Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Ad valorem stamp duty (AVD) - Proposed new AVD rate

Note: 

On 11 April 2017, the Government announced that it would introduce legislative amendments to tighten up the existing exemption arrangement for Hong Kong permanent resident (“HKPR”), to the effect that, unless specifically exempted or otherwise provided in the law, acquisition of more than 1 residential property under a single instrument executed on or after 12 April 2017 will be subject to the proposed new AVD flat rate at 15%, even if the purchaser/transferee is a HKPR who is acting on his/her own behalf and is not a beneficial owner of any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition. Please refer to the FAQs and the illustrative examples for AVD – Proposed new AVD rate: acquisition of more than 1 residential property under one single instrument for further details. 

The following FAQs are prepared based on the Government’s current proposals, which have to be put into effect through the enactment of legislation and are subject to amendment during the legislative process.

1.

Q:

Under what circumstances will a property transaction be subject to the proposed new AVD rate?

  

A:

Under the current proposal, unless specifically exempted or otherwise provided, AVD is payable at the proposed new AVD rate on an agreement for sale for the acquisition of any residential property, if the agreement is executed on or after 5 November 2016.  The proposed new AVD rate also applies to a conveyance on sale of such a property executed on or after that date, unless the related agreement for sale was executed before 5 November 2016.  However, the proposed new AVD rate does not apply to an agreement/conveyance for a residential property where the purchaser/transferee is a Hong Kong permanent resident (HKPR) acting on his/her own behalf and does not own any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition of the subject property.  Scale 2 rates will apply to such agreement/conveyance on sale.

  back to top


2.

Q:

Does the proposed new AVD rate apply to acquisition of non-residential property?

  

A:

Under the current proposal, the proposed new AVD rate does not apply to the acquisition of non-residential property.  AVD at Scale 1 rates under the existing law still apply to non-residential property transactions.

  back to top


3.

Q:

What is the proposed new AVD rate?

  

A:

The proposed new AVD rate is a flat rate of 15%, applicable irrespective of the amount or value of the consideration of the residential property concerned.

  back to top


4.

Q:

Under what circumstances will a residential property transaction not be subject to the proposed new AVD rate?

  

A:

Under the current proposal, there is no change to the circumstances under which AVD at Scale 2 rates is applicable or AVD is exempt.  Question 12 of the FAQs for AVD at Scale 1 rates and Scale 2 rates sets out the circumstances where Scale 2 rates is applicable or AVD is exempt.

  back to top


5.

Q:

Does AVD at Scale 2 rates only apply to those who acquire residential property for the first time?

  

A:

Under the current proposal, irrespective of whether the buyer/transferee is acquiring a residential property for the first time, the proposed new AVD rate does not apply to an agreement for sale or conveyance on sale in respect of a residential property where the purchaser/transferee is a HKPR acting on his/her own behalf and does not own any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition of the subject property. Scale 2 rates will apply to such agreement/conveyance.

  back to top


6.

Q:

Is there any change in the partial refund mechanism for change of residential property cases?

  

A:

The refund mechanism under the existing regime for HKPR buyer who changes his/her single residential property will be retained.  After paying AVD at the proposed new AVD rate and upon proof that the conditions for partial refund are satisfied, the applicant may seek a refund of the AVD paid in excess of that computed under Scale 2 rates.

  back to top


7.

Q:

Who will be liable to pay AVD at the proposed new AVD rate, the buyer or the seller?

  

A:

Same as the existing regime, both the buyer and the seller will be jointly and severally liable to pay AVD at the proposed new AVD rate. In other words, the buyer and the seller will have the same extent of liability, under the law, to pay AVD at the proposed new AVD rate on the chargeable instrument, irrespective of any agreement to the contrary made between them.

  back to top


8.

Q:

Under what circumstance is the buyer the only liable person to pay the AVD at the proposed new AVD rate?

  

A:

In general, all parties to the chargeable agreement for sale or conveyance on sale and the person who uses the instrument shall be jointly and severally liable, as the case may be, to the payment of AVD at the proposed new AVD rate.  However, if AVD had been charged at Scale 2 rates on an instrument based on the buyer’s declaration that he/she is a HKPR and is not a beneficial owner of any other residential property in Hong Kong on the date of acquisition of the subject property and it was subsequently found that the declaration of the buyer is not correct, only the buyer is liable for the specified amount, that is, the difference of the AVD computed at the proposed new AVD rate and Scale 2 rates.

  back to top


9.

Q:

When should AVD at the proposed new AVD rate be paid?

  

A:

Subject to enactment of the relevant legislation by the Legislative Council, a chargeable agreement for sale/conveyance on sale for the acquisition of any residential property that is executed on or after 5 November 2016 is to be stamped with AVD at the proposed new AVD rate within 30 days after the execution date.

  back to top


10.

Q:

What are the transitional stamping arrangements for residential properties transactions?

  

A:

Before the proposed legislation is enacted, instruments relating to residential properties chargeable with AVD at the proposed new AVD rate will be stamped by reference to Scale 1 rates first. The additional AVD, representing the difference between AVD payable at the proposed new AVD rate and Scale 1 rates, will have to be paid within 30 days commencing immediately after the date of gazettal of the enacted legislation.

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主页 > 常见问题  > 「从价印花税」- 建议的新「从价印花税」税率

注意:
政府于2017年4月11日宣布将会提出法例修订,以收紧现时为香港永久性居民买家而设的宽免安排。该修订建议将规定,除获特定豁免或另有法律规定外,于2017年4月12日或之后签立以买卖或转让住宅物业的文书,即使买方或承让方是代表自己行事,且在香港没有拥有任何其他住宅物业的香港永久性居民,若以一份文书取得多于1个住宅物业,均须按划一为15%的税率缴纳「从价印花税」。详情请参阅「从价印花税」的常见问题 和应用及计算方法例子 - 建议的新「从价印花税」税率: 以一份文书取得多于1个住宅物业。

请注意以下常见问题是根据政府现时的建议拟备,而这些建议须经立法落实,并可能在立法过程中有所修订。

1.

问:

在什么情况下物业交易须以建议的新「从价印花税」税率缴纳「从价印花税」?

  

答:

根据现时的建议,除非获豁免或另有规定,任何于2016年11月5日或以后签立,以购买住宅物业的买卖协议,均须以建议的新「从价印花税」税率缴纳「从价印花税」。建议的新「从价印花税」税率亦适用于在该日或以后所签立的售卖转易契(除非相关的买卖协议于2016年11月5日之前已签立)。现行条例下的例外/豁免情况,均会继续沿用。因此,如买方或承让方为代表自己行事的香港永久性居民,并于取得有关住宅物业时,在香港没有拥有任何其他住宅物业,则建议的新「从价印花税」税率不适用于有关的买卖协议或售卖转易契;第2标准税率将适用于该买卖协议或售卖转易契。

  返回页首


2.

问:

建议的新「从价印花税」税率是否适用于取得非住宅物业?

  

答:

根据现时的建议,建议的新「从价印花税」税率不适用于取得非住宅物业的交易。 现时法例下按第1标准税率计算的「从价印花税」将继续适用于非住宅物业的交易。

  返回页首


3.

问:

建议的新「从价印花税」税率〔包括特别宽减〕是多少?

  

答:

不论物业的售价或价值多少,建议的新「从价印花税」税率划一为15%。

  返回页首


4.

问:

在甚么情况下,不会以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算「从价印花税」?

  

答:

根据现时的建议,可按第2 标准税率缴纳「从价印花税」或可获豁免「从价印花税」的情况没有改变。

请参阅「从价印花税」­第1标准及第2标准税率的常见问题。第12题列出可按第2标准税率缴纳「从价印花税」及可获豁免「从价印花税」的情况。

  返回页首


5.

问:

按第2标准税率计算的「从价印花税」是否只适用于购买住宅物业的首次置业人士?

  

答:

根据现时的建议,不论买方或承让人是否首次置业,如果他/她为代表自己行事的香港永久性居民,并于取得有关住宅物业时,在香港没有拥有任何其他住宅物业,则建议的新「从价印花税」税率不适用于有关的买卖协议或售卖转易契;第2标准税率仍适用于该买卖协议或售卖转易契。

  返回页首


6.

问:

转换住宅物业可获退还部分税款的机制是否有任何变更?

  

答:

现时为转换唯一住宅物业的香港永久性居民买家而设的退还部分税款的机制没有改变。

当某人以建议的新「从价印花税」税率缴付「从价印花税」后,若他/她可提交证明文件,证实符合可获退还部分税款的条件,他/她可以申请退还部分的「从价印花税」〔相当于已缴付的「从价印花税」与按第2标准税率计算的「从价印花税」的差额〕。

  返回页首


7.

问:

谁人须缴付以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算的「从价印花税」,买方或卖方?

  

答:

与现有的机制相同,买卖双方须共同及个别负上以建议的新「从价印花税」税率缴纳「从价印花税」的法律责任。换言之,不论买卖双方是否另订不同的协议,在法律上,买卖双方有相同的责任就可予征收印花税的文书缴纳以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算的「从价印花税」。

  返回页首


8.

问:

在甚么情况下只有买方才须负上缴纳以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算的「从价印花税」的法律责任?

  

答:

一般情况下,可予征收印花税的买卖协议或售卖转易契的签立人及文书使用者(视乎情况而定)须共同及个别负上缴纳以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算的「从价印花税」的法律责任。然而,如果「从价印花税」是基于买方声明他/她是代表自己行事的香港永久性居民,而且在购入住宅物业时并非其他香港住宅物业的实益拥有人,而以第2标准税率征收,后来发现买方的声明不正确,在这情况下,只有买方须负上缴纳指定款项(即以建议的新「从价印花税」税率与第2标准税率计算的「从价印花税」之间的差额)的法律责任。

  返回页首


9.

问:

以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算的「从价印花税」须于何时缴交?

  

答:

待相关法例获立法会通过,任何于2016年11月5日或以后签立的可予征收印花税的住宅物业买卖协议/售卖转易契,须在买卖协议/转易契签立日期后30天内以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算的「从价印花税」加盖印花。

  返回页首


10.

问:

住宅物业交易的过渡期加盖印花安排为何?

  

答:

在有关建议的法例通过前,所有须征收以建议的新「从价印花税」税率计算的「从价印花税」的住宅物业交易文书,须按第1标准税率加盖印花,少缴付的「从价印花税」〔即以建议的新「从价印花税」与第1标准税率所计算出的差额〕须在修订条例刊宪之后的30天内缴交。

返回页首