Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Inland Revenue Ordinance to be amended to implement two-tiered profits tax rates regime

*************************************************************************

     The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 7) Bill 2017 (Amendment Bill) will be gazetted this Friday (December 29). The Amendment Bill seeks to implement the two-tiered profits tax rates regime announced in the 2017 Policy Address.

     "It is our objective to adopt a competitive taxation system to promote economic development while maintaining a simple tax regime and low tax rates. Introducing a two-tiered profits tax rates regime will reduce the tax burden on enterprises, especially small and medium enterprises (SMEs) and startup enterprises. This will help foster a favourable business environment, drive economic growth and enhance Hong Kong's competitiveness," a government spokesman said.

     Under the proposed regime, the profits tax rate for the first $2 million of profits of corporations will be lowered to 8.25 per cent. Profits above that amount will continue to be subject to the tax rate of 16.5 per cent. For unincorporated businesses which are mostly partnerships and sole proprietorships, the two-tiered tax rates will correspondingly be set at 7.5 per cent and 15 per cent. A tax-paying corporation or unincorporated business may save up to $165,000 and $150,000 each year respectively.

     The proposed two-tiered profits tax rates regime will benefit all eligible enterprises with assessable profits irrespective of their size. To ensure that the tax benefits will target SMEs, the Government proposes to introduce restrictions to limit the application to only one enterprise nominated from among those which are connected.

     The Amendment Bill will be introduced into the Legislative Council on January 10, 2018.

 
 
Ends/Wednesday, December 27, 2017
Issued at HKT 12:00
NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處) 

修訂《稅務條例》以實施利得稅兩級制

 
  《2017年稅務(修訂)(第7號)條例草案》(《條例草案》)將於星期五(十二月二十九日)刊憲。《條例草案》旨在實施二零一七年《施政報告》中宣布的利得稅兩級制。

  政府發言人表示:「我們的目標是在維持簡單低稅制的同時,實行具競爭力的稅制以促進經濟發展。引入利得稅兩級制,可減輕企業尤其是中小企及初創公司的稅務負擔,締造有利的營商環境,推動經濟增長,以及提升香港的競爭力。」

  根據建議的利得稅兩級制,法團首200萬元的利得稅稅率將降至8.25%,其後的利潤則繼續按16.5%徵稅。至於以合夥和獨資經營為主的非法團業務,兩級的利得稅稅率相應為7.5%及15%。納稅法團或非法團業務每年分別最多可節省165,000元和150,000元稅款。

  建議的利得稅兩級制會惠及有應評稅利潤的所有合資格企業,不論其規模。為確保受惠企業以中小企為主,政府建議加入條文,限制有關連企業只可提名一家企業受惠。

  《條例草案》將於二零一八年一月十日提交立法會進行首讀。
 
 
2017年12月27日(星期三)
香港時間12時00分