Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Others > Charitable Donations and Tax-Exempt Charities

Charitable Donations and Tax-Exempt Charities

Individual and business donors who are chargeable to salaries tax, personal assessment or profits tax can claim deduction for the aggregate of approved charitable donation up to 35% (up to 25% for the years of assessment 2004/05 to 2007/08) of the assessable income or profits, as the case may be, in the basis period of a year of assessment. Such aggregate must not be less than $100. (Sections 16D and 26C of the Inland Revenue Ordinance)

"Approved charitable donation" means a donation of money to any charitable institution or trust of a public character, which is exempt from tax under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance, or to the Government, for charitable purposes. (Section 2 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance)

Members of the public may check the list of charitable institutions and trusts of a public character, which are exempt from tax under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance as to whether the donations can be claimed for tax deduction.

Charitable institutions and trusts of a public character may be granted tax exemption under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.  The Department has issued an information pamphlet entitled "A tax guide for charitable institutions and trusts of a public character" for reference by the public.

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

慈善捐款及獲豁免繳稅的慈善團體

應課薪俸稅、個人入息課稅或利得稅的個人或業務捐款人,可將在課稅年度的評稅基期所作出認可慈善捐款申請扣除,總額最高可達應評稅入息或利潤(視屬何種情況而定)的 35% (2004/05 至 2007/08 課稅年度上限為 25%),但捐款總額不得少於 100 元。(《稅務條例》第 16D 及 26C 條)

「認可慈善捐款」是指捐贈給根據《稅務條例》第 88 條獲豁免繳稅的屬公共性質的慈善機構或慈善信託作慈善用途的款項,或指捐贈給政府作慈善用途的款項。(《稅務條例》第 2 條)

市民可參閱根據《稅務條例》第 88 條獲豁免繳稅的慈善機構及慈善信託的名單 ,以查看他們的捐款能否在報稅時申請扣除。

屬公共性質的慈善機構及信託團體可根據《稅務條例》第 88 條獲豁免繳稅。本局已印發「屬公共性質的慈善機構及信託團體的稅務指南 」說明書以供市民參考。

如申請確認根據《稅務條例》第88條獲豁免繳稅時已提交足夠資料,而本局無需作進一步查詢,本局會儘量在4個月內作出回覆。