Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Press Content

Community service order for taxpayer falsely claiming charitable donations tax deduction

***********************************************************************

A manager convicted two weeks ago (December 7) at the Eastern Magistrates' Courts of evading salaries tax, was sentenced today (December 21) to 240 hours' community service after being remanded in custody for 14 days.

The defendant, aged 48, is a project manager. He pleaded guilty to five counts of wilfully intending to evade tax by making false statements in connection with claims for deduction of approved charitable donation in his tax returns for the years of assessment 2003-04 to 2007-08, contrary to section 82(1)(c) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO).

The court heard that in his tax returns for the five years of assessment, 2003-04 to 2007-08, the defendant claimed tax deduction of donations totalling $400,000, representing some 20% of his total salaries income.

An investigation by the Inland Revenue Department revealed that during the five years of assessment, the defendant only made two donations of $100 each. The defendant falsely claimed for deduction of approved charitable donations totalling $399,800. The total tax evaded was $16,430.

In passing the sentence, the Magistrate emphasised that tax evasion was a very serious matter. There were abundant authorities suggesting that immediate custodial sentence was the norm. However, after considering that the defendant pleaded guilty, the tax evaded had been repaid and the defendant had been remanded for 14 days, he sentenced the defendant to 240 hours of community service.

The IRO provides that donations of money made to tax-exempt charities or to the Government for charitable purposes are tax deductible. Donation receipts should be kept for seven years. The department will conduct random checks on donation claims. Taxpayers will be asked to produce supporting receipts when their cases are selected for audit.

A spokesman for the department reminds taxpayers to file correct tax returns. Tax evasion is a criminal offence. Making a false statement in a return in connection with a claim for any deduction or allowance is an offence under the IRO. The maximum penalty for each convicted offence is three years' imprisonment and a $50,000 fine, plus a further fine equivalent to three times the amount of tax evaded.

Ends/Tuesday, December 21, 2010

NNNN

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 检控个案 > 新闻内容

新闻内容

纳税人虚报慈善捐款扣除罪成被判社会服务令

********************

    一名经理于十二月七日在东区裁判法院被裁定逃缴薪俸税罪名成立,被还押十四天后,今日(十二月二十一日)被判执行 240 小时社会服务令。

    被告四十八岁,任职项目经理,承认五项蓄意逃税控罪,即在 2003-04 至 2007-08 五个课税年度,就申索扣除认可慈善捐款方面,作出虚假的陈述,触犯《税务条例》第 82 条第(1)(c)款。

    案情透露,被告在 2003-04 至 2007-08 连续五个课税年度的报税表内,申索认可慈善捐款扣除合共 400,000 元;占他薪俸入息总额约百分之二十。

    税务局经调查发现被告在该五个课税年度,仅作出两笔为数合共 200 元的认可慈善捐款。他虚报捐款扣除额达 399,800 元,蓄意逃缴税款 16,430 元。

    裁判官在判刑时强调,逃税是严重罪行,法庭典据是即时监禁,但考虑到被告认罪,所涉及逃缴税款经已清缴,且被告已被还押十四天,故判处被告执行 240 小时社会服务令。

    《税务条例》规定,可获扣除的认可慈善捐款,必须是捐款给获免税的慈善团体或政府作慈善用途。捐款收据必须保存七年。税务局抽查时,会要求纳税人提交捐款凭证查验。

    税务局发言人提醒纳税人,必须提交正确的报税表。《税务条例》订明逃税是刑事罪行。根据《税务条例》规定,在申索任何扣除或免税额时作出虚假的陈述,即属违法。一经定罪,每项控罪最高刑罚为入狱三年和罚款 50,000 元,另加相等于少征收税款额三倍的罚款。

2010 年 12 月 21 日(星期二)

 

返回页首