Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Prosecution Cases > Press Content

Press Content

Company director gets two years' jail for tax evasion

************************************************************

A company director convicted in the District Court of evading profits tax was today (July 3) jailed for two years, the longest jail term imposed in a tax evasion case.

The sentence prompted a warning from Acting Commissioner of Inland Revenue, Mr Tam Kuen Chong, who said tax evasion was a criminal offence under the Inland Revenue Ordinance and the Inland Revenue Department would carry out prompt investigation and institute prosecution action as appropriate.

Upon conviction, the maximum penalty for each charge is three years' imprisonment and a fine of $50,000 plus a further fine of three times the amount of tax evaded.

The defendant, aged 46, pleaded guilty to eight counts of wilfully and intentionally assisting another person to evade profits tax. The charges comprised four counts of omitting proceeds of sales from the profits tax returns of a company for the years of assessment 1997-98 to 2000-2001, contrary to section 82(1)(a) of the ordinance and four counts of making use of fraud, art or contrivance, to falsely state in the accounts of the company payments made to suppliers and sub-contractors for the years of assessment 1997-98 to 2000-2001, thereby reducing its assessable profits for the relevant years, contrary to section 82(1)(g) of the ordinance.

The defendant was the shareholder and director of a computer label company which engaged in the manufacturing and trading of woven labels. An investigation by the department revealed that the company issued two types of sales invoices. One type was computer-generated and issued in the company’s name and the second was handwritten and issued in name of a sole-proprietary business formerly operated by the defendant. The sole-proprietary business had ceased operation early in 1994.

For the relevant years the company omitted from its profits tax returns proceeds of sales in respect of all those handwritten invoices. The total amount of sales omitted was $3,171,040.

The court was told that the defendant also used false invoices to claim purchases and other expenses in the company’s accounts, thereby reducing its assessable profits. The total amount of expenses falsely claimed for the relevant years was $2,782,580.

The total amount of profits understated was $5,953,620 and the resultant total tax evaded was $961,978 for the relevant years of assessment.

Ends/Tuesday, July 3, 2007

NNNN

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞內容

公司董事逃稅罪成被判即時入獄兩年

****************

    一名公司董事今日(七月三日) 在區域法院被裁定逃繳利得稅罪名成立,被判即時入獄二十四個月,是歷來被判刑期最長的逃稅個案。

    署理稅務局局長譚權壯提醒市民,《稅務條例》訂明逃稅是刑事罪行。稅務局會即時採取調查及檢控行動。

    一經定罪,每項控罪最高刑罰為入獄三年和罰款五萬元,另加一筆相等於少徵收稅款三倍的罰款。

    被告,四十六歲,承認八項蓄意意圖協助他人逃繳利得稅罪行,即四項在 1997/98 至 2000/2001 課稅年度中,在一間公司的利得稅報稅表內漏報銷售收入,觸犯《稅務條例》第 82 條第(1)(a)款;以及四項使用欺騙手段、詭計或手段,在該公司的 1997/98 至 2000/01 課稅年度賬目中訛稱向供應商及分包商付款,從而減低該公司的應評稅利潤,觸犯《稅務條例》第 82 條第(1)(g)款。

    被告為一間電腦商標有限公司的董事兼股東,該公司經營織嘜生意。稅務局經調查後,揭發該公司就銷貨共發出兩類銷貨單,一類為用電腦印製、以公司名稱發出的銷貨單;另一類為用人手製備、以被告早年曾經獨資經營的另一公司名稱發出的銷貨單,但該獨資公司早於 1994 年已結業。

    該公司在有關年度利得稅報稅表內,漏報所有以人手製備銷貨單的銷貨收入,涉及的漏報銷貨數額為 3,171,040 元。

    被告亦透過使用一些虛假的發票在賬目中申索購貨等支出,從而減低該公司有關課稅年度的應評稅利潤,涉及虛假支出數額 2,782,580 元。

    法庭獲悉,被告在有關課稅年度內所短報的利潤合共 5,953,620 元,其涉及的少徵收稅款總額為 961,978 元。

2007 年 7 月 3 日(星期二)