Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Elderly Residential Care Expenses

* 

More than one person are eligible to claim deduction for elderly residential care expenses in respect of the same parent

1.

Q:

If more than one person are eligible to claim deduction for elderly residential care expenses in respect of the same parent for the same year of assessment, will all these persons be allowed the deduction?

A:

The eligible persons should first agree among themselves as to who shall claim the deduction, and only that person shall lodge the claim accordingly. If no agreement is reached, no deduction will be allowed.

 back to top


* 

The fees charged by the residential care home are fully met by the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme Allowance (CSSA)

2.

Q:

The taxpayer's parent is residing at a residential care home. The fees charged by the residential care home are fully met by the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme Allowance (CSSA), but the taxpayer has made contribution of money towards other maintenance expenses of the parent during the year. Will the taxpayer be entitled to any tax deduction?

A:

No. The taxpayer is not entitled to deduction for elderly residential care expenses because he/she has not paid for such expenses. However, he/she may claim dependent parent allowance in respect of his/her parent provided all the relevant conditions are satisfied, including a contribution of money towards the maintenance of the parent of not less than $12,000 in the year of assessment.

Note: IRD may obtain information from Social Welfare Department to verify the information provided by the taxpayer in support of the claim for Dependent Parent/Grandparent Allowance and/or Elderly Residential Care Expenses.

 back to top


* 

The parent reached the age of 60 during the year

3.

Q:

The taxpayer's parent was residing at a residential care home to which the taxpayer had paid for all the relevant expenses. The parent reached the age of 60 on 1 October 2016. Is the taxpayer entitled to deduction for elderly residential care expenses paid prior to 1 October 2016 for the year of assessment 2016/17?

A:

Yes. Since the parent reached the age of 60 in the year of assessment 2016/17, the taxpayer is entitled to deduction for elderly residential care expenses paid in that year of assessment (i.e. from 1 April 2016 to 31 March 2017) subject to the prescribed maximum amount of $92,000.

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主页 > 常见问题  > 长者住宿照顾开支扣除

长者住宿照顾开支扣除

 

多名纳税人申领同一受养人的长者住宿照顾开支

1.

问:

在任何课税年度,如多于一人合资格就同一父或母申索扣除长者住宿照顾开支,他们是否都可获得该项扣除 ?

答:

该等合资格人士须首先协商由其中一人就该课税年度申索是项扣除,而亦只由此人提出有关申索。若他们不能达成协议,则任何一方都不会获考虑给予是项扣除。

  返回页首


 

院舍费用由综合社会保障援助计划的津贴支付

2.

问:

纳税人的父或母居住于院舍。院舍征收的费用全部由根据综合社会保障援助计划所申领的津贴支付,但纳税人在年内亦曾支付金钱予该名父或母作其生活费用。这位纳税人是否可享有税项减免 ?

答:

否。由于该名纳税人未有缴付院舍的费用,所以他不会获给予扣除长者住宿照顾开支。不过,如果符合所有有关条件,包括在该课税年度内提供不少于 $12,000 的金钱以供养该名父或母,则他仍可以就该名父或母申索供养父母免税额。

请注意:就申索上述免税额及 / 或长者住宿照顾开支,税务局可能会向社会福利署查证有关资料。

  返回页首


 

受养人在年中才满 60 岁

3.

问:

纳税人的父或母居住于院舍,而院舍征收的费用全部由该名纳税人缴付。该名父或母在 2016年10月1日满 60岁。该名纳税人可否就 2016年10月1日前缴付的长者住宿照顾开支在 2016/17课税年度内获得扣除?

答:

可以。由于该名父或母在 2016/17课税年度内已满 60岁,这位纳税人在该课税年度内(即由 2016年4月1日至 2017年 3月 31日)所缴付的长者住宿照顾开支可获扣除,但扣除额最高为 $92,000。

返回页首