Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Advance Ruling Case No. 29


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of section 18E of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

 back to top


2. Background

(a) The Applicants comprise thirty-nine companies in the same group. Two of them commenced business before 1 April 1974. The rest commenced business after 1 April 1974.
(b) The holding company, one of the Applicants, is Company A which is incorporated in Hong Kong.
(c) The Applicants make up their accounts to 31 March.
(d) The Applicants have established a number of entities in the PRC to carry on business there. These PRC entities were required by PRC law to close their accounts on 31 December.

 back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) The Applicants will change the accounting date from 31 March to 31 December in the year of assessment 2006/2007.
(b) The reason put forward by the Applicants for the change of accounting date is for administrative efficiency and to reduce problems arising from the preparation of consolidated accounts due to different accounting year end dates among the group companies.

 

 back to top


4. The ruling

(a) The Commissioner will adopt the 9-month period from 1 April 2006 to 31 December 2006 as the basis period for the year of assessment 2006/2007 for those Applicants which commenced business after 1 April 1974.
(b) The Commissioner will adopt the 12-month period from 1 April 2005 to 31 March 2006 as the basis period for the year of assessment 2005/2006 for those Applicants which commenced business after 1 April 1974.
(c) The Commissioner will adopt the 12-month period from 1 January 2006 to 31 December 2006 as the basis period for the year of assessment 2006/2007 for those Applicants which commenced business before 1 April 1974.
(d) The Commissioner will adopt the 12-month period from 1 April 2005 to 31 March 2006 as the basis period for the year of assessment 2005/2006 for those Applicants which commenced business before 1 April 1974.
(e) Section 61A of the IRO will have no application to the transactions identified in the application, nor any part thereof, with respect to all Applicants.

 back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  The ruling applies to the Applicants for the years of assessment 2005/2006 and 2006/2007.

 back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  There are no assumptions made by the Commissioner.

 

 back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

  6 November 2006.

 

 back to top


8. Commentary 

 

Under section 18E of the IRO, where the assessable profits of a person from any trade carried on in Hong Kong have been computed by reference to an account made up to a certain day in any year of assessment and the person fails to make up an account to the corresponding day in the following year of assessment, the assessable profits from that source for the year of change and the year preceding the change shall be computed/recomputed on such basis as the Commissioner thinks fit. For businesses which commence before 1 April 1974, a basis period of 12 months should be maintained for all years of assessment unless there is tax avoidance motive. For businesses which commence after 1 April 1974, the aim is to ensure that profits not less than the total profits made over the life of the business are assessed. Hence, in the present case for the year of change, a 12-month basis period is adopted for the two Applicants that commenced business before 1 April 1974 and a 9-month basis period is adopted for those Applicants that commenced business after 1 April 1974. For the year preceding the change, the Commissioner considers it not necessary to recompute the profits.

(This commentary is not a legally binding statement and it does not form part of the Ruling.)

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 事先裁定个案 > 事先裁定个案第 29 号

事先裁定个案第 29 号


1. 《税务条例》的条文
  本裁定适用于《税务条例》第 18E 条。

  返回页首


2. 背景
  (a) 申请人是同属一集团的三十九间公司。其中两间在 1974 年 4 月 1 日前开始营业,其余均在 1974 年 4 月 1 日后开始营业。
  (b) 申请人的控股公司是其中之一的申请人,该公司在香港注册成为法团。
  (c) 申请人拟备的帐目以 3 月 31 日为结算日。
  (d) 申请人通过设在内地的企业在内地经营业务。按内地的法律,这些企业的帐目须以 12 月 31 日为结算日。

  返回页首


3. 安排
  (a) 申请人会把 2006/2007 课税年度的会计结算日期由 3 月 31 日改为 12 月 31 日。
  (b) 申请人称,更改会计结算日的原因是基于改善行政效率,并降低拟备集团的综合财务报告时由于不同会计结算日所产生的困难。

  返回页首


4. 裁定
  (a) 税务局局长会以 2006 年 4 月 1 日至 2006 年 12 月 31 日这 9 个月时间,作为在 1974 年 4 月 1 日后开始营业的申请人 2006/2007 课税年度的评税基期。
  (b) 税务局局长会以 2005 年 4 月 1 日至 2006 年 3 月 31 日这 12 个月时间,作为在 1974 年 4 月 1 日后开始营业的申请人 2005/2006 课税年度的评税基期。
  (c) 税务局局长会以 2006 年 1 月 1 日至 2006 年 12 月 31 日这 12 个月时间,作为在 1974 年 4 月 1 日前开始营业的申请人 2006/2007 课税年度的评税基期。
  (d) 税务局局长会以 2005 年 4 月 1 日至 2006 年 3 月 31 日这 12 个月时间,作为在 1974 年 4 月 1 日前开始营业的申请人 2005/2006 课税年度的评税基期。
  (e) 就申请人而言,《税务条例》第 61A 条不会应用于这申请所涉及的事项的全部或其中的部分。

  返回页首


5. 裁定的适用期
  本裁定在 2005/2006 及 2006/2007 课税年度适用于申请人。

 

  返回页首


6. 税务局局长就将来发生的事件或任何其他事项在要项上作出的假设
  税务局局长没有作出假设。

  返回页首


7. 裁定日期
  2006 年 11 月 6 日。

  返回页首


8. 评注
  根据《税务条例》第 18E 条,任何人在香港经营任何行业所得的应评税利润,如已参照以任何课税年度内某日为结帐日期的帐目而计算,但该人并没有在下一课税年度以同一日结算帐目,则在更改结帐日期的当年及之前的一年从该来源所得的应评税利润,须以局长认为适合的基准计算。如公司在 1974 年 4 月 1 日前开始营业,所有课税年度的评税基期应为 12 个月,但由于规避缴税理由而作出更改则属例外。如公司在 1974 年 4 月 1 日后开始营业,应评税利润不应少于该业务营运期间获得的总利润。因此,本裁定就在 1974 年 4 月 1 日前开始营业的申请人采用 12 个月时间为更改结帐日期的当年的评税基期;而 1974 年 4 月 1 日后开始营业的申请人则采用 9 个月时间为更改结帐日期的当年的评税基期。至于更改结帐日期之前的一年,税务局局长认为无须重新计算。
   
  (本评注并非具有法律约束力的陈述,也不构成本裁定的一部分。)

 

返回页首