Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Home Loan Interest

 

Extending the number of years of home loan interest deduction from 10 years of assessment to 15 years of assessment with effect from the year of assessment 2012/13

1.

Q:

The number of years of deduction of home loan interest is extended from 10 years of assessment to 15 years of assessment with effect from the year of assessment 2012/13. Will the extension have any retrospective effect? 

A:

The extension of the number of years of deduction is not applicable to years of assessment prior to the year of assessment 2012/13. In other words, taxpayers who had already got the deduction of home loan interest for 10 years of assessment during the years of assessment from 1998/99 to 2011/12 cannot get further deduction of home loan interest for any year during the same period. He can only claim up to a total of 5 additional years of deduction from the year of assessment 2012/13 onwards.

  back to top


2.

Q:

Does the "15 years entitlement" of home loan interest deduction refer to 15 years of assessment or 180 months?

A:

The "15 years of entitlement" means 15 years of assessment as chosen by the taxpayer. The 15 years may be continuous or otherwise. For example: Mr. A paid home loan interest of $80,000 during the period 1.11.2016 to 31.3.2017. He claims the deduction in year of assessment 2016/17. Although he only claims deduction of 5 months' interest, he is regarded as having been allowed the deduction for a year of assessment.

  back to top


 

Taxpayer must be the registered owner of the dwelling

3.

Q:

I have signed a Provisional Sales & Purchase Agreement with the developer to acquire a property for my own dwelling. The developer granted me mortgage loan. Before the full repayment of the mortgage loan, the developer remained as the registered owner of the property. Can I claim for home loan interest deduction of the interest paid on the mortgage loan?

A:

The person claiming for home loan interest deduction must be the registered owner of the dwelling as shown in the record of the Land Registry. Thus, you are not qualified for the deduction.

  back to top


 

Jointly owned or Co-owned dwelling

4.

Q:

I borrowed a bank loan to pay for the price of a dwelling which I partly own. I paid all the monthly interest myself. The dwelling is exclusively used as my residence. Can I claim full deduction of the interest?

A:

You cannot claim deduction of the full amount of the interest paid. Since you own the dwelling as one of the joint owners or tenants in common, the amount of interest deductible is restricted to that portion of the total interest proportional to the number of joint tenants/ share of your ownership. The amount allowable for deduction should not exceed the ceiling prescribed in the Inland Revenue Ordinance as proportionately reduced.

For example: You are one of the two joint owners or tenants in common and you paid total bank interest of $120,000 during the period 1.4.2016 to 31.3.2017. Your share of the interest after proportionate reduction is $60,000. However, allowable home loan deduction for the year of assessment 2016/17 should be restricted to $50,000, that is, half of the ceiling prescribed in the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

  back to top


 

Dwelling owned by a couple as joint tenants and interest wholly paid by the husband

5.

Q:

The husband borrowed a bank loan to pay for the price of a family dwelling which is held by the husband and wife as joint tenants. The wife did not borrow any bank loan. The husband paid all the interest incurred. Can the husband claim the full amount of interest paid?

A:

The husband can only claim half of the interest paid since the deduction is restricted to the portion of interest proportional to the number of joint tenants. The amount allowable for deduction will be restricted to half of the ceiling prescribed in the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

The wife cannot claim any home loan interest deduction since she has not borrowed any bank loan.

  back to top


 

Dwelling owned by a limited company

6.

Q:

If a person acquires a dwelling in the name of a limited company and uses it as his place of residence, is he eligible to claim deduction of the home loan interest paid on a loan for acquisition of the dwelling?

A:

Not eligible. Home loan interest paid is deductible from a person's assessable income under salaries tax or from a person's total income under personal assessment. Therefore the claimant must be an individual person, and the property must be purchased in his own name and used as his place of residence.

  back to top


 

Dwelling owned by tenants in common and interest wholly paid by one of them

7.

Q:

Mr A and Mr B are tenants in common in the proportion of 1/4 and 3/4. The dwelling is exclusively used as their residence. Interest is wholly paid by Mr A. What amount of home loan interest deduction can each of them claim?

A:

Based on his share of ownership, Mr A can claim deduction for 1/4 of the total interest paid. The amount allowable for deduction will be restricted to 1/4 of the ceiling prescribed in the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

Mr B cannot claim any home loan interest deduction since he has not paid any interest.

  back to top


 

Dwelling owned by the parents and the monthly instalments paid by the children

8.

Q:

The dwelling is owned by the parents and wholly used by the parents and their children as their place of residence. The monthly instalments of the loan on acquisition of the dwelling are paid by the children. Are the children eligible to claim deduction of the home loan interest paid?

A:

Not eligible. The person eligible to claim deduction of home loan interest is the legal owner of the dwelling as shown in the records of the Land Registry. Although the children are paying the monthly instalments and use the dwelling as their place of residence, they are not the legal owners and are not qualified to claim the deduction.

  back to top


 

A couple each owns a dwelling separately

9.

Q:

Where a couple each owns a dwelling separately, are they entitled to claim deduction of loan interest paid on acquisition of their dwellings separately?

A:

Only one of them is entitled to claim deduction of interest paid in respect of the dwelling which they regard as their principal place of residence.

  back to top


 

Two dwellings used as place of residence

10.

Q:

If a taxpayer owns two dwellings both of which are used as his place of residence, is he entitled to deduction of loan interest paid for both dwellings?

A:

The taxpayer is not entitled to deduction of interest paid on both dwellings. He will only be allowed deduction of interest paid for acquisition of the dwelling which he has actually used as his principal place of residence.

  back to top


 

Can a separated couple each claim deduction on their respective dwelling separately

11.

Q:

If a husband and wife are separated and divorce proceedings are in progress, can they each claim deduction of loan interest paid on their respective dwelling separately?

A:

The Inland Revenue Department will accept that each of them has different place of residence because the separation is likely to be permanent. Therefore, provided that all other conditions are satisfied, they are each eligible to claim deduction of loan interest paid on their respective dwelling. (Similarly, in considering the claim for home loan interest deduction, the Inland Revenue Department will accept that the couple may each have different place of residence for the period prior to their marriage.)

  back to top


 

Dwelling situated outside Hong Kong

12.

Q:

Is interest paid on loan for acquisition of a dwelling situated outside Hong Kong tax deductible?

A:

Not deductible. The definition of 'dwelling' in the Inland Revenue Ordinance is a rateable unit under the Rating Ordinance, that is, the dwelling must be situated in Hong Kong.

  back to top


 

Non-resident of Hong Kong

13.

Q:

Is a non-resident of Hong Kong eligible to claim deduction of home loan interest?

A:

A non-resident is eligible to claim the deduction under salaries tax provided he satisfies all the criteria laid down in the Inland Revenue Ordinance relating to home loan interest deduction. However, in the case of a claim under personal assessment, the claimant must in the first instance be a person eligible to elect personal assessment, which means he must either be a permanent or temporary resident in Hong Kong.

  back to top


 

Taxpayer paying tax at standard rate

14.

Q:

Is a person who is paying tax at standard rate eligible to claim home loan interest deduction?

A:

Home loan interest deduction is a 'concessionary deduction', which means the loan interest paid, together with any other deductions as applicable, will be deducted from a person's assessable income under salaries tax, or from his total income under personal assessment. The balance will then be subject to progressive tax rates (after deducting personal allowances) or standard tax rate. That is to say, a person taxed at standard rate is also eligible to claim the home loan interest deduction.

  back to top


 

Government's Home Finance Scheme, Home Purchase Scheme or Housing Loan Scheme

15.

Q:

A civil servant who joins the Government's Home Finance Scheme, Home Purchase Scheme or Housing Loan Scheme obtains a downpayment loan from the Government in addition to the mortgage loan from the bank. Is the interest paid on these 2 loans tax deductible?

A:

(i) Mortgage Loan from the bank
If the mortgage loan is used for acquisition of his dwelling, the loan interest paid thereon is tax deductible.

(ii) Downpayment Loan from the Government
If the loan is used for acquisition of his dwelling and is secured by a mortgage/charge over the dwelling or over any other property in Hong Kong (for example, a second charge on the property in favour of the Financial Secretary Incorporated), the loan interest paid thereon is tax deductible - Section 26E(9) [definition of "home loan"].

  back to top


 

'Sandwich Class Housing Loan Scheme' and 'Home Starter Loan Scheme'

16.

Q:

Is interest paid for acquisition of a dwelling under the 'Sandwich Class Housing Loan Scheme' and 'Home Starter Loan Scheme' tax deductible?

A:

Provided all the conditions mentioned in Eligibility For Deduction are satisfied, home loan interest paid on the above schemes also qualifies for tax deduction.

  back to top


 

A second charge, a re-mortgaged loan or an overdraft account

17.

Q:

Is home loan interest paid on a second charge, a re-mortgaged loan or an overdraft account tax deductible?

A:

The point to consider is whether the loan obtained is directly applied for acquisition of the claimant's dwelling. For example:

(i) The claimant, in addition to obtaining a bank mortgage loan on 70% of the cost of his dwelling, is further granted a second mortgage loan by the developer of the property, the developer being one approved by the Commissioner of Inland Revenue under s.26E(9) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance. In such case, subject to the maximum limit under sections 26E(2)(a)(ii) and 26E(2)(c), interest paid on both loans are deductible for tax purposes.

(ii) If the claimant re-mortgaged his property and used the borrowed money to purchase shares, the interest paid on the re-mortgaged loan is not tax deductible. However, if the re-mortgaged loan was used to repay the original loan which was executed for acquisition of his dwelling so as to enjoy a lower interest rate, the portion of loan interest paid, pro-rata to the outstanding balance of the original loan, is tax deductible.

(iii) Home loan interest paid on bank overdraft account is deductible if the money borrowed is directly used for acquisition of his dwelling and the overdraft facility is secured by a mortgage/charge over the dwelling or any other property in Hong Kong. If the bank overdraft account is used partly for purposes other than for acquisition of the dwelling, the amount of deductible home loan interest would be reduced accordingly.

  back to top


 

Repay the monthly instalments by the 'housing allowance' provided by his employer

18.

Q:

A taxpayer acquires a dwelling for his residence and finances the purchase by a mortgage loan. If he uses the 'housing allowance' provided by his employer to repay the monthly instalments, is he entitled to claim deduction of the home loan interest?

A:

In normal circumstances, the taxpayer is entitled to the deduction of the home loan interest paid by him. However, if he lets his dwelling to his employer, who then provides it back to him as quarters (instead of giving him the 'housing allowance'), the taxpayer is not entitled to home loan interest deduction because the property then becomes a let property. However, he may claim deduction for interest payments to produce rental income from properties in Part 7.2 of BIR60.

  back to top


 

'Penalty interest' paid to bank for early redemption

19.

Q:

Is the 'penalty interest' paid to bank for early redemption of the dwelling deductible?

A:

Not deductible. This is a penalty levied by the bank. It is not loan interest.

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主页 > 常见问题  > 居所贷款利息

 

由2012/13课税年度起,扣除居所贷款利息的年期由10个课税年度延长至15个课税年度

1.

问:

由2012/13课税年度起,申请居所贷款利息扣除的年期由10个课税年度延长至15个课税年度。这项延长有没有追溯效力?

答:

这项延长居所贷款利息扣除的年期不适用于较2012/13课税年度为早的课税年度。换句话说,如果纳税人已在1998/99至2011/12课税年度期间用毕10年的居所贷款利息扣除,他不能因扣除年期延长而在此期间的任何年度再获得居所贷款利息扣除。他只可以在2012/13课税年度或之后申索最多合共5个新增课税年度的居所贷款利息扣除。

  返回页首


2.

问:

有 关扣除居所贷款利息的「15年权利期」是否指15个课税年度或180个月?

答:

「15年权利期」是纳税人所选择的15个课税年度。该15个年度可以是连续或不连续的。举例说:甲先生于2016年11月1日至2017年3月31日期间缴付居所贷款利息$80,000,他就2016/17课税年度申索利息扣除。虽然他只申索扣除5个月的利息,但是他会被视为已获容许一个课税年度的扣除。

  返回页首


 

申请人必须为住宅在土地注册处的注册业主

3.

问:

我与发展商签署临时买卖合约,购置一住宅单位作自住,发展商给我提供按揭,于供款期间,发展商仍为该物业于土地注册处的注册业主。我可否为供款利息申索居所贷款利息扣除?

答:

《税务条例》规定,申索居所贷款利息扣除的纳税人须为有关物业于土地注册处登记的注册业主。因此,你并不符合申索的资格。

  返回页首


 

拥有联权或分权拥有的住宅

4.

问:

本人的自住物业是由本人向银行贷款购买,而本人只拥有部分业权。楼价由该贷款支付,而本人则每月支付所有的利息。本人能否就全数已付的利息申索扣除?

答:

你不能申索扣除全数的利息支出。由于你是以联权或分权共有人身分拥有该住宅,可扣除的已缴付利息要按照联权共有人的人数 / 拥有的业权比例扣减。可扣除的利息款额不可超过按比例扣减后订载于《税务条例》的上限。

举例说:你和另一人以联权或分权共有人身分拥有一居所的业权。你于2016年4月1日至2017年3月31日期间支付全数$120,000的银行利息。按照联权共有人的人数 / 业权比例计算,你所占的已缴付利息应为$60,000。但是你就2016/17课税年度可扣除的居所贷款利息款额不可超过《税务条例》所订上限的一半,即$50,000。

  返回页首


 

夫妇二人是住宅的联权共有人并由丈夫缴付全部贷款利息

5.

问:

夫妇二人是住宅的联权共有人,丈夫以贷款购买该住宅作他们的居所,并由他支付全部贷款利息。而妻子则没有贷款购买该物业。丈夫是否可以申索扣除全数他支付的利息?

答:

须按照联权共有人的人数计算丈夫可获扣除的款额,即已支付利息的一半。但不可超过《税务条例》所订上限的一半。

由于妻子没有贷款购买物业,她不获扣除任何居所贷款利息。

  返回页首


 

以有限公司的名义持有住宅

6.

问:

如某人以有限公司的名义持有一所住宅,并用作他的居住地方,他是否符合资格就用作购置该住宅的贷款所缴付的居所贷款利息申索扣除?

答:

不符合资格。任何人士所缴付的居所贷款利息,只可从应课薪俸税入息或从个人入息课税入息总额中扣除。因此,申索人必须是一名个人,有关物业必须以其个人名义购买及用作其居住地方。

  返回页首


 

住宅由分权共有人持有并由其中一人缴付全部贷款利息

7.

问:

甲先生及乙先生为其住宅的分权共有人,分别拥有1/4及3/4的业权。该物业全部用作他们的居所。甲先生缴付全部贷款利息。他们每人可申索扣除多少居所贷款利息款额?

答:

须按照甲先生拥有的1/4业权比例计算他可获扣除的款额,即已支付利息的1/4。但不可超过《税务条例》所订上限的1/4。

由于乙先生没有支付任何利息,他不获扣除任何居所贷款利息。

  返回页首


 

住宅由父母拥有但由子女支付按揭供款

8.

问:

有关住宅由父母拥有,并由父母及其子女全部用作他们的居住地方。购买该住宅的贷款的每月分期供款由子女支付。子女是否符合资格申索扣除所缴付的居所贷款利息?

答:

不符合资格。申索居所贷款利息扣除的人士必须是该住宅的合法业主,而有关物业的业权是以土地注册处拥有人纪录为准。虽然子女正在支付每月的分期供款,并将该住宅用作他们的居住地方,但是由于他们并非合法业主,故并不符合资格申索扣除。

  返回页首


 

夫妇二人各自拥有一所住宅

9.

问:

如夫妇二人各拥有一所住宅,他们能否就各自购买的住宅分别申索扣除所缴付的贷款利息?

答:

不可以。只有他们其中一人具有资格就他们共同视为主要居住地方的住宅申索扣除。

  返回页首


 

两所住宅均用作居所

10.

问:

如纳税人拥有两所住宅,而两者均用作其居住地方,他是否可获扣除就该两所住宅缴付的贷款利息?

答:

不可以。他只能获扣除就购买他实际用作为主要居住地方的住宅而缴付的利息。

  返回页首


 

分居夫妇能否就各自的住宅分别申索扣除

11.

问:

如夫妇二人已分居,并正在办理离婚手续,他们能否就各自的住宅分别申索扣除所缴付的贷款利息?

答:

由于他们很有可能永久分开,故税务局将接纳他们各有不同的居住地方。因此,只要符合其他条件,他们各人均可就各自的住宅申索扣除所缴付的贷款利息。(同样地,税务局在考虑居所贷款利息扣除的申索时,会接纳一对已婚人士在婚前各有不同的居住地方。)

  返回页首


 

香港以外地区的住宅

12.

问:

为购买香港以外地区的住宅而缴付的贷款利息是否可在计算税项时获得扣除?

答:

不可以获得扣除。《税务条例》内「住宅」一词的定义是指根据《差饷条例》应课差饷的单位,即该住宅必须位于香港。

  返回页首


 

非香港居民

13.

问:

非香港居民是否符合资格申索扣除居所贷款利息?

答:

非居民只要符合《税务条例》有关居所贷款利息扣除所订明的所有条件,便可在薪俸税项下申索扣除。不过,如欲在个人入息课税项下提出申索,申索人必须为合资格选择以个人入息课税方式评税的人士,即他必须是香港的永久性或临时居民。

  返回页首


 

以标准税率缴税的纳税人

14.

问:

如某人以标准税率缴税,他是否符合资格申索居所贷款利息扣除?

答:

居所贷款利息是一项「特惠扣除」,意指所缴付的贷款利息,连同任何其他可享有的扣除,会从有关人士在薪俸税项下的应予评税的入息或在个人入息课税项下的入息总额(如他选择以个人入息课税方式评税)中扣除。余款则以累进税率(在扣除个人免税额后)或标准税率征税,亦即是说,如某人以标准税率缴税,他亦符合资格申索居所贷款利息扣除。

  返回页首


 

政府的居所资助计划、自置居所资助计划或购屋贷款计划

15.

问:

某公务员参加政府的居所资助计划、自置居所资助计划或购屋贷款计划,除了向银行借取按揭贷款外,并向政府取得首期贷款。就该两笔贷款所缴付的利息是否可在计算税项时获得扣除?

答:

(i) 银行的按揭贷款

如有关按揭贷款是用于购买其住宅,所缴付的贷款利息可在计算税项时获得扣除。

(ii) 政府的首期贷款

如有关贷款是用于购买其住宅,并以该住宅或任何其他香港财产作按揭/押记(例如以财政司立案法团为受惠人就该物业所作的第二押记)取得,所缴付的贷款利息可在计算税项时获得扣除。

  返回页首


 

「夹心阶层住屋贷款计划」及「首次置业贷款计划」

16.

问:

按「夹心阶层住屋贷款计划」及「首次置业贷款计划」购置住宅所缴付的利息是否可在计算税项时获得扣除?

答:

只要符合所须符合资格列出的所有条件,按上述计划缴付的居所贷款利息亦可在计算税项时获得扣除。

  返回页首


 

第二按揭、重新按揭或透支帐户

17.

问:

就第二按揭、重新按揭或透支帐户所缴付的居所贷款利息是否可在计算税项时获得扣除?

答:

须考虑的问题是所取得的贷款是否直接用于购买其住宅。举例说:

(i) 申索人除了获得相当于其住宅购入价70%的银行按揭贷款外,再自物业发展商获取第二按揭贷款,而该发展商已根据《税务条例》第26E(9)条获得税务局局长所认可。在此情况下,就该两笔贷款所缴付的利息均可在计算税项时获得扣除,但最高扣除额不可超过26E(2)(a)(ii)和26E(2)(c)条订明的上限。

(ii) 如申索人将其物业重新按揭,并将借取的款项用于投资证券,他就该笔重新按揭贷款所缴付的利息不可在计算税项时获得扣除。不过,如该笔重新按揭贷款是用作付还原来为购买其住宅而取得的贷款,以便享有较低的利率,则他所缴付的贷款利息可参照原来贷款尚欠的余数按比例在计算税项时获得扣除。

(iii) 如所借取的款项是直接用于购买其住宅,并以该住宅或任何其他香港财产作按揭或押记,就银行透支帐户缴付的居所贷款利息可在计算税项时获得扣除。若该透支帐户有部分用作其他用途,在计算其扣除额时,其所缴付的居所贷款利息须按比例予以减少。

  返回页首


 

以雇主提供的「房屋津贴」偿还自住物业的按揭供款

18.

问:

某纳税人以按揭贷款购买一所住宅作居住用途。如他利用雇主提供的「房屋津贴」偿还每月分期供款,他是否有权就居所贷款利息申索扣除?

答:

在一般情况下,该纳税人可获得扣除他所缴付的居所贷款利息。不过,如他将其住宅出租予雇主,而雇主将之当作他的宿舍(以代替发给他「房屋津贴」),该纳税人则不可享有居所贷款利息扣除,原因是有关物业已变为出租物业。但是,该纳税人可以在个别人士报税表的7.2部内申索扣减因有关租金收入而需付出的利息。

  返回页首


 

提早赎回住宅而向银行缴付的「罚息」

19.

问:

为了提早赎回住宅而向银行缴付的「罚息」是否可在计算税项时获得扣除?

答:

不可获得扣除。这是银行征收的罚款,并非贷款利息。

返回页首