Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Advance Ruling Cases > Advance Ruling Case No. 34

Advance Ruling Case No. 34


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of section 14 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

  back to top


2. Background

(a) The Company is incorporated in Hong Kong and is primarily engaged in the distribution of the products ("the Products") of a group of companies ("the Group") in Hong Kong and Asia.
(b) The Products are manufactured by the factories of the Group outside Hong Kong.
(c) As part of the business plan of the Group to further expand into the markets in Asia and in particular South East Asia ("SEA"), the Company is contemplating to set up a branch in Country X in South East Asia ("the Branch").

  back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) The Branch will initially employ 26 personnel, with 22 in the sales department, 3 in the marketing department, and 1 in accounting.
(b) The Branch will purchase the Products directly from Group factories at arm's length prices and will sell the Products to distributors/customers in the countries in SEA based on mutually agreed prices. All purchase and sale contracts will be negotiated, concluded and executed by the personnel of the Branch and will be conducted outside Hong Kong. All purchase and sale orders will be received and approved by the Branch in Country X.
(c) The Company in Hong Kong will not be involved in the negotiation or conclusion of the purchase or sale of the Products. In addition, it will not be involved in receiving or approving the purchase orders from the distributors/customers.
(d) The management is setting up a bonded warehouse in Country X to provide storage facilities to the Products. The Products may be consolidated first in the warehouse or shipped directly to the other countries in SEA depending on logistic and transportation needs of the distributors/customers in SEA from time to time.
(e) The Branch will have bank accounts in Country X. All payments to factories and receipts from customers will be handled by the personnel of the Branch through the bank accounts in Country X. All trade finance arrangements such as letters of credit, guarantees, etc will also be handled by the personnel of the Branch through the bank accounts in Country X.
(f) To achieve economic efficiency, the Company in Hong Kong will provide IT, finance, accounting, research and other administrative support to the Branch. The costs and expenses incurred by the Company in Hong Kong in providing the aforesaid services to the Branch will be allocated by the Company to the Branch for statutory reporting in Country X.

  back to top


4. The ruling

  The Profits to be derived by the Branch are offshore sourced and will not be taxable under Section 14 of the IRO.

  back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  This ruling will apply for the year of assessment 2007/08 and subsequent years of assessment.

  back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  The Commissioner has assumed that the subject trade transaction will be implemented in the way stated in the ruling application and the ruling.

  back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

  10 August 2007.

 

  back to top


8. Commentary 

 

Under Section 14 of the IRO, every person who carries on a trade, business or profession in Hong Kong is chargeable to profits tax on the profits arising in or derived from Hong Kong. In the present case, the Branch is considered a permanent establishment of the Company in Country X where all the purchase and sales contracts of the Branch will be initiated, negotiated, concluded and executed by the personnel of the Branch. The functions provided by the Company in Hong Kong are considered ancillary in nature. Therefore, section 14 does not apply to the profits to be derived by the Branch.

(This commentary is not a legally binding statement and it does not form part of the Ruling.)

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 事先裁定个案 > 事先裁定个案第 34 号

事先裁定个案第 34 号


1. 《税务条例》的条文
  本裁定适用于《税务条例》第 14 条。

  返回页首


2. 背景
  (a) 有关公司在香港注册成立,所从事的业务主要是把其所属集团(「集团」)的产品(「产品」)在香港和亚洲分销。
  (b) 产品由集团在香港以外地区的工厂生产。
  (c) 集团订下业务计划,有意进一步开拓亚洲的市场,特别是东南亚的市场,有关公司为此正考虑在东南亚的 X 国设立分支机构(「分支机构」)。

  返回页首


3. 安排
  (a) 分支机构初期会雇用 26 人,其中 22 人属营业部, 3 人属市场推广部, 1 人负责会计工作。
  (b) 分支机构会以公平价格直接向集团工厂购买产品,再转售予东南亚国家的分销商╱顾客(售价由双方议定 )。所有购货和销货合约均由分支机构的职员洽商、订立和执行,并且在香港以外进行。所有购货和销货订单均由 X 国的分支机构收取和批准。
  (c) 香港的有关公司不会参与购买或销售产品的洽商或订约过程,也不会牵涉入向分销商╱顾客收取购货订单或批准有关订单的事宜内。
  (d) 管理层正准备在 X 国设立保税仓,以提供设施贮存产品。产品可先集中存放在保税仓内,但亦可直接付运到东南亚其他国家,情况视乎东南亚各分销商╱顾客不时的物流和运输需要而定。
  (e) 分支机构将会在 X 国开设银行户口。所有支付予工厂以及从顾客收取的款项,均会由分支机构的职员经 X 国的银行户口处理。所有贸易融资安排(例如信用证、担保等)亦会由分支机构的职员经 X 国的银行户口处理。
  (f) 为提高经济效益,香港的有关公司会向分支机构提供资讯科技、融资、会计、研究和其他行政支援。香港的有关公司会把向分支机构提供上述服务所招致的费用和开支,拨归分支机构承担,以符合 X 国法例的申报规定。

  返回页首


4. 裁定
  分支机构所得利润来自香港境外,无须根据《税务条例》第 14 条征收香港利得税。

  返回页首


5. 裁定的适用期
  本裁定适用于 2007/08 及以后的课税年度。

  返回页首


6. 税务局局长就将来发生的事件或任何其他事项在要项上作出的假设
  局长假设上述贸易安排会以裁定申请书和裁定所述方式实行。

  返回页首


7. 裁定日期
  2007 年 8 月 10 日。

 

  返回页首


8. 评注
  根据《税务条例》第 14 条,凡任何人在香港经营任何行业、专业或业务而获得于香港产生或得自香港的利润,则须向该人征收利得税。就本个案而言,分支机构应视为有关公司在 X 国的永久机构,分支机构的所有购货和销货合约均由分支机构的职员拟议、洽商、订立和执行。香港的有关公司提供的功能仅属辅助性质。因此,第 14 条不适用于分支机构所得利润。
   
  (本评注并非具有法律约束力的陈述,也不构成本裁定的一部分。)

 

返回页首