Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS
  • Default font size
  • Bigger font size
  • Biggest font size

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers on Completion of Supplementary Form S1 – Person electing for 2-tiered profits tax rates (applicable to return issued on or after 1 April 2019)

Introduction

For the benefit of the tax paying public and their tax representatives, some frequently asked questions and their answers are listed below for general information and guidance.

*

1.

Q:

Under what circumstances should a company submit supplementary form S1 – Person electing for 2-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

For the year of assessment 2018/19 and subsequent years, a company should complete and submit supplementary form S1 together with the tax return if all the following conditions are met:
(i) The company has a positive assessable profit after loss set off;
(ii) The company elects to be chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates for the year of assessment;
(iii) The company has one or more connected entity (see examples) carrying on a trade, professional or business in Hong Kong; and
(iv) The company is not a member of a group of companies, one of its connected entities is listed on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong.

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

What is meant by "connected entity"?

 
 

A:

For details, please refer to the Q & A for Two-tiered Profits Tax Rates Regime in this web site.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

What should I do if the company has 1,000 or more connected entities to be reported in supplementary form S1?

 
 

A:

You should prepare separate set of supplementary form S1 with each set in the maximum number of 999 connected entities and submit all sets of supplementary form S1. For easy identification, you should specify the set number on the top of first page for each set of S1 form (e.g. 1 of 3 sets).

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

What should I do if I make amendment to the information provided in S1 after I have printed the form?

 
 

A:

You should print full set of S1 after amendment.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

I did not have any connected entity at the end of the basis period for the relevant year of assessment and wish to elect to be chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates for the year. Apart from ticking "Yes" for Item 2.3 in BIR51 or Item 1.5 in BIR52, do I need to tick "Yes" for Item 9.1 and submit supplementary form S1?

 
 

A:

No. You do not need to tick the box in Item 9.1 nor submit supplementary form S1 because you did not have any connected entity.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

I carry on a business as a professional reinsurer, an authorized captive insurer, a qualifying corporate treasury centre, a qualifying aircraft lessor or a qualifying aircraft leasing manager for the year. Do my assessable profits still qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates? Which box should I tick for Item 2.3 in BIR51? Do I need to tick the box in Item 9.1 and submit supplementary form S1?

 
 

A:

The two-tiered profits tax rates is not applicable to you who has made the election for the concessionary tax rate under section 14B(2)(a) (qualifying professional reinsurance business and authorized captive insurance business), section 14D(5)(b) (qualifying corporate treasury centre), section 14H(2)(a) (qualifying aircraft lessor) or section 14J(5)(b)(qualified aircraft leasing manager) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO"). You should tick "No" for Item 2.3 in BIR51 to indicate that you are not chargeable at two-tiered rates for the year. You do not need to tick the box in Item 9.1 nor submit supplementary form S1 because you do not qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

I paid royalties to a non-resident person which is a connected entity under the two-tiered profits tax rates regime. Since the non-resident person only received royalties from Hong Kong and has not carried on any other trade or business in Hong Kong, do I need to list this non-resident person in supplementary form S1?

 
 

A:

Where the royalties mentioned fall within the ambit of s.15(1) of the IRO, the non-resident recipient of the royalties is deemed to be carrying on business in Hong Kong, and you should declare this non-resident person as a connected entity in supplementary form S1.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

What should I do if the connected entity did not have a business registration number (BRN). For example, the connected entity is a non-resident person only received royalties from Hong Kong and has not carried on other trade or business in Hong Kong. Can I leave the input for BRN blank?

 
 

A:

Business Registration Number (BRN) is a mandatory input. For a connected entity deemed to be carrying on business in Hong Kong, you should provide, under the input for BRN, the IRD allotted BRN equivalent number for the non-resident, that is, the last 8 digits from the file number of the non-resident. For non-resident without file number / IRD allotted BRN equivalent number, you should provide the details on a separate sheet of paper and staple it to the supplementary form. Details to be provided in the separate sheet include the name of the Hong Kong Payer, file number of the Hong Kong Payer and the name of the non-resident. For each sheet, please put your file number, page number and sign at the bottom of the sheet.

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS
  • 還原字體
  • 較大字體
  • 最大字體

填寫補充表格S1 ─ 選擇以兩級制利得稅率課稅的人士 ─ 常見問題及解答
(適用於 2019 年 4 月 1 日或以後發出的報稅表)

引言

為方便納稅人及稅務代表,現載列一些常見問題及解答,以供參考。

*

1.

問:

公司在甚麼情況下須填寫補充表格S1 ─ 選擇以兩級制利得稅率課稅的人士?

 
 

答:

在2018/19及其後的課稅年度,如果公司符合以下所有條件,便應填寫並提交補充表格S1,連同報稅表一併提交:
(i) 該公司的已抵銷虧損額的應評稅利潤為正數;
(ii) 該公司在有關課稅年度選擇按利得稅兩級稅率課稅;
(iii) 該公司有一間或多間有關連實體 (見例子)在香港經營行業、專業或業務;和
(iv) 該公司所屬集團的成員公司沒有一間是在香港聯合交易所上市。

  返回頁首


*

2.

問:

「有關連實體」是指甚麼?

 
 

答:

詳情請參閱載於本網址的利得稅兩級制─常見問題及解答

  返回頁首


*

3.

問:

如果一間公司有1,000間或更多有關連實體,我應該怎麽在補充表格S1申報?

 
 

答:

你應該分開為每組最多999間有關連實體準備一份補充表格S1,並提交所有補充表格S1,同時請在每份S1表格的首頁頂部註明份數[例如,第1份(共3份)],以資識別。

  返回頁首


*

4.

問:

如果我要修改已列印的補充表格S1的資料,我該怎麼辦?

 
 

答:

你應該在修改後列印全套補充表格S1。

  返回頁首


*

5.

問:

我在有關課稅年度的評稅基期完結時沒有有關連實體。除了應該在BIR51第2.3項或BIR52第1.6項「是」的空格加「剔」號,我是否須要在第9.1項的空格加「剔」號並提交補充表格S1?

 
 

答:

否。因為你沒有有關連實體,所以你無須在第9.1項的空格加「剔」號或提交補充表格S1。

  返回頁首


*

6.

問:

我以專業再保險人、獲授權專屬自保保險人、指明保險人、持牌保險經紀公司、合資格企業財資中心、合資格飛機出租商、合資格飛機租賃管理商、合資格船舶出租商或合資格船舶租賃管理商身分於該年度經營業務。我的應評稅利潤是否仍有資格按兩級制利得稅率課稅?我應該在BIR51第2.3項那個空格加「剔」號?我是否須要在第9.1項的空格加「剔」號並提交補充表格S1?

 
 

答:

如果你已根據《稅務條例》第14B(2)(b)條(合資格保險業務及保險經紀業務)、第14D(5)(b) 條(合資格企業財資中心)、第14H(4)(b) 條(合資格飛機出租商)、第14J(5)(b) 條(合資格飛機租賃管理商)、第14P(4)(b) 條(合資格船舶出租商)或第14T(5)(b) 條(合資格船舶租賃管理商)作出選擇,則兩級制利得稅率不適用於你。你應該在BIR51第2.3項「否」的空格加「剔」號以表示你不應按兩級稅率課稅,因為兩級制利得稅率不適用於你,所以你無須在第9.1項的空格加「剔」號或提交補充表格S1。

  返回頁首


*

7.

問:

我向一名非居住於香港的人士支付了特許權使用費,在利得稅兩級制下,該非居住於香港的人士是有關連實體。由於該非居住於香港的人士只收取特許權使用費而沒有在香港進行任何其他貿易或業務,我是否需要在補充表格S1列出這名非居住於香港的人士?

 
 

答:

若所提到的特許權使用費屬於《稅務條例》第15(1)條的範圍,收取特許權使用費的非居住於香港的人士會被視為在香港經營業務,你應在補充表格S1聲明這名非居住於香港的人士是有關連實體。

  返回頁首


*

8.

問:

如果我的有關連實體當中包括沒有商業登記號碼的實體,我該怎麼辦?例如:有關連實體是非居住於香港的人士只收取特許權使用費而沒有在香港進行任何其他貿易或業務,我可否將商業登記號碼一項漏空?

 
 

答:

商業登記號碼是必須輸入的資料。對於被視為在香港經營業務的有關連實體,你可在輸入商業登記號碼的位置提供由稅務局為該非居住於香港的人士分配的商業登記號碼等同編號,即該非居住於香港的人士的檔案號碼的最後8位數字。對於沒有檔案號碼/商業登記號碼等同編號的非居住於香港的人士,你可另紙填寫詳細資料及釘附於補充表格。提供的詳情包括香港付款人的姓名,香港付款人的檔案號碼及非居住於香港的人士的姓名。請在每張附頁的末端簽署並註明你的檔案號碼及頁碼。