Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Application for Holdover of Provisional Tax

Application for Holdover of Provisional Tax

 

Entitled allowances not included in the computation of provisional tax

1.

Q:

My wife has given birth to a child on 29 April 2017 and I can claim child allowance for 2017/18. Can I make a holdover application to pay less tax?

A:

Yes. You should make an application within the prescribed time limit stated in Answer 7, state the ground for holdover as "entitlement to child allowance in 2017/18 and supply details including the name and date of birth of your child.

  back to top


 

Reduction in income during the year for which provisional tax is charged

2.

Q:

I earned $650,000 during the year 2016/17. The Human Resource Director has just advised me that there would be a pay cut of $5,000 per month as from 1 June 2017. Can I make an application for holding over part of my 2017/18 provisional salaries tax?

A:

From what you have said, you may anticipate a drop of income to $570,000 for 2017/18.

The criterion for holding over is that your net chargeable income for the provisional tax year is less than 90% of that of the preceding year. Hence, it is necessary to ascertain your estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 in order to consider whether you can apply for holding over of part of your provisional salaries tax. The net chargeable income is arrived at by deducting allowable deductions and allowances you are entitled to claim from your income.

The allowances granted to a single or married taxpayer is different, therefore, the situation will be different depending on whether you are single or married (assuming spouse having no income - you are entitled to claim Married Person's Allowance). To demonstrate arithmetically:

Situation 1 - You are single

 

2016/17

2017/18

 

$

$

Income

650,000

600,000

Less: Allowance

132,000

132,000

Net Chargeable Income

518,000

468,000

90% Thereof

466,200

 

 

As the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is more than 90% of that of 2016/17 (that is, $468,000 > $466,200), no part of your provisional salaries tax for 2016/17 can be heldover. 

Situation 2 - You are married and your spouse has no income (you are entitled to Married Person's Allowance)     

 

2016/17

2017/18

 

$

$

Income

650,000

600,000

Less: Allowance

264,000

264,000

Net Chargeable Income

386,000

336,000

90% Thereof

347,400

 

 

As the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is less than 90% of that of 2016/17 (that is, $336,000 < $347,400), you can apply for part of your provisional salaries tax for 2017/18 to be heldover. 

Situation 3 - Same as Situation 2 but with one child          

   

2016/17

 

2017/18

   

$

 

$

Income  

650,000

 

600,000

Less: Allowances        
  Married Person's Allowance

264,000

 

264,000

 
  Child Allowance

100,000

364,000

100,000

364,000

Net Chargeable Income  

286,000

 

236,000

90% Thereof  

257,400

   

 

As the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is less than 90% of that of 2016/17 (that is, $236,000 < $257,400), you can apply for part of your provisional salaries tax for 2017/18 to be heldover.

For any taxpayer falling within Situation 2 and 3 above, the Assessor will allow holdover of part of the provisional salaries tax, provided that a written application for holding over is lodged within the prescribed time limit, and the reason for the salary reduction and the estimated income for the period from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2018 are provided.

Please refer to Answer 7 below for the time limit on lodgment of application.

  back to top


3.

Q:

Due to personal circumstances, I have to take no pay leave from 1 April to 31 May 2017. I shall earn less than 90% of what I have earned for the year to 31 March 2018. Can I pay less provisional salaries tax? Can I make a holdover request on my 2016/17 tax return or write to lodge a formal application now?

A:

If your net chargeable income (net total income minus total allowances) for the year to 31 March 2018 will be less than 90% of your net chargeable income for the year to 31 March 2017, you can apply to pay less provisional tax.

Application should be lodged 28 days before due date or within 14 days after the issue of the demand for provisional tax. Application for holdover of provisional tax must be made in writing, lodged with this Department within the prescribed time limit. Where an application is lodged on the ground of fallen income for 2017/18, you should furnish a computation to demonstrate a drop of the net chargeable income by more than 10%, when compared with that for 2016/17.

As most taxpayers would have their 1st instalment of tax due in January 2018, the most appropriate time to lodge holdover will be in November and December 2017. By that time, you should know the actual income figures for the 7 months to 31 October 2017, and you should be in a better position to estimate your income for the remaining 5 months to 31 March 2018.

In summary, you should not furnish details of “no pay leave” for April and May 2017 in your 2016/17 tax return. To lodge an application for holdover now would be pre-mature.  You should, after receipt of your demand note for provisional tax, lodge an application within the prescribed time limit listed in Answer 7 when you are in a better position to make a projection for the full year's income

  back to top


4.

Q:

I received a lump sum contract gratuity on 30 September 2016.  Since no similar sum will be received in 2017/18, can I make a holdover request to exclude the lump sum from the computation of 2017/18 provisional salaries tax?

A:

If your estimated net chargeable income after deducting the contract gratuity for the year to 31 March 2018 will be less than 90% of your net chargeable income for the year to 31 March 2017, you can apply to pay less 2017/18 provisional salaries tax.

Your written application stating the ground for holdover should be lodged within the prescribed time limit listed in Answer 7 .

 

  back to top


 

Increase in concessionary deductions not taken into account when computing the net chargeable income during the year for which provisional tax is charged

5.

Q:

I made donations of $200 in 2016/17 to charitable organizations. Up to September 2017, I have donated $60,000. Can I make an application for holding over part of my 2017/18 provisional salaries tax? 

A:

If your estimated net chargeable income (net total income minus allowances) for the year to 31 March 2018 will be less than 90% of your net chargeable income for the year to 31 March 2017, you can apply for holdover of provisional tax.

The following example illustrates how the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is computed.

Example - You are single and your employment income for the year to 31 March 2017 is $650,000.

   

2016/17

2017/18

   

$

$

Income

650,000

650,000

Less: Approved Charitable Donations

200

60,000

  Allowance

132,000

132,000

Net Chargeable Income

517,800

458,000

90% Thereof

466,020

 

 

As the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is less than 90% of that of 2016/17 (that is, $458,000 < $466,020), you can apply for part of your provisional salaries tax for 2017/18 to be heldover. Your written application for holding over should be lodged within the prescribed time limit listed in Answer 7 by stating the ground for holdover. 

  back to top


6.

Q:

I have claimed home loan interest deduction for 10 years.  I did not claim any deduction in the year of assessment 2016/17.  My estimated home loan interest to be paid for the year of assessment 2017/18 is $40,000. Can I make an application for holding over part of my 2017/18 provisional salaries tax?

A:

The number of years of deduction of home loan interest is extended from 10 years of assessment to 15 years of assessment with effect from the year of assessment 2012/13.  If your estimated net chargeable income (net total income minus allowances) for the year to 31 March 2018 will be less than 90% of your net chargeable income for the year to 31 March 2017, you can apply for holding over of provisional tax.

The following examples illustrate how the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is computed.

Example 1 - You are single and your employment income for the year to 31 March 2017 is $650,000.

   

2016/17

2017/18

   

$

$

Income

650,000

650,000

Less: Home Loan Interest Deduction

0

40,000

  Allowance

132,000

132,000

Net Chargeable Income

518,000

478,000

90% Thereof

466,200

 

 

As the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is more than 90% of that of 2016/17 (that is, $478,000 > $466,200 ), your provisional salaries tax for 2017/18 cannot be heldover.

 

Example 2 - You are married and your spouse has no income (you are entitled to Married Person's Allowance). Your employment income for the year to 31 March 2017 is $500,000.

   

2016/17

2017/18

   

$

$

Income

650,000

650,000

Less: Home Loan Interest Deduction

0

40,000

  Allowance

264,000

264,000

Net Chargeable Income

386,000

346,000

90% Thereof

347,400

 

 

As the estimated net chargeable income for 2017/18 is less than 90% of that of 2016/17 (that is, $346,000 < $347,400), you can apply for holding over of part of your provisional salaries tax for 2017/18. Please refer to Answer 7 below for time limit on lodgment of application. 

  back to top


 

Time limit for applying for Holdover

7.

Q:

I received a tax demand note on 3 August 2017. The 1st and 2nd instalments of my provisional salaries tax will fall due on 4 January 2018 and 5 April 2018 respectively. What is the deadline for making a holdover application?

A:

The law provides for a two-tier time limit. You must lodge an application not later than 28 days before the due date for payment of the provisional tax or 14 days after the date of issue of the notice for payment of provisional tax, whichever is the later. Hence, in respect of all or a part of the 1st instalment of tax, you should lodge an application for holdover on or before 7 December 2017. Any holdover application in connection with the 2nd instalment of tax should be lodged on or before 8 March 2018.

  back to top


8.

Q:

If I receive a demand note which was issued on 4 January 2018 with the 1st instalment of provisional tax payable on 17 February 2018, what is the deadline for making a holdover application?

A:

The 28th day prior to due date of payment is 20 January 2018 and the 14th day after the date of issue of the demand note is 18 January 2018. Hence, insofar as the holdover of the 1st instalment of tax due on 17 February 2018 is concerned, your application should be lodged on or before 20 January 2018.

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主页 > 常见问题  > 提交缓缴暂缴税申请书

提交缓缴暂缴税申请书

 

有资格得到的免税额,未有在暂缴税通知书中计算

1.

问:

我的孩子在2017年4月29日出生,所以我在2017/18年度应享有子女免税额,我可否提交缓缴申请书要求少缴暂缴税?

答:

当然可以,但你要依照答案7所列的限期提交缓缴申请书说明你在2017/18年度可享有子女免税额的详细资料,包括孩子的姓名及出生日期。

  返回页首


 

暂缴税课税年度的应课税入息实额较前一年度的为少

2.

问:

2016/17课税年度我的薪俸收入是$650,000。但人事部主管刚通知我,薪酬会由2017年6月1日起每月减少$5,000。请问我可否提交缓缴申请书,要求缓缴2017/18年度的暂缴薪俸税?

答:

依你所说,你在2017/18课税年度的收入会降至$600,000。

申请缓缴暂缴税的其中一个条件是你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额少于上年度的应课税入息实额的90%。因此,你是否可以申请缓缴2017/18年度的暂缴薪俸税会取决于你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额。而应课税入息实额的计算方法是从你的入息减去你可申索的扣除及免税额。

由于单身人士和已婚人士享有不同的免税额,申请缓缴暂缴税的情况也会有所不同,请看下列例子:

情况1:你是一名单身人士
     
 

2016/17

2017/18

 

$

$

入息

650,000

600,000

减:免税额

132,000

132,000

应课税入息实额

518,000

468,000

90%计算

466,200

 
     
由于你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额不少于你2016/17年度的应课税入息实额的90%($468,000>$466,200),你并不符合申请缓缴暂缴税的条件。

 

情况2:你是一名已婚人士而配偶没有任何入息(你可享有已婚人士免税额)
     
 

2016/17

2017/18

 

$

$

入息

650,000

600,000

减:免税额

264,000

264,000

应课税入息实额

386,000

336,000

90%计算

347,400

 
     
由于你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额少于你2016/17年度的应课税入息实额的90%($336,000<$347,400),你合资格申请缓缴部分2017/18年度的暂缴税。

 

情况3:与情况2相同,但有一名子女
         
   

2016/17

 

2017/18

   

$

 

$

入息  

650,000

 

600,000

减:免税额        
  已婚人士免税额

264,000

 

264,000

 
  子女免税额

100,000

364,000

100,000

364,000

应课税入息实额  

286,000

 

236,000

90%计算  

257,400

   
         
由于你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额少于你2016/17年度的应课税入息实额的90%($236,000<$257,400),你合资格申请缓缴部分2017/18年度的暂缴税。

 

在情况2及情况3下,纳税人可申请缓缴部分2017/18年度的暂缴税,但须于指定时间内提交缓缴申请书申明入息减少的原因及列明于2017年4月1日至2018年3月31日的估计入息,评税主任才会批准申请。


有关申请缓缴暂缴税的期限,请参看答案7

  返回页首


3.

问:

由于个人理由,我需要在2017年4月和5月放两个月的无薪假期。我相信我在2017/18年度的收入将较上年度减少10%以上,我是否可以少交暂缴税?我是否可以在2016/17年度的报税表中或附上信件申请缓缴2017/18年度的暂缴税?

答:

如果你在2017/18年度的应课税入息实额(总入息实额减去你可申索的扣除及免税额)将会较2016/17年度减少10%以上,你可申请缓缴2017/18年度的暂缴税。

要求缓缴暂缴税的申请书,应在暂缴税税款到期前28天,或在暂缴税缴税通知书发出日期后14天内提交本局。你须在申请书上阐明申请理由,并于规定时间内提交。若你以入息下降为申请理由,须提交计算表以显示你在2017/18年度的应课税入息实额将会较2016/17年度减少10%以上。

由于大部分纳税人须在2018年1月才缴交第一期税款,因此提交缓缴申请书最适当的时间是2017年11月至12月。到时,你已经知道截至2017年10月31日的7个月的入息实额,并能估计到2018年3月31日止余下5个月的入息情况。

总而言之,你无须在2016/17年度的报税表中申报你2017年4月及5月的无薪假期。现时申请缓缴实属过早,你应在收到税单并能以实况推算全年入息时,按答案7的时间提交申请

  返回页首


4.

问:

我在2016年9月30日收取一笔「约满酬金」,而在2017/18年度不会再收到这笔款项。我是否可以就这笔「约满酬金」申请缓缴2017/18课税年度的暂缴薪俸税?

答:

如果你在截至2018年3月31日的估计应课税入息实额于扣除「约满酬金」后将会较截至2017年3月31日的减少10%以上,你可申请缓缴2017/18年度的暂缴薪俸税。

你须提交缓缴申请书,列明缓缴理由,并依照答案7的指定时间内提交申请。

  返回页首


 

暂缴税课税年度的应课税入息实额未扣除增加的特惠扣除

5.

问:

我在2016/17课税年度捐了$200给慈善团体。直至2017年9月,我已捐献$60,000。我是否可以申请缓缴部分的2017/18课税年度暂缴薪俸税?

答:

如果你在截至2018年3月31日的估计应课税入息实额(总入息实额减去你可申索的扣除及免税额)将会较截至2017年3月31日的减少10%以上,你可申请缓缴暂缴税。

以下例子说明怎样计算2017/18年度的估计应课税入息实额。

例子:你是一名单身人士及你在截至2017年3月31日止的受雇收入为$650,000。

 

   

2016/17

2017/18

   

$

$

入息

650,000

650,000

减: 认可慈善捐款

200

60,000

  免税额

132,000

132,000

应课税入息实额

517,800

458,000

90%计算

466,020

 

 

由于你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额少于你2016/17年度的应课税入息实额的90%($458,000<$466,020),你合资格申请缓缴部分2017/18年度的暂缴薪俸税。你须依照答案7的指定时间内提交缓缴申请书,并列明缓缴理由。

  返回页首


6.

问:

我已申索了10年居所贷款利息的扣除。在2016/17课税年度我没有申请任何扣除。我预计在2017/18课税年度将会支付居所贷款利息为40,000元。我是否可以申请缓缴部分2017/18课税年度的暂缴薪俸税?

答:

由2012/13课税年度起,扣除居所贷款利息的年期已由10个课税年度延长至15个课税年度。假如你在截至2018年3月31日的估计应课税入息实额(总入息实额减去你可申索的扣除及免税额)将会较截至2017年3月31日的减少10%以上,你可申请缓缴暂缴税。

以下例子说明怎样计算2017/18年度的估计应课税入息实额。

例子一:你是一名单身人士及你在截至2017年3月31日止的受雇收入为$650,000。

 

   

2016/17

2017/18

   

$

$

入息

650,000

650,000

减: 居所贷款利息扣除

0

40,000

  免税额

132,000

132,000

应课税入息实额

518,000

478,000

90%计算

466,200

 

 

由于你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额不少于你2016/17年度的应课税入息实额的90%($478,000>$466,200),你并不符合申请缓缴暂缴税的条件。

例子二:你是一名已婚人士而配偶没有任何入息(你可享有已婚人士免税额),你在截至2017年3月31日止的受雇收入为$650,000。

 

   

2016/17

2017/18

   

$

$

入息

650,000

650,000

减: 居所贷款利息扣除

0

40,000

  免税额

264,000

264,000

应课税入息实额

386,000

346,000

90%计算

347,400

 

 

由于你在2017/18年度的预期应课税入息实额少于你2016/17年度的应课税入息实额的90%($346,000<$347,400),你合资格申请缓缴部分2017/18年度的暂缴薪俸税。你须依照答案7的指定时间内提交缓缴申请书。

  返回页首


 

申请缓交暂缴税的期限

7.

问:

我在2017年8月3日收到税单,税单上显示两个缴税日期,分别是2018年1月4日和2018年4月5日,请问我应何时提交缓缴申请书?

答:

按税例提交缓缴申请书的限期有2种方法计算,你须在不迟于缴交暂缴税的限期前28天,或在暂缴税缴税通知书发出日期后的14天内(上述期限以较后者为准)提交缓缴申请书。一般来说,如你想缓缴第1期的全部或部分暂缴税税款,须在2017年12月7日或之前提交缓缴申请书。你想缓缴第2期的暂缴税税款,则应在2018年3月8日或之前申请。

  返回页首


8.

问:

如果我收到在2018年1月4日发出的税单,税单上所显示的第一期缴税限期是2018年2月17日,请问我最迟可于何时提交缓缴申请书?

答:

按你的情况,暂缴税缴税限期前的28天是2018年1月20日,而缴税通知书发出后的14天是2018年1月18日。因此,就第一期缴税期限2018年2月17日来说,你提交缓缴申请书的最后限期是2018年1月20日。

 

返回页首