Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 4) Bill 2017 gazetted

****************************************************************

     The Government published in the Gazette today (June 23) the Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 4) Bill 2017 to implement the 2017-18 Budget initiative of extending profits tax exemption to privately offered open-ended fund companies (OFCs) with their central management and control exercised in Hong Kong.

     A government spokesman said, "The Bill seeks to create a level playing field for all kinds of OFCs by allowing onshore privately offered ones, like the offshore ones, to enjoy profits tax exemption. We hope that the Bill would be conducive to enhancing Hong Kong's competitiveness in respect of the domiciliation of privately offered funds in the form of an OFC, thereby generating demand for services along the whole fund service chain. This would help strengthen Hong Kong's position as an international asset management centre and foster the further development of our financial services industry as a whole."

     The spokesperson added, "As this is the first time that Hong Kong is granting tax exemption to onshore funds which are privately offered, we have borne in mind the need to prevent tax abuse and have put in place a series of anti-avoidance measures. The exemption conditions are to ensure that the OFC is non-closely held and that the transactions must be carried out through or arranged by a qualified person in permissible asset classes. The proposal balances the aim of strengthening our asset management industry on the one end and the need to prevent tax avoidance on the other.

     "Meanwhile, certain flexibility, in the form of a 10 per cent de minimis limit for investing in non-permissible asset classes and a gear-up period to meet the non-closely held condition, will be allowed. There are also safe harbour arrangements to cater for the actual operational circumstances that an OFC may encounter."

     The legal framework for the OFC structure was enacted by the Legislative Council (LegCo) in June last year by way of the Securities and Futures (Amendment) Ordinance 2016. It is a key initiative to help diversify Hong Kong's fund domiciliation platform and build up fund manufacturing capabilities. An OFC is a collective investment scheme with variable capital set up in the form of a company, but with the flexibility to create and cancel shares for investors' subscription and redemption in the funds, which is currently not enjoyed by conventional companies. Also, OFCs will not be bound by restrictions on distribution out of capital applicable to conventional companies, and instead may distribute out of capital subject to solvency and disclosure requirements. The Bill aims to complement the OFC initiative by providing a more facilitating tax environment for OFCs. 

     The Bill will be introduced into LegCo on June 28.

 

Ends/Friday, June 23, 2017
Issued at HKT 11:01

NNNN

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS

新闻稿

(资料来源:政府新闻处)

《2017年税务(修订)(第4号)条例草案》刊宪

**********************

  政府今日(六月二十三日)在宪报刊登《2017年税务(修订)(第4号)条例草案》(《条例草案》),以落实二零一七至一八年度《财政预算案》内的措施,把利得税豁免范围扩大至涵盖以私人形式发售并在香港进行中央管理和控制的开放式基金型公司。

  政府发言人表示:「《条例草案》旨在让以私人形式发售的在岸开放式基金型公司与离岸的同类基金同样享有利得税豁免,为所有开放式基金型公司缔造公平竞争的环境。我们希望《条例草案》可提升香港作为以私人形式发售的开放式基金型公司注册地的竞争力,从而带动对整个基金服务链的需求。这不但有助巩固香港作为国际资产管理中心的地位,还可进一步促进香港金融服务业的整体发展。」

  「由于这是香港首次向以私人形式发售的在岸基金提供税务豁免,我们考虑到有需要防止税务优惠被滥用,并订立了一系列的防止避税措施。豁免条件旨在确保开放式基金型公司须为非集中拥有,以及该等公司的交易须投资于可投资资产类别并透过合资格人士进行或由合资格人士安排进行。这些建议在巩固香港资产管理业和防止避税之间取得了一个平衡。」

  发言人补充说:「同时,我们会容许一定程度的灵活性,让这类基金可按10%最低额豁免规则于不可投资资产类别进行投资,每个基金在成立时并可享有一段时间以达致符合非集中拥有的条件。我们亦提供安全港安排,以照顾开放式基金型公司可能遇到的实际运作情况。」

  去年六月,立法会经《2016年证券及期货(修订)条例》订立开放式基金型公司结构的法律框架。这项重要措施旨在令香港的基金注册平台更多元化,提升香港制造基金的能力。开放式基金型公司是以公司形式成立,具有可变动股本的集体投资计划,但无须囿于一般公司现时所受的限制,可以灵活发行和注销股份,供投资者认购和赎回基金。此外,有别于一般公司,开放式基金型公司不受从股本中拨款作出分派的规限,而是在符合偿付能力和披露规定的情况下,可以从股本中拨款作出分派。作为配合引入开放式基金型公司的措施,《条例草案》旨在透过提供更便利的税务环境予开放式基金型公司。

  《条例草案》将于六月二十八日提交立法会进行首读。

 

2017年6月23日(星期五)
香港时间11时00分