Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Advance Ruling Cases > Advance Ruling Case No. 60

Advance Ruling Case No. 60


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of sections 14 and 26(a) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (“IRO”).

 

  back to top


2. Background

(a)
Applicant A and Applicant B (collectively referred to as “the Applicants”) are investment holding companies incorporated in Hong Kong.  Both of their sole shareholders are residents of Country C.  Prior to the proposed arrangement, Applicant A and Applicant B held 59% and 41% of equity shares of Company D, a company incorporated in Hong Kong.
(b)
At the relevant times, the Applicants earned dividend income from Company D, bank interest income and exchange gains.  All such income were exempt from Hong Kong Profits Tax.
(c)
Company E was incorporated in the British Virgin Islands and is owned by two private foundations established in Panama, namely Foundation A and Foundation B, in the percentages of 59% and 41% respectively.  The only assets of Company E are Investment Portfolio A and Investment Portfolio B.  The two investment portfolios are maintained by a bank in Country F and comprised money, equity shares, bonds and hedge funds placed, listed or traded outside Hong Kong.

  back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) Applicant A and Applicant B have planned to acquire all shares in Company E from Foundation A and Foundation B respectively.
(b) After the acquisition, Company E will distribute Investment Portfolio A to Applicant A and Investment Portfolio B to Applicant B in the form of dividend.  Subsequently, Company E will be deregistered or liquidated.  The two investment portfolios will be managed by an agent in Country G.

  back to top


4. Ruling declined

The Commissioner declines to make a ruling on: whether the distribution of Investment Portfolio A and Investment Portfolio B from Company E to the Applicants in the form of dividend will be excluded under section 26(a); and whether the interest income, dividend and disposal gains to be derived by the Applicants from Investment Portfolio A and Investment Portfolio B will be chargeable under section 14. The reasons are as follows:

(a) The intended purpose of the arrangement is for Applicant A and Applicant B to acquire Investment Portfolio A and Investment Portfolio B respectively.  However, the Applicants have not provided sufficient information and satisfactory explanation for the proposed arrangement which is unduly complicated and difficult to comprehend.
(b) The facts do not support the Applicants’ claim that the parties involved are unrelated.  Some basic and common contractual terms are not included in the purchase and sale agreements for the acquisition of Company E.  The share transfer prices are not determined on an arm-length basis.  There is no information showing that the Applicants have sufficient funds to finance the acquisition.
(c) The Commissioner is not convinced that the arrangement is set up for the commercial reasons given in the application.  The implementation hinges on the obtaining of a favourable tax ruling.  The Applicants’ beneficial owners are residents of Country C.  The Applicants neither maintain office, nor employ staff in Hong Kong.  The investment portfolios will be kept and managed outside Hong Kong.  The underlying securities of the investment portfolios are listed and will be traded outside Hong Kong.
(d) Company E, Foundation A, Foundation B, their representative, advisor and agent were incorporated or operated in offshore jurisdictions which impose minimal amount of tax and may not require the preparation of audited financial statements.  Company E and its directors have been implicated in the Panama Papers.

  back to top


5 . Date of Notification 

 

21 September 2016

 

  back to top


6. Commentary 

 

Pursuant to section 3(d), Part I, Schedule 10 of the IRO, the Commissioner shall not make a ruling if he considers that the applicant has not provided sufficient information in relation to the application.  The requirements are listed out in paragraph 19 of the Departmental Interpretation and Practice Notes No. 31 (“DIPN 31”) which include all relevant facts and documents relating to the arrangement for which the ruling is sought and a complete description of each proposed transaction.  The Department’s stance of not helping with tax planning is stated in paragraph 13 of DIPN 31.

(This commentary is not a legally binding statement and it does not form part of the Ruling.)

 

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 事先裁定个案 > 事先裁定个案第 60 号

事先裁定个案第 60 号


1.《税务条例》的条文

  本裁定适用于《税务条例》第14及26(a)条。

 

  返回页首


2. 背景
  (a) A申请人及B申请人﹝以下合称为「申请人」﹞是在香港注册成立的投资控股公司。它们各自的唯一股东均为C国的居民。在进行有关安排以前,A申请人及B申请人分别持有在香港成立的D公司的51%及49%股权。
  (b) 在有关期间,申请人获D公司派发股息,亦有赚取银行利息及汇兑收益。该等收入全获豁免缴付香港利得税。
  (c) E公司是一家在英属处女群岛注册成立的公司,并由两个在巴拿马成立的私人基金拥有。基金A及基金B分别持有E公司51%及49%的股权。E公司的唯一资产是投资组合A及投资组合B,该等投资组合包含货币、及在香港以外地方上市或交易的股票、债券及对冲基金,由一间银行在F国持有。

 

  返回页首


3. 安排
  (a) A申请人及B申请人计划各自分别从基金A及基金B购入E公司的全数股权。
  (b) 在有关收购以后,E公司将以股息的形式向A申请人派发投资组合A及向B申请人派发投资组合B。接着,E公司会被撤销销册或清盘。投资组合会交由G国的代理负责管理。

 

  返回页首


4. 拒絶作出裁定
  税务局局长拒絶作出以下裁定:申请人以股息的形式收取来自E公司的投资组合A及投资组合B是否可依据第26(a)条获豁免课税;及申请人以后从投资组合A及投资组合B赚取的利息收入、股息及出售金融工具所得的溢利是否须按第14条课税。原因如下:  
    (a) 安排的目的是让A申请人及B申请人分别取得投资组合A及投资组合B。但是对于安排为何须透过复杂及难以理解的程序进行,申请人未有提供充足的数据及合理的解释。
    (b) 申请人声称安排牵涉的人仕没有关连,但该项声称与本局所得的资料并不相符。E公司股权转让协议书未有包含若干基本及普遍的合约条款,股权转让价并不是以公平独立交易原则厘定,申请人亦未有提供数据证明其具有足够的财力购买E公司的股权。
    (c) 局长未能信服安排是根据申请书内所声称的商业理由而策划。安排的实行取决于能否得到一个有利的税务事先裁决。申请人的实质拥有人为C国居民,它们没有在香港聘请员工或设置办工室。有关投资组合均在香港以外的地方保存及管理,所涉及的金融工具亦是在香港以外的证券交易所上市或在离岸进行买卖交易。
    (d) E公司、基金A、基金B、它们的代表、顾问及代理均在离岸司法地区成立或运作,而这些地区只征收很少税款及可能没有拟备经审核财务报表的规例。「巴拿马文件」的内容牵涉E公司及其董事。

 

  返回页首


5. 通知日期
  2016年9月21日

 

  返回页首


6. 评注
  根据《税务条例》附表10第1部第3(d)条,倘若税务局局长认为申请人没有就有关的申请提供充足的资料,他不得作出裁定。本局在《税务条例释义及执行指引》第31号,第19段列明一般所需的数据及文件,包括申请裁定的安排所有有关的事实和文件,及每一宗涉及交易的全面描述。该指引第13段亦示明本局不会就税务计划予以协助。

﹝本评注并非具有法律约束力的陈述,也不构成本裁定的一部分。﹞

 

返回页首