Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Inland Revenue Ordinance to be amended to facilitate international tax co-operation

************************************************************************************************

     The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 5) Bill 2017 (Amendment Bill) was gazetted today (October 6). The Amendment Bill seeks to pave the way for Hong Kong's participation in the Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, and to align the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO) with the Common Reporting Standard (CRS) promulgated by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

     "The Multilateral Convention will be an important platform for Hong Kong to implement initiatives on international tax co-operation, including the automatic exchange of financial account information in tax matters (AEOI) and combating base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS)," a Government spokesman said.

     The AEOI initiative aims to enhance tax transparency through annual exchange of financial account information of respective tax residents among tax jurisdictions. To this end, the IRO was amended in June 2016 to put in place a legal framework, and was further amended in June 2017 to mandate financial institutions to collect account information of tax residents from 75 jurisdictions.

     On the other hand, the BEPS package aims to combat activities by multinational enterprises in exploiting gaps and mismatches in tax rules among economies to artificially shift profits to low or no-tax locations where there is little or no economic activity, resulting in little or no overall corporate tax being paid. Among other things, Hong Kong needs to take forward automatic exchange of country-by-country reports and spontaneous exchange of information on tax rulings.

     "Whilst a bilateral approach is allowed for the exchange of relevant information and reports, it has become increasingly impractical given the continued expansion in the scope and network of tax information exchanges in the international community. A more practical approach is for jurisdictions to adopt the Multilateral Convention as a basis to implement the initiatives," the spokesman said.

     "The Chief Executive in Council currently does not have the power under the IRO to give effect to multilateral tax agreements or arrangements for international tax co-operation other than affording relief from double taxation and exchange of information. The Amendment Bill aims to remove the limitation so as to facilitate Hong Kong's participation in multilateral tax agreements and new areas of international tax co-operation," the spokesman added.

     The Government is also taking the opportunity to make necessary legislative amendments to align the IRO with the CRS by removing inconsistencies identified. The CRS sets out the financial account information to be exchanged, the financial institutions required to report, the different types of accounts and taxpayers covered, and due diligence procedures to be followed by financial institutions.

     Separately, the Chief Executive in Council has made the Inland Revenue (Double Taxation Relief and Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income) (New Zealand) (Amendment) Order 2017 (Amendment Order) to implement the Second Protocol to the Comprehensive Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreement between Hong Kong and New Zealand. This will enable both sides to implement AEOI on a bilateral basis before the Multilateral Convention comes into effect in Hong Kong. The Amendment Order will be tabled at the Legislative Council on October 18 for negative vetting. The Second Protocol will enter into force after both Hong Kong and New Zealand have completed their ratification procedures.

 

Ends/Friday, October 6, 2017
Issued at HKT 11:30

NNNN

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 新闻公报 > 昔日新闻 > 新闻稿

新闻稿

(资料来源:政府新闻处)

修订《税务条例》以促进国际税务合作

******************

  《2017年税务(修订)(第5号)条例草案》(《条例草案》)今日(十月六日)刊宪。《条例草案》旨在为香港参与《多边税收征管互助公约》(《多边公约》)作准备,以及确保《税务条例》与经济合作与发展组织颁布的共同汇报标准一致。

  政府发言人表示:「《多边公约》将会是香港实施国际税务合作措施的重要平台,当中包括就税务事宜自动交换财务帐户资料(自动交换资料)安排及应对侵蚀税基及转移利润(BEPS)。」

  自动交换资料措施旨在透过各税务管辖区每年交换各自税务居民的财务帐户资料,以提升税务透明度。为此,政府在二零一六年六月对《税务条例》作出修订,为自动交换资料订立法律框架,并在二零一七年六月再次作出修订,规定财务机构须收集75个税务管辖区的税务居民所持帐户的资料。

  另一方面,BEPS方案旨在打击跨国企业利用不同经济体在税务规则方面的差异及错配,人为地将利润转移至只有很少或没有经济活动的低税或无税地方,从而使企业整体上只缴纳少量税款或无需缴税。当中,香港须落实自动交换国别报告及自发交换税务裁定资料。

  发言人指出:「虽然有关措施容许采用双边模式交换相关资料及报告,但由于国际社会间交换税务资料的范围及网络不断扩大,双边模式已不切实际。较可行的做法是税务管辖区以《多边公约》作为实施有关措施的基础。」

  发言人补充:「现时《税务条例》并无赋权行政长官会同行政会议实施多边税务协定,或实施为给予双重课税宽免和交换资料以外而订立的国际税务合作安排。《条例草案》可剔除有关限制,有助香港参与多边税务协定和新的国际税务合作领域。」

  政府亦藉此机会作出法例修订,修正《税务条例》与共同汇报标准差异之处,确保《税务条例》与该标准一致。共同汇报标准列明所须交换的财务帐户资料、须作出汇报的财务机构、所涵盖的各类帐户和纳税人,以及财务机构须依循的尽职审查程序。

  另外,行政长官会同行政会议已作出《2017年税务(关于收入税项的双重课税宽免和防止逃税)(新西兰)(修订)令》(《修订令》),以实施香港与新西兰的《全面性避免双重课税协定》第二议定书。这有助双方在《多边公约》于香港生效前,以双边模式实施自动交换资料。《修订令》将于十月十八日提交立法会,进行先订立后审议的程序。第二议定书将待香港及新西兰各自完成有关的批准程序后生效。

 

2017年10月6日(星期五)
香港时间11时30分

 

返回页首