Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Budget 2017-18 FAQ

Budget 2017-18 FAQ

1.

Q:

What tax measures are proposed in the 2017-18 Budget for individual taxpayers

  

A:

Individual taxpayers get a one-off reduction of 75% of the final tax for the year of assessment 2016/17 in respect of profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Furthermore, the following tax measures, are introduced from the year of assessment 2017/18 onwards:

(a)  Increasing the width of marginal tax bands as follows:

 Year of Assessment2016/17From 2017/18 onwards#
  Net Chargeable Income
(Tax band)
$
Rate Net Chargeable Income
(Tax band)
$
Rate
On the first  40,000  2%  45,000  2%
On the next  40,000  7%  45,000  7%
On the next  40,000 12%  45,000 12%
  120,000   135,000  
Remainder   17%   17%

 

(b)  Increasing the following allowance as follows:

 Year of Assessment2016/17

$
From 2017/18
onwards#
$
 Disabled Dependant Allowance 66,000 75,000
 Dependent Brother or Dependent Sister Allowance 33,000 37,500

 

(c)  Raising the maximum allowable deduction for Self-education Expenses as follows:

 Year of Assessment2016/17

 $
From 2017/18
onwards#
$
 Self-education Expenses 80,000 100,000

 

(d)  Extending the entitlement period for Home Loan Interest deduction as follows:

 Year of Assessment2016/17
 
From 2017/18
onwards#
 The number of years of deduction for Home Loan Interest 15 years of assessment 20 years of assessment

 #Until superseded

  back to top


2.

Q:

Do I need to apply for the tax reduction and the new level allowances?

  

A:

You only need to file, as usual, your 2016/17 tax return for individuals (BIR60). IRD will effect the tax reduction in the final assessment for 2016/17 and apply the new level of allowances and the new marginal tax bands in calculating the 2017/18 provisional tax. For 2016/17 assessments issued before the legislative amendment, IRD will revise them. It is expected that the excess tax paid, if any, will be refunded to taxpayers starting from late July 2017. There is no need for you to make a separate application.

  back to top


3.

Q:

Can I withhold payment of the 2016/17 provisional tax because of the tax reduction?

  

A:

You are required to pay on time the 2016/17 provisional tax. Otherwise, recovery action will be taken by IRD. Similar to previous occasions, the tax reduction is to reduce the 2016/17 final tax that will be charged and not relating to the 2016/17 provisional tax that has already been charged. Therefore, you are still required to pay the 2016/17 provisional tax as charged.

  back to top


4.

Q:

Will the Inland Revenue Department refund the 2016/17 provisional tax already paid by me?

  

A:

As the tax reduction is to reduce the 2016/17 final tax that will be charged, the reduction will only be reflected in the notices of salaries tax assessment, profits tax assessment and personal assessment for 2016/17. The tax reduction is not applicable to the 2016/17 provisional tax. The provisional tax paid will be applied to pay the 2016/17 final tax and 2017/18 provisional tax. Excess balance, if any, will be refunded.

  back to top


5.

Q:

How to compute the tax reduction?

  

A:

You may use the tax computation program provided by GovHK to calculate your 2016/17 and 2017/18 salaries tax and tax under personal assessment.

 

  back to top


6.

Q:

I have to pay salaries tax and profits tax for the year of assessment 2016/17 and I have elected for personal assessment for the year. How the tax reduction should be computed?

  

A:

Under personal assessment, all income of an individual taxpayer, including salaries income and business profits, will be aggregated to compute the tax payable. Hence, the amount of tax reduction for the year of assessment 2016/17 is 75% of the tax assessed under personal assessment (subject to a ceiling of $20,000) and not the tax payable under salaries tax and profits tax.

  back to top


7.

Q:

A husband and a wife, each with employment income and liable to salaries tax, are separately assessed to tax and they can enjoy a maximum tax reduction of $40,000 in total. However, when the husband and the wife are assessed under personal assessment, they can only get a reduction of $20,000. Is it unfair to a couple electing for personal assessment?

  

A:

Profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment for the year of assessment 2016/17 are reduced by 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Under salaries tax, a husband and a wife are separately assessed. Each of them will get a tax reduction of 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000. However, under personal assessment, there is no separate taxation and only one assessment will be issued. Therefore, the tax reduction for the couple is 75%, capped at $20,000. Whether a taxpayer should apply for personal assessment will depend on his situation. When considering an election for personal assessment for the year of assessment 2016/17, taxpayers should take into account the factor that the tax reduction for each couple will be capped at $20,000. IRD will check each personal assessment election to see if it will reduce the amount of tax payable, and assess each taxpayer in the way most advantageous to him.

  back to top


8.

Q:

I have two businesses in the year of assessment 2016/17, can I get a tax reduction in respect of each business?

  

A:

For each business, you can get the tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2016/17, subject to a ceiling of $20,000.

  back to top


9.

Q:

I paid Self-education Expenses of $110,000 in 2016/17, which exceeded the specified maximum of $80,000 for 2016/17. What amount should I write down in the 2016/17 tax return for individuals (BIR60) for claiming the Self-education Expenses deduction?

  

A:

You should state the actual amount of $110,000 paid in Part 4.3 of your 2016/17 tax return for individuals (BIR 60). The Assessor will allow the respective maximum deductions at $80,000 and $100,000 when computing your 2016/17 final salaries tax and 2017/18 provisional salaries tax liabilities.

  back to top


10.

Q:

After I had filed my 2016/17 tax return for individuals (BIR 60), the educational institute, to which I had paid for the first half year, informed me that the course fee payable in 2017/18 will be increased from $79,000 to $100,500. What should I do if I want to claim the increased deduction?

  

A:

If the amount of Self-education Expenses paid or payable for 2017/18 exceeds $80,000, you may apply in writing for holding over the 2017/18 provisional salaries tax upon receiving the assessment and notice for payment of provisional salaries tax. The application must be lodged not later than:  

(a) 28 days before the due date for payment of the provisional tax, or
(b) 14 days after the date of issue of the notice for payment of the provisional tax,
whichever is the later. 

 

In computing the provisional salaries tax payable for 2017/18, the Assessor will not deduct $100,500 as the amount of Self-education Expenses but will restrict the deduction to $100,000.

  back to top


11.

Q:

I had claimed Home Loan Interest deduction for my self-owned residence and fully utilised the 15-year deduction limit in 2016/17, yet I did not claim any deduction for interest paid in 2011/12. The mortgage loan was fully repaid on 15 December 2016. Since the deduction of Home Loan Interest is extended from 15 years to 20 years from 2017/18, can I claim the mortgage interest which was paid in 2011/12 in my 2017/18 tax return or seek to revise the 2011/12 assessment to claim such interest?

  

A:

You cannot claim deduction for the interest paid in 2011/12 in the year of assessment 2017/18 since the extension of the deduction period from 15 to 20 years of assessment has no retrospective effect and deduction has been claimed for a total of 10 years of assessment prior to 2012/13. Similarly, your 2011/12 assessment cannot be revised to give effect to interest deduction.

 

  back to top


12.

Q:

Since the deduction period for claiming Home Loan Interest is extended from 15 to 20 years of assessment from 2017/18, do I need to claim the deduction consecutively?

  

A:

You need not claim the deduction consecutively. After granting each deduction of Home Loan Interest to you, the Commissioner will notify you of the number of years for which the deductions have been allowed and the remaining number of years for claiming deductions.

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主页 > 常见问题  > 2017-18年度财政预算案

2017-18年度财政预算案

1.

问:

2017-18年度财政预算案对个别人士建议了哪些税务措施?

  

答:

个别人士可获宽减2017/18课税年度百分之七十五的利得税、薪俸税或个人入息课税最后评税税款,以20,000元为上限。此外,从2017/18课税年度起推出以下税务措施:

(1) 扩阔边际税阶幅度:

 课税年度2016/172017/18及其后#
  应课税入息实额
(税阶)
$
税率 应课税入息实额
(税阶)
$
税率
最初的  40,000  2%  45,000  2%
其次的  40,000  7%  45,000  7%
其次的  40,000 12%  45,000 12%
  120,000   135,000  
余额   17%   17%

 

(2) 增加以下的免税额:

 课税年度2016/17
$
2017/18及其后#
$
 伤残受养人免税额 66,000 75,000
 供养兄弟姊妹免税额 33,000 37,500

 

(3) 提高个人进修开支的可扣除上限:

 课税年度2016/17
$
2017/18及其后#
$
 个人进修开支 80,000 100,000

 

(4) 延长居所贷款利息扣除年期:

 课税年度2016/172017/18及其后#
 居所贷款利息扣除年期 15个课税年度 20个课税年度

 

#直至被取代为止

 

  返回页首


2.

问:

我是否须要申请税务宽减及按新的免税额计算税款?

  

答:

如往常一样,你只须填妥2016/17年度个别人士报税表(BIR60)而无须另作申请。税务局会按税款宽减措施计算2016/17年度最后评税的税款和按新的免税额及新的边际税阶计算2017/18年度暂缴税税款。在法例通过前已发出的2016/17年度评税,税务局会作出修订,预计会在2017年7月底开始退还纳税人多缴的税款。你无须另作申请。

  返回页首


3.

问:

我可否因宽减措施而不用缴付2016/17年度的暂缴税?

  

答:

你仍须依期缴付2016/17 年度的暂缴税,否则税务局会采取追讨欠税行动。如以往一样,今次的税务宽减,是扣减即将评定的2016/17年度应缴税款,而不是已征收的2016/17年度暂缴税税款,故你仍须缴清已发出的税单所载列的暂缴税税款。

  返回页首


4.

问:

税务局会否向我退还已缴付的2016/17年度暂缴税?

  

答:

今次的税务宽减措施,目的是宽减2016/17年度最后评税的应缴税款。故此,可宽减的款额将反映在2016/17年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税评税通知书。这项宽减并不适用于2016/17年度暂缴税税款。纳税人已缴付的2016/17年度暂缴税将用以抵销2016/17年度最后评税的应缴税款及2017/18年度的暂缴税税款,如尚有余额的话,才作退还。

  返回页首


5.

问:

如何计算税务宽减?

  

答:

你可使用在「香港政府一站通」提供的计算税款程式,计算你应缴的2016/17和2017/18年度薪俸税及个人入息课税税款。

  返回页首


6.

问:

在2016/17年度我须缴薪俸税和利得税,亦会选择个人入息课税,如何计算可获扣减的税额?

  

答:

个人入息课税是将纳税人的所有入息合并计算,薪俸收入及业务利润均会包括在内。故此,你可获宽减的款额,是2016/17年度个人入息课税税款的百分之七十五(以20,000元为上限),而不是按薪俸税及利得税的应缴税款计算。

  返回页首


7.

问:

一对有薪俸收入而要缴交薪俸税的夫妇,合共可获最高40,000元税款宽减。假若他们按个人入息课税计税则合共只可获得20,000元宽减。申请个人入息课税对他们是否不公平?

  

答:

2016/17年度的宽减是百分之七十五的利得税、薪俸税及个人入息课税最后评税税款,每宗个案以20,000元为上限。在薪俸税下,一对夫妇可以分开评税,即每人可宽减最后评税税款的百分之七十五,以20,000元为上限。但在个人入息课税下并没有分开评税,评税只有一个,所以,宽减上限是夫妇合共20,000元。纳税人应视乎他的情况以决定是否选择个人入息课税,以2016/17年度来说,所考虑的因素亦应包括在个人入息课税下夫妇合共只可获得20,000元宽减上限的情况。税务局会就每宗申请验算个人入息课税可否减低申请人的应缴税款,并以对他最为有利的方式评税。

  返回页首


8.

问:

我在2016/17年度经营两个业务,可否就每个业务享有税款宽减?

  

答:

在2016/17年度,你可就每个经营的业务享有百分之七十五的利得税税款宽减,上限为20,000元。

  返回页首


9.

问:

我在2016/17年度支付了110,000元的个人进修开支,超过2016/17年度容许扣除上限的80,000元。我在2016/17年度个别人士报税表(BIR60)内就个人进修开支数额应怎样填报?

  

答:

你应在2016/17年度个别人士报税表(BIR60)的第4.3部填报实际开支数额110,000元。评税主任会分别以80,000元及100,000元的扣除上限计算2016/17年度薪俸税最后评税和2017/18年度薪俸税暂缴税。

  返回页首


10.

问:

在我填报2016/17年度个别人士报税表后,我上半年已付款的教育机构才通知我2017/18年度的课程费用会由现时的79,000元增加至100,500元。我怎样才可申索增加后的开支?

  

答:

假如你在2017/18年度应支付或估计须支付的个人进修开支超过80,000元,你可在收到薪俸税评税及暂缴税缴纳通知书后,以书面申请缓缴2017/18年度薪俸税暂缴税。申请必须在下列期限前提交:

(a) 在暂缴税的缴税限期前28天;或
(b) 发出缴纳暂缴税的通知书日期后的14天内,
两者以较迟的为准。

 

评税主任在修订2017/18年度薪俸税暂缴税时,不会扣减100,500元但会以上限的100,000元计算个人进修开支。

 

  返回页首


11.

问:

我一向就自置居所申请居所贷款利息扣除,在2016/17已达15年期限,但我并未申索扣除2011/12的居所贷款利息支出。有关的按揭贷款在2016年12月15日已全数清还。从2017-18年度起居所贷款利息的扣除年期由15个课税年度增加至20个课税年度。我可否在2017/18报税表内申请扣除2011/12年度所支付的利息或要求调整2011/12年度的评税以扣除有关利息?

  

答:

因延长扣除年期至20个课税年度是没有追溯效力的及你已在2012/13年度前已扣减了共10个课税年度的居所贷款利息,故此你不可在2017/18年度申索扣除2011/12年度所支付的居所贷款利息,而2011/12年度的评税亦不可调整以扣除你在该年度所支付的利息。

 

  返回页首


12.

问:

从2017-18年度起居所贷款利息的扣除年期由15个课税年度增加至20个课税年度,我是否需要连续申请?

  

答:

你不需要连续申请。税务局局长每年在扣除居所贷款利息支出后,会通知你已扣除的年期及余下可申索扣除的年期。

 

返回页首