Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Advance Ruling Case No. 21


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of section 14 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

 back to top


2. Background

(a) The Company is incorporated in Country X and is a member of an international group. It has registered a branch in Hong Kong (the Branch).
(b) In Country X, the Company imported goods from affiliated companies in Hong Kong and Country Z.
(c) The Branch is set up to fulfill requirements of the Company's customers in Country X so that they can manage by themselves the import related logistics in a more efficient manner.
(d) Other than the registered address, the Company does not maintain any office in Hong Kong. Neither does it employ any employees nor agents here. All the sales transactions are carried out by the Company's staff in Country X while the purchase transactions are also made by them with the affiliated companies. These are assisted by the computer ordering system.
(e) By using the Branch, the Company benefits from shorter payment terms from the customers under the said arrangement as compared with the local payment terms which are usually 2 to 3 times longer.

 back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) Goods are purchased internally within the Group and prices are set by a product division using the resale price (or market minus) method under the transfer pricing guidelines as developed by the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development.
(b) After the Company's introduction of the product sample with demonstration to potential customers in Country X, its key account managers and sales people in Country X will negotiate the price and quantity per product type with the customers. Price confirmation is made by e-mail or fax. Sales contracts will be prepared and signed by the key account managers of the Company in Country X on behalf of the Branch.
(c) For large volume customers, subsequent to the conclusion of price and volume of products, the Company's field application staff will assist customers in the product evaluation until customers agree to the final version and send their purchaser orders to the Company in Country X. The sales people will then pass the order information to customer service staff of the Company for inputting into the computer ordering system. Upon the input, a purchase order in the name of the Branch will automatically be generated and sent to the supplier.
(d) When the suppliers accept the orders, they will confirm the delivery schedule and input to the ordering system. Customer service staff of the Company will then send the confirmed delivery schedule list to the customers in Country X by e-mails.
(e) When orders are completed and goods are delivered, the suppliers in Country Z and Hong Kong will change the order status sign in the computer ordering system to confirm the delivery. Delivery of the products is normally by air directly to customers in Country X or their designated factories outside Hong Kong.
(f) Except storing certain goods in Country X for some important customers, the Branch usually will not keep stock of inventory.
(g) The Company's financial control team in Country X will decide on the credit limit extended. For those sales under letter of credit terms, the letter of credit will be negotiated with the banks in Hong Kong by the Company's Shared Service Centre (SCT) in Country Z on behalf of the Branch. A service fee will be charged by SCT to the Branch.
(h) Apart from the duties of financial control, reporting, transaction posting and inter-company and bank reconciliation, the financial controller of the Company in Country X as well as the accounting manager of SCT in Country Z will be authorized to operate the Branch's bank account in Hong Kong for receiving customers' money and making payments.
(i) The Hong Kong Branch books the profit derived from the sales and purchase transactions invoiced in its name. The financial accounts and records of the Branch are entered into and kept by SCT on its behalf.

 back to top


4. The ruling

  The profits booked in the accounts of the Company's Hong Kong branch are not arising in nor derived from Hong Kong, and thus are not chargeable to Hong Kong Profits Tax under Section 14(1) of the IRO.

 back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  This ruling will apply for the year of assessment 2005/06 and subsequent years of assessment.

 back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  No assumptions are made by the Commissioner.

 back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

  8 February 2005.

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 事先裁定个案 > 事先裁定个案第 21 号

事先裁定个案第 21 号


1. 《税务条例》的条文
  本裁定适用于《税务条例》第 14 条。

  返回页首


2. 背景
  (a) 该公司是一个国际集团的成员,是在 X 国注册成为法团,并把分公司(「该分公司」)在香港注册。
  (b) 在 X 国该公司从香港及 Z 国的联营公司入口货物。
  (c) 该公司为了配合在 X 国客户的要求,设立了该分公司。这会使客户更有效率地自行处理入口之物流。
  (d) 该公司除了有一个注册地址,没有在香港开设办事处或雇用任何雇员或代理人。一切销货交易都是由该公司在 X 国的职员负责,而购货也是由他们与联营公司进行;销货与购货同样经由电脑订货系统辅助处理。
  (e) 该公司经由分公司运作的好处,是可以根据上述安排在收帐方面获得较短的付款期,因为当地的付款期通常会长 2 至 3 倍。

  返回页首


3. 安排
  (a) 该公司在集团内部购货,由一个生产部门订立价钱。订价方法是采用经济合作及发展组织制订的「转让定价指引」所载的转售定价法(或市价扣除法)。
  (b) 该公司向 X 国的准客户介绍并示范产品样本,然后由高级客户经理及营业人员在 X 国根据产品类型与客户洽谈价钱与数量。定价以电邮或传真确认。该公司的高级客户经理会以该分公司名义在 X 国拟备并签署销货合约。
  (c) 至于大额客户,该公司与客户议定产品定价及数量后,该公司的外勤职员会协助客户评估产品,直至客户同意产品的最后版本为止,客户随后会发出订货单予 X 国的该公司。营业人员会把订货资料通知该公司的客户服务部职员,以便他们在电脑订货系统输入资料。该电脑系统会在接收资料后,自动以该分公司名义发出订货单,送交供应商。
  (d) 供应商接到订货单后,会确认送货期限表,然后输入订货系统。该公司的客户服务部职员会把该等已经确认的送货期限表,以电邮送交 X 国的客户。
  (e) 订货单完成,产品亦送妥后, Z 国与香港的供应商会更改电脑订货系统的订货情况标号,以确认产品送妥。产品通常是空运到 X 国的客户或其指定的海外工厂。
  (f) 除一些重要客户的某些货物须在 X 国存放外,该分公司通常不会有存仓货物。
  (g) 该公司在 X 国的财务管理组会根据客户的发票决定信贷额;如销货是以信用证的条款,信用证会由 Z 国的共用服务中心( SCT )代表该分公司与香港的银行洽商议付。 SCT 会向该分公司收取服务费。
  (h) 该公司在 X 国的财务总监及在 Z 国 SCT 的会计经理,除负责财务管理、报告、买卖入帐、公司之间及与银行的对帐等工作之外,亦获授权动用该分公司在香港的银行户口,以便向客户收取款项及支付货款。
  (i) 香港分公司于是把名下发票的相关销货与购货的交易利润拨入本身的帐目。该分公司的财务帐目及纪录均由 SCT 以该分公司的名义入帐与保存。

  返回页首


4. 裁定
  该公司的香港分公司帐目所记入的利润,并不是在香港产生或得自香港的利润;因此,无须根据《税务条例》第 14(1)条缴付香港利得税。

  返回页首


5. 裁定的适用期
  本裁定在 2005/2006 及其后的课税年度适用。

  返回页首


6. 税务局局长就将来发生的事件或任何其他事项在要项上作出的假设
  税务局局长没有作出假设。

  返回页首


7. 裁定日期
  2005 年 2 月 8 日。

 

返回页首