Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Public Forms and Pamphlets > Pamphlets > A Simple Guide on The Territorial Source Principle of Taxation

A Simple Guide on The Territorial Source Principle of Taxation

Foreword

Hong Kong adopts a territorial source principle of taxation. Only profits which have a source in Hong Kong are taxable here. Profits sourced elsewhere are not subject to Hong Kong Profits Tax. The principle itself is very clear but its application in particular cases can be, at times, contentious. To clarify the operation of the principle, we have prepared this simple guide on the territorial source principle of taxation. It gives a brief explanation of how the principle operates and provides simple examples for illustrative purposes of the tests applied to different types of businesses. If you wish to explore the subject in greater depth, we recommend that you consult your professional advisers.

Inland Revenue Department
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government
March 2011

  back to top


Contents


Hong Kong's basis of taxation on profits from businesses 

Hong Kong adopts a territorial basis for taxing profits derived from a trade, profession, or business carried on in Hong Kong. Profits Tax is only charged on profits which arise in or are derived from Hong Kong. In simple terms this means that a person who carries on a business in Hong Kong but derives profits from another place is not required to pay tax in Hong Kong on those profits.

Many places levy tax on a different basis. Unlike Hong Kong, they tax the world-wide profits of a business, including profits derived from an offshore source.

  back to top


Pre-conditions for liability to Profits Tax 

Under the Inland Revenue Ordinance, a person is chargeable to Profits Tax under the following conditions -

  • he carries on a trade, profession or business in Hong Kong;
  • the trade, profession or business derives profits; and
  • the profits arise in or are derived from Hong Kong.

The first two conditions are straightforward. Some elaboration is necessary for the third. Let us have a brief look at the basic principles for determining the source of profits.

  back to top


Basic principles for determining the source of profits 

The Courts have over the years considered the subject of the source of profits. The following principles have emerged from authoritative court decisions -

Matter of fact
The question of locality of profits is a hard, practical matter of fact. No universal rule can apply to every scenario. Whether profits arise in or are derived from Hong Kong depends on the nature of the profits and of the transactions which give rise to such profits.

The operations test
The broad guiding principle is that one looks to see what the taxpayer has done to earn the profits in question and where he has done it. In other words, the proper approach is to identify the operations which produced the relevant profits and ascertain where those operations took place. The source of profits must be attributed to the operations of the taxpayer which produce them and not to the operations of other members of the taxpayer's group.

Antecedent or incidental activities
The relevant operations do not comprise the whole of the taxpayer's activities. The focus is on establishing the geographical location of the taxpayer's profit-producing transactions as distinct from activities antecedent or incidental to those transactions.

Place where decision is made
The place where the day-to-day investment/business decisions take place is only one factor which has to be taken into account in determining the source of profits. It is not usually the deciding factor.

Gross profits from transactions
The distinction between Hong Kong profits and offshore profits is made by reference to the gross profits arising from individual transactions.

Business presence overseas
A business may maintain a presence overseas which earns profits outside Hong Kong but the absence of a business presence overseas does not, of itself, mean that all the profits of a Hong Kong business invariably arise in or are derived from Hong Kong. However, in the vast majority of cases where the principal place of business is located in Hong Kong and there is no business presence overseas, profits earned by that business are likely to be chargeable to Profits Tax in Hong Kong.

  back to top


Profits of trading firms 

Contracts for purchase and sale 
The factor that determines the locality of profits from trading in goods and commodities is generally the place where the contracts for purchase and sale are effected. "Effected" does not only mean that the contracts are legally executed. It also covers the negotiation, conclusion and execution of the terms of the contracts.

Following the Court of Appeal judgement (Magna Industrial Co. Ltd v CIR) it is now clear that a wider approach is necessary. The proper way is to look at all the relevant operations carried out to earn the profits, not simply the purchase and sale of the goods.

In Magna Industrial Co. Ltd. v CIR, the Court of Appeal noted that: 
"Obviously the question where the goods were purchased and sold is important. But there are other questions: For example: How were the goods procured and stored? How were the sales solicited? How were the orders processed? How were the goods shipped? How was the financing arranged? How was payment effected?"

How relevant facts are considered 
In considering the relevant facts the nature and quality of the activities matter more than their quantity. It is the cause and effect of such activities on the profits that is the deciding factor.

Irrelevant facts 
Facts not directly related to the trading activities are considered irrelevant in determining the locality of profits. For example, renting office premises, recruiting general staff, setting up office, etc.

General practice

  • Where the contracts of purchase and sale are effected in Hong Kong, the profits are taxable here.
  • Where the contracts of purchase and sale are effected outside Hong Kong, the profits are not taxable here.
  • Where either the contract of purchase or the contract of sale is effected in Hong Kong, the initial presumption is that the profits are taxable here. However, other relevant facts will have to be examined to determine the source of profits.
  • Where the sale is made to a Hong Kong customer (including the Hong Kong buying office of an overseas customer), the sale contract will usually be taken as having been effected in Hong Kong.
  • Where the effecting of the purchase and sale contracts does not require travelling outside Hong Kong but is carried out in Hong Kong by use of telephone, or other electronic means including the Internet, the contracts will be considered as having been effected in Hong Kong.
  • Trading profits are regarded as being either wholly taxable or wholly non-taxable here. Apportionment is not appropriate.

  back to top


Profits of manufacturing businesses 

The place of manufacture
The source of profits for a manufacturing business is the place where the goods are manufactured. The profits arising from the sale of goods manufactured in Hong Kong are fully taxable here. Where goods are manufactured partly in Hong Kong and partly outside Hong Kong, that part of the profits which relates to the manufacture of goods outside Hong Kong will not be regarded as arising in Hong Kong. The place where the manufactured goods are sold is not relevant.

Manufacturing under a processing or assembling arrangement with an entity in the Mainland of China 
In the Mainland, two types of processing trade normally involve Hong Kong companies: contract processing and import processing.

Contract processing 
In contract processing, the document that governs the contractual relationship among the parties is the processing agreement. It sets out the rights and responsibilities of the Hong Kong company and the Mainland processing enterprise. The Hong Kong company is responsible for the supply of raw materials and machinery without consideration and to provide technical know-how while the Mainland processing enterprise is responsible for the provision of factory premises, utilities and labour force. In return for the processing service, the Hong Kong company pays a subcontracting charges to the Mainland enterprise. The legal title to the raw materials and finished goods remains with the Hong Kong company.

Strictly speaking, the Mainland processing enterprise is a separate sub-contractor distinct from the Hong Kong company and the question of apportionment in respect of the latter's profits should not arise. In the Department's view, the Hong Kong company's operations in the Mainland complement its operations in Hong Kong. Recognising the operations of the Hong Kong company in the Mainland, an apportionment of profits on a 50:50 basis is usually accepted.

Import processing
In import processing, the manufacturing operations are carried out by a foreign investment enterprise (FIE) incorporated in the Mainland and related to the Hong Kong company. The Hong Kong company sells raw materials to the FIE and buys back the finished goods from the FIE. The Hong Kong company engages in the trading of raw materials and finished goods whilst the FIE manufactures the finished goods. The legal title to the raw materials and the finished goods passes to/from the FIE.

The Departments holds the view that the profits which accrued to the Hong Kong company from "trading transactions" carried out in Hong Kong cannot be attributed to the manufacturing operations of the FIE carrying on business in the Mainland. The source of the trading profits must be attributed to the operations of the Hong Kong company which produced them. Apportionment of profits is not appropriate.

Manufacturing by an independent sub-contractor in the Mainland of China
In cases where the assembly work is contracted to various contractors in the Mainland, the jobs are numerous, small in value and of short duration and the Hong Kong company has minimal involvement in the assembly work, then the manufacturing in the Mainland is not regarded as having been carried out by the Hong Kong company. Given that the Hong Kong company does not carry out any manufacturing operations outside Hong Kong, its profits should be fully chargeable to profits tax without any apportionment.

  back to top


Sale or purchase commissions 

The place where service is performed 
When a business earns commission by securing buyers for products or by securing suppliers of products required by customers, the activity which gives rise to the commission income is the arrangement of the business to be transacted between the principals. The source of the income is the place where the activities of the commission agent are performed. If such activities are performed in Hong Kong, the income has a source in Hong Kong.

Factors such as the place where the principals are located, how they are identified by the commission agent, and the place where incidental activities are performed prior or subsequent to the earning of the commission are not generally relevant in determining the source of the commission income.

In the event that the commission income is earned by a person carrying on a business in Hong Kong but the activities which give rise to the commission are performed entirely outside Hong Kong, the commission is not taxable in Hong Kong.

  back to top


Treatment of other profits 

Some examples of the tests used to determine the source of the main types of other business profits are as follows -


Profits
 

Tax liability in Hong Kong
 

Rental income from real property
 

Taxable if the property is located in Hong Kong
 

Profits derived by an owner from the sale of real property
 

Taxable if the property is located in Hong Kong
 

Profits from the purchase and sale of listed shares and other listed securities
 

Taxable if the stock exchange where the shares or securities in question are traded is located in Hong Kong

Where the purchase and sale took place over-the-counter, taxable where the contracts of purchase and sale are effected in Hong Kong
 

Profits accruing to a business (other than a financial institution) from the purchase and sale of unlisted shares and other unlisted securities
 

Taxable where the contracts of purchase and sale are effected in Hong Kong
 

Service fee income
 

Taxable if the services which give rise to the payment of the fees are performed in Hong Kong
 

Royalties received by a business
 

Taxable if the licence or right of use is acquired and granted in Hong Kong
 

Royalties on intellectual property received from Hong Kong by a non-resident
 

Taxable if the intellectual property is used in Hong Kong

For royalties received or accrued on or after 25 June 2004, if the intellectual property is used outside Hong Kong, taxable if the royalty payment is deductible in ascertaining the assessable profits of the payer under profits tax
 

Interest accruing to a business (other than a financial institution)
 

Taxable if the lender provides the funds in Hong Kong to the borrower
 

  back to top


Apportionment of profits and expenses 

For manufacturing profits or service fee income involving substantial activities, both inside and outside Hong Kong, apportionment of profits is appropriate. In contract processing cases, a 50:50 basis of apportionment is applied as the norm, in view of the contractual conditions imposed on the parties to the arrangement. For other cases where apportionment is appropriate, the basis applied will depend on the facts of the case.

When apportionment is applied, it may lead to the question of how indirect expenses are to be allocated. Briefly speaking, when these expenses contribute to both Hong Kong and offshore profits they should be apportioned on the basis of the ratio that Hong Kong and offshore profits bear to total profits.

  back to top


Advance rulings 

To provide certainty in the operation of the territorial source principle, the Inland Revenue Department has been providing advance rulings on the source of profits of a business for Profits Tax purposes. The service is subject to the payment of a fee. Further details are contained in Departmental Interpretation and Practice Notes No. 31 ("Advance Rulings").

  back to top


These notes have no binding force and do not affect a person's right of objection or appeal to the Commissioner of Inland Revenue, the Board of Review (Inland Revenue) or the Courts.

Issued by the Inland Revenue Department
© Copyright 2011

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 公用表格及小册子 > 小册子 > 地域来源征税原则简介

地域来源征税原则简介

序言

香港采用地域来源原则征税,即只有源自香港的利润才须在香港课税,而源自其他地方的利润则不须在香港缴纳利得税。这项原则本身非常清晰明确,但在实际应用上,有时可能会引起争议。为清楚说明如何运用这项原则征税,我们拟备了这本《地域来源征税原则简介》。这简介扼要解释如何运用这项原则,并附以简单例子,说明对不同的业务实施该项原则时所采用的验证准则。如欲更深入探讨这个问题,我们建议你征询专业顾问的意见。

香港特别行政区政府
税务局
2011 年 3 月

  返回页首


目录

  返回页首


香港对营商利润征税的准则

香港采用地域来源原则,向在香港经营任何行业、专业或业务所得的利润征税。只有于香港产生或得自香港的利润,才须予以征收利得税。简而言之,任何人在香港营商,但其利润是从香港以外的地方所获得,则不须在香港就有关利润缴税。

世界上有很多地方采用不同的征税准则,与香港采用的地域来源原则不同。这些地区对在当地营商而从全球所赚取的利润,包括得自海外的利润,都予以征税。

  返回页首


须缴纳利得税的先决条件

根据《税务条例》,符合下述条件的人士,均须缴纳香港利得税:

  • 在香港经营任何行业、专业或业务;
  • 从该行业、专业或业务获得利润;以及
  • 有关利润于香港产生或得自香港。

首两项条件简单明确,第三项条件则需加以阐释。现在让我们探讨确定利润来源地的基本原则。

  返回页首


确定利润来源地的基本原则

多年来,法院都有对确定利润来源地这个问题作出判决。以下各项原则是根据法院具权威性的判决而确立的:

事实问题
确定利润的来源地须根据有关个案的事实而决定,所以并无一个可以概括适用于各种不同情况的通则。利润是否于香港产生或得自香港,是由利润的性质及产生有关利润的交易的性质所决定。

作业验证法
确定利润来源地的概括指导原则,是查明纳税人从事赚取有关利润的活动,以及该纳税人从事该活动的地方。换言之,正确的方法是查明产生有关利润的运作,并确定这些运作在何处 进行。利润来源必须归因于纳税人产生利润的运作,而不是集团其他成员的运作。

先前或次要的活动
有关运作所包括的,并非纳税人在其业务过程中所进行的全部活动,重点是确定纳税人获利交易的地理位置,并将该等交易与其先前和次要的活动分开考虑。

作出决策的地点
作出日常投资或业务决策的地点,只是确定利润来源地时须考虑的因素之一,而在一般情况下,并非是决定性的因素。

从交易所得的毛利
划分一项交易的利润是否从香港抑或香港以外地区所赚取,乃根据该交易所产生的毛利而决定。

海外业务办事处
一个业务单位可能在海外设置办事处,在香港以外赚取利润;但如果该单位没有设立海外业务办事处,并不代表其所有利润一定是于香港产生或得自香港。不过,在大多数情况下,假如该单位的主要营业地点 设于香港,而该单位又无设立海外业务办事处,则其赚取的利润很可能须在香港缴纳利得税。

  返回页首


贸易公司的利润

买卖合约
确定从货品和商品交易所得利润的来源地时,一般是以达成买卖合约的地方为根据。" 达成 "一词不能仅解作法律上的签立,其涵义亦包括商议、订定合约和执行合约的条款。

在上诉法院就万能工业有限公司对税务局局长一案作出判决后,我们已清楚明白,在确定利润来源地时需要作出广泛考虑。正确的方法是研究所有为赚取利润而进行的相关运作,而并非单单考虑货品的买卖。

万能工业有限公司对税务局局长 一案中,上诉法院特别提出:
「货品在何处购买和出售显然是重要的问题,但还有其他问题需要考虑。例如,货品是如何采购和贮存?有关的销售如何招徕?订单如何处理?货品如何付运?怎样安排融资?怎样付款?」

如何考虑有关事实
考虑有关事实时,有关商业活动的性质和特点较从事该活动的频密程度更为重要。该等活动与有关利润的因果关系才是决定性的因素。

无关重要的事实
在确立一项商业活动的利润来源地时,与该商业活动没有直接关系的事实,例如租用办公地方、招聘一般职员、开设办事处等,均视为无关重要。

一般原则

  • 如有关买卖合约在香港达成,所得利润须在香港课税。
  • 如有关买卖合约在香港以外的地方达成,所得利润不须在香港课税。
  • 如购买合约或售卖合约其中一项在香港达成,则初步的假设是所得利润须全数在香港课税,但必须考虑其他有关事实,以确定利润的来源地。
  • 如果是销售予一名香港顾客 (包括海外买家在香港的采购办事处),有关的销售合约通常会视作在香港达成。
  • 如有关人士不须离开香港,而是在香港透过电话或其他电子媒介,包括互联网,达成买卖合约,则有关合约会视作在香港达成。
  • 从贸易所赚取的利润只可划为须全数在香港课税或完全不须在香港课税,分摊计算有关利润并不适用。

  返回页首


制造业的利润

制造货品的地点
制造业的利润来源地是制造货品的地点。售卖于香港制造的货品所产生的利润,全部须在香港课税。倘若货品的制造工序部分在香港进行,而部分在香港以外进行,则与在香港以外的制造工序有关的利润,不会视作为在香港产生的利润。制成品在何处出售,则属无关重要。

就制造货品与内地的单位作出加工或装配安排
香港公司在内地所涉及的加工贸易一般分为两类:来料加工和进料加工。

来料加工
在来料加工中,管辖各方合约关系的文件是加工合同。加工合同载列香港公司和内地加工企业的权利和义务。香港公司负责无偿提供原料和机器,并提供技术和管理知识;内地加工企业负责提供厂房、水电设施和劳工。香港公司会向内地企业支付加工费用,以作为加工服务的报酬。原料和成品的法定所有权仍然归香港公司。

严格来说,有关的内地加工企业是与香港公司分开的一个独立分包商。因此,香港公司从售卖货品所得的利润不应存在须分摊计算的问题。不过,本局认为,香港公司在中国内地的业务运作补足其在香港的业务运作。为认同香港公司在内地的业务运作,本局一般会接受有关的香港公司按 50 : 50 的比例分摊利润。

进料加工
在进料加工中,制造业务由一间在内地注册成立及与香港公司有关联的外商投资企业(外资企业)进行。香港公司向外资企业出售原料,并从外资企业购回成品。香港公司从事原料和成品的贸易,而外资企业则负责制造成品。原料和成品的法定所有权分别由香港公司转给外资企业和由外资企业转给香港公司。

本局认为,香港公司从香港进行的「买卖交易」所得的利润不可归因于在内地经营业务的外资企业的制造业务。贸易利润的来源必须归因于产生贸易利润的香港公司的运作。其利润应全数课缴利得税,不得作出分摊。

制造工作由内地的独立分包商承包
如果香港公司将装配工作外判给内地不同承包商,其中涉及非常多的平价及短期的承包项目,而香港公司对装配工作的参与亦微不足道,则在内地进行的装配工作不视作由香港公司所进行。鉴于该香港公司没有在香港以外地方进行任何制造业务,其利润应全数课缴利得税,不得作出任何分摊。

  返回页首


从买卖交易所赚取的佣金

提供服务的地点
业务单位为顾客的产品觅得买家或为顾客所需产品觅得供应商而赚取佣金,安排委托人进行业务交易,便是产生该笔佣金收入的有关活动。进行有关活动的地点,便是这项收入的来源地。如这类活动在香港进行,则该佣金收入的来源地便是香港。

委托人的所在地、代理人如何寻找委托人,以及赚取佣金前后的相关活动在何处进行等问题,通常都与确定佣金收入来源地无关。

在香港经营业务的人士赚取佣金收入,但产生佣金的活动全部都在香港以外进行,则该笔佣金不须在香港课税。

  返回页首


对其他利润的处理方法

至于其他主要类别的营业利润,可根据以下的验证准则以确定其来源地:

 


利润
 

是否须在香港课税
 

从房地产获得的租金收入
 

如有关物业在香港,租金收入须在香港课税
 

拥有人从售卖房地产获得的利润
 

如有关物业在香港,所得的利润须在香港课税
 

从买卖上市股票和其他上市证券获得的利润
 

如有关的股票或证券买卖在香港的证券交易所进行,所得的利润须在香港课税

如在场外买卖,若买卖合约在香港达成,所得的利润便须在香港课税
 

业务单位(财务机构除外)从买卖非上市股份和其他非上市证券所得的利润
 

如有关买卖合约在香港达成,所得的利润须在香港课税
 

服务酬金收入
 

如赚取该酬金的服务在香港提供,所收取的服务费须在香港课税
 

业务单位所收取的专利权费
 

如在香港取得和授予许可或使用权,所收取的专利权费须在香港课税
 

非居住于香港的人士就使用知识产权而从香港所收取的专利权费
 

如有关的知识产权在香港使用,所得的利润须在香港课税

如在 2004 年 6 月 25 日或以后收取专利权费,而有关的知识产权在香港以外的地方使用,若该款项在确定某人计算利得税的应评税利润时是可予扣除的,所得的利润须在香港课税
 

业务单位(财务机构除外)的利息收入
 

如贷款人在香港提供款项予借款人,所得的利息收入须在香港课税
 

  返回页首


利润和开支的分摊计算

在香港及香港以外均有进行主要活动的业务所赚取的制造业利润或服务费收入,可作分摊计算。在来料加工个案中,基于加工安排的各方所须遵守的条件,按 50 : 50 的比例分摊应课税利润是一贯的做法。在其他个案中,如分摊为适当做法,分摊的比例会按个案的情况而定。

采用分摊计算安排,可能会带来应如何分配间接开支的问题。简而言之,这些开支若同时用于赚取在香港及香港以外所得的利润,则应按得自香港及香港以外的利润在利润总额各占的比例分摊计算。

  返回页首


事先裁定

为清楚确定利润是否于香港产生或得自香港,本局已就营商利润的来源地提供事先裁定服务。这项服务须收取费用。有关详请,已载列在《税务条例释义及执行指引第 31 号》(「事先裁定」)

  返回页首


上述资料并无约束力,亦不影响任何人士向税务局局长、税务上诉委员会或法院提出反对或上诉的权利。
税务局编制
© 版权所有  2011 年

 

返回页首