Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Prosecution Cases > Press Content

Press Content

Inland Revenue Department adopts zero tolerance policy against tax evasion

*****************************************************************************

The Inland Revenue Department has adopted a zero tolerance policy against tax evasion and will try to complete investigations into every suspected tax evasion case within the shortest timeframe possible.

The Commissioner of Inland Revenue, Mrs Alice Lau, reminded people that tax evasion was a criminal offence under the Inland Revenue Ordinance and the department would carry out prompt investigation and institute prosecution action as appropriate.

Upon conviction, the maximum penalty for each charge is three years' imprisonment and a fine of $50,000 plus a further fine of three times the amount of tax evaded.

Mrs Lau's reminder followed a court case today (June 25) under which a property owner was convicted and jailed for 12 months. He was also fined $480,000 representing about twice the amount of tax evaded.

The court heard that the defendant rented out a residential flat and three car parking spaces and received monthly rental through his bank account. In his tax returns for six years of assessment he declared that none of his properties were rented out. He also submitted a false written reply to the department's request for information on the use of the car parking spaces. The total amount of tax evaded was $244,851.

Mrs Lau said this was the first case prosecuted and convicted under section 82(1)(e) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance in respect of giving false answers to requests for information made in accordance with section 51 of the ordinance. The court imposed a six-month sentence for this offence to run consecutively with the jail term for other offences, making an effective sentence of 12 months.

Deputy District Judge Johnny Chan pointed out that there was no interruption in the department's investigation and there was no delay in the present case, having considered the chronology of investigation provided by the prosecution.

"The department takes every measure to ensure fast handling of tax evasion cases. There is a stringent requirement on evidence in criminal prosecution. Depending on the complexity of the case and transactions involved, the department needs a certain amount of time to collect adequate evidence from various possible sources," Mrs Lau said.

"Typically, we would have to locate the defendant's bank accounts, trace the fund flow, examine documents, interview the witnesses and taking statements from them. We would also consult legal opinion to assess if there is sufficient evidence to initiate criminal prosecution.

"The degree of co-operation from the taxpayer and related parties, and the response of the witnesses can directly affect the progress of the investigation. The time needed to complete each case can therefore be different," she said.

Ends/Monday, June 25, 2007

NNNN

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 检控个案 > 新闻内容

新闻内容

税务局绝不容忍逃税行为

***********

    税务局绝不容忍逃税行为,并会在最短的时间内处理每一宗怀疑个案,务求早日结案。

    税务局局长刘麦懿明提醒市民,《税务条例》订明逃税是刑事罪行。税务局会即时采取调查及检控行动。

    一经定罪,每项控罪最高刑罚为入狱三年和罚款五万元,另加一笔相等于少征收税款三倍的罚款。

    一名业主早前于区域法院被裁定逃缴物业税罪名成立,今日(六月二十五日)被判入狱十二个月,及罚款合共四十八万元,罚款金额约相等于逃税金额的两倍。
   
    案情透露,该名业主将一个住宅单位及三个泊车位出租,并将租金存入其银行户口,但却在六年报税表内漏报该等收入,亦在税务局索取有关泊车位用途的资料时,给予虚假的答复。逃缴税款共 244,851 元。

    刘麦懿明说:「本案是首宗引用《税务条例》第 82(1)(e)条,向就税务局按照《税务条例》第 51 条的规定索取资料而给予虚假答复的逃税人士作出检控。法庭就此罪行判处被告入狱六个月,与本案其他刑期分期执行,即合共入狱十二个月。」

    法官陈仲衡指出,根据控方提供的调查时序流程表,显示税务局的调查从未间断,法庭裁定本案并无延误。

    刘麦懿明表示,税务局会尽速处理每一宗逃税个案。刑事检控的搜证要求十分严格。因应每宗个案的案情和牵涉的交易的复杂程度,该局需花一定的时间从各可能的途径搜集证据,包括跟查被告的银行户口,追纵资金流向,审核文件,会见证人,录取口供,冀能取得足够的证据,亦需谘询律政司的法律意见,以评估所搜集的证据是否足以达至刑事检控的要求。

    她续称:「纳税人和各证人的合作程度都会直接影响调查的进度,每宗个案所需的时间亦因而各有不同。」

2007 年 6 月 25 日(星期一)

 

返回页首