Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Advance Ruling Cases > Advance Ruling Case No. 13

Advance Ruling Case No. 13


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of section 14 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

  back to top


2. Background

(a) A group with head office located in the USA carries on business with global operations. It manufactures its products in countries throughout the world and sells its products in over 150 countries. It operates companies dealing with manufacturing ("Manufacturing Companies"), distribution ("Distribution Companies"), marketing ("Marketing Companies") and logistic support ("Logistic Companies") in various jurisdictions.
(b) The Manufacturing Companies (no manufacturing operations are carried out in Hong Kong) receive orders from and sell the products to the Distribution Companies (established outside Hong Kong and without any employees in Hong Kong), who in turn sell to the Marketing Companies (one Marketing Company was incorporated in Hong Kong and is responsible for the marketing and sale of the group's products in Hong Kong and PRC). The group's head office determines the products to be manufactured and the inter-group selling prices.
(c) The Logistic Companies (including Company L) provide logistical and administration support services to the Distribution Companies for handling the procurement and supply processes. Company L was established in Hong Kong and provides support services to the Distribution Companies.

  back to top


3. The arrangement

(a) The Marketing Companies place orders with the Distribution Companies through the group's web-based international supply system (ISS), which is managed by the head office.
(b) Company L downloads the Asian Marketing Companies' purchase orders from the ISS and verifies the details. It then consolidates the orders into a summary of purchases to be made by the Distribution Companies from the Manufacturing Companies.
(c) A summary of purchases is then forwarded by Company L, by e-mail, to the respective Distribution Companies for approval. If applicable, the latter confirm approval to Company L by e-mail. Acceptance or rejection of an order is based on the worldwide pricing guidelines established by the group head office.
(d) Based on the approved purchase order, Company L prepares an order form under the name of the Distribution Company concerned to the Manufacturing Companies. The latter confirms with Company L via e-mail the quantity of goods available for export to the Asian Marketing Companies.
(e) Company L then forwards to the Asian Marketing Companies via e-mail the confirmation of the products available for export from the Manufacturing Companies and requests the Asian Marketing Companies to confirm its agreement thereto.
(f) Based on the purchase orders approved by the Distribution Companies and confirmed by the Manufacturing Companies, Company L prepares pro-forma invoices to the Asian Marketing Companies, under the letterhead of the relevant Distribution Companies.
(g) Upon receipt of the pro-forma invoices, the Asian Marketing Companies issue purchase orders to the Distribution Companies, based on the details contained in the pro-formas.
(h) Company L then consolidates the details of the Asian Marketing Companies' orders and forwards them to the Distribution Companies via e-mail for approval. The latter confirms its acceptance by e-mail.
(i) Most of the finished products are shipped from the Manufacturing Companies direct to the Asian Marketing Companies in the region without being warehoused in Hong Kong. Once the products are shipped, the Manufacturing Companies forward or fax the shipping documents to Company L, which issues invoices to the Asian Marketing Companies under the letterheads of the Distribution Companies.
(j) On some occasions, products are shipped to Hong Kong for warehousing. In such circumstances, Company L notifies the Asian Marketing Companies of the products to be warehoused in Hong Kong and arranges the shipment of these products. Company L also provides services including transportation, co-ordination of customs arrangement and clearance and visual checking to verify the quantity and package of the products imported into Hong Kong. For sales to Hong Kong and PRC, Company L liaises with the suppliers to arrange for the delivery of products to the Hong Kong Marketing Company.
(k) Company L maintains all accounting records in connection with the Distribution Companies' trading activities in the Asia region. This includes details of all sales made to the Asian Marketing Companies, and purchase and sale of raw materials to the Manufacturing Companies. Company L also summarizes and reports the Distribution Companies' accounting transactions to the group treasury center which is outside Hong Kong.
(l) The Distribution Companies maintains bank accounts outside Hong Kong, which are monitored by the group treasury center. The treasury center monitors and co-ordinates all inter-group accounts and fund flows together with Company L which provides the details of the trade receivables and payables to the treasury center on monthly basis.
(m) Besides, Company L also provides information technology services including a technology platform and software to enable order processing, stock management and location processing, miscellaneous reporting and general communication to customers and management of the Distribution Companies.
(n) Company L charges a service fee to the Distribution Companies at cost plus 5% mark up.

  back to top


4. The ruling

(a) The Distribution Companies carry on business in Hong Kong through Company L; and
(b) The profits derived by the Distribution Companies from their trading operations with group companies in the Asia region arise in or are derived from Hong Kong and hence are chargeable to Hong Kong Profits Tax under s.14(1) of the IRO.

  back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  This ruling will apply for the year of assessment 2002/03 and subsequent years of assessment.

  back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  No assumptions were made by the Commissioner.

 

  back to top


7. Date of ruling issued

  4 July 2003.

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 事先裁定个案 > 事先裁定个案第 13 号

事先裁定个案第 13 号


1. 《税务条例》的条文
  本裁定适用于《税务条例》第 14 条。

  返回页首


2. 背景
  (a) 某集团在世界各地经营业务,其总公司设在美国,产品在世界各国制造,销售给 150 多个国家。旗下的公司在不同税区从事制造(「制造公司」)、分销(「分销公司」)、销售(「销售公司」)及物流支援(「物流公司」)等工作。
  (b) 制造公司(在香港没有经营制造业务)承接并出售产品给分销公司(在香港以外地方成立,在香港并无聘请雇员);分销公司然后出售产品给销售公司(有一家销售公司在香港成立为法团,负责在香港及中国内地推广并销售集团的产品)。集团的总公司负责决定生产什么产品,并厘定集团之间的售价。
  (c) 物流公司(包括 L 公司)为分销公司提供物流及行政支援服务,以处理采购及供应工作。 L 公司在香港成立,为分销公司提供支援服务。

  返回页首


3. 安排
  (a) 销售公司经由总公司管理的互联网国际供应系统(「该系统」)向分销公司发出订单。
  (b) L 公司从该系统下载亚洲销售公司的订单并核实资料,然后把订单合并为购货摘要,让分销公司发给制造公司作购货之用。
  (c) L 公司以电邮传送购货摘要给各分销公司审批,分销公司会按情况以电邮向 L 公司确认审批订单。订单的接纳与否,是根据集团总公司的全球订价指引而定。
  (d) L 公司会根据已审批的订单,以有关的分销公司名义,制备订单给制造公司 ; 制造公司跟着以电邮向 L 公司确认有多少货物可供出口到亚洲销售公司。
  (e) L 公司然后把可供出口到亚洲销售公司的货物确认书以电邮传送给亚洲销售公司,并要求亚洲销售公司确认有关的协议。
  (f) L 公司根据分销公司审批并由制造公司确认的订单,制备预开发票给亚洲销售公司,发票笺头为有关的分销公司。
  (g) 亚洲销售公司接到预开发票后,会根据预开发票上的资料,向分销公司发出购货单。
  (h) L 公司然后合并各亚洲销售公司的资料,以电邮传送给分销公司确认。分销公司以电邮确认接纳。
  (i) 制成品大部分由制造公司直接运往有关地区的亚洲销售公司,不会在香港存仓。产品付运后,制造公司会传送或传真付运文件给 L 公司,然后由 L 公司以分销公司的笺头向亚洲销售公司发出发票。
  (j) 产品有时会付运到香港存仓,在这个情况下, L 公司会通知亚洲销售公司须在香港存仓的产品,并安排付运。 L 公司亦会提供包括运输、协调海关的安排和清关手续和以目视方式检查进口香港产品的数量及包装等服务。关于销售给香港与中国内地的产品, L 公司会与供应商联络,安排将产品运送到香港的销售公司。
  (k) L 公司备存关于分销公司亚洲区买卖活动的所有会计记录,包括向亚洲销售公司的所有销货、跟制造公司买货及销售原材料等资料。 L 公司亦撮录并向位于香港以外的集团库务中心汇报各分销公司的会计交易。
  (l) 分销公司在香港以外地方开立银行户口,有关户口由集团库务中心监管。该中心联同 L 公司负责监管与协调集团之间的帐户与资金流动情况, L 公司并每月负责向库务中心提供营业应收帐和应付帐的资料。
  (m) 此外, L 公司亦为分销公司提供资讯科技服务,包括科技平台和软件,支援订单处理程序、仓务管理与位置追查、杂项报告、一般的客户联络和管理等工作。
  (n) L 公司向分销公司收取成本加 5% 的服务费。

  返回页首


4. 裁定
  (a) 分销公司透过 L 公司在香港经营业务;以及
  (b) 分销公司与集团的亚洲区公司之间的买卖活动所产生的利润,是在香港产生或得自香港,因此根据《税务条例》第 14(1)条,须征缴香港利得税。

  返回页首


5. 裁定的适用期
  本裁定适用于 2002/03 课税年度及以后的课税年度。

  返回页首


6. 税务局局长就将来发生的事件或任何其他事项在要项上作出的假设
  税务局局长没有作出假设。

  返回页首


7. 裁定日期
  2003 年 7 月 4 日。

 

 

返回页首