Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : news.gov.hk)

Tax deduction for environment-friendly facilities to be introduced

***********************************************************************

The Government will introduce accelerated tax deduction for environment-friendly facilities in an effort to encourage the business community to use them.

The proposal, among other budgetary measures, was contained in the Revenue Bill 2008 gazetted yesterday (April 25). Subject to the passing of the Bill by the Legislative Council, amendments will be made to the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO).

A government spokesman said that eligible facilities were divided into two categories - environmental protection machinery and environmental protection installations.

"Environmental protection machinery includes low noise construction machinery or plant registered under the Quality Powered Mechanical Equipment system administered by the Environmental Protection Department (EPD), as well as waste treatment, wastewater treatment and air pollution control machinery or plant in compliance with the requirements under the various ordinances administered by the EPD," he said.

"A 100% deduction under profits tax will be provided in the year of purchase for the capital expenditure incurred on the provision of eligible machinery," he said.

"Environmental protection installations will mainly be renewable energy installations, including solar photovoltaic installations, wind turbine installations and thermal waste treatment installations. Other eligible installations are the energy efficient building installations registered under the Hong Kong Energy Efficiency Registration Scheme for Buildings administered by the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department."

"A deduction under profits tax for 20% of the capital expenditure incurred on the construction of eligible installations will be provided in each of the five consecutive years starting from the year of acquisition," the spokesman said.

Eligible machinery and installations will be listed in Part 1 and Part 2 respectively of a new schedule to the IRO (Schedule 17). After the enactment of the amendments to the IRO, taxpayers may claim the deductions in their profits tax returns for 2008-09 and subsequent years of assessment.

A taxpayer may have owned and have been using environmental protection machinery or installations before implementation of the proposal, in which they may elect to have the reducing value of the machinery under the depreciation allowance regime fully deducted in 2008-09 or, in the case of installations, to have 20% of the residual value of the installations deducted in each of the five consecutive years starting from 2008-09.

Ends/Saturday, April 26, 2008
Issued at HKT 11:00

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源 : 香港政府新聞網 )

環保設施可享稅務扣除

**********

    為鼓勵商界使用環保設施,政府將為該些設施提供加快的稅務扣除。

    該項建議為二零零八至零九年度財政預算案的措施之一,並已列入在昨日(四月二十五日)刊憲的《2008 年收入條例草案》中。當局在立法會通過條例草案後,便會修訂《稅務條例》。

    政府發言人表示,合資格的設施分為兩個類別--環保機械和環保裝置。

    政府發言人說:「環保機械包括由環境保護署管理的優質機動設備管理系統下註冊的低噪音建築工程機械或工業裝置,和符合根據由環境保護署執行的各條條例所訂規定的廢物處置、廢水處理及空氣污染控制機械或工業裝置。」

    他說:「在利得稅下,為提供合資格機械而引致的資本開支,在購買年度可百分之一百扣除。」

    發言人續說:「環保裝置主要是再生能源裝置,包括太陽能光伏裝置、風力發電裝置、廢物轉化能源裝置等。其他合資格裝置,是在由機電工程署管理的香港建築物能源效益註冊計劃下註冊的能源效益建築物裝置。」

    他說:「在利得稅下,在由購置年度起的連續五年,每年可扣除為建造環保裝置而招致的資本開支的百分之二十。」

    合資格的機械和裝置,將在新加入《稅務條例》的附表 17 的第 1 部和第 2 部分別列出。在修訂《稅務條例》後,納稅人可在他們的 2008-09 及其後課稅年度的報稅表申索扣除。

    在實施有關建議前,納稅人可能已擁有和使用環保機械及裝置。在這情況下,納稅人可選擇在 2008-09 年度百分之一百扣除有關機械在折舊免稅額計劃下的遞減價值,或就有關裝置而言,在由 2008-09 年度起的連續五年,每年扣除開支剩餘額的百分之二十。

2008 年 4 月 26日(星期六)
香港時間 11 時 00 分