全數獲得補貼。

    稅務局發言人提醒納稅人,根據《稅務條例》規定,申索任何扣除或免稅額時,若作出不正確的陳述,即屬違法,可被罰款最高 10,000 元,另加相等於少徵收的稅款三倍的罰款。



二○○二年八月二日(星期五)