Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Press Release > News Archives > PRESS RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 2) Ordinance 2017 gazetted

*************************************************************************

     The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 2) Ordinance 2017 (Amendment Ordinance) was gazetted today (June 16), and will come into effect on July 1, 2017.

     "The Amendment Ordinance enables Hong Kong to implement automatic exchange of financial account information in tax matters (AEOI) more effectively," a Government spokesman said. 

     Being an international financial centre and a responsible member of the international community, Hong Kong has been committed to enhancing tax transparency and combatting cross-border tax evasion. Hong Kong has been making preparations for the implementation of the common reporting standard for AEOI as promulgated by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). At the same time, both the OECD and the European Union (EU) have been closely monitoring jurisdictions' progress in the implementation of AEOI.

     "We must expedite the expansion of the AEOI network in view of the recent international developments. The Amendment Ordinance can ensure that Hong Kong can preserve the financial account information from the second half of 2017 for exchanging with other jurisdictions. This enables the effective implementation of AEOI without introducing an undue compliance burden to financial institutions," the Government spokesman added.

     To implement AEOI, from July 1, 2017, the list of "reportable jurisdictions" under the Inland Revenue Ordinance will be expanded to cover 75 jurisdictions, comprising 13 confirmed AEOI partners and 62 prospective AEOI partners. The 62 prospective AEOI partners include the following three categories:

(a) jurisdictions which have expressed an interest in conducting AEOI with Hong Kong to the OECD or jurisdictions suggested by the OECD;

(b) Hong Kong's tax treaty partners which have committed to AEOI; and

(c) all member states of the EU.

     "The Amendment Ordinance does not alter the privacy and data protection requirements on AEOI under the Inland Revenue Ordinance. Hong Kong would only conduct AEOI with jurisdictions which have signed dedicated exchange agreements with us and have fulfilled the OECD's standard and relevant safeguards for protecting data privacy and confidentiality of the information exchanged. For a member of the public, if he is not a tax resident of any jurisdictions outside Hong Kong, financial institutions in Hong Kong will not report his information to the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) under this regime," the Government spokesman said.

     In view of the Amendment Ordinance, the Government will launch a new round of publicity, including updated TV and radio Announcements in the Public Interest, posters and pamphlets to inform the public of the key changes. The guidelines for financial institutions will also be revised. The public can obtain more relevant information via the IRD's webpage (www.ird.gov.hk/eng/tax/dta_aeoi.htm).

 

Ends/Friday, June 16, 2017
Issued at HKT 15:30

NNNN

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 新闻公报 > 昔日新闻 > 新闻稿

新闻稿

(资料来源:政府新闻处)

《2017年税务(修订)(第2号)条例》刊宪

********************

  《2017年税务(修订)(第2号)条例》(《修订条例》)今日(六月十六日)刊宪,并将于二零一七年七月一日生效。

  政府发言人表示:「《修订条例》可使香港更有效实施关乎税务事宜的自动交换财务帐户资料安排(自动交换资料安排)。」

  香港作为国际金融中心,一直致力提高税务透明度和打击跨境逃税活动,并为实施经济合作与发展组织(经合组织)所订立的自动交换资料的共同汇报标准作好准备。与此同时,经合组织和欧洲联盟(欧盟)一直监察各税务管辖区实施自动交换资料安排的进度。

  政府发言人补充:「我们必须因应国际间新近的发展,加快扩展自动交换资料网络的步伐。《修订条例》可确保香港能备存由二零一七年下半年起的财务帐户资料与其他税务管辖区交换,使自动交换资料安排得以有效实施之余,亦不会对财务机构带来过度的合规负担。」

  为落实自动交换资料的安排,由今年七月一日起,《税务条例》下的「申报税务管辖区」名单将增加至75个,当中包括13个已确认的自动交换资料伙伴及62个准自动交换资料伙伴(准伙伴)。这62个准伙伴包括以下三类:

(一)已向经合组织表示有意与香港订定自动交换资料安排的税务管辖区或由经合组织建议的税务管辖区;

(二)香港税务协定伙伴当中已承诺实施自动交换资料安排的税务管辖区;以及

(三)欧盟所有成员国。

  政府发言人指出:「《修订条例》不会改变现行在《税务条例》下适用于自动交换资料安排的私隐及资料保障要求。香港只会与已签订特定交换资料协定,并符合经合组织就保障资料私隐和保密的标准及相关要求的税务管辖区进行自动交换资料。对一般香港市民而言,如果他不是香港以外任何地区的税务居民,香港的财务机构不会在这计划下将他的资料向税务局申报。」

  政府会因应《修订条例》推出新一轮的宣传,透过经更新的宣传影片和声带、海报及小册子,让公众了解主要的改变,并会修订相关财务机构指引。公众可透过税务局网页(www.ird.gov.hk/chi/tax/dta_aeoi.htm)获取相关资讯。

 

2017年6月16日(星期五)
香港时间15时30分

 

返回页首