Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Individuals/Businesses > Tax Treatment for Defined Benefit Retirement Schemes

Tax Treatment for Defined Benefit Retirement Schemes

The Department issued Departmental Interpretation and Practice Notes No. 23 [DIPN 23] in September 2006. The tax treatment for the components of Net Total recognized in the accounts of an entity participating in a defined benefit retirement scheme as required by Hong Kong Accounting Standard 19 [HKAS 19] and the actual contributions paid to such a scheme was explained in paragraphs 49 to 52 therein. In sum, the Net Total charged as an expense to the accounts would be allowed for deduction subject to a restriction of 15% of the employees' total emolument for the period covered, or would be taken as assessable profits if it was a credit; and the actual contributions paid would not be allowed for deduction.

Following a recent review on this matter, and with the benefit of a legal opinion, it has been concluded that the Net Total is not a provision for payment of contributions to the scheme and is prohibited from deduction under section 17(1)(j) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance. As a result, the Department will adopt the following assessing practice from now on:

(a)   Any component forming part of the Net Total recognized in the profit and loss account or statement of comprehensive income is not deductible or assessable;
(b)   the ordinary annual contributions paid are allowable under section 16(1) subject to the 15% limitation prescribed in section 17(1)(h); and
(c)   the special contributions paid are deductible in accordance with section 16A at the rate of 20% in each of the years starting from the year of payment.

Notwithstanding this revised assessing practice, all assessments made according to the old practice announced in paragraphs 49 to 52 of DIPN 23 cannot be reopened if they have become final and conclusive. If any entity feels aggrieved by the change of the assessing practice, they can write to the Assessor quoting their file reference and provide a computation to show the overall difference in the amounts of assessable profits computed under the two assessing methods. The Assessor will consider deducting the difference from the assessable profits for 2010/11.

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

對界定利益退休計劃的稅務處理

稅務局於 2006 年 9 月發出稅務條例釋義及執行指引第 23 號 [ 指引第 23 號 ],在其中第 49 至 52 段,就實體參與界定利益退休計劃,而須根據會計準則第 19 號於其帳目內確認的「總淨額」,以及就該類計劃實際支付的供款,闡釋了所採用的稅務處理方法。概括而言,於帳目內作為開支的「總淨額」可獲扣除,但數額不得超過僱員於有關期內總薪酬的 15% ;進帳項目則計入應評稅利潤;而實際支付的供款不會獲扣除。

最近稅務局對此評稅方法進行檢討並聽取法律意見,結論是「總淨額」不是為支付有關計劃的供款所作的準備,稅務條例第 17(1)(j)條並不容許扣除此項目。故此,稅務局由現在起會使用以下的評稅方法:


(a) 在損益帳或綜合收益表內確認的「總淨額」之任何組成項目不予扣除,亦無須課稅;
(b) 一般每年供款可根據第 16(1) 條予以扣除,但須以第 17(1)(h)條所規定的 15% 為限;
(c) 特別供款可根據第 16A 條,由支付年度起計的五年內每年扣除百分之二十。

然而,已根據指引第 23 號第 49 至 52 段所述方法評定的最終及決定性評稅,不會因此修訂評稅方法作出更改。如任何實體因此感到受屈,可致函評稅主任,敘明有關檔案號碼,列出以新舊兩種評稅方法計算的應評稅利潤的整體差額。評稅主任會考慮從 2010/11 課稅年度的應評稅利潤中扣除有關差額。