Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Others > Business Registration > Exemption from Registration or Payment

Exemption from Registration or Payment


Exemption from registration 

The Business Registration Ordinance provides that the following businesses are exempted from registration :

  1. the activities of charities;
  2. the business of agriculture, market gardening or fishing (exemption not applicable to companies incorporated or required to be registered under the Companies Ordinance);
  3. the business of a bootblack;
  4. business carried on by such hawkers who require licences under the Hawker Regulation, except businesses carried on inside the main structure of a building.

  back to top


Exemption from payment of Business Registration fee and levy 

    Eligible persons

  • You can apply for exemption from payment of business registration fee and levy if the average monthly sales or receipts of your business do not exceed the following limit:-
    For businesses mainly deriving profits
    from the sale of services
    $10,000
    For other businesses $30,000
  • For existing businesses, the above average monthly sales or receipts shall be the monthly average over the 6 months preceding the application. For new businesses, it shall be the estimated average over the first 6 months of business.
  • Exemption cannot be granted to companies incorporated or required to be registered in Hong Kong under the Companies Ordinance.
  • If 2 or more businesses are carried on by the same proprietor or partners, none of those businesses is entitled to the exemption. See examples below :
    (a) If Mr A carries on two sole proprietorship businesses X and Y at the same time, neither X nor Y is entitled to the exemption.
    (b) If Mr A and Mr B carry on two partnership businesses C and D at the same time, neither C nor D is entitled to the exemption.
    (c) If Mr A and Mr B carry on a partnership business E and at the same time, Mr A and Mr C carry on another partnership business F, E and F are not considered to be carried on by the same person.
    (d) If Mr A carries on a sole proprietorship business G and at the same time, Mr A and Mr B carry on a partnership business H, G and H are not considered to be carried on by the same person.

    How to apply

  • Application has to be made on a prescribed form - the "Form 3". You can either submit the application in person or by post. In order to ensure the authenticity of the applications received, submission by facsimile transmission is not acceptable.
  • Alternatively, you can fill in the Form 3 electronically, and then send the completed electronic form as an attachment to the e-mail account of the Business Registration Office (taxbro@ird.gov.hk). Please visit our web page Electronic Services: e-Form and Electronic Submission of Information, for details.
  • Application can also be made via GovHK (www.gov.hk/br).  For more details, please visit GovHK.
  • Please refer to Purpose of Business Register and Privacy of Personal Data.

    When to apply

  • For existing businesses, application for exemption submitted in person, by post or electronic form should be made not later than 1 month before the date of expiry of a current business registration certificate.  Application made via GovHK should be made not later than 1 week before the date of expiry of the current business registration certificate.  For example, if your current business registration certificate will expire on 15 May 2015 and you wish to apply for exemption from payment of business registration fee and levy for the year commencing on 16 May 2015, the application must be made on or before 15 April 2015 if it is submitted in person, by post or electronic form.  Application via GovHK must be made on or before 8 May 2015.
  • For new businesses, application for exemption submitted in person, by post or electronic form must be made not later than 1 month after applying for the business registration.  Application made via GovHK must be made not later than 7 weeks after applying for the business registration.  For example, if you apply for business registration on 15 May 2015 and you wish to apply for exemption from payment of business registration fee and levy, the application must be made on or before 15 June 2015 if it is submitted in person, by post or electronic form.  Application via GovHK must be made on or before 3 July 2015.
  • The applicant will be informed of the result of his/her application in writing if the application is submitted in person, by post or electronic form.  If exemption is granted, an "Exempt Business Registration Certificate" will be issued with the reply.  If the applicant makes his/her application via GovHK, he/she can view and download the result and the "Exempt Business Registration Certificate" (if exemption is granted) via GovHK.   Before receiving our result, the applicant is still required to settle the business registration fee and levy on or before the specified date.
  • Exemption is only granted upon application and for one year ending on the expiry date of the exempt certificate. Fresh application for exemption must be made for each subsequent year in accordance with the exemption conditions and application procedures then in force.

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS
  • 還原字體
  • 較大字體
  • 最大字體

豁免商業登記或繳費

 


豁免登記

《商業登記條例》規定下列各有關人士從事的服務或經營,不必辦理商業登記:—

  1. 慈善機構;
  2. 農業、園藝或漁業的經營(此項豁免不適用於根據《公司條例》成立為法團或須註冊的公司);
  3. 擦皮鞋的生意;以及
  4. 根據《小販規例》須要領取牌照的各種小販生意(在建築物內經營者除外)。

然而,須就其從事的生意或業務所得利潤課繳利得稅的慈善機構,並不符合豁免商業登記的規定,該慈善機構必須就有關生意或業務辦理商業登記。請参閱本局所印發「屬公共性質的慈善機構及信託團體的稅務指南」。

 返回頁首


豁免繳付商業登記費及徵費

    合資格人士

  • 如你業務每月的平均生意額不超過以下限額,可申請豁免繳付商業登記費及徵費:
    主要憑提供服務以賺取利潤的業務 $10,000
    其他業務 $30,000
  • 對於現有業務,上述每月平均生意額須為緊接申請提出前 6 個月的每月平均款額。至於新開業務,則須為該業務開業後首 6 個月的估計平均款額。
  • 根據《公司條例》在香港成立或須要註冊的公司及根據《有限合夥基金條例》在香港註冊的有限合夥基金不會獲得豁免。
  • 如獨資東主或相同合夥人同時經營兩項或多於兩項業務,則任何一間該等業務均不會獲得豁免。見以下例子:
    (a) 陳先生同時經營兩項獨資業務:甲及乙,甲及乙均不會獲得豁免。
    (b) 陳先生與李先生同時經營兩項合夥業務:丙及丁,丙及丁均不會獲得豁免。
    (c) 陳先生與李先生經營一項合夥業務,同時陳先生與黃先生經營另一項合夥業務;該兩項合夥業務並非由相同合夥人經營。
    (d) 陳先生經營一項獨資業務,同時陳先生與李先生經營另一項合夥業務;該兩項業務不會被視為由同一人經營。

    怎樣申請

  • 申請必須以訂明的表格「表格 3」提出。你可以親身或以郵寄方式提交申請書。為了確保申請書的真確性,本局不接受以傳真方式提交的申請書。
  • 你也可經香港政府一站通(www.gov.hk/br)提交申請,詳情請瀏覽香港政府一站通網頁。
  • 請閱讀商業登記冊的目的及個人資料私隱

    申請限期

  • 現有業務申請豁免繳付商業登記費及徵費,要在現有商業登記證有效期屆滿的 1 個月前親身或以郵寄方式提交。如經香港政府一站通提交申請,要在現有商業登記證有效期屆滿的 1 個星期前提交。舉例,如你現有的商業登記證將於 2015 年 5 月 15 日屆滿,而你希望由 2015 年 5 月 16 日起計 1 年內獲得豁免繳付登記費及徵費,你須於 2015 年 4 月 15 日前親身或以郵寄方式提交申請。如你經香港政府一站通提交申請,你須於 2015 年 5 月8日或前提交。
  • 如是屬新開業務,則申請應在提交商業登記申請後 1 個月內親身或以郵寄方式提交。如經香港政府一站通提交申請,則申請應在提交商業登記申請後 7星期內提交。舉例,如你於 2015 年 5 月 15 日提交商業登記申請,而你希望申請豁免繳付登記費及徵費,你須於 2015 年 6 月 15 日前親身或以郵寄方式提交申請。如你經香港政府一站通提交申請,你須於 2015 年 7 月3日或前提交。
  • 如親身或以郵寄方式提交申請,申請人會獲書面通知其申請結果。如獲批准豁免,本局會連同覆信發出「註明批給豁免的商業登記證」。如經香港政府一站通提交申請,申請人可登入香港政府一站通檢視及下載申請結果及「註明批給豁免的商業登記證」(如獲批准豁免)。申請人在未有接獲通知前仍須依期繳付商業登記費及徵費。
  • 豁免只在提出申請時才會批給,並有效至「註明批給豁免的商業登記證」有效期屆滿止,為期 1 年。其後每年必須根據當時所生效的豁免條件及申請程序重新提出豁免申請。