Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Individuals/Businesses > Profits Tax

Profits Tax

  back to top


The Scope of the Charge 

Persons, including corporations, partnerships, trustees and bodies of persons carrying on any trade, profession or business in Hong Kong are chargeable to tax on all profits (excluding profits arising from the sale of capital assets) arising in or derived from Hong Kong from such trade, profession or business. There is therefore no distinction made between residents and non-residents. A resident may therefore derive profits from abroad without suffering tax; conversely, a non-resident may suffer tax on profits arising in Hong Kong. The question of whether a business is carried on in Hong Kong and whether profits are derived from Hong Kong is largely one of fact, however some guidance on the principles applied can be found in cases which have been considered by the Hong Kong Courts and the Privy Council. No tax is levied on profits arising abroad, even if they are remitted to Hong Kong.

If a person sells his flat or any property as part of a scheme of profit-making, it will be regarded as a business and he is required to pay tax on any profit he may make.

More information:

  back to top


Special Provisions for Ascertaining Liability to Profits Tax 

Certain Amounts Deemed to be Trading Receipts

The following sums are deemed to be receipts arising in or derived from Hong Kong from a trade, profession or business carried on in Hong Kong under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (I.R.O.) :-

  1. Sums received from the exhibition or use in Hong Kong of cinematography or television film or tape, any sound recording or any advertising materials connected with such film, tape, or recording [section 15(1)(a)].
  2. Sums received for the use or right to use in Hong Kong any patent, design, trade mark, copyright material or secret process or formula or other of a similar nature [section 15(1)(b)].
  3. Sums received for the use or right to use outside Hong Kong any patent, design, trade mark, copyright material or secret process or formula or other of a similar nature, which are deductible in ascertaining the assessable profits of a person under Profits Tax (not applicable to sums received or accrued before 25 June 2004) [section 15(1)(ba)].
  4. Sums received by or accrued to a person carrying on business in Hong Kong by way of grant, subsidy or similar financial assistance other than sums in connection with capital expenditure [section 15(1)(c)].
  5. Sums received by way of hire, rental or similar charges for the use of movable property or the right to use movable property in Hong Kong [section 15(1)(d)].

Non-Residents and Agents Dealing with Non-Residents

  1. A non-resident is chargeable to tax either directly or in the name of his agent in respect of all his profits arising in or derived from Hong Kong, from any trade, profession or business carried on there, whether or not the agent has the receipt of the profits, and the tax may be recovered out of the assets of the non-resident or from the agent. The agent is required to retain from the assets sufficient money to pay the tax.
  2. A non-resident who receives sums specified in sections 15(1)(a), (b) and (ba), and a non-resident entertainer or sportsman who receives sums from the performance in Hong Kong of an activity in his character as entertainer or sportsman is chargeable to tax in the name of the person who paid or credited the sums to the non-resident. The person who pays or credits such sum is required at the time he makes the payment or credit to deduct from those sums an amount sufficient to meet the tax due.
  3. Resident consignees are required to furnish quarterly returns to the Commissioner showing the gross proceeds from sales on behalf of their non-resident consignors and to pay to the Commissioner a sum equal to one per cent of such proceeds, or such lesser sum as may have been agreed with the Commissioner.
  4. Where a non-resident carried on business with a resident and the business is so arranged that it produces to the resident either no profits or less than the ordinary profits that might be expected to arise to an independent concern, the business may be treated as carried on in Hong Kong by the non-resident through the resident as his agent.
  5. Where the true profits of a non-resident from a trade, profession or business carried on in Hong Kong cannot be readily ascertained, they may be computed on a fair percentage of the turnover in Hong Kong.
  6. Where the accounts of a non-resident whose head office is outside Hong Kong do not disclose the true profits of a Hong Kong permanent establishment, the profit of the branch for tax purposes is taken to be the amount which bears to the taxpayer's total profits the same proportion as his turnover in Hong Kong bears to his total turnover.

More information:

  back to top


Assessable Profits 

The Assessable Profits (or Adjusted Loss) are the net profits (or loss) [other than profits (or loss) arising from the sale of capital assets] for the basis period, arising in or derived from Hong Kong, calculated in accordance with the provisions of Part IV of the I.R.O.

  back to top


Basis Period 

The Basis period is either:-

  1. the year ended 31 March during the relevant year;
  2. where the annual accounts are made up to any day other than 31 March, the year ended on that day in the relevant year;
  3. where the accounts are made up for each lunar year, the lunar year ended in the relevant year;
  4. where you commenced or ceased to carry on a business or changed its accounting date, the special period prescribed by sections 18C, 18D or 18E of the I.R.O.;
  5. for commencement case, if accounts for this period have not been prepared the profits to be returned may be calculated by apportioning the profits shown by the accounts which cover the period; or
  6. for cessation/transfer of business case, special rules apply:-
    • where the business does not cease but, in whole or in part, is transferred to or carried on by another person;
    • in the case of cessation occurring on or after 1 April 1979 of a business which commenced before 1 April 1974.

  back to top


Exemption 

The following sums are excluded from the assessable profits:-

  • dividends received from a corporation which is subject to Hong Kong Profits Tax;
  • amounts already included in the assessable profits of other persons chargeable to Profits Tax;
  • interest on Tax Reserve Certificates;
  • interest on, and any profit made in respect of a bond issued under the Loans Ordinance (Cap. 61) or the Loans (Government Bonds) Ordinance (Cap. 64), or in respect of an Exchange Fund debt instrument or in respect of a Hong Kong dollar-denominated multilateral agency debt instrument;
  • interest income and trading profits derived from long term debt instruments; and
  • sums received or accrued in respect of a specified investment scheme by or to the person as: -
    1. a person chargeable to Profits Tax in respect of a mutual fund, unit trust or similar investment scheme that is authorized as a collective investment scheme under section 104 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571); or
    2. a person chargeable to Profits Tax in respect of a mutual fund, unit trust or similar investment scheme where the Commissioner is satisfied that the mutual fund, unit trust or investment scheme is a bona fide widely held investment scheme which complies with the requirements of a supervisory authority within an acceptable regulatory regime.

A person is exempt from payment of profits tax in respect of the following sums:-

  • interest (accrued on or after 22 June 1998) that is derived from any deposit placed in Hong Kong with an authorized institution, excluding interest received by or accrued to a financial institution; and
  • starting from the year of assessment 2009/10, interest on and any profit made in respect of Renminbi sovereign bonds.

  back to top


Deductions 

Deductible Expenses

Generally, all outgoings and expenses, to the extent to which they have been incurred by the taxpayer in the production of chargeable profits, are allowed as deductions. Reference can be made to section 16 of the I.R.O.

A transfer of certain allowable head office administrative expenses by means of a charge to a local branch or subsidiary in Hong Kong would be allowed as a deduction for Hong Kong tax purposes, to the extent to which they were incurred during the basis period for the year of assessment in the production of profits chargeable to tax.

Non-deductible Items

In computing the assessable profits deduction is specifically prohibited in respect of the following:-

  • domestic or private expenses and any sums not expended for the purpose of producing the profits;
  • any loss or withdrawal of capital, the cost of improvements and any expenditure of a capital nature;
  • any sum recoverable under insurance or contract of indemnity;
  • rent of or expenses relating to premises not occupied or used for the purpose of producing the profits;
  • taxes payable under the I.R.O., except Salaries Tax paid in respect of employees' remuneration;
  • any remuneration or interest on capital or loans payable to or, subject to section 16AA, contribution made to a mandatory provident fund scheme in respect of the proprietor or the proprietor's spouse or, in case of a partnership, to its partners or their spouses.

Expenditure on Building Refurbishment

A person who incurs capital expenditure on the renovation or refurbishment of business premises is allowed to deduct that expenditure over a period of 5 years in equal instalments commencing in the year in which the expenditure is made.

Expenditure on plant and machinery specially related to manufacturing, and on computer hardware and software

For this kind of expenditure, a full deduction is allowed in the basis period in which the expenditure was incurred.

Expenditure on Environmental Protection Facilities 

  1. Expenditure on environmental protection machinery
    • With effect from the year of assessment 2008/09, a full deduction is allowed during the basis period in which the expenditure is incurred.
  2. Expenditure on environmental protection installation
    • With effect from the year of assessment 2008/09, a deduction at 20% of the expenditure is allowed in each of the 5 consecutive years commencing from the year in which the expenditure is incurred.
  3. Expenditure on environment-friendly vehicle
    • With effect from the year of assessment 2010/11, a full deduction is allowed during the basis period in which the expenditure is incurred.

Depreciation Allowances

  1. Industrial Buildings Allowances on Industrial Buildings and Structures
    • Initial allowance: 20% on the cost of construction of the premises
    • Annual allowance: 4% on the cost of construction of the premises
    • Balancing allowance or charge will be due upon disposal of the premises
  2. Commercial Buildings Allowances on Commercial Buildings and Structures
    • Annual allowance: 4% on the cost of construction of the premises
    • Balancing allowance or charge will be due upon disposal of the premises
  3. Plant and Machinery
    • Initial allowance: 60% on the cost
    • Annual allowance: at rates of 10%, 20% or 30% as prescribed by the Board of Inland Revenue in the Inland Revenue Rules, on the reducing value of the asset. Items qualifying for the same rate of annual allowance are grouped under one "pool".
    • A balancing allowance is available only on cessation of a business to which there is no successor. A balancing charge can, however, arise whenever the disposal proceeds of one or more assets exceed the reducing value of the whole "pool" of assets to which the disposed items belong.

Donations

Charitable donations made to approved charitable institutions or trusts of a public character or to the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, amounting in aggregate not less than $100 but not exceeding 35% (10% for years of assessment up to and including 2002/03; and 25% for years of assessment 2003/04 to 2007/08) of the adjusted assessable profits before deduction of donations, are allowable for deduction in computing the assessable profits.

More information:

  back to top


Special Provisions Applicable to Certain Trades and Businesses 

The following are special provisions made in the I.R.O. for ascertaining assessable profits of some particular trades and businesses:-

Relevant Section in I.R.O. Trades / Businesses
S.23 Life insurance companies
S.23A Insurance companies other than life insurance companies
S.23AA Mutual insurance corporations
S.23B Ship-owners
S.23C Resident aircraft-owners
S.23D Non-resident aircraft-owners
S.24 Clubs and trade associations

More information:

  back to top


Charge of Profits Tax on Qualifying Debt Instruments (QDI) 

With effect from 24 May 1996, interest income and trading profits derived from a debt instrument issued in Hong Kong with an original maturity of not less than 5 years are subject to a concessionary tax rate equivalent to 50% of the normal profits tax rate. Commencing from the year of assessment 2003/04, this concession is expanded to cover a "medium term debt instrument" issued in Hong Kong on or after 5 March 2003 having an original maturity of less than 7 years but not less than 3 years. In addition, interest income and trading profits derived from a "long term debt instrument" issued in Hong Kong on or after 5 March 2003 with an original maturity of not less than 7 years are exempt from profits tax.

From 25 March 2011 onwards, the 50% tax concession further extends to cover interest income and trading profits derived from a "short term debt instrument" issued on or after that date with a tenor of less than 3 years. The existing tax concession for "medium term debt instrument" and tax exemption for "long term debt instrument" issued before 25 March 2011 remain the same. However, the tax concession and exemption will not apply in relation to a QDI issued on or after 25 March 2011 if, at the time during which the interest income and trading profits is/are so received or accrued, the person is an associate of the issuer of the QDI.

Debt instruments that qualify for the above tax concession and exemption are specified in sections 14A(4) and 26A(2) of the I.R.O. respectively.

More information:

  back to top


Treatment of Losses 

Losses made in an accounting year are to be carried forward and set off against future profits of that trade but a corporation carrying on more than one trade may have losses in one trade offset against profits of the other. For gains or losses which are subject to concessionary tax rate, there are special provisions on the adjustment of losses between concessionary trading activities and normal trading activities. An individual who incurs a trading loss and who claims Personal Assessment will have the loss allowed as a deduction from his total income.

  back to top


Profits Tax Rate 

(1) Normal rate (for the year of assessment 2008/09 onwards)
    Corporations: 16.5%
    Unincorporated Businesses: 15%
   
(2) Concessionary rate
    A tax rate at 50% of the normal profits tax rate will be applied to trading profits and interest income received or derived from qualifying debt instruments issued in Hong Kong, and to offshore business of professional reinsurance companies.

All taxpayers are subject to the same corporation or unincorporated business tax rate irrespective of their residential status.
However, any permanent or temporary resident of Hong Kong except a person under the age of 18 (unless both his parents have passed away) may obtain relief from the standard rate of tax on his profits and income by electing to be assessed under Personal Assessment. An election may offer relief where the tax computed under Personal Assessment is less than the aggregate amount of the tax charged separately under Profits Tax, Salaries Tax and Property Tax.

More information:

  back to top


Provisional Profits Tax 

Profits tax is chargeable on the assessable profits for each year of assessment. As the assessable profits for any particular year cannot be known until after the end of the year concerned, a provisional tax charge has to be raised. When the assessable profits for the year of assessment are subsequently ascertained, an assessment will be made and the provisional profits tax paid will be utilized to offset the tax liability under the assessment.

More information:

  back to top


Anti-Avoidance Provisions 

  1. Section 61 of the I.R.O. tackles any transaction which reduces or would reduce the amount of tax payable by any person where the Assessor is of the opinion that the transaction is artificial or fictitious or that any disposition is not in fact given effect to. When it applies, the Assessor may disregard any such transaction or disposition and the person concerned shall be assessable accordingly.
  2. Section 61A of the I.R.O. applies to any transaction entered into after 13 March 1986 for the sole or dominant purpose of enabling a person to obtain a tax benefit. Where it applies, the section provides for an assessment to be made as if the transaction had not been entered into or carried out or in such other manner as the Assistant Commissioner considers appropriate to counteract the tax benefit which would otherwise be obtained.
  3. Section 61B of the I.R.O. gives effect to a policy of restricting the trafficking in loss companies for the purpose of tax avoidance. The section is aimed at the situation where companies with accumulated tax losses are sold for their losses to the proprietors of businesses which are trading profitably. Once ownership of the loss company has changed hand, the profitable business is introduced into the company and the losses brought forward are set off against profits derived. The section restricts this avoidance practice by allowing the Commissioner to refuse to set off losses brought forward where he is satisfied that the sole or dominant purpose of a change in shareholding is the utilisation of those losses to obtain a tax benefit.

  back to top


Advance Rulings 

A person may apply to the Commissioner, subject to payments and certain regulations, for a ruling on how any provision of the I.R.O. applies to him or the arrangement specified in the application.

More information:

  back to top


Useful Information 

  back to top


Enquiries 

Written enquiries relating to Profits Tax may be sent to us by post at GPO Box 132 or via e-mail at taxpf@ird.gov.hk . For enquiries via electronic media, please also refer to our web page on Electronic Submission of Information for details on the prescribed format, manner and procedures of filing electronic documents.

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 税务资料 - 个别人士 / 公司业务 > 利得税

利得税

 


课税范围

任何人士,包括法团、合伙业务、受托人或团体,在香港经营行业、专业或业务而从该行业、专业或业务获得于香港产生或得自香港的应评税利润(售卖资本资产所得的利润除外),均须纳税。征税对象并无居港人士或非居港人士的分别。因此,居港人士得自海外的利润可毋须在香港纳税;反过来说,非居港人士如赚取于香港产生的利润,则须纳税。至于业务是否在香港经营及利润是否得自香港的问题,主要是根据事实而定,但所采用的原则可参考在香港法庭及英国枢密院判决的税务案件。于海外产生的利润,即使将款项汇回香港,亦毋须纳税。

如任何人士出售楼宇或物业是属于营利计划的一部分,则该人士会被视为经营一项「业务」,并须就任何赚取的利润纳税。

更多资料:

  返回页首


确定应课利得税的特别规定

被当作为营业收入的款项

根据《税务条例》,下列款项须被当作是因在香港经营行业、专业或业务而于香港产生或得自香港的营业收入:-

(1) 因在香港上映或使用的电影或电视的影片、纪录带或录音,或任何与该影片、纪录带或录音有关的宣传资料而获得的款项。〔《税务条例》第 15(1)(a)条〕
(2) 就容许或授权在香港使用专利、设计、商标、受版权保护的资料、秘密工序或方程式或其他相类性质的财产而收取的款项。〔《税务条例》第 15(1)(b)条〕
(3) 就容许或授权在香港以外地方使用专利、设计、商标、受版权保护的资料、秘密工序或方程式或其他相类性质的财产而收取的款项,而该款项在确定某人根据利得税的应评税利润时是可予扣除的(不适用于在 2004 年 6 月 25 日前收取或应累算的款项)。〔《税务条例》第 15(1)(ba)条〕
(4) 因在香港经营业务而收取有关的补助金、津贴或相类似资助形式的款项。但任何与资本开支有关的款项则除外。〔《税务条例》第 15(1)(c)条〕
(5) 因容许或授权在香港使用的动产,而以租赁费、租金或其他相类似形式所收取的款项。〔《税务条例》第 15(1)(d)条〕

非居港人士及为非居港人士服务的代理人

(1) 非居港人士如在香港经营任何行业、专业或业务而获得于香港产生或得自香港的利润,均须纳税。此税项可直接向该非居港人士或他的代理人征收,而不论该代理人是否已收取所得利润。税务局并可由该非居港人士的资产中追回此项税款,也可向代理人追讨。代理人必须由非居港人士的资产中保留足够款项,以备缴税。
(2) 非居港人士自《税务条例》第 15(1)(a)、(b)或(ba)条所载获得的款项,及非居港艺人或运动员在香港以艺人或运动员身分演出而收取的款项,均须纳税。此税项可以支付款项人士名义征收。该名缴付或以转帐方式缴付这些款项的人士,须在付款或以转帐方式付款时,自这些款项中扣起足够款额以支付应缴税款。
(3) 居港代销人须每季向税务局局长申报他代非居港寄销人所作的销售总额,并须同时向税务局局长缴付一笔相等于该销售总额的 1% 的款项或税务局局长所同意的较少款项。
(4) 如非居港人士与居港人士经营业务,而经营方法使该居港人士不获任何利润,或使其所获利润少于普通独立营商者可得的利润,此项业务可被视为该非居港人士在香港经营的业务,而以该居港人士为其代理人。
(5) 倘若不能轻易确定非居港人士在香港经营行业、专业或业务实得的利润,税务局可按其在香港的营业额的某一公平百分率计算其所获得的利润。
(6) 倘若非居港人士的总公司设在香港以外地方,而帐目未能显示其设在香港的永久机构所实得的利润,在进行评税时,该驻港分行的利润将以比例方法计算,例如根据该驻港分行的营业额在营业总额中所占的比率去计算香港分行的利润。

更多资料:

  返回页首


应评税利润

应评税利润(或经调整的亏损)指任何人士在评税基期内依照《税务条例》第 IV 部的规定所计算于香港产生或得自香港的纯利(或蒙受的亏损)〔售卖资本资产所获利润(或所蒙受的亏损)除外。〕

  返回页首


评税基期

评税基期为以下期间之一:-
(1) 截至有关课税年度 3 月 31 日止的一年;
(2) 如年结并非于 3 月 31 日截结,则为在有关课税年度 3 月 31 日止一年内终结的会计年度;
(3) 如帐目以农历结算,则为在有关课税年度终结的农历年;
(4) 如开始或停止业务,或更改结帐日期,则为根据《税务条例》第 18C 条、 18D 条或 18E 条规定的特别期间;
(5) 如属新开业务,倘有关期间的帐目尚未制备,则可依照该期间帐目的分摊利润来计算出应评税利润;或
(6) 如属停止业务 / 转让业务,则在下述情况下会采用特别规则来处理:
若业务并未停止,但全部或部分已转让或交予别人经营;
若业务在 1974 年 4 月 1 日以前开业而在 1979 年 4 月 1 日或以后停业。

  返回页首


豁免

应评税利润并不包括以下项目的款项:
已缴付香港利得税的法团所分派的股息;
从其他应课利得税人士所收取的已课税利润;
储税券利息;
根据《借款条例》(第61章)或《借款(政府债券)条例》(第 64 章)发行的债券所派发的利息及所获得的利润;或从外汇基金债务票据或多边代理机构港币债务票据所获得的利息或利润;
长期债务票据 所得利息收入及利润;及
就指明投资计划收取或应累算的任何款项,而收取或应累算该款项的人士为:
  (i) 就任何根据《证券及期货条例》(第571章)第 104 条获认可为集体投资计划的互惠基金、单位信托或类似的投资计划应课利得税的人;或
  (ii) 就任何互惠基金、单位信托或类似的投资计划(如局长信纳该基金、信托或计划是真正的财产权分散的投资计划,并且符合一个在可接受的规管制度下的监管当局的规定)应课利得税的人。

任何人士可就以下项目的款项获豁免缴付利得税:-

在香港存放于认可机构的存款所赚取的利息(在 1998 年 6 月 22 日或之后所累算的),但不包括财务机构所收取或累算归予财务机构的;及
由 2009/10 课税年度起,人民币国债的利息和利润。

  返回页首


扣除

可扣除的开支:

一般而论,所有由纳税人为赚取应评税利润而付出的各项开支费用,均可获准扣除。详情可参阅《税务条例》第 16 条。

在计算香港分行或附属公司的利得税时,如总公司将部分可扣除的行政费用转帐,则此项转入的费用也可予以扣除,但亦只限于在有关课税年度的基期内用以赚取应评税利润的部分。

不可扣除的开支:

在计算应评税利润时,以下项目不得扣除:-
家庭或私人开支及任何非为产生应评税利润而花费的款项;
资本的任何亏损或撤回,用于改进方面的成本,或任何资本性质的开支;
根据保险计划或弥偿合约而可得回的款项;
非为产生应评税利润而占用或使用楼宇的租金或有关开支;
根据《税务条例》缴纳的各种税款,但就支付雇员薪酬而已缴付的薪俸税除外;
支付予东主或东主的配偶、合伙人或合伙人配偶(如属合伙经营)的薪酬、资本利息、贷款利息或在《税务条例》第16AA条以外,向强制性公积金计划作出的供款。

建筑物翻修开支

任何人士,可将因翻新或翻修商用楼宇而招致的资本开支,由实际支付该笔款项的评税基期开始,分 5 年作等额扣除。

购置用于制造业的机械及工业装置开支,以及购置电脑硬件及软件开

这类开支可在招致该开支的评税基期内整笔扣除。

购置环保设施开支 

(1) 购买环保机器
  由 2008/09 课税年度起,这类开支可在招致该开支的评税基期内整笔扣除。
     
(2) 购买环保装置
  由 2008/09 课税年度起,这类开支可在招致该开支的年度起计连续五年内,每年获扣除该笔开支的 20%。
     
(3) 购买环保车辆
  由 2010/11 课税年度起,这类开支可在招致该开支的评税基期内整笔扣除。

折旧免税额

(1) 工业建筑物及构筑物的免税额:-
  初期免税额 : 建造成本的 20%
  每年免税额 : 建造成本的 4%
  在拥有权终止时,则获给予「结余免税额」或征收「结余课税」。
   
(2) 商业建筑物及构筑物的免税额:-
  每年免税额 : 建造成本的 4%
  在拥有权终止时,则获给予「结余免税额」或征收「结余课税」。
   
(3) 机械及工业装置
  初期免税额 : 资产成本的 60%
  每年免税额 : 按资产的递减价值计算。折旧率由税务委员会规定,分别是 10% , 20% ,及 30% 。每年免税额折旧率相同的资产,会列入同一「聚合组」内计算。
  如纳税人结束业务,而该业务并无人继承,可获给予「结余免税额」。如在任何年度,变卖一项或多项资产的收入,超过此等资产所属「聚合组」的合计递减价值,则须征收「结余课税」。

捐款的扣减

捐赠给已获认可属公共性质的慈善机构或慈善信托或香港特别行政区政府作慈善用途的款项,可获准扣除。但规定捐款的总和须不少于 $100 及不超过经调整后但未扣减捐款前的应评税利润的 35% ( 2003/04 至 2007/08 课税年度则为 25%)。

更多资料:

  返回页首


有关特别行业的特殊条文

以下是有关确定个别特别行业或业务应评税利润的特殊条文:-

[图表简介]

有关的《税务条例》行业或业务
第 23 条 人寿保险法团
第 23A 条 人寿保险以外的其他保险法团
第 23AA 条 相互保险法团
第 23B 条 船舶拥有人
第 23C 条 身为香港居民的飞机拥有人
第 23D 条 身为非居住于香港的飞机拥有人
第 24 条 会社及行业协会

更多资料:

  返回页首


对符合资格的债务票据所征利得税

由 1996 年 5 月 24 日开始,从在香港发行及原来的到期期间不少于 5 年的债务票据所得的利息收入及利润,会根据特惠税率,即等于一般利得税税率的 50% 课税。由 2003/04 课税年度开始,此项宽减扩阔至包括在 2003 年 3 月 5 日或之后在香港发行,及原来的到期期间少于 7 年但不少于 3 年的「中期债务票据」。另外,从在 2003 年 3 月 5 日或之后在香港发行,及原来的到期期间不少于 7 年的「长期债务票据」所得的利息收入及利润会获豁免征收利得税。

由 2011 年 3 月 25 日开始, 50% 的税务宽减进一步扩阔至包括从在该日或之后发行的到期期间少于 3 年的「短期债务票据」所得的利息收入及利润。现在给予在 2011 年 3 月 25 日前发行的「中期债务票据」的税务宽减及「长期债务票据」的税务豁免维持不变。但是,在 2011 年 3 月 25 日该日或之后发行的符合资格的债务票据,如在收取或累算利息收入及利润时,有关人士是该债务票据的发债人的相联者,则上述的税务宽减或豁免将不适用。

《税务条例》第 14A(4)及 26A(2)条分别订明符合此税务宽减或豁免的债务票据。

更多资料:

  返回页首


对亏损的处理

于某一课税年度所蒙受的亏损,可予结转并用以抵销该行业于随后年度的利润。但经营多于一种行业的法团,则可将某一行业的亏损用以抵销另一行业的利润。对于实施优惠税率征税的收益或利润,计算其盈亏在抵销其他收益或利润时,会作出相对的调整。选择以个人入息课税办法计税的人士,如蒙受任何营业亏损,可在入息总额内扣除营业亏损。

  返回页首


利得税税率

(1) 一般税率(适用于 2008/09 及其后的课税年度)
    法团 : 16.5%
    法团以外的人士 : 15%
(2) 特惠税率
    以下项目的税率为一般税率的一半:
    - 从符合资格的债务票据所获得的利润及利息收入;
    - 以专业再保险人身分、或以获授权专属自保保险人身分(适用于 2013/14 及其后的课税年度)的离岸业务所得;
    - 合资格企业财资中心的合资格利润(适用于 2016/17 及其后的课税年度);及
    - 合资格飞机出租商或合资格飞机租赁管理商的合资格利润(适用于 2017/18 及其后的课税年度)。

所有的纳税人,不论其居住地或注册地,一律按法团或法团以外的人士的税率纳税。

但是,任何年满 18 岁或未满 18 岁而父母双亡的香港永久居民或临时居民,均可选择按个人入息课税办法计税,以减轻将利润及收入全部以标准税率计税时的负担。当采用个人入息课税计算的税款较分别以利得税、薪俸税及物业税计税的税款为低时,纳税人将可透过该选择得到税务宽减。

更多资料:

  返回页首


暂缴利得税

利得税是根据每个课税年度的应评税利润而征收的,而应评税利润须待有关年度完结之后才能确定。因此税务局会在有关年度完结前征收暂缴税。待税务局其后评定有关课税年度的应评税利润并作出评税时,已缴付的暂缴税款会用来抵销所评定的利得税。

更多资料:

  返回页首


反避税的条文

(1) 《税务条例》第 61 条订明,凡评税主任认为,导致或会导致任何人的应缴税款减少的任何交易是虚假或虚构的,或认为任何产权处置事实上并无实行,则评税主任可不理会该项交易或产权处置,而该名有关的人士须据此而被评税。
(2) 根据《税务条例》第 61A 条,任何在 1986 年 3 月 13 日之后达成的交易,如该项交易的唯一或主要目的,是使有关人士能够获得税项利益,则助理局长须评定该有关人士的税项,犹如该项交易并未曾订立或实行一样;或以助理局长认为适合的其他方式评定,用以消弭从该项交易中所获得的税项利益。
(3) 《税务条例》第 61B 条是用作限制利用亏损法团以避税的做法。此条款是针对将有累积亏损的法团售予在业务上获得利润的法团的情况。亏损法团的拥有权一旦变更,新股东可将获利的业务拨归亏损法团,利用累积的亏损去抵销所得的利润。若税务局局长信纳股份拥有权改变的唯一或主要目的,是为了利用累积亏损余额而获得税项利益时,税务局局长可以根据这条款拒绝以亏损抵销利润,从而限制此等避税的做法。

  返回页首


事先裁定

任何人士可根据《税务条例》所列出的规定,向税务局局长提出申请,就条例的各项条文如何适用于申请人或申请所述的安排作出裁定,该等申请是需要缴付费用的。

更多资料:

  返回页首


相关资料

  返回页首


查询

关于利得税的书面查询,可邮递至香港邮政总局邮箱 132 号,或以电子邮递至taxpf@ird.gov.hk 。有关电子文件的指定规格、方式及程序,请浏览本局的提交电子资料网页。

本局不会接收邮资不足的信件。为确保邮递无误,请在投寄邮件时支付足额邮资。 (详情)

 

返回页首