Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Press Content

Property owner jailed for two months over tax evasion

************************************************************

A property owner convicted in the Eastern Magistrates' Courts of evading property tax was today (January 7) jailed for two months and fined $23,000.

The defendant let out her jointly owned residential property during the five years of assessment 1998-99 to 2002-03. She handled all the rental affairs and received rental income of $1,588,865 for the relevant years of assessment but falsely stated in the tax returns for the relevant years that the property was not let. The total tax undercharged was $208,916.

The defendant pleaded guilty to nine counts of making false statements or entries in the relevant property tax returns for the five years of assessment 1998-99 to 2002-03, and in her tax returns-individuals for the four years of assessment 1999-2000 to 2002-03, contrary to section 82(1)(b) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance; and one count of signing her tax return-individuals for the year of assessment 1998-99 without reasonable grounds for believing the same to be true, contrary to section 82(1)(d) of the ordinance.

A spokesman for the Inland Revenue Department reminded taxpayers that tax evasion was a criminal offence under the Inland Revenue Ordinance. Upon conviction, the maximum penalty for each charge is three years' imprisonment and a fine of $50,000, plus a further fine of three times the amount of tax evaded.

Ends/Monday, January 7, 2008

NNNN

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 刊物及新闻公报 > 检控个案 > 新闻内容

新闻内容

业主逃税被判即时入狱两个月

*************

    一名业主今日(一月七日)于东区裁判法院被裁定逃缴物业税罪名成立,被判即时入狱两个月及罚款合共 23,000 元。

    被告在 1998/99 至 2002/03 五个课税年度内,将一个由她联权拥有的住宅单位出租,所有租务事宜均由她一人处理。在有关课税年度,收取租金合共 1,588,865元。被告在有关课税年度的报税表内,虚假地报称该物业没有作出租用途。所涉及的少征收税款为 208,916 元。

    被告承认十项蓄意意图逃缴物业税罪行,其中九项是被告在 1998/99至 2002/03五个课税年度有关的物业税报税表,及在 1999/2000至 2002/03 四个课税年度她的个别人士报税表内,作出虚假的陈述或记项,触犯《税务条例》第 82 条第(1)(b)款;余下一项为在她的 1998/99 课税年度的个别人士报税表上签署,而该报税表是她无合理理由相信属实的,触犯《税务条例》第 82 条第(1)(d)款。

    税务局发言人提醒市民,《税务条例》订明逃税是刑事罪行,一经定罪,每项控罪最高刑罚为入狱三年和罚款 50,000 元,另加相等于少收税款三倍的罚款。

2008 年 1 月 7 日(星期一)

 

返回页首