Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : news.gov.hk)

Tax concessions proposed in 2008-09 Budget

***************************************************

In his Budget delivered today (February 27), the Financial Secretary proposed a package of tax relief measures. One of the measures is a 75% reduction of earnings and profits tax in 2007/08, subject to a ceiling of $25,000 per case.

The tax reduction will benefit all taxpayers in the year, including the working population liable to salaries tax, property owners with rental income subject to property tax, and businesses and corporations liable to profits tax. Individuals electing personal assessment are also included. In total, 1.6 million taxpayers will enjoy the tax reduction. The measure will cost the Government $14.8 billion in 2008-09.

The tax reduction will be reflected in the tax bill for the coming year. Taxpayers will, as usual, file their tax returns for 2007/08 which will be issued starting in the coming April and May. Upon enactment of the relevant legislation, the Inland Revenue Department will effect the reduction in the final assessment for 2007/08. Most taxpayers will receive their tax bills, with the reduction duly reflected, starting from the third quarter in 2008. As in last year, profits tax, property tax and personal assessment bills will fall due from November this year onwards, and salaries tax in January 2009.

The proposed reduction will only be applicable to the 2007/08 final tax, but not to the provisional tax of the same year. For most taxpayers, the second instalment of their 2007/08 provisional tax will fall due in April this year, which should be paid on time despite the proposed reduction. The provisional tax paid will, in accordance with the Inland Revenue Ordinance, be applied in payment of the final tax for 2007/08 and provisional tax for 2008/09. Excess balance, if any, will be refunded.

Unlike that in the last year, this year's tax reduction is applicable to all taxpayers. Individuals with rental and/or business income will enjoy such reduction whether they elect personal assessment or not. However, the amount of the reduction they will get might be different under personal assessment. The exact position will need to be evaluated case by case. Individuals having business and rental income and eligible for personal assessment may make such election in their 2007/08 tax returns. The department will check if the personal assessment election will reduce the amount of tax payable in each case, and assess each taxpayer to his advantage.

Along with the above one-off concession, the Financial Secretary has also proposed some tax measures for 2008/09, including raising the personal allowances, widening the tax bands, lowering the standard rate and corporate profits tax rate, raising the deduction ceiling for charitable donations and providing tax deductions for capital expenditure on environment-friendly facilities.

Subject to the passing of the relevant legislation by the Legislative Council, these measures will take effect from 2008/09 onwards. The department will assess 2008/09 provisional tax based on the new allowances, tax bands and rates.

It was also proposed in the Budget that business registration fees be waived for the year 2008-09, and hotel accommodation tax be reduced to 0%. Details of the above proposals and examples of tax calculations are available on the department's website (www.ird.gov.hk) or fax hotline 2598 6001.

Ends/Wednesday, February 27, 2008
Issued at HKT 18:22

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源 : 香港政府新聞網 )

2008-09 財政預算案稅務寬減措施

**************

    在今日(二月二十七日)發表的財政預算案中,財政司司長建議多項稅務寬減措施,其中包括寬減 2007/08 年度百分之七十五的入息及利得稅,每宗個案以 25,000 元為上限。

    所有該年度的納稅人都會受惠於這項寬減,包括繳交薪俸稅的受薪人士、物業稅的業主和利得稅的營商人士及有限公司。選擇個人入息課稅的人士亦同時受惠。估計受惠納稅人數目共約 160 萬。這項措施會令政府在 2008-09 年度收入減少約 148 億元。

    這項寬減會減低來年應繳的稅款。市民只需如常填報將於四月或五月起發出的 2007/08 年度的報稅表,待有關法例通過後,稅務局便會在評稅時作出稅款寬減。大部分納稅人會在 2008 年第 3 季開始收到已反映寬減的稅單。一如往年,利得稅、物業稅和個人入息課稅納稅人會在今年 11 月開始陸續到期交稅,而薪俸稅納稅人則會在 2009 年 1 月到期交稅。

    建議的寬減只適用於 2007/08 最後評稅,並不適用於該年度的暫繳稅。大部分納稅人 2007/08 暫繳稅的第二期稅款將在今年四月份到期,須依時繳付。已繳交的暫繳稅會按《稅務條例》用以支付 2007/08 年度的應繳稅款及 2008/09 年度暫繳稅。如尚有餘額的話,才作退還。

    與去年的寬免措施不同,今次的寬減適用於所有的納稅人。賺取租金收入或營業利潤的人士,不論是否選擇個人入息課稅都會享有寬減,但所得的寬減額可能會因是否選擇個人入息課稅而有不同,情況因人而異。如符合資格,納稅人可在填寫 2007/08 年度報稅表時申請個人入息課稅,稅務局會就每宗申請驗算個人入息課稅可否減低申請人的稅款,並以對他較為有利的方式評稅。

    除了上述一次過的措施外,財政預算案亦提出一些 2008/09 年度的稅務措施,包括增加個人免稅額、擴闊稅階、降低標準稅率和公司利得稅稅率,提高慈善捐款扣除上限,和為購置環保設施提供稅務扣除等。

    如果有關法例獲立法會通過,這些新措施會在 2008/09 課稅年度生效,稅務局將會自動以新的免稅額、稅階和稅率計算 2008/09 年度暫繳稅。

    財政預算案亦同時建議寬免 2008/09 年度商業登記費,及免收酒店房   租稅。市民可瀏覽稅務局網頁(www.ird.gov.hk) 查閱上述預算案建議及計算稅款的示例,亦可經電話傳真服務 2598 6001 索取有關資料。

2008 年 2 月 27 日(星期三)
香港時間 18 時 22 分