Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Others > Hotel Accommodation Tax

Hotel Accommodation Tax


Scope of the Charge 

By virtue of the Hotel Accommodation Tax Ordinance, Cap 348 (“HATO”), Hotel Accommodation Tax (“HAT”) is imposed on hotel and guest house accommodation.

"Hotel" means any establishment, the proprietor of which holds out to the extent of his accommodation that he will provide, accommodation to any person presenting himself who is able and willing to pay a reasonable sum for the services and facilities provided and is in a fit state to be received.

"Accommodation" means any furnished room or suite of rooms hired by the proprietor of the hotel to guests, or for the use of guests, for lodging and includes such furnishings, appliances and fittings as are normally provided therein.

"Accommodation charge" means the sum payable by or on behalf of guests for accommodation received.

  back to top


Payment of HAT, Rate of Tax and Return 

The Collector of Stamp Revenue is responsible for the collection of the HAT within fourteen days after the 30th day of September, the 31st day of December, the 31st day of March and the 30th day of June in each year, the proprietor of every hotel shall pay to the Collector the amount of the tax payable in respect of the three monthly periods ending on those dates; at the same time the manager of that hotel shall sign and send to the Collector a return setting out the total amount of accommodation charges made by the proprietor of the hotel during such period for which the tax has been paid.

Effective from 1 July 2008, the Government waives the charge of HAT. The rate of tax is reduced to 0% (the tax rate was at 3% for the period up to 30 June 2008) on all accommodation charges paid by the guests.

For the period during which the rate of HAT is 0%, hotels and guesthouses are not required to impose HAT on accommodations hired by the guests and they do not need to file the HAT return to the Collector.

If hotels and guesthouses have collected the HAT in advance from the guests for accommodations after 30 June 2008, they must refund the collected HAT to the guests.

  back to top


General Guidelines for Determination of the Amount of Accommodation Charge for the Hotel Accommodation Tax ("HAT") 

The provisions
(1) Under the HATO, the HAT is levied at the rate of 0%, with effect from 1 July 2008, (the tax rate was at 3% for period up to 30 June 2008) on all accommodation charges. Accommodation charge is defined in the HATO as the sum payable by or on behalf of guests for accommodation received. Payment can be in the form of money or money's worth – including any credit, book entry, set off or any other act by which a debt due to the proprietor of a hotel for accommodation charges may be discharged.
   
Cases in general
(2) In most cases, the accommodation charge is the agreed price paid by or on behalf of the guest for the hotel room.
   
If the hotel room is provided to a person in return for a service
(3) If a contract has been signed by the hotel with a person for providing some services of a particular value (such as advertising, etc.) in exchange for the provision of a number of hotel room-nights as stated in the contract, the HAT is levied on the value as stated (commonly known as the barter rate).
(4) If no value is stated in the contract, or if no contract is signed, the HAT is levied on the average room rate offered to other customers for the same type of hotel room on the day the hotel room is occupied by the service provider (or his agent).
   
Cash coupons
(5) If the guest has used cash coupon(s) issued by the hotel or other entities to settle the hotel room charge, or part of the hotel room charge, the value of the cash coupon(s) is subject to the HAT as it is money's worth.
   
Service charges
(6) The normal 10% service charges added to the room rate are exempt from the HAT. Any additional service charges (on top of 10%) for services incidental to the provision of the hotel room (such as newspaper services, etc.) are part of the accommodation charge for the calculation of the HAT.

  back to top


Exemption 

The provisions of the Hotel Accommodation Tax Ordinance shall not apply to accommodation charges where the Collector is satisfied that:-

(1) the rate of the accommodation charge is less than $15 per day;
(2) the accommodation is provided by society (i.e. any club, company, school, institute, association or other body of persons by whatever name called) not established or conducted for profit; or
(3) the hotel contains less than 10 rooms normally available for lodging guests.
Note : For certain types of accommodation which have clear characteristics of not being accommodation provided to "guests", e.g. the 28 days accommodation referred to in the Hotel and Guesthouse Accommodation (Exclusion) Order, we generally accept that they are excluded from the charge of Hotel Accommodation Tax. However, each case has to be decided on its own merits.

  back to top


Inspection 

Tax Inspectors will periodically carry out inspections at hotels to check on the accommodation charges paid by guests to ensure that the appropriate amount of tax is paid by the hotel proprietors.

  back to top


Refund 

Where it can be shown to the satisfaction of the Collector that any accommodation charge has not been paid to the proprietor of a hotel, the Collector shall refund the tax paid in respect of that accommodation charge.

  back to top


Enquiries

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 税务资料 - 其他 > 酒店房租税

酒店房租税

 


征税范围

酒店房租税是根据《酒店房租税条例》(第 3 4 8 章),对酒店及宾馆住房征收的税项。

「酒店」指任何场所,而该场所的东主显示他在其提供的住房的范围内,提供住房予任何到临该场所并且有能力和愿意为所获提供的服务及设施缴付合理款项而本身状况亦属宜于获得接待的人。

「住房」指由酒店东主租予客人住宿,或供客人作住宿用途的任何备有家具的房间或套房,其中并包括通常在其内所提供的家具、用具及装置。

「房租」指须由客人或其代表为所获提供的住房而缴付的款项。

  返回页首


缴税,税率及报税表

印花税署署长负责收取酒店房租税,每所酒店的东主,均须在每年 9 月 30 日、 12 月 31 日、 3 月 31 日及 6 月 30 日后 14 天内,就截至上述日期为止的各段 3 个月期间,向署长缴交须缴的税项,同时该酒店的经理亦须在一份列明酒店东主在所缴交税项有关的期间内所收取的房租总额的申报表上签署,并将申报表送交署长。

自 2008 年 7 月1日起,政府免收「酒店房租税」, 税率获调低为客人所付房租的 0% (截至 2008 年 6 月 30 日止,税率为 3% )。

在「酒店房租税」税率为 0% 期间,酒店和宾馆无须就客人住房收取「酒店房租税」,亦无须向署长提交「酒店房租税」报税表。

如酒店及宾馆曾预收客人将于 2008 年 6 月 30 日后住房的「酒店房租税」,酒店及宾馆必须将已收的「酒店房租税」税款退还给予客人。

  返回页首


为酒店房租税而厘定房租的一般指引
 
法例条文
(1) 根据《酒店房租税条例》的规定,政府会就酒店所收取的一切房租征收酒店房租税,自 2008 年 7 月 1 日起,税率为 0% (截至 2008 年 6 月 30 日止,税率为 3 %)。该条例把房租界定为须由客人或其代表为所获提供的住房而缴付的款项。客人或其代表可以金钱或金钱的等值缴付,其中并包括可藉以偿付因房租而欠酒店东主的债项的任何信贷、记帐、抵销或任何其他作为。
 
一般情况
(2) 在大多数的情况下,房租即是客人或其代表为租用酒店房间而支付的议定房价。
 
若向某人提供酒店房间是为了换取服务
(3) 若某人与酒店签订合约,提供一定价值的某些服务(例如广告服务等),而合约内订明酒店会提供若干数目的酒店房间晚数,酒店房租税便会按该订明的价值征收(一般称为以物相易协议所订的价值)。
(4) 如果合约内没有订明价值,或者双方没有签订合约,酒店房租税便会按该服务提供者(或其代理人)入住酒店房间当天,酒店把同级房间租给其他顾客所收取的平均房租而征收。
 
现金券
(5) 由酒店或其他机构发出的现金券,假如客人用以清缴酒店房租或缴付部分酒店房租,由于现金券具有金钱等值,其价值也要纳入酒店房租税计算。
 
服务费
(6) 服务费一般是房租的 1 0 % ,免予征收酒店房租税。除了该 1 0 % 服务费外,任何因提供酒店房间的附带服务(例如提供报纸服务等)而收取的额外服务费,均属于房租的一部分,须纳入酒店房租税计算。

  返回页首


豁免

凡署长信纳以下情况,则本条例的条文并不适用于有关的房租:—

  (1) 房租的租率低于每日 $15;
  (2) 住房是由以非牟利性质成立及经营的社团所提供的;或
  (3) 酒店通常可供客人入住的房间不足 10 间。
注: 对于某类明显不属于供“客人”住宿的住房,例如《旅馆业(豁免)令》所指的 28 天住房,我们一般会豁免征收酒店房租税。不过,每宗个案还须按本身的情况来决定。

  返回页首


视察

税务督察会定期视察各酒店及核对客人所付的房租,以确定酒店东主已付正确的酒店房租税。

  返回页首


退还税项

凡能向署长证明使署长信纳酒店东主没有获缴付某项房租,署长须退还就该项房租所缴交的税项。

  返回页首


查询

 

返回页首