Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Press Release > News Archives > PRESS RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Hong Kong and Latvia enter into tax pact

****************************************

     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, on behalf of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, signed in Riga today (April 13, Riga time) a comprehensive agreement for the avoidance of double taxation (CDTA) with Latvia. Representing the Government of Latvia to sign the agreement was its Minister of Finance, Mrs Dana Reizniece-Ozola.

     "This is the 35th CDTA that Hong Kong has signed with its trading partners and it signifies the Government's ongoing efforts to expand its CDTA network, in particular with economies along the Belt and Road," Professor Chan said. "The CDTA sets out clearly the allocation of taxing rights between the two jurisdictions and thus will help investors better assess their potential tax liabilities from cross-border economic activities."

     "The agreement will bolster the economic and trade connections between the two places. It will also offer added incentives for companies in Latvia to do business or invest in Hong Kong, and vice versa," Professor Chan added.

     In the absence of a CDTA, the profits of Hong Kong companies doing business through a permanent establishment in Latvia may be taxed in both places if the income is Hong Kong sourced. Under the agreement, double taxation will be avoided in that any Latvian tax paid by the companies will be allowed as a credit against the tax payable in Hong Kong on the same profits, subject to the provisions of the tax laws of Hong Kong.

     Moreover, in the absence of a CDTA, income earned by Latvian residents in Hong Kong is subject to both Hong Kong and Latvian tax. Under the agreement, tax paid in Hong Kong will be allowed as a credit against the tax payable on the same income in Latvia.

     Under the agreement, Latvia's withholding tax rate on royalties (currently at various rates and can be as high as 23 per cent in some cases) will be reduced to zero per cent for companies and capped at 3 per cent in all other cases. Latvia's withholding tax rate on dividends and interest (currently at various rates and can be as high as 30 per cent in some cases) will also be reduced to zero per cent for companies and capped at 10 per cent in all other cases.

     Further, Hong Kong airlines operating flights to Latvia will be taxed at Hong Kong's corporation tax rate, and will not be taxed in Latvia. Profits from international shipping transport earned by Hong Kong residents that arise in Latvia, which are currently subject to tax there, will not be taxed in Latvia under the agreement.

     The Hong Kong/Latvia CDTA has also incorporated an article on exchange of information, which enables Hong Kong to fulfil its international obligations on enhancing tax transparency and combating tax evasion.

     The CDTA will come into force after the completion of ratification procedures on both sides. In the case of Hong Kong, the CDTA is implemented by way of an order to be made by the Chief Executive in Council under the Inland Revenue Ordinance. The order is subject to negative vetting by the Legislative Council.

     Details of the Hong Kong/Latvia CDTA can be found on the Inland Revenue Department's website (www.ird.gov.hk/eng/pdf/Agreement_Latvia_HongKong.pdf).

Ends/Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Issued at HKT 16:21

NNNN

 

back to top

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS

新闻稿

(资料来源:政府新闻处)

香港与拉脱维亚签订税务协定

*************

  财经事务及库务局局长陈家强今日(里加时间四月十三日)代表香港特别行政区政府在里加与拉脱维亚签署全面性避免双重课税协定(全面性协定),而代表拉脱维亚政府签署协定的是财政部部长Dana Reizniece-Ozola。

  陈家强说:「这是香港与贸易伙伴签订的第三十五份全面性协定,标志着特区政府在致力扩阔全面性协定网络,包括与『一带一路』沿线经济体签署协定的有关工作,取得成果。协定阐明双方的征税权,有助投资者更有效地评估其跨境经济活动的潜在税务负担。」

  他说:「全面性协定有助推动两地的经济贸易连系,并进一步鼓励拉脱维亚和香港公司在彼此的地方营商投资。」

  在未有全面性协定的情况下,香港公司在拉脱维亚设立的常设机构所得的利润,如果源自香港,可能须在两地课税。但在新签署的协定下,这些公司在拉脱维亚所缴纳的税款,将可以根据香港的税务法例,从香港就该利润所征收的税项中抵免,从而避免双重课税。

  此外,在未有全面性协定的情况下,拉脱维亚居民在香港所赚取的收入会同时被香港和拉脱维亚征收税款。但在新签署的协定下,在香港所缴的税款,可以从拉脱维亚就该收入所征收的税项中抵免。

  在协定下,拉脱维亚向香港居民征收特许权使用费的预扣税税率(现时订有不同税率;在某些情况下可高达23%)将会降至0%(如对象为公司)或降至不多於3%(如属其他情况)。至於拉脱维亚向香港居民征收股息及利息收入的预扣税税率(现时订有不同税率;在某些情况下可高达30%),亦会降至0%(如对象为公司)或降至不多於10%(如属其他情况)。

  此外,香港的航空公司经营往来拉脱维亚的航线,只须就有关利润按香港税率缴纳香港利得税,而无须在拉脱维亚课税。至於现时香港居民在拉脱维亚就国际航运赚取的利润须在该国课税,也可根据协定获拉脱维亚豁免该等税项。

  香港与拉脱维亚的全面性协定亦包含了资料交换条文,让香港可履行提升税务透明度和打击逃税的国际义务。

  该全面性协定待双方完成有关的批准程序后开始生效。就香港而言,行政长官会同行政会议须根据《税务条例》就协定作出一项命令,有关命令须经立法会先订立后审议的程序通过。

  有关香港与拉脱维亚的全面性协定的详情载於税务局网页(www.ird.gov.hk/chi/pdf/Agreement_Latvia_HongKong.pdf)。



2016年4月13日(星期三)
香港时间16时22分